這是多么生動的記憶。

一天,大約十四歲的時候,我和爸爸一起坐在車裡,我們正在談論祖先。 我對自己的根很好奇。 當我問他我們是多少百分比的切諾基時,他給出了一個奇怪的回答。

我說,“如果你是 1/16 切諾基,我就是 1/32! 對?”

他回答說:“我。 . . 是 1/16 切諾基。”

缺乏對我自己基因的確認讓我感到不舒服,所以我重複了我的說法。 再一次,我父親拒絕證實我的血統。

我的哥哥和嫂子把這些叫做閃光燈記憶。 它們是從我們的過去中脫穎而出的時代,現在又復活了,因為它們清楚地揭示了我們注意到我們與父親的關係“不正常”的時刻。 並不是說他不是一個好人或沒有盡力而為,而是有些時刻給了我們線索,我們不是他的親生孩子。 然而,在那個時候,我們怎麼會知道呢?

根據我們後來了解的關於我們的概念,這些時刻是有意義的。 無論是閃光燈記憶還是看到他第一個孩子的超聲波,我的兄弟終於明確地問我們父親他是如何受孕的。 真相出來了。

我清楚地記得七年前感恩節那一周的那一刻。 我的媽媽和爸爸讓我坐下來進行家庭談話,告訴我我是捐贈者懷孕的。

我在大學期間聽說過這種做法,而我的第一個想法——在了解我自己的故事之前——一直是不安的。 當時我想到了一個關於這種做法是否合乎道德的簡短問題,但我聳了聳肩,盡量不去想它,因為它感覺怪異和超凡脫俗。 那個時候,它也不適用於我。

我認為這種對捐贈者受孕的超然反應是一種自然反應。 但是一旦我被告知我自己的構想,我花了一段時間才恢復到那些感覺。 震驚太大了。 我覺得好像肩上壓著不該有的負擔; 我的父母不能一起生孩子,這不應該是我的負擔。 我覺得自己好像突然變成了家裡的大人——或者也許我已經很久了,為他們承擔了他們的負擔,現在學會了應對後果。

受孕者的負擔

我也看到其他人也體驗過第一本能的怪誕感。 一位女士在 Facebook 群組中說:“我正在考慮成為卵子捐贈者! 我以前認為這是放棄我的孩子,但後來我有不育的朋友,現在我想盡我所能幫助他們。” 我記得說了一些大意的話, It 正在放棄你的孩子。 我很清楚,她的同理心影響了她的判斷。 對我來說,作為她所表達的同理心的直接結果的人,她的情緒似乎是片面的。 不幸的是,這很常見。

正如她所說,不孕症是一種負擔。 我很清楚。 這不是因為我自己的生育能力有任何問題,而是因為我受孕的環境。 通過醫院和生育中心的消毒,第三方安排僱用陌生人生孩子,只會粉飾真相。 作為“捐贈者”,無論是為了金錢還是出於利他的目的,您都在有意將您的孩子與他或她的父親或母親分開,而這正是他或她生命中最成熟的時期。 你把你的孩子託付給你的孩子不認識的人。 這不符合 保護性 育兒。 這使得捐贈者的概念與收養不同,在收養中,成年人試圖通過提供穩定的家庭生活來為有需要的孩子補救這種情況,即使這種家庭生活與他們的親生親屬分開。

當您是捐贈者受孕時,在生物學層面上,撫養您的無關人員完全不知道您中的一半(或所有人,取決於捐贈的類型)。 這造成了一些實際困難。 一方面,孩子們努力成為像他們的父母一樣。 模仿他們,吸收他們所做的一切,可以幫助孩子們理解世界。 當你與撫養你的人有關係時,這很有意義。 你要么討厭長輩,決定走一條不同的道路,要么你可以看看他們是如何運作的,以此作為你未來的指南。 你見過一起經營生意的家庭嗎? 還是有類似領域孩子的律師、醫生或教授?

對於捐贈者懷孕或收養的人來說,這種對父母榜樣的需求沒有得到滿足; 作為一個孩子(現在作為一個成年人)仍然有這些行為模式是令人沮喪的,同時拼命地尋找我是誰的答案。 我和我的捐贈者懷孕的朋友都覺得我們正在努力取悅與我們無關的父母,而不是另一位。 我不認為我的父親(社會父親)對我有這樣的期望。 但我覺得這種壓力是我自然地從父親那裡尋求的那種滿足感。

儘管公開收養已成為常態,因此被收養者能夠更好地找到他們的親生父母,但捐贈者懷孕的孩子——尤其是捐贈者是匿名的——可能很難找到他們的家人。 如果找到這個家庭,他們通常不會對他們的精子捐獻者孩子開放,考慮到,首先,他們中可能有很多人,其次,捐獻者由於他們的匿名身份而假設他們不在網上,並且他們不想為自己的行為負責。 此外,捐贈者可能已婚,並且有一個配偶不想與其他人所生的孩子有任何關係。 這些孩子對捐贈者的既定家庭構成威脅,也許配偶可能會感到被冷落。 從捐贈者的角度來看,他們可能害怕的不是孩子,而是他們承諾匿名幫助受孕的家庭受到干擾。 同樣,我知道我必須小心不要讓我父親(撫養我長大的人)置身事外。 我認為他是唯一一個沒有血緣關係的家庭成員,這讓他處於一個奇怪的境地。 這讓我想到了另一點:它也影響了他。 如果你是家裡唯一一個與其他人沒有基因聯繫的人,你會怎麼想? 這是一個孤獨的位置。

遇見我的親生父親

在七年前的感恩節啟示之後,我的兄弟開始努力尋找我們的親生父親。 因為精子捐贈者的孩子沒有合法權利知道他們的自然來源,所以要找到他並不是一個容易的過程。 確實,我哥哥花了五年時間。 但去年見到我的親生父親讓這段旅程值得。

與父親的會面給了我一直缺失的光芒。 我已經能夠開始將自己拼湊起來,並理解我以前沒有位置的部分。 例如,我經常因為我如何對人進行精神分析而被取笑。 我的思維方式給了我幫助我的已婚和未婚朋友在他們的關係中的訣竅。 這讓我想知道一個 XNUMX 歲的女人怎麼會有足夠的洞察力,以至於已婚夫婦會開玩笑說我是他們的業餘顧問。

好吧,原來我父親是一名精神科醫生。 他也有這種天生的傾向。 我很高興聽到這個消息,並發現他一生都對分析人感興趣。 我想知道我是否因為沒有加入那個職業而錯過了這條船,因為我可以看出他真的很喜歡它。

在見到他時,我對我們性格和與世界交往方式的相似之處感到滿足。 當我與他交談時,他的第一反應是投資於我,他的女兒; 聽我說完; 並給我很好的建議,他從與類似傾向的生活中學到的東西,無論好壞。 他以滿足我靈魂的方式理解我,現在我正在學習很多關於傾聽他人的知識,因為我與他建立關係的需求得到了滿足。 他也過度分享,我和我兄弟也是如此。他翻新房屋並修復它們,我的兄弟也是如此,他在遇到我們父親之前就自己產生了這種興趣。

我們像他一樣被建造。 我們是由相同的材料製成的。

如果可以的話,我會講述自從認識他以來我感到更滿足的每一種方式。 我欣賞這些感覺的奢侈,因為我不能把它們視為理所當然。

閱讀更詳細 公共話語 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

It’s such a vivid memory.

One day, when I was about fourteen, I was riding in the car with my dad, and we were talking about ancestry. I was very curious about my roots. When I asked him what percentage Cherokee we were, he gave an odd response.

I said, “If you’re 1/16th Cherokee, I’m 1/32nd! Right?”

He replied, “I . . . am 1/16th Cherokee.”

The lack of confirmation of my own genetics left me uncomfortable, so I repeated my statement. Again, my dad refused to confirm my heritage.

My brother and sister-in-law call these flashbulb memories. They are times that stand out from our past, which are resurrected now because they distinctly reveal moments when we noticed something was “off” about our relationship to our dad. It’s not that he wasn’t a good man or didn’t try his best, but there were moments that gave us clues we were not his natural children. And yet, back then, how could we have known?

These moments make sense in light of what we learned later about our conception. Whether it was flashbulb memories or seeing an ultrasound of his first child, my brother finally and clearly asked our dad how he was conceived. The truth came out.

I distinctly remember that moment the week of Thanksgiving seven years ago. My mom and dad sat me down for a family talk to tell me I was donor-conceived.

I had heard about the practice during college, and my first thoughts—before knowing my own story—had been uneasy ones. A brief question of whether the practice was ethical entered my mind at the time, but I shrugged and tried not to think any more about it, because it felt eerie and otherworldly. It also, at that time, didn’t apply to me.

I think this detached reaction to donor conception was a natural response. But once I was told about my own conception, it took a while for me to return to those feelings. The shock was too much. I felt as if a burden had been placed on my shoulders that shouldn’t have been there; it shouldn’t have been my burden that my parents could not have children together. I felt as if I had suddenly become the adult in my family—or perhaps I had been for a long time, bearing their burdens for them, and now learning to cope with the consequences.

The Burden of the Donor-Conceived

I’ve seen other people experience the first-instinct sense of eeriness, too. One woman said in a Facebook group, “I’m thinking of being an egg donor! I used to see it as giving away my child, but then I had infertile friends, and now I want to do what I can to help them.” I remember saying something to the effect, It IS giving away your child. It was clear to me that her empathy had clouded her judgment. To me, someone who’s a direct result of the empathy she expresses, her sentiment seems one-sided; and it is unfortunately common.

As she suggests, infertility is a burden. I know it well. This is not through any problems with my own fertility, but from the circumstances surrounding my conception. Hiring a stranger to have a child, through the sanitizing, third-party arrangements of hospitals and fertility centers, only whitewashes the truth. As a “donor,” you are intentionally separating your child from his or her father or mother in the most formative years of life, whether for money or for altruistic intentions. You are entrusting your child to the hands of people unknown to your baby. This is not in keeping with the protective nature of parenting. This makes donor conception unlike adoption, in which adults are trying to remedy a situation for a child in need by providing a stable home life, even though that home life is separated from their biological relatives.

When you are donor-conceived, on a biological level, half of you (or all of you, depending on the type of donation) is entirely unknown to the unrelated people who are raising you. This causes some practical difficulties. For one, children strive to be like their parents. There’s something about copying them, absorbing everything they do, that helps children make sense of the world. When you’re related to those who are raising you, this makes a lot of sense. You either find a distaste for your elders and decide to go down a different path, or you can see how they operate as a guide to what your future could look like. Have you ever met families who own a business together? Or lawyers, doctors, or professors who have children in similar fields?

For one who is donor-conceived or adopted, this need for a parental role model is left unsatisfied; and it’s frustrating as a child (and now as an adult) to still have these patterns of behavior, while desperately searching for answers to who I am. My donor-conceived friends and I have felt as if we are trying hard to please the parent we’re unrelated to more than the other one. I don’t think my dad (social father) expects this of me. But I feel that pressure just by nature of the type of fulfillment I naturally seek from a father.

Whereas open adoption has become the norm, so that adoptees are better able to find their birth parents, donor-conceived children—especially when the donor is anonymous—can have a difficult time finding their family. If the family is found, often they are not open to their sperm-donor children, considering that, first, there may be many of them, and, second, that donors assume because of their anonymous status that they are off the grid, and they don’t want responsibility for their actions. Additionally, the donor may be married and have a spouse who wants nothing to do with his or her children who are borne by someone else. Those children carry a threat to the donor’s established family, and perhaps the spouse may feel left out. From the donors’ perspective, they might be afraid, not of the child in question, but of interfering with the family they promised to help conceive anonymously. Similarly, I know I have to be careful not to leave my dad (who raised me) out of the loop. I think it puts him in an odd situation to be the only family member not blood-related. Which leads me to another point: it affects him, too. How would you feel if you were the only one in your family without genetic ties to everyone else? It’s a lonely position.

Meeting my Biological Father

After that Thanksgiving revelation seven years ago, my brother set to work to find our biological father. Because children of sperm-donors have no legal rights to know their natural origins, it wasn’t an easy process to track him down. Indeed, it took my brother five years. But meeting my birth father last year made the journey worth it.

Meeting my father gave me a light that had been missing. I’ve been able to start piecing myself together and making sense of parts of me that previously had no place. For example, I have often been teased for how I psychoanalyze people. My way of thinking gave me a knack for helping my married and unmarried friends in their relationships. It led me to wonder how a twenty-five-year-old woman could have enough insight that married couples would joke that I was their amateur counselor.

Well, it turns out my father is a psychiatrist. He has this natural bent, too. I was so happy to hear this, and to discover his interest in analyzing people throughout his life. I wondered if I missed the boat by not joining that profession, because I can tell he really enjoyed it.

In meeting him, I felt fulfilled by the similarities in our personalities and in our ways of relating to the world. When I speak with him, his first instinct is to invest in me, his daughter; to hear me out; and to give me good advice that he’s learned from living with similar tendencies, for better or for worse. He understands me in the way that satisfies my soul, and I’m learning a lot about listening to others now that my need for a relationship with him is being met. He also overshares, and so do my brother and I. He renovates houses and restores them, as does my brother, who came to this interest on his own before meeting our father.

We’re built like him. We’re made of the same materials.

If I could, I would recount each way in which I feel more fulfilled since getting to know him. I appreciate the luxury of these feelings, because I can’t take them for granted.

Read more at Public Discourse 

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This