2020 年 XNUMX 月,一對同性伴侶因不符合 Aetna 對不孕症的定義而被拒絕接受宮腔內人工授精和體外受精治療。 Aetna 將保險可涵蓋的不孕症定義為在十二個月的無保護性行為或十二個月的供體授精後沒有懷孕。 因此,該保險不包括同性人士和那些無力自掏腰包進行捐贈授精的人,讓艾瑪·戈德爾和她的伴侶在沒有 Aetna 幫助的情況下為他們創造嬰兒的任務買單。 Goidel 表示,這種拒絕報導“......感覺就像是一種酷兒稅”,她現在以歧視為由起訴 Aetna,因為她認為這一要求會削弱“酷兒以他們選擇的方式組建家庭的權利。” 然而,任何人是否有權“以他們選擇的方式”創造孩子,特別是當他們選擇的方式拒絕他們的孩子時 親生父母的權利

當然沒有權利將兒童商品化,這正是成年人試圖剝奪兒童的權利時所發生的 根本 需求 來滿足他們的願望。 以 Goidel 和她的伴侶尋求的方式受孕的孩子,即通過使用精子捐贈者,總是被故意剝奪被他們的親生父親了解和愛戴的好處。 除了滿足一個人一半的家譜身份的需要, 父親通過以下方式為父母身份的必要雙重性別影響做出貢獻 使用更權威的育兒方式,提供更粗暴的遊戲,以及 提供安全感和保護感

父親更有權威的養育方式會帶來更好的情感、社交、學業和行為結果。 父親參與程度越高的孩子,自信心、社交能力、自控力水平越高,在學校表現得越少, 青少年懷孕次數減少,並且不太可能參與青春期的危險行為,例如犯罪和吸毒和酗酒。 父親通過創造性的遊戲影響想像力和批判性思維能力的發展。 粗暴的遊戲 父親提供的這些讓父親有機會快速與孩子建立聯繫,因為父親和孩子在玩耍時催產素達到峰值。 這種與父親的遊戲對孩子的發展是有益的,因為它是互惠的和冒險的。 這種類型的遊戲教孩子關於關係的給予和接受,以及如何確定和適當地處理風險。 沒有父親的孩子也更有可能與焦慮、自殺和抑鬱等精神疾病作鬥爭。 父親的缺席阻礙了發展,從嬰儿期開始,父親缺席的心理傷害貫穿整個成年期。

兩個通過捐贈配子受孕的成年子女講述了他們被商品化、面臨家譜困惑和缺乏雙重性別影響的經歷:

沒有命名的父親 讓我陷入了永久的生存危機。 我覺得我什至不是出於愛而受孕的——我是因為我的父母有能力購買必要的成分,即某個隨便的傢伙的精液而受孕的。 我永遠不會知道我的生物學的一半,我來自哪里以及我為什麼存在的一半。 我覺得世界上幾乎所有其他人都無法獲得這種體驗……每當我向父母提起這些感受時,它們都會被認為是毫無意義和忘恩負義的。 有人告訴我,我很幸運能出生……我在這種悲傷中感到完全孤獨。 十幾歲的時候,我一直羨慕有父親的朋友,希望自己出生在他們的家庭裡。

我看過其他人的經歷 第一本能的怪誕感,也是。 一位女士在 Facebook 群組中說:“我正在考慮成為一名卵子捐贈者! 我以前認為這是放棄我的孩子,但後來我有不育的朋友,現在我想盡我所能幫助他們。 我記得說了一些大意的話, 它正在放棄你的孩子。

Goidel 還談到了她剝奪孩子的親生父親的“權利”,“生殖權利必須不僅僅是終止懷孕的權利……它們必須包括開始懷孕的權利……沒有人應該支付數千美元來組建家庭。” 這一聲明表明,墮胎和生殖技術是同一個兒童商品化硬幣的兩個方面,並且將兒童僅僅視為實現願望的附屬品。 畢竟,如果一個人可以強迫一個孩子不存在,而不管這是否侵犯了孩子的生命權,那麼即使它侵犯了孩子對父母的權利,也應該能夠強迫他們存在。 這告訴我們,兒童對自己的生命和父母的基本權利 必須受到保護,無論它們是否 不必要的 或者他們是否 非常想要

將兒童商品化並剝奪他們的權利只會繼續 當保險公司通過將其納入保險計劃來激勵生殖技術過程時。 因此,社會必須強化母親和父親的現實 在孩子的生活中是必需的,以及兒童不是成年人可以操縱的生活以滿足他們的願望的現實。

In September 2020, a same-sex couple was denied coverage for Intrauterine Insemination and In-Vitro Fertilization treatments because they did not meet Aetna’s definition of infertility. Aetna defines infertility coverable by insurance as not becoming pregnant after twelve months of unprotected sex or twelve months of donor insemination. This coverage, then, excludes same-sex persons and those who can’t afford donor insemination out of pocket, leaving Emma Goidel and her partner to pay for their quest to create a baby with no help from Aetna. Goidel stated that this denial of coverage “…feels like a queer tax,” and she’s now suing Aetna on the grounds of discrimination and due to the belief that this requirement diminishes “the rights of queer people to form families in the way that they choose.” However, is there a right for anyone to create children “in the way that they choose,” specifically when the manner they choose denies children of their right to their biological mothers and fathers

There’s certainly no right to commodify children, which is exactly what occurs when adults seek to deprive children of their fundamental needs to fulfill their desires. Children conceived in the manner of which Goidel and her partner seek, which is by use of a sperm donor, are always intentionally denied the benefit of being known and loved by their biological fathers. Besides fulfilling the need for half of one’s genealogical identity, fathers contribute to the necessary dual-gender influence of parenthood by using more authoritative parenting, providing more rough-and-tumble play, and providing a sense of security and protection

The more authoritative parenting of fathers leads to better emotional, social, academic, and behavioral outcomes. Children with higher levels of father involvement have higher levels of confidence, sociability, self-control, are less likely to act out in school, have fewer teen pregnancies, and are less likely to participate in risky behaviors in adolescence such as crime and drug and alcohol abuse. Fathers influence the development of imagination and critical thinking skills through creative play. The rough-and-tumble play that fathers provide allows for the opportunity for fathers to quickly bond with their children, as fathers and children get their peaks in oxytocin from playing with each other. This type of play with fathers is beneficial for the development of children because it’s reciprocal and risky. This type of play teaches the child about the give and take of relationships and how to determine and appropriately handle risk. Fatherless children are also more likely to struggle with mental health disorders like anxiety, suicide, and depression. The absence of fathers hinders development, beginning at infancy, and the psychological harm of father absence continues throughout adulthood.

Two adult children conceived through gamete donation had this to say about their experiences with being commodified, facing genealogical bewilderment, and lacking dual-gender influence:

Being without a named father has put me into something of a perpetual existential crisis. I feel as though I was not even conceived out of love – I was conceived because my parents could afford to buy the necessary ingredient, some random guy’s jizz. I will never know half of my biology, half of where I come from and why I exist. I feel robbed of an experience afforded to nearly everyone else in the world…Whenever I would bring up these feelings to my parents, they would be dismissed as pointless and ungrateful. I was told I was simply lucky to be born…I feel completely alone in this sadness. I spent my teenage years envious of my friends with fathers, wishing that I’d been born into their family instead.

I’ve seen other people experience the first-instinct sense of eeriness, too. One woman said in a Facebook group, ‘I’m thinking of being an egg donor! I used to see it as giving away my child, but then I had infertile friends, and now I want to do what I can to help them.’ I remember saying something to the effect, It IS giving away your child.

Goidel also stated about her “right” to deprive a child of his or her biological father, “Reproductive rights have to be more than just the right to end a pregnancy…They have to include the right to begin a pregnancy…no one should have to pay thousands of dollars to start a family.” This statement shows that abortion and reproductive technologies are two sides of the same child-commodifying coin, and ones that treat children as mere wish fulfilling accessories. After all, if one can force a child out of existence regardless of whether it violates a child’s right to life, then one should be able to force them into existence even if it violates a child’s right to his or her mother and father. This has taught us that the fundamental rights of children to their lives and to their mothers and fathers must be protected regardless of whether they are unwanted or whether they are greatly wanted

The commodification of children, and denial of their rights, only continues when insurance companies incentivize the reproductive technologies process by covering it in their insurance packages. Therefore, society must reinforce the reality that mothers and fathers are necessary in the lives of their children, as well as the reality that children are not products whose lives adults can manipulate in order to satisfy their wishes. 

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

EnglishPolski
Share This