生物學問題

生物學重要

捍衛兒童對其親生父母的權利,賦予兒童安全、生物認同、家庭中完美的性別平衡,並最大限度地提高兒童的成果。

大多數學者現在都同意,在穩定的婚姻中,由兩個親生父母撫養的孩子在各種結果上都比其他家庭形式的孩子做得更好。”——普林斯頓大學伍德羅·威爾遜公共與國際事務學院和布魯金斯學會

獲得親生父母 = 獲得生物身份

所有人都會問存在的問題:“我是誰?” 雖然傳統家庭中的孩子可以通過親屬關係(包括與大家庭的關係)獲得他們的身份,但收養者和捐贈者懷孕的人必須在沒有它的情況下制定他們的自我意識。

  • 72% 的被收養者想知道為什麼他們被放棄收養
  • 65% 的人表示希望見到他們的親生父母
  • 94% 的人表示想知道他們最像哪位親生父母—— 美國收養大會調查
  • 64% 的捐贈者懷孕的成年人同意“我的捐贈者是我的一半。”
  • 78% 同意捐贈者受孕是他們身份的重要組成部分
  • 81% 的人經常想知道他們與捐贈者有哪些性格特徵、技能和/或身體相似之處——我們是捐贈者受孕調查

灰姑娘效應

無論是因為遺傳還是我們原始的生殖本能,繼父母都會優先對待自己的生物後代。 雖然肯定有英勇的繼父母, 統計上,無關的成年人與孩子的聯繫和保護較少。 數據顯示 與親生母親相比,繼母為繼子提供更少的醫療保健、更低質量的教育以及在食物上花費的美元更少。

[我父親的] 新婚妻子一般不想要孩子,特別不想要我們。 事實上,那時我們倆都做了很多工作,我主要是因為我患有非常嚴重的哮喘病,而我姐姐是因為她表現得很糟糕。 同樣清楚的是,她不希望我們與父親親近……我們是他們私人的、非常成熟的關係中的闖入者。”——克里斯蒂

無親屬關係的家庭中的兒童處於不利地位

繼子女 遭受更多不利的家庭經歷(AFE),使他們在統計上處於貧困、精神病護理人員、目睹鄰里暴力、吸毒和/或酒精成癮以及有被監禁的父母的更高風險。 作為成年人, 繼子女 更容易遭受健康狀況不佳、濫用違禁藥物和更高的自殺風險。

我的親生父親離開幾年後,我媽媽再婚了。 四十年後的今天,她嫁給的那個男人仍然是我的繼父。 他收養了四個不是他自己的孩子,並儘他所能撫養我們。 不幸的是,他經常言語辱罵、脾氣暴躁和反動……。 我媽媽幾乎每天都在保護我們免受他的口頭謾罵。 我的繼父和我的母親最終也一起生了三個孩子,我看到我的繼父變成了一個充滿愛心、崇拜的親生父親。 他是一個不同的,改變了的人……對他自己的孩子。“ - 阿利森

虐待兒童和死亡

研究顯示 問題不在於無關的成年人是否會給孩子帶來更大的風險,而是他們帶來的風險有多大。

…與與兩個親生父母同住的兒童相比,與不相關的成年人同住的幼兒遭受致命傷害的風險接近 50 倍。 大多數肇事者是死者家庭的男性成員。” – 兒科 2005

如果你認為孩子應該“安全和被愛”,那麼你認為生物學很重要。

以下是美國疾病控制中心的類似調查結果,研究標題為“家庭結構與兒童健康” 基於全國健康訪談調查。

“他們在我們面前:為什麼我們需要全球兒童運動”第 2 章節選

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Biology Matters

BIOLOGY MATTERS

Defending children’s rights to their biological parents grants children safety, biological identity, the perfect gender balance in the home, and maximizes child outcomes.

Most scholars now agree that children raised by two biological parents in a stable marriage do better than children in other family forms across a wide range of outcomes.” -Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs at Princeton University and the Brookings Institution

ACCESS TO BIOLOGICAL PARENTS = ACCESS TO BIOLOGICAL IDENTITY

All humans ask the existential question, “Who am I?” While children in traditional homes have access to their identity with relation to kinship bonds (including bonds with extended family), adoptees and donor-conceived people must formulate their sense of self without it.

  • 72% of adoptees want to know why they were given up for adoption
  • 65% expressed a desire to meet their birth parent
  • 94% expressed the desire to know which birth parent they resemble most – American Adoption Congress Survey
  • 64% of donor-conceived adults agree “My donor is half of who I am.”
  • 78% agreed being donor-conceived was a significant part of their identity
  • 81% often wondered what personality traits, skills, and/or physical similarities they shared with their donor -We Are Donor Conceived Survey

THE CINDERELLA EFFECT

Whether because of genetics or our primal reproductive instincts, step-parents treat their own biological offspring preferentially. While there certainly are heroic step parents, statistically, unrelated adults are less connected to and protective of kids. Data reveals that stepmoms provide stepkids less healthcare, lower quality education, and spent fewer dollars on food when compared to biological mothers.

[My father’s] new wife did not want kids in general and did not want us in particular. In truth, we were both a lot of work by then, me mostly because I had very very bad asthma and my sister because she was acting out. What also became clear is that she did not want us to be close to our father… We were the interlopers in their private, very adult relationship.” – Christie

CHILDREN IN HOUSEHOLDS WITH UNRELATED ADULTS ARE DISADVANTAGED

Step-children suffer more adverse family experiences (AFE’s), putting them statistically at higher risk of poverty, mentally-ill caregivers, witnessing neighborhood violence, exposure to drug and/or alcohol addiction, and having an incarcerated parent. As adults, step-children are more likely to suffer poor health outcomes, to abuse ilicit drugs, and have a higher risk of suicide.

My mom remarried a couple of years after my bio dad left. The man she married is still my step father to this day, forty years later. He took on four kids that were not his own and tried the best he knew how to raise us. Unfortunately he was often verbally abusive, ill-tempered and reactionary…. My mom was put in the position of protecting us almost daily from his verbal diatribes. My stepfather and my mother ended up having three children together as well and I saw my stepfather turn into a loving, adoring biological father. He was a different, changed man…toward his own children.” – Allison

CHILD ABUSE AND DEATH

Research shows that the question isn’t whether unrelated adults pose an increased risk to kids, but how much risk they pose.

…young children who reside in households with an unrelated adult are at nearly 50-fold risk of suffering a fatal inflicted injury, compared with children residing with two biological parents. The majority of perpetrators were male members of the decedent child’s household.” – Pediatrics 2005

If you believe children should be “safe and loved,” then you believe biology matters.

Below are similar findings from the US Centers for Disease Control, study titled “Family Structure and Children’s Health” based on the National Health Interview Survey.

Excerpts from chapter 2 of “Them Before Us: Why We Need a Global Children’s Movement”

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
Share This