我的親生父親在醫學院時賣掉了他的精子。 有人告訴他,他的所作所為是多麼美妙、無私,並稱讚他對一個貧窮、不育的家庭如此慷慨。 他還被承諾匿名。 我父母買了那個精子,醫生用它給我媽媽授精。 我是一個陌生人的孩子,他無私地將我,他的親生女兒賣給了一個他永遠不會見面的家庭。 他簽署了他成為我父親的權利,我的父母很高興地買了這份能給他們一個孩子的禮物。 當我母親懷孕時,他們欣喜若狂,但沒有人考慮我對所發生的交易的感受,我對無權與親生父親建立關係的感受,無權訪問我的父親家庭,甚至不考慮醫療信息。  

現在輪到我發言了。 我討厭我的概念。  

怎麼會有人出賣人? 當然,那時它只是精子,但它是為了成為孩子而出售的精子。 為什麼醫生允許以與親生家庭隔絕的目的創造孩子以使接受者的父母高興是合法的? 這個過程商品化了真實的人。  

我參與國家寄養系統大約有二十年了,該系統鼓勵家庭團聚,並試圖支持將孩子與他們的血親保持聯繫,除非存在嚴重的安全問題。 孩子們在他們的親生家庭中茁壯成長,即使這些家庭需要額外的幫助,我們的政府在寄養系統中也承認這一點。 不幸的是,我出生於一家以利潤為導向的醫療診所出售父母權利的結果,而不考慮最終產品(孩子生產的產品)的最佳選擇。  

對於我的情況,沒有任何法律甚至建議的最佳做法。 匿名安排賣得最好,最不復雜,所以我在這裡,我母親的女兒和一個她希望永遠不會遇到的陌生人,由一個有足夠錢買我生存的男人撫養。 我的出生證明是假的,上面列出了撫養我的父親,一個與我沒有血緣關係的人,沒有任何跡象表明我的受孕過程中涉及另一方。 撫養我長大的父母從不告訴我真相,對我的出身撒謊,讓我相信我有準確的家族病史,這是完全合法的。

撫養我長大的父親在我十幾歲的時候就去世了,那時我還不知道這個大謊言。 我愛他成碎片。 他是把我們家凝聚在一起的磐石。 我非常希望我能知道他對我受孕的感受。 我記得小時候很多次他的朋友會開玩笑說:“她不可能真的是你的,你這個醜陋的老狗。 她太漂亮了。” 我總是很尷尬,想逃跑。 我希望我能看著他的臉。 我想知道這是否讓他心碎? 如果我知道,我會擁抱他,告訴他我永遠都是他的。  

在他去世後的困惑和悲傷中,我母親決定告訴我關於我受孕的真相。 這麼大的秘密,她一輩子都瞞著我,她毫不猶豫,因為它保護了一個讓她非常尷尬的事實……撫養我長大的父親是不育的。 她告訴我他們使用了捐贈者的精子,她認為我已經知道我和家裡其他人有多麼不同。  

我的世界分崩離析。 我在床上的毯子下度過了幾天,歇斯底里地哭泣。 當我能夠恢復鎮靜時,當我開始我的早晨例行公事時,我在鏡子中看到了自己,並意識到我不再知道自己是誰了。 我以為來自我父親的鼻子不是他的。 我以為把我和家人聯繫在一起的圓鼻子突然變得醜陋了。 我手指的形狀,和我爸爸的很相似,現在看起來很陌生和可怕。 在我二十多歲的幾年裡,我無法在鏡子裡看到自己而不流淚,所以我避開了鏡子。  

我不知道如何用語言來表達你一半的身份在這樣的時刻被撕掉是多麼的痛苦。 您知道每個人在生活中都會感到某些類型的悲傷,親人的死亡,被背叛的友誼,無法實現的目標,但我不知道會發生什麼事情會破壞我為自己創造的身份。 當你發現你的身份不明的父親賣掉了你時,沒有一本關於如何重建自我意識的手冊。 當然,我想問我媽媽他是誰,但安排是匿名的,我唯一知道的信息是他 可能 當時是醫學院的學生或居民。 我打電話給我懷孕的診所,試圖弄清楚關於我自己的一些事情,我的家族健康史,我的遺傳遺產,甚至只是一個身體描述。 辦公室經理說,所有超過10年的記錄都被銷毀了。 為什麼沒有系統來保存這些記錄? 哪個 10 歲的孩子會詢問父親的健康信息? 這些記錄,尤其是與健康有關的記錄,應該保存很長時間,遠遠超過 10 年。

我的處境讓我深感悲痛,所以我花錢請了輔導員幫助我理清自己的感受。 唉,我看到的輔導員並沒有像我一樣與那些在親生家庭之外受孕的人打過交道,他們告訴我,我必須選擇誰是我的“真正的”父親。 我猜他們認為擁有選擇的權力會讓我感到安慰,但他們的評論讓我覺得我一定不能愛那個養育我的父親,他的愛足以平息我心中的傷痛。 我陷入了痛苦的死胡同,沒有地方可以尋求更多信息,所以我放棄了。 一直想著我的新現實太痛苦了,所以我盡可能地把它埋得很深,全身心地投入到建立一個我自己的家庭中,一個與我有生物學關係的家庭。 我知道我可以為自己的孩子做得更好。 我知道他們的父母都會愛他們,而且我永遠不會對他們撒謊。 我非常討厭撒謊,以至於我永遠無法和他們一起玩聖誕老人或牙仙子的遊戲。  痛苦,悲傷不斷地在我最意想不到的地方以小波的形式出現。 在我不是他們中的一員的家庭聚會上。 在節日聚會上,小女孩看起來就像他們的爸爸。 我仍然不知道我是誰,我的家人是誰,這很痛苦。  

十年後,商業 DNA 測試終於開始看起來很有希望,而且現在我可以負擔得起了。 我甜蜜的丈夫鼓勵我繼續購買 Ancestry DNA 測試。 結果回來證實我與撫養我的父親沒有關係。 我最接近的比賽是第四表親,太遠了,無法做出任何快速的決定。 但我下定了決心,在接下來的 4 個月裡,我每晚花 4 到 5 個小時比較那些 6 代堂兄弟的公共家譜,直到有一天晚上,我發現了一對 4 年代的一對夫婦,他們在幾棵遙遠的樹中重複出現。 我建立了他們的家譜,包括他們所有的 1800 個孩子和他們的後代,直到今天。 我尋找在那棵樹上的人,他也曾在我懷孕的城市上過醫學院。  

最終我找到了一種可能。 我在社交媒體上找了一張他的照片,看到我兒子的舊版臉正盯著我看。 我可愛的兒子,他的容貌無人能及。 我終於找到了自己的另一半。 這一次的眼淚是喜悅的淚水。

一個匿名出售精子的男人的女兒如何在不激怒或嚇跑他的情況下與生父聯繫? 我需要很大的勇氣。 有幾個人告訴我,我應該讓他一個人呆著,因為聯繫他會“毀了他的生活”。 這對我的自我價值毫無幫助,想想也許只是聽到我,他的女兒的消息,可能會毀了他的生活。 但我確實必須考慮他的感受,並儘量恭敬地接近他。 如果他想不理我,或者對我提出限制令,或者告訴我他從未捐贈過,我應該迷路,或者善良並分享家族病史,或者接受我當他自己的。 他是我的親生父親,由於我的受孕方式,這些情況中的任何一種都是可以預料的。 我應該打電話給他,在家或工作給他寫信,出現在他的門口,還是在他的辦公室預約? 他最有可能與我交流的方式是什麼?  

我花了幾個月的時間寫信改寫,然後鼓起勇氣寄出。 最後他很震驚,但很友善。 他從沒想過會收到他捐贈的一個孩子的消息。 他根本沒想到我們的父母會告訴我們。 我也很同情他的處境。 這不是他告訴自己的家人的事情,他不想讓他們知道。

我的親生父親能夠給我那個失踪的家族病史。 有些遺傳疾病會遺傳給孩子,他們永遠無法弄清楚自己生病的確切原因,或者無法及時篩查出正確的癌症以提供幫助。 我聽說人們說你可以讓你的醫生對疾病進行基因篩查,但就我而言,我的親生父親患有一種沒有任何症狀的疾病,而我永遠不會被篩查出來。 只有我父親家庭的健康史才能告訴我我自己的健康問題來自哪裡。 事實證明,40 年會發生很多變化,即使診所保留了記錄供我查找,它們也不再準確。 一個很大的震驚是他的祖母在很小的時候就死於乳腺癌,所以現在我知道這是我需要比常規更早的篩查。 我想我假設診所可能不會使用具有侵襲性癌症家族史的人的精子。  

收到關於我的親生家庭的信息是苦樂參半的,了解更多關於他們的喜悅與我的親生父親不願意讓我了解那個家庭的悲傷混合在一起。 我希望有一天,如果我繼續尊重和善待他,他會改變主意,我將有機會與我的兄弟姐妹和祖父母建立關係。 這對我來說意味著整個世界。 我也很震驚地發現,我附近可能有大量捐贈者懷了同父異母的兄弟姐妹。 至少 20 歲,也許超過 50 歲。知道我可能永遠都不知道他們的大部分名字是很痛苦的,更不用說見到他們了。 他們不太可能被告知他們是捐贈者受孕的。 我愛他們,甚至在不認識他們的情況下想念他們。 我很慶幸我沒有不小心嫁給他們中的一個,而且我擔心我自己的孩子會不小心與他們眾多(數百個,也許?)表親中的一個建立浪漫關係。 如果沒有 DNA 測試,他們不會知道他們是相關的。 你能想像不得不篩選可能成為你不知名表弟的日期嗎? 如果堂兄弟姐妹最終在一起了,他們通過 DNA 發現了這一點,而約會對象的父母(我的兄弟姐妹)不知道他/她是捐贈者懷孕的怎麼辦? 為我的孩子考慮這一切的複雜性讓我感到緊張。

我們,捐贈者所設想的,被剝奪了一些相當基本的人權。 我們被商品化了,我們之所以存在,只是因為我們的親生父母願意出售遺傳物質以使其他人成為父母。 我們無法獲得有關我們的親生父母是誰的信息,診所保護其捐贈者的匿名性,以保護所生孩子的權利。 我們任由創造我們的成年人擺佈,他們是否甚至告訴我們我們與他們沒有生物學上的關係。 我們被剝奪了醫學家族史,可能有朝一日可以挽救我們生命的歷史,以及可以幫助我們拼湊身份的家譜歷史。 我們生活在一個可以追踪我們失踪家庭的時代,如果我們知道他們失踪了,但是當捐贈者被承諾匿名時,我們的聯繫可能不受歡迎。 在這個時代,給捐贈者任何幻想,認為他們可能能夠保持匿名,甚至可能是不誠實的,這對生育行業來說似乎是非常不負責任的。  

供體受孕已經給這個受孕者帶來了足夠的悲痛,以至於我積極地反對任何供體受孕的朋友,他們認為這條路線是解決他們自己不孕症悲痛的一種方式。 它並沒有解決悲傷,而是通過拒絕他們訪問他們失踪的生物家庭,將這種痛苦傳遞給下一代。 我會鼓勵人們不要使用任何捐贈者的概念,而是要為數百名在寄養系統中等待父母權利已被終止的兒童開放家園,或者尋找其他方法來度過不育症的悲痛。  

如果必須允許捐贈者受孕繼續為父母提供他們想要的孩子,那麼應該更仔細地審查匿名捐贈,並看到它的錯覺。 商業 DNA 測試不再是匿名的,而且它不應該作為捐贈者或接受者父母的選擇。 我可以想像,當像我這樣的人找到一個被告知永遠找不到的親生父母時,這件事最終進入法庭只是時間問題。 當可以找到捐贈者時,不應該有法律允許匿名捐贈者的州。   

此外,匿名會給所生的孩子帶來痛苦和身份混淆。 捐贈者的醫療記錄應保持最新,並在所生產的孩子的一生中易於獲得。 最後,應更新出生證明以跟上生殖技術的步伐。 出生證明上應該有合法和親生父母的空間,以便準確並讓捐贈者懷孕的人知道他們的真實出身。 澳大利亞是一個在受孕捐贈者的權利方面領先美國數英里的國家,提供帶有星號的出生證明,星號表示已存檔的附錄,其中包含參與捐贈的所有捐贈者的全名人的觀念。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

My biological father sold his sperm when he was in medical school.  He was told what a wonderful, altruistic act he was doing, and praised for being so generous to a poor, infertile family.  He was also promised anonymity.  My parents bought that sperm and a doctor used it to inseminate my mother.  I’m the child of a stranger, who altruistically sold me, his biological daughter, to a family he would never meet.  He signed away his rights to be a father to me, and my parents gladly bought the gift that would give them a child.  They were ecstatically happy when my mother became pregnant, but no one considered how I would feel about the transaction that took place, how I would feel about having no right to a relationship with my biological father, no access to my paternal family, not even medical information.  

Now it is my turn to speak.  I hate my conception.  

How can anyone sell a person?  Sure, at that point it was just sperm, but it was sperm being sold with the intention of becoming a child.  Why is it legal for a doctor to allow a child to be created with the purpose of being cut off from biological family to make the recipient parents happy?  The process commodifies real human beings.  

I’ve been involved in the state foster care system for about two decades, a system which encourages keeping families together and tries to support keeping children with their blood relatives unless there is a severe safety issue.  Children thrive best with their biological families, even when those families need extra help, something our government recognizes within the foster system.  Unfortunately, I was born as the result of a profit-driven medical clinic selling parental rights without regard for what is best for the end product, the child produced.  

There aren’t any laws or even suggested best practices for my situation.  Anonymous arrangements sell best, are least complicated, so here I am, the daughter of my mother and a stranger she hoped never to meet, being raised by a man who had enough money to purchase my existence.  My birth certificate is false, listing the father who raised me, a man I’m not related to, not giving any indication that there was another party involved in my conception.  It would have been completely legal for the parents who raised me never to tell me the truth, to lie to me about my origins and allow me to believe that I had accurate family medical history.

My father who raised me died when I was a teenager, before I knew the big lie.  I loved him to pieces.  He was the rock who held our family together.  I wish so much that I could know his feelings about my conception.  I remember many times as a child when his friends would jokingly say something to the effect of, “She can’t really be yours, you ugly old dog.  She’s too pretty.”  I was always embarrassed and looking for an escape.  I wish I’d watched his face.  I wonder if that gutted him?  If I’d have known, I would have hugged him and told him that I’ll always be his.  

In the confusion and grief that followed his death, my mother decided to tell me the truth about my conception.  She had no qualms about having kept such a big secret from me my whole life, as it protected a fact that was extremely embarrassing to her… The father who raised me was sterile.  She told me they had used donor sperm and that she thought I already knew how different I was from the rest of the family.  

My world fell apart.  I spent several days under a blanket in bed, crying hysterically.  When I was able to regain my composure, as I was going about my morning routine I caught sight of myself in the mirror and came to the realization that I had no idea who I was anymore.  The nose I thought had come from my dad wasn’t his.  That round nose that I thought connected me to family was suddenly hideous.  The shape of my fingers, so similar to my dad’s, now looked alien and terrifying.  There were several years in my mid twenties when I couldn’t look at myself in a mirror without bursting into tears, so I avoided mirrors.  

I don’t know how to express with words how distressing it is to have half of your identity ripped away in a moment like that.  You know there are some types of grief that everyone feels in life, death of loved ones, betrayed friendships, goals that cannot be achieved, but I had no idea that something could happen that would disrupt the identity I had created for myself like that.  There isn’t a handbook on how to rebuild your sense of self when you discover that your non-identifiable father sold you.  Of course I had questions for my mom about who he was, but the arrangement had been anonymous and the only information I had was that he might have been a med school student or resident at the time.  I called the clinic where I was conceived to try to figure out something about myself, my family health history, my genetic heritage, even just a physical description.  The office manager said all the records over 10 years old had been destroyed.  Why would there be no system to keep those records?  What 10 year old is going to ask for paternal health information?  Those records, especially the health related ones, should be kept for much, much longer than 10 years.

My situation grieved me deeply, and so I spent money to go to a counselor to help me sort through my feelings.  Alas, the counselors I saw hadn’t dealt much with persons who have been conceived apart from biological family the way I had, and they told me that I got to choose who my “real” father was.  I guess they thought it would be comforting to me to have the power to choose, but their comments made me feel like I must not love the dad who raised me enough for his love to be enough to quell the hurt in my heart.  I was at a painful dead end with no place to turn for more information, so I gave up.  It hurt too much to keep thinking about my new reality, so I buried it as deeply as I could and threw myself into raising a family of my own, one that was biologically related to me.  I knew I could do better for my own children.  I knew that both of their parents would love them, and that I wouldn’t ever lie to them.  I’m so averse to lying that I was never able to play the Santa or Tooth Fairy game with them.  The pain, the grief kept coming back in little waves, in places where I least expected it.  At family reunions where I wasn’t really one of them.  During holiday gatherings where little girls looked just like their daddies.  I still didn’t know who I was, who my family was, and it hurt.  

Ten years later commercial DNA testing was finally starting to look promising, and was now affordable enough for me to get my hands on.  My sweet husband encouraged me to go ahead and purchase an Ancestry DNA test.  The results came back confirming that I was not related to the dad who raised me.  My closest matches were 4th cousins, too far away to make any quick determinations.  But I was determined, and I spent 4-5 hours per evening over the next 6 months comparing the public family trees of those 4th cousins until one night I figured out a single couple from the 1800’s who was repeated in several of those distant trees.  I built their family tree, with all 20 of their children and their descendants, down to present day.  I looked for someone who was in that tree who had also attended medical school in the city where I was conceived.  

Eventually I found a possibility.  I looked for a photo of him on social media and saw an older version of my son’s face staring back at me.  My adorable son whose features no one could ever quite place.  I had finally found the other half of me.  The tears this time were tears of joy.

How does the daughter of a man who sold his sperm anonymously reach out to her  biological father without making him angry or scaring him away?  It took an enormous amount of courage on my part.  I had been told by several people that I should just leave him alone, as contacting him would “ruin his life.”  That did nothing for my self worth, to think that perhaps just hearing from me, his daughter, could possibly ruin his life.  But I did have to consider his feelings and try to approach him respectfully.  It would be his choice if he wanted to ignore me, or file a restraining order against me, or to tell me that he’d never donated and that I should get lost, or to be kind and share family medical history, or to accept me as his own.  He’s my biological father, and because of the way I was conceived any of these situations could be expected.  Should I call him, write him at home or work, show up at his door, or make an appointment at his office?  Which way would he be most likely to communicate with me?  

It took me months to write and rewrite a letter, and then work up the courage to mail it.  In the end he was shocked, but kind.  He never expected to hear from one of his donated kids.  He never expected any of our parents to tell us at all.  I empathize with his situation as well.  It isn’t something he ever told his own family, and he didn’t want them to find out.

My biological father was able to give me that missing family medical history.  There are genetic diseases that are passed along to children who will never be able to piece together exactly why they are sick, or who won’t be screened for the right cancers in time to help.  I’ve heard people say that you can simply have your doctor run a genetic screen for diseases, but in my case my biological father had a disease with no symptoms that I never would have been screened for.  Only a health history of my paternal family was able to show me where my own health issue was coming from.  It turns out a lot can change in 40 years, and even if the clinic had kept the records for me to find, they no longer would have been accurate.  A big shock for was that his grandmother died of breast cancer at a very young age, and so now I know that’s something I need to be screened for earlier than is routine.  I suppose I assumed that a clinic probably wouldn’t use the sperm of someone with a family history of an aggressive form of cancer.  

Receiving information about my biological family has been bittersweet, the joy of getting to know more about them mixed with the sadness that my bio father not willing to let me get to know that family.  I’m hopeful that one day, if I continue to be respectful and kind to him, that he’ll change his mind and I’ll get the chance to have a relationship with my siblings and grandparents.  It would mean the world to me.  I was also shocked to find out what a huge number of donor conceived half siblings I probably have living near me.  At least 20, maybe over 50.  It is painful to know that I likely won’t ever even know most of their names, let alone get to meet them.  They are unlikely to have been told they were donor conceived.  I love them and miss them without even knowing them.  I’m grateful that I didn’t accidentally marry one of them, and I worry that my own children will accidentally enter into a romantic relationship with one of their many (hundreds, maybe?) of cousins.  They won’t know they are related without DNA testing.  Can you imagine having to screen dates for potentially being your unknown cousin?  What if cousins do end up together, and they figure that out via DNA, and the date’s parent (my sibling) doesn’t know he/she is donor conceived?  It makes me nervous to think about the complexity of it all for my children.

We, the donor conceived, are being denied some pretty basic human rights.  We are commodified, existing only because our biological parent was willing to sell genetic material in order to make someone else a parent.  We aren’t given access to information about who our biological parent is, with clinics protecting the anonymity of their donors over the rights of the children produced.  We are at the mercy of the adults who created us as to whether they even tell us that we aren’t biologically related to them.  We are denied medical family histories, histories that might one day save our lives, as well as genealogical histories that would help us piece together our identities.  We live in a time when it is possible to track down our missing families, if we know they are missing, but when donors have been promised anonymity our contact may not be welcome.  It seems incredibly irresponsible on the part of the fertility industry to give any illusions to donors in this day and age that they might be able to maintain anonymity, perhaps even dishonest.  

Donor conception has caused this donor conceived person enough grief that I actively speak out against any donor conception to friends considering this route as a way to solve their own infertility grief.  It doesn’t resolve the grief, but rather passes that pain on to the next generation by denying them access to their missing biological family.  I would encourage people not to use any donor conception, but rather to open homes to parent the hundreds of children waiting in the foster system whose parental rights have been terminated or to find other ways to navigate through infertility grief.  

If donor conception must be allowed to continue to give parents the children they desire, then anonymous donation should be more carefully scrutinized and seen for the illusion that it is.  There is no more anonymity with commercial DNA testing, and it should not be offered as an option either for donors or recipient parents.  I can imagine it is only a matter of time before that matter ends up in a courtroom when someone like me finds a biological parent who was told they would never be found.  There should be no states with laws allowing anonymous donors when the donors can be found.   

Furthermore, anonymity causes pain and identity confusion for the children produced.  Medical records on the donors should be kept current and easily available for the lifetime of the child produced.  Finally, birth certificates should be updated to keep up with reproductive technology.  There should be space for both legal and biological parents on birth certificates, in order to be accurate and to allow donor conceived people to know their true origins.  Australia, a country which is miles ahead of the US when it comes to rights of the donor conceived, provides a birth certificate with an asterisk, and the asterisk indicates that an addendum is on file, containing the full name of any donors involved in a person’s conception.

Share This