(最初發表於 書籤交易)

馬上,我想澄清一點:我不是恐同者。 我姐姐是同性戀,我的很多朋友都是同性戀。 如果有的話,即使我是異性戀,有同性戀父母讓我對 LGBTQ+ 場景中的人更加自在。

直到三年級,欺凌開始時,我才真正意識到我的家庭與大多數其他人不同。 我有兩個媽媽的消息傳遍了全班,不知不覺我就在操場上被嘲笑了。 這個時候,我和父母的關係還很幸福,很恩愛,所以我對這些話不以為然。

然而,當青春期到來時,我越來越意識到我想要一個父親的生活漏洞。 誠然,由於各種其他因素,我與父母的關係此時已經惡化。 儘管如此,我還是渴望一個男性榜樣,一個可以談論“男人的事情”的人。 我的父母沒有男性朋友,似乎總是輕蔑地談論男性。 我聽說男人天生就更暴力、更自私、更不健康——我開始相信他們。 在我所做的環境中長大,我出現了更多的女性傾向,並且缺乏傳統的男性態度。 在中學的大部分時間裡,我在家上學並沒有幫助,這讓我對我這個年齡的大多數人的行為或外表沒有依據。 我也沒有和男性親戚有任何联系——我的父母都將他們的家庭與我的生活隔絕了。 我回到公立學校讀高中,但發現自己被大多數異性戀男性同齡人嚇倒了。 我最終學會了像他們一樣說話和穿得像他們,但我從來沒有學會在他們身邊真正感到自在。

公平地說,我的父母是極端分子,我承認這一點。 他們拒絕讓我妹妹去過夜,而她的朋友只是有父親在場,藉口是他們可能會襲擊甚至強姦她。 直到今天,我仍然不清楚他們的反男性情緒是從哪裡來的,但他們似乎從未承認這可能對我這個男性產生的影響。

在 12 歲左右,我開始更多地了解我的概念的含義。 我的母親帶著我接受了一位匿名捐精者的人工授精。 沒有一個有名的父親讓我陷入了永久的生存危機。 我覺得我什至不是出於愛而受孕的——我是因為我的父母有能力購買必要的成分,即某個隨便的傢伙的精液而受孕的。 我永遠不會知道我的生物學的一半,我來自哪里以及我為什麼存在的一半。 我感到被剝奪了世界上幾乎所有人都能獲得的體驗。 最糟糕的是,在這種存在狀態下,我感到完全孤獨。 孤兒和被收養者有權想了解他們的親生父母,並且他們會因這種願望而獲得支持。 父親去世或空缺的孩子至少有他們母親的記憶,照片,故事。 一個名字,甚至。 我將永遠一無所有,也永遠不會因為想要更多而感到支持。 每當我向父母提起這些感受時,它們都會被斥為毫無意義和忘恩負義。 有人告訴我,我很幸運能出生。

多年來,我一直試圖與這個事實和平相處。 我已經設法在網上與我父親那邊的一些同父異母的兄弟姐妹建立了聯繫,這些兄弟遍布美國。 他們也不知道我們的親生父親是誰,但他們都是在家里和父親一起長大的。 我不認為我知道我的親生父親可能在某個地方,而我媽媽甚至不知道他的臉是什麼樣子,我永遠不會平靜下來。

在這種悲傷中,我感到完全孤獨。 十幾歲的時候,我一直羨慕有父親的朋友,希望自己出生在他們的家庭裡。 據我所知,這聽起來很自負,我從來沒有覺得自己是一個直男長大。 我的父母想要一個女兒,而他們在我之後幾年得到了一個。 作為一個男孩,我感到內疚和錯誤,因為我的家人沒有像我這樣的人,我一次又一次地被告知男人是魔鬼。 一旦我意識到這一點,父親節就是一年中最糟糕的日子之一。

我並不是想說同性戀者不應該成為父母。 我只是說他們應該意識到這將不可避免地對他們的孩子產生影響,並且他們應該嘗試為他們的性別提供榜樣。 但是,我反對匿名精子庫。 所有這些匿名捐贈者都給他們的後代留下了一個問題,這個問題將困擾他們的餘生。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Originally published on Reddit)

Right away, I want to make something clear: I’m not a homophobe. My sister is gay, many of my friends are gay. If anything, even though I’m straight, having gay parents made me more comfortable with people in the LGBTQ+ scene.

It never really hit me that my family was different from most others until the third grade, when the bullying started. Word spread around the class that I had two moms, and before I knew it I was being taunted for it on the playground. At this time, my relationship with my parents was still happy and loving, so I shrugged the remarks off.

When puberty hit, though, I became increasingly aware of the hole in my life where I wanted a father. Granted, my relationship with my parents was already souring at this point for a variety of other factors. Still, I yearned for a male role model, someone to talk to about “guy things.” My parents had no male friends, and only ever seemed to talk about males disparagingly. I would hear that men were inherently more violent, selfish, and unhealthy – and I began to believe them. Growing up in the environment that I did, I emerged with more feminine tendencies, and a deficit of traditional masculine attitudes. It didn’t help that I was homeschooled for the majority of middle school, leaving me without a basis for what most guys my age behaved or looked like. I didn’t have any contact with male relatives either – my parents both cut off their families from my life. I returned to public schooling for high school, but found myself intimidated by most of my straight male peers. I eventually learned to talk like them and dress like them, but I never learned to be truly comfortable around them.

To be fair, my parents were extremists, and I acknowledge that. They refused to allow my younger sister to attend sleepovers when her friends merely had fathers present, under the pretense that they might assault or even rape her. To this day, I’m still unclear where their anti-male sentiment emerged from, but they never seemed to acknowledge the effect that it might have on me, a male.

At around the age of 12, I began to understand more about the implications of my conception. My mother carried me through artificial insemination from an anonymous sperm donor. Being without a named father has put me into something of a perpetual existential crisis. I feel as though I was not even conceived out of love – I was conceived because my parents could afford to buy the necessary ingredient, some random guy’s jizz. I will never know half of my biology, half of where I come from and why I exist. I feel robbed of an experience afforded to nearly everyone else in the world. The worst part is, I feel utterly alone in this state of being. Orphans and adoptees are entitled to want to know their biological parents, and they receive support for that desire. Children who have deceased or vacant fathers at least have their mother’s memory to go off of, pictures, stories. A name, even. I will always have nothing, and never felt supported for wanting more. Whenever I would bring up these feelings to my parents, they would be dismissed as pointless and ungrateful. I was told I was simply lucky to be born.

Over the years, I’ve tried to make peace with this fact. I’ve managed to connect with some of my half-siblings on my fathers side online, spread across the United States. They don’t have any clue who our biological father is either, but they all grew up with fathers in their homes. I don’t think I’ll ever be at peace knowing my biological dad might be out there somewhere, and my mom doesn’t even know what his face looks like.

I feel completely alone in this sadness. I spent my teenage years envious of my friends with fathers, wishing that I’d been born into their family instead. As conceited as I know this sounds, I never felt validated as a straight male growing up. My parents wanted a daughter instead, and they got one a few years after me. I felt guilty and wrong for being a boy because there was no one in my family like me, and I was told time and time again that men were the devil. Once I became aware of it, Father’s Day was one of the worst days of the year.

I’m not trying to say that gay people shouldn’t be parents. I’m only saying that they should be conscious of the impact that it will inevitably have on their children, and that they should try to provide them with role models for their gender. However, I am against anonymous sperm banks. All of those anonymous donors are leaving their offspring-to-be with a question that will haunt them for the rest of their lives.

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This