(最初發表於 公共話語)

2012 年,隨著奧巴馬總統在同性婚姻問題上的“演變”,我開始寫為什麼婚姻是一個兒童權利問題,當時似乎每個人,尤其是媒體,終於可以自由地打“偏執”牌。 像許多傳統婚姻的支持者一樣, 我有我愛的朋友和家人,他們是同性戀,所以偏執的指責刺痛了。 但更糟糕的是,媒體完全無視這樣一個現實,即從歷史上看,婚姻一直是世界上對兒童最友好的製度。

不幸的是,在 2015 年,最高法院為整個國家重新定義了婚姻,將一個曾經將孩子擁有自然權利的兩個人結合在一起的機構變成了一個更多的成年人實現的工具。

三年後,我提出的擔憂 我的原創 公共話語 文章——重新定義婚姻將重新定義父母身份——已經實現。 2018 年初,華盛頓州通過了 統一親子法 (UPA),它認為任何成年人都是通過生殖技術創造的孩子的父母,無論預期的父母是已婚還是未婚、男性還是女性、單身、夫妻、三倍或四倍。

從歷史上看,父母身份是通過與孩子的遺傳聯繫或完成收養過程而建立的。 但是,UPA 將任何成年人視為孩子的父母,只要他們有有效的合同並“有意”成為父母,即使“有意”的父母都沒有與孩子有遺傳聯繫。 此外,UPA 不需要養父母必須接受的廣泛篩選、審查和培訓。 因此,例如,如果三個男人可以起草一份合同並獲得精子、卵子和子宮,那麼他們每個人都可以在華盛頓州法院的全力支持下作為嬰兒的“父母”離開醫院。

UPA 將成為我的家鄉 全球嬰兒製造中心g、立法 以成年人“平等”的名義. 肯尼迪大法官聲稱非常關心孩子們,但他的 奧伯格費爾 決定促成了它們最終的商品化。

儘管我們輸掉了官司,但我在準備階段學到了很多 奧伯格費爾. 在線爭論提供了一個殘酷的教育,說明為什麼有些消息無法通過。 在我看來,“我方”的錯誤歸結為三個要點。

  1. 故事是關鍵 

在婚姻辯論中,許多傳統婚姻支持者認為,訴諸研究、邏輯和傳統就足以讓我們的鄰居相信孩子需要結婚。 最終,對方贏得了這場戰鬥,並不是因為他們有很好的研究。 (他們沒有.) 他們贏了,因為他們能夠將他們的論點人性化,而我們經常用冷酷的統計數據來回應。 如果我們有一個又一個故事,情況會有多不同 這樣,由她父親和他的男性伴侶撫養長大的女孩寫的?

幼兒園結束時,我們在學校度過了自由活動的一天。 我們必須在健身房看電影,時間之前的土地。 這是一部經典電影。 但對我來說,這是一次痛苦的經歷。 我看著小腳怪失去了他的母親,雙眼緊繃。 Littlefoot 有一個“母親”,她為挽救他的生命而死。 Littlefoot 整部電影都在哀悼失去他的“母親”。 就在那一刻,作為一個五歲的女孩,我意識到有一個母親這樣的東西。 也是在那一刻,我意識到我沒有一個。 我在健身房度過了剩下的空閒時間,在一位我再也見不到的老師的懷裡哭泣著,我從來不知道我從來沒有過。

我們必須突出真正的受害者

在同性婚姻辯論中,成年人被誣陷為受害者。 雖然許多 LGBT 成年人確實經歷過掙扎和失落,但婚姻和家庭鬥爭的真正受害者是孩子。 很多時候,成年人的勝利讓孩子失去了他們的基本權利。

這裡的 一個女人 談到她父母通過精子捐贈者成功懷孕讓她付出了多少代價:

匿名安排賣得最好,最不復雜,所以我在這裡,我母親的女兒和一個她希望永遠不會遇到的陌生人,由一個有足夠錢買我生存的男人撫養。 我也很震驚地發現,我附近可能有大量捐贈者懷了同父異母的兄弟姐妹。 至少 20 歲,也許超過 50 歲……我愛他們,甚至在不認識他們的情況下想念他們。

當我們把受害者弄錯時,我們的個人選擇和國家政策也將是錯誤的

虛偽殺死

許多強烈反對同性婚姻的人在談到價值數十億美元的生育產業(異性戀者經常使用該產業將孩子與其一半的遺傳身份分開)和無過錯離婚(這會影響孩子的身心健康)時保持沉默。生活)。 家庭對兒童的不公正並不是從同性婚姻開始的,LGBT 活動家不對當今美國家庭的糟糕狀況負責。 像安妮這樣傷害孩子的是異性戀。 她寫道:

我世界上的一切都被震撼到了核心。 我爸,他到底是誰? 他信奉聖經的[信條],但在我一生的大部分時間裡,他一直過著隱秘的生活。 我媽媽是個殘骸。 還在家裡的哥哥把他的一生都傾注在籃球上,他的朋友和女朋友,和他們一起睡覺,開派對。 我家裡沒有人可以為我和我所有的問題。 我的生活變成了碎片,我真的不知道如何拾起它們並理解它們,但為了繼續生存,我需要這樣做。

谁愿意聽只捍衛某些兒童權利的兒童權利捍衛者?

是時候採用新方法了

牢記這些教訓, we 發起了一個非營利組織, 他們在我們面前,旨在捍衛兒童在家庭中的權利。 他們在我們面前堅持兒童的權利來了 之前 成人的慾望。 我們用 故事 突出顯示 真正的受害者, 我們批評 所有做法和政策 將成人的慾望置於兒童權利之上。

我們努力在圍繞家庭結構的辯論中擺出人性化的面孔——孩子的面孔。 隨著越來越多的孩子經歷 遺棄和離婚供體概念,或無母或無父,因為 同性育兒,下一代明白當一個孩子的母親和父親的權利被忽視時非常真實的代價。

我們以孩子們的真實故事為基礎,強調我們不是在打架 針對 某些成年人; 相反,我們正在戰鬥   每個孩子。 我們支持任何為孩子犧牲的成年人,異性戀或同性吸引。 我們不能容忍任何希望孩子為他們做出犧牲的成年人、異性戀或同性吸引。

我們的運動不會讓同性戀者反對異性戀,也不會讓基督徒反對無神論者。 他們在我們面前的領導人和大使包括虔誠的宗教人士、完全世俗的人、單身、已婚、同性戀和異性戀。 儘管我們有不同的宗教、原籍國、年齡、婚姻狀況和性取向,但我們都有一個共同點:我們是由一男一女出生的,我們都同意了解和愛——以及被了解和愛由——給予他或她生命的男人和女人是每個孩子的基本正義問題。

為兒童權利而戰

婚姻之爭不是開始,也不會是對兒童權利的威脅的結束。 我們必須認識到,離開已婚母親/父親家庭是一個根本問題的症狀:公然無視兒童的權利。 因此,必須對威脅兒童福祉的許多文化趨勢進行有效和公正的反駁。 以兒童為中心.

那麼,有什麼問題。 . .

同居? 同居父母的孩子有 高出 119% 的機率 與已婚父母的同齡人相比,他們目睹了父母關係的破裂。

多角戀? 一個同居的無關成年人, 尤其是男人,大大增加了孩子被忽視和虐待的風險。

無過錯離婚? 孩子們每天都與父母建立聯繫。 在低衝突的婚姻中, 離婚對孩子不利.

選擇單身母親? 永遠不應該故意剝奪孩子被父親認識和愛戴的權利。

基於意圖的育兒法? 據統計, 親生父母是最安全的看護者,因為他們與孩子的生活聯繫最緊密、保護最多、投入最多。 只有親生父母才能提供孩子們渴望的生物學身份。

以成人為中心的收養? 沒有成年人有“收養權”。 兒童有權 被採納 社會工作者必須有自由將兒童安置在最能為兒童服務的家中。 (說起 採用, 我寫過 這裡 關於為什麼收養支持兒童的權利,而捐贈者的受孕卻侵犯了他們的權利。 簡而言之,一個公正的社會關心孤兒,而不是創造他們。)

同性婚姻? 雖然不是每段婚姻都會生孩子,但每個孩子都有母親和父親。 婚姻是我們確保雙方共同撫養孩子的最佳方式。

精子和卵子“捐贈”? 故意否認孩子與母親或父親的關係是不公正的,無論“預期父母”的家庭結構如何。

促進同性親子關係? 一個孩子要在同性戶主家庭中,他們必須與至少一個他們有自然權利的成年人失去關係。

 出生證明上的“兩個媽媽”?   出生證明 通過記錄孩子的生物學身份來服務孩子。 這不是成人意圖的記錄。

代孕 無論孩子是否與代母有遺傳關係,在出生當天, 代理人是孩子認識的唯一父母. 故意切斷現有的母子關係是不公正的。

他們在我們面前想要改變圍繞婚姻和為人父母的敘述。 我們相信,每一次關於家庭結構的談話都應該承認和尊重兒童的權利。 當這種情況發生時,好的政策是自然的結果。 當我們失敗時,兒童被視為商品,被製造、購買和出售以供成人享用。

成為兒童權利的捍衛者是保護兒童和擊敗不良政策的最佳策略。 儘管如此,它還是要付出個人代價:這意味著我們必須做出犧牲才能尊重我們自己孩子的權利。

這意味著當我們面臨不育症時,我們的解決方案不是追求精子或卵子捐贈,因為這會迫使孩子失去與父母一方的生物學聯繫,以便我們與他或她有某種生物學聯繫。

這意味著,如果我們經歷了同性吸引,我們不會強迫孩子遵守反映我們浪漫傾向的家庭結構。 相反,我們遵循尊重孩子對母愛和父愛的需求的家庭結構。

這意味著在我們對孩子未來的父母​​做出終生承諾之前,我們不會參與製造嬰兒的活動。

這意味著當我們自己的婚姻陷入困境時,我們會努力修復它,以免我們的孩子背負著終生的損失。

在兒童權利的世界裡,沒有一個成年人可以通過。

這種心態早該出現了。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Originally published at Public Discourse)

I started writing about why marriage is a children’s rights issue in 2012 following President Obama’s “evolution” on the subject of gay marriage when it seemed that everybody, especially the media, finally felt free to play the “bigot” card. Like many supporters of traditional marriage, I have friends and family that I love who are gay and lesbian, so the accusation of bigotry stung. But even worse was the media’s complete disregard for the reality that, historically, marriage has been the most child-friendly institution the world has ever known.

Unfortunately, in 2015, the Supreme Court redefined marriage for the entire country, transforming an institution that used to bring together the two people to whom children have a natural right into just one more vehicle of adult fulfillment.

Three years later, the concerns I raised in my original Public Discourse article—that redefining marriage will redefine parenthood—have come to fruition. In early 2018, Washington state passed the Uniform Parentage Act (UPA), which deems any adult the parent of a child created through reproductive technologies, regardless of whether or not the intended parents are married or unmarried, male or female, are single, coupled, throupled or quadrupled.

Historically parenthood has been established via a genetic connection to the child or upon completion of an adoption process. But the UPA deems any adults the parents of the child if they have a valid contract and “intend” to parent, even if none of the “intended” parents have a genetic connection to the child. Further, the UPA requires none of the extensive screening, vetting, and training that adoptive parents must undergo. So, for example, if three men can draft a contract and acquire sperm, egg and womb, they can each leave the hospital as “parents” of the baby with the full force of the Washington state courts behind them.

The UPA will make my home state a global hub for baby manufacturing, legislated in the name of “equality” for adults. Justice Kennedy claimed to be so concerned about the children, yet his Obergefell decision has contributed to their ultimate commodification.

Even though we lost the legal battle, I learned a lot during the run-up to Obergefell. Arguing online provides a brutal education on why some messages don’t get through. In my view, the errors of “our side” boiled down to three main points.

  1. Story is Key 

During the marriage debate, many traditional marriage supporters thought that appeals to studies, logic, and tradition would be enough to convince our neighbors that children needed marriage. In the end, the other side won the battle not because they had good research on their side. (They didn’t.) They won because they were able to humanize their arguments while we often responded with cold statistics. How different would things have been if we had story after story like this, written by a girl raised by her father and his male partner?

At the end of Kindergarten, we had a free day at school. We got to watch a movie in the gym, The Land Before Time. It is a classic movie. But for me it was a traumatic experience. I watched, eyes glued, as Littlefoot lost his Mother. Littlefoot had a “Mother” and she died saving his life. Littlefoot spent the entire movie mourning the loss of his “Mother.” It was in that moment, as a five year old girl, that I realized there was such a thing as a mother. It was also in that moment that I realized that I did not have one. I spent the rest of our free day at the gym crying into the arms of a teacher I would never see again for a mother that I never knew I never had.

We Must Highlight the True Victims

In the gay marriage debate, adults were framed as victims. While it’s true that many LGBT adults have experienced struggle and loss, the real victims of the marriage and family battle are children. Too often, victories for adults cost children their fundamental rights.

Here’s one woman talking about what her parents’ successful pregnancy via a sperm donor has cost her:

Anonymous arrangements sell best, are least complicated, so here I am, the daughter of my mother and a stranger she hoped never to meet, being raised by a man who had enough money to purchase my existence. I was also shocked to find out what a huge number of donor conceived half siblings I probably have living near me. At least 20, maybe over 50… I love them and miss them without even knowing them.

When we get the victims wrong, our personal choices and national policy will be wrong too

Hypocrisy Kills

Many who passionately opposed gay marriage were silent when it came to the billion-dollar fertility industry (which is often used by heterosexuals to separate children from half of their genetic identity) and no-fault divorce (which affects a child’s physical and emotional health for life). Family injustice for children did not start with gay marriage, and LGBT activists are not responsible for the abysmal state of the American family today. It was heterosexuals who hurt kids like Annie. She writes:

Everything in my world was shaken to its core. My dad, who was he really? He professed the [tenets] of the Bible and yet he had been living a secret life for most of my life. My mom was a wreck. My brother who was still at home poured his life into basketball, his friends and girlfriends, sleeping with them and partying. No one in my family was available for me and all my questions. My life had become a rubble of shattered pieces and I truly didn’t know how to pick them up and make sense of them, but I needed to in order to keep surviving.

Who wants to listen to defenders of children’s rights who only defend the rights of certain children?

It’s Time for a New Approach

Taking these lessons to heart, we have launched a nonprofit, Them Before Us, aimed at defending children’s rights in the family. Them Before Us insists that children’s rights come before adult desires. We use story to highlight the true victims, and we critique all practices and policies that prioritize adult desires above children’s rights.

We endeavor to put a human face on debates around family structure—the face of a child. With more and more children experiencing the fallout of abandonment and divorcedonor conception, or motherlessness or fatherlessness due to same-sex parenting, the next generation understands the very real cost when a child’s right to a mother and a father is ignored.

We ground our advocacy in the real-life stories of kids to emphasize that we’re not fighting against certain adults; instead, we are fighting for every child. We support any adult, straight or same-sex attracted, who is sacrificing for children. We have no tolerance for any adult, straight or same-sex attracted, who expects children to sacrifice for them.

Our movement does not pit gays against straights or Christians against atheists. Them Before Us leaders and ambassadors include the deeply religious, the wholly secular, single, married, gay, and straight. Despite our different religions, nations of origin, ages, marital status, and sexual orientation, we all have one thing in common: we were born of one man and one woman, and we all agree that knowing and loving—and being known and loved by—the man and woman who gave him or her life is a matter of fundamental justice for every child.

Fighting for the Rights of Children

The marriage battle wasn’t the beginning and it won’t be the end of the threat to children’s rights. We must recognize that departures from the married mother/father family are symptoms of a root issue: the flagrant disregard of the rights of children. Therefore, an effective and just rebuttal to the many cultural trends that threaten the well-being of children must be child-centric.

So, what’s wrong with . . .

Cohabitation? Children of cohabiting parents have 119 percent higher odds of witnessing the dissolution of their parents’ relationship compared to their peers with married parents.

Polyamory? A cohabiting unrelated adult, especially a man, drastically increases a child’s risk of being neglected and abused.

No-Fault Divorce? Children are made for daily connection with both mother and father. In low-conflict marriages, divorce drastically disadvantages children.

Single-Motherhood by Choice? Children should never be intentionally denied the right to be known and loved by their father.

Intent-Based Parenthood Laws? Statistically, biological parentsare the safest caregivers because they are most connected to, most protective of, and most invested in the lives of their children. Only a biological parent can provide the biological identity that children crave.

Adult-Centric Adoption? No adult has a “right to adopt.” Children have a right to be adopted and social workers must have the freedom to place children in the home that best serves the child. (Speaking of adoption, I’ve written here about why adoption supports children’s rights while donor conception violates them. In short, a just society cares for orphans, it does not create them.)

Same-Sex Marriage? While not every marriage produces children, every child has a mother and father. Marriage is our best shot at ensuring that children are raised by both.

Sperm and Egg “Donation”? Intentionally denying children a relationship to their mother or father is an injustice, regardless of the “intended parents’” family structure.

Promotion of Same-Sex Parenthood? For a child to be in a same-sex headed household, they must lose a relationship with at least one adult to whom they have a natural right.

 “Two moms” on Birth Certificates? The birth certificate serves the child by recording his or her biological identity. It is not a record of adult intent.

Surrogacy? Regardless of whether or not the child is genetically related to the surrogate, on the day of birth, the surrogate is the only parent the child knows. It is an injustice to intentionally sever that existing mother-child bond.

Them Before Us wants to transform the narrative around marriage and parenthood. We believe that every conversation about family structure should recognize and respect the rights of children. When that happens, good policy is the natural outcome. When we fail, children are regarded as commodities to be manufactured, bought, and sold for the enjoyment of adults.

Becoming a defender of children’s rights is the best strategy when it comes to protecting children and defeating bad policy. Still, it does comes with a personal cost: it means that we must make sacrifices in order to respect the rights of our own children.

It means when we face infertility, our solution is not to pursue sperm or egg donation, because that would force a child to lose a biological connection with one parent so that we can have some kind of biological connection to him or her.

It means that if we experience same-sex attraction, we don’t force a child to conform to the family structure that reflects our romantic inclinations. Instead, we conform to the family structure that respects our child’s need for both maternal and paternal love.

It means that we don’t engage in a baby-making activity until we have made a lifelong commitment to our child’s future parent.

It means that when our own marriage is struggling, we do the hard work to repair it so that our children aren’t saddled with lifelong loss.

In the world of children’s rights, no adult gets a pass.

Such a mindset is long overdue.

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This