(最初發表於 生活網站)

在閱讀文章之前,我對羅比·威廉姆斯和艾達·菲爾德一無所知“羅比威廉姆斯和艾達菲爾德歡迎代孕寶寶。” 但從標題中我已經知道他們的新寶寶科萊特(可可)約瑟芬威廉姆斯的一件事:她正在悲傷。

他們的 Instagram 公告沒有說明為什麼 Coco 是代孕出生的。 也許菲爾德在其他懷孕過程中遇到了困難,或者她只是需要擠進去 閃閃發光的禮服. 無論導致這對名人夫婦將這次懷孕外包的感知挑戰或好處是什麼,付出代價的都是嬰兒 Coco。

雖然它可以滿足成年人的願望,但代孕總是對孩子有害。 即使在像這樣的“最佳情況”情況下,遺傳母親和父親也是“預期的父母”,代孕迫使孩子犧牲與生母的關鍵紐帶。 威廉姆斯和菲爾德可能是她的親生父母。 但在她生日那天,代孕媽媽是 Coco 唯一知道的父母。

Coco渴望的正是無名代理人的身體和聲音; 可可認出了她的氣味。 是她的牛奶提供了嬰兒特有的營養,不僅可以填滿可可的小肚子,還可以滿足她的小心臟。 我們不會立即將新生兒放在隨機女性的胸前,這樣她們就可以建立聯繫。 我們把它們放在他們的 媽媽的胸 因為他們有一個 現有 鍵。 有一天,對 Coco 來說,她與 Williams 和 Field 有遺傳關係會很重要。 但今天,他們只是異世界的兩個陌生人。

去年夏天,整個國家都在為孩子在邊境與父母分離而沸騰——因為把孩子從父母身邊撕下來是殘忍的,我們都知道。 一種 結束邊境政策的請願書,由 12,600 名心理健康專業人士簽署, 解釋說,“假裝失散的孩子在成長過程中沒有在他們的腦海中嵌入這種創傷經歷的碎片,就是無視我們對兒童發育、大腦和創傷的了解……”然而,我認為許多 誰在邊境譴責分離 會慶祝的到來 芝加哥卡戴珊-西羅伯特·雷·布萊克-戴利 儘管父母分居一直是生育計劃的核心,但通過代孕。

為了避免你認為一個兩歲的孩子失去母親而嬰兒不知道有什麼不同,這對你來說是一種創傷,你還有另一個 認為 未來。

在我尋求建立兒童權利組織的過程中 他們在我們面前, 有一個人口統計很難贏得。 這不是孩子們 同性父母 他們需要一個地方來處理他們的無父無母而不被稱為偏執狂。 這不是 離婚的孩子 即使在他們 40 多歲的時候,他們仍在努力讓父母雙方在聖誕節快樂。 這不是 捐贈者懷孕的孩子 他們的故事表明,被“愛和想要”並不能彌補他們失踪的父母。

是被收養的人。

有些被收養者不會支持我們的使命,因為 我們支持收養 作為修復破碎狀況的一種手段。 許多在出生時就被收養的人覺得他們遭受了“原傷”當他們與生母分開時,即使他們隨後被安置在一個充滿愛的家中。 他們沒有錯。 研究表明,母體分離是 嬰兒的主要生理壓力源甚至短暫的產婦剝奪也可以 永久改變嬰兒大腦的結構.

儘管收養的孩子往往是在有孩子的家庭中長大的 高於平均水平的收入和受過高等教育的父母,他們 比已婚親生父母撫養的同齡人面臨更多的學業和行為挑戰。 許多被收養者認為,他們在出生時遭受的創傷已經表現為抑鬱、遺棄/失去問題以及一生的情緒問題。 鑑於他們持續的掙扎,一些被收養者無法想像與親生母親分離並隨後被收養的情況是合理的。

被收養者的經歷讓我們得以一窺代孕這個蓬勃發展的全球行業將如何影響無數兒童。 雖然大多數代孕孩子能夠在幾十年後 分享他們的觀點, 一名代孕婦女 她對這種做法的譴責毫不含糊:

“代孕的孩子,就像傳統收養的孩子一樣,會處理收養帶來的所有創傷。 我們想知道我們來自哪裡。 我們想知道我們的生母是誰。 我們想知道是誰生了我們,他們是什麼樣的……當我們在這個世界上有孩子已經需要家時,為什麼我們要故意創造孩子(通過代孕)來經歷收養的創傷?”

雖然代孕和收養都對兒童造成重大損失,但兩種家庭結構在一個關鍵領域有所不同:收養的兒童是由尋求撫養的成年人撫養長大的。 修補傷口 造成的 悲劇或困難. 代孕和捐贈者懷孕的孩子是由成年人撫養長大的 造成了傷害d. 一種家庭結構支持兒童權利,另一種則侵犯兒童權利。 一是要求大人支持孩子的失落,二是強迫孩子失去失落以支持大人的願望。 當涉及到孩子的最大利益時,尋求彌補父母的損失和付出代價之間有很大的不同 六位數 創造它。

在這一點上,唯一能減輕可可痛苦的就是永遠和她的代理人在一起。 當然,在以後的生活中,她會想, 就像許多捐贈者懷孕的孩子一樣,關於她遺傳母親的身份。 像所有孩子一樣,可可渴望與懷抱她的女人的依戀,以及從菲爾德傳下來的生物身份。 但可可要由一位母親撫養長大,她必須失去另一位母親。 就好像這兩個角色——遺傳母親和“代孕媽媽”——注定是同一個女人。

“意向父母”選擇代孕是因為他們都沒有子宮,還是因為他們不想讓另一位名人法官取代他們 X因素,代孕就其本質而言,是對孩子的不公。 出生是母子關係的延續,而不是孩子遭受故意的原始傷害的那一刻。 這是嬰兒應該第一次見到她已經愛的母親的日子……而不是最後一次。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Originally published at LifeSite)

I knew nothing about Robbie Williams and Ayda Field before reading the article “Robbie Williams and Ayda Field welcome surrogate baby.” But from the headline I already knew one thing about their new baby, Colette (Coco) Josephine Williams: she was grieving.

Their Instagram announcement doesn’t say why Coco was born of surrogacy. Perhaps Field had difficulties with her other pregnancies or perhaps she just needed to squeeze into that glittering gown. Whatever the perceived challenges or benefits that led the celebrity couple to outsource this pregnancy, it’s baby Coco who is paying the price.

While it may fulfill the desires of adults, surrogacy is always harmful to children. Even in the “best case” scenario like this one, where the genetic mother and father are also the “intended parents,” surrogacy forces the child to sacrifice a critical bond with her birth mother. Williams and Field may be her biological parents. But on her birthday the surrogate is the only parent Coco knows.

It’s the unnamed surrogate’s body and voice that Coco longs for; it’s her smell that Coco recognizes. It’s her milk which provides the baby-specific nutrients that not only fill Coco’s tiny stomach but satisfy her little heart as well. We don’t immediately place newborns on the chests of random women so they can forge a bond. We place them on their mother’s chest because they have an existing bond. Someday it will matter to Coco that she is genetically related to Williams and Field. But today, they are just two strangers in a foreign world.

Last summer, the entire country was seething over the separation of children from their parents at the border – because tearing a child from her parents is cruel, and we all know it. A petition to end the border policy, signed by 12,600 mental health professionals, explained, “to pretend that separated children do not grow up with the shrapnel of this traumatic experience embedded in their minds is to disregard everything we know about child development, the brain, and trauma…” Yet, I assume that many who decried separations at the border would celebrate the arrival of Chicago Kardashian-West and Robert Ray Black-Daley via surrogacy despite the fact that parental separation was central to the birth plan all along.

And lest you believe that it’s traumatic for a two-year-old to lose her mother but an infant doesn’t know any different, you’ve got another think coming.

In my quest to establish the children’s rights organization Them Before Us, there has been one demographic which has been difficult to win over. It’s not the kids with same-sex parents who need a place to process their fatherlessness or motherlessness without being called a bigot. It’s not the children of divorce who, even in their 40’s, are still trying to keep both parents happy on Christmas day. It’s not the donor-conceived children whose stories reveal that being “loved and wanted” doesn’t compensate for their missing parent.

It’s the adoptees.

There are some adoptees who won’t endorse our mission because we support adoption as a means of repairing a broken situation. Many who were adopted at birth feel they suffered a “primal wound” when they were separated from their birth mother, even if they were subsequently placed in a loving home. They’re not wrong. Studies show that maternal separation is a major physiological stressor for the infantand even brief maternal deprivation can permanently alter the structure of the infant brain.

Even though adopted children tend to be raised in homes with above-average incomes and more highly-educated parents, they still have more academic and behavioral challenges than their peers raised by their married, biological parents. Many adoptees argue that the trauma they suffered at birth has manifested itself as depression, abandonment/loss issues, and emotional problems throughout their lives. Given their ongoing struggles, some adoptees can’t imagine a scenario where separation from one’s birth mother and subsequent adoption is ever justified.

The experience of adoptees gives us a glimpse into how surrogacy, a booming global industry, will impact countless children. And while it will be decades before most children of surrogacy will be able to share their perspective, one surrogate-born woman doesn’t mince words in her condemnation of the practice:

“Children of surrogacy, just like children of a traditional adoption, deal with all the traumas that go along with adoption. We want to know where we come from. We want to know who our biological mothers are. We want to know who gave birth to us and what they are like… When we have children in this world who already need homes, why are we intentionally creating children [via surrogacy] to go through adoption traumas?”

While both surrogacy and adoption involve significant loss for children, there is one critical area where the two family structures differ: adopted children are raised by adults who are seeking to mend the wound inflicted by tragedy or hardship. Surrogate-born and donor-conceived children are being raised by the very adults who inflicted the wound. One family structure supports children’s rights, the other violates them. One requires adults to support children in their loss, the other forces loss on the child to support the desire of adults. When it comes to the best interest of the child, there’s a big difference between seeking to mend parental loss and paying six figures to create it.

At this point, the only thing that would assuage Coco’s suffering would be to remain with her surrogate forever. Of course later in life she would wonder, as many donor-conceived children do, about the identity of her genetic mother. Like all children, Coco craves attachment with the woman who carried her, as well as the biological identity passed down from Field. But for Coco to be raised by one mother, she must lose the other.  It’s almost as if those two roles – genetic mother and “gestational carrier” – were meant to be the same woman.

Whether the “intended parents” choose surrogacy because neither possesses a womb, or because they don’t want another celebrity judge to replace them on the X Factor, surrogacy is, by its very nature, an injustice to the child. Birth is intended to be a continuation of the mother/child bond, not the moment at which the child suffers an intentional, primal wound. It’s the day when a baby should see the mother she already loves for the first time… not the last.

Fuel This Global Children’s Movement!

Share This