在周五, 電視主持人安迪·科恩 宣布他要當爸爸了。 “今晚,我想讓你第一個知道,經過多年的仔細考慮、大量的祈禱和科學的益處——如果一切按計劃在大約六週後進行,我將成為一名父親。” 祝賀聲湧入,肯定科恩將成為一個了不起的“爸爸”。 我同意,我們沒有理由懷疑他會成為一個偉大的父親。

不出所料,在那些祝賀的推文中,沒有一處提到母親。 那是因為科恩沒有宣布他妻子懷孕了。 事實上,作為一個外向而自豪的同性戀者,他並沒有為他的孩子尋找妻子和母親。 相反,他分享說他單身時有一個孩子,“感謝一個美妙的 [無名,不露面,非富豪] 承載著我未來的代理人。” 粉絲和媒體都對他的宣布嗤之以鼻,儘管這個50歲的單身男人要成為父親,必須犧牲的是他的孩子。

回顧科恩的階段性聲明,看看他的父親身份實際上是如何完成的:合同已經簽署,卵子已經購買,子宮已經租用,金錢已經交換,並且在出生時,孩子將與他或她的母親分開LIFE 並交給了 Cohen。

以下是他決定通過代孕成為單身父親的四種方式將影響他的孩子:

1. 母嬰分離

科學和常識表明,失去父母對孩子來說是一種創傷,即使我們認為孩子是 太小記不住. 研究表明,在出生時與母親分開會導致 “重大心理壓力” 在嬰兒身上,即使是短暫的,也可能導致 兒童大腦的長期變化. 正如他們在我們之前的創始人 凱蒂浮士德筆記, “我們不會立即將新生兒放在隨機女性的胸前,這樣她們就可以建立聯繫。 我們把它們放在他們的 媽媽的胸 因為他們有一個 現有 鍵。” 科恩可能是嬰兒的親生父親,但在他/她出生的那天,代孕媽媽是嬰兒唯一認識的父母。

2. 故意無母

孩子們渴望得到母親的愛,即使他們受到父親的寵愛。 確實, 母親和父親與孩子的互動如此不同 一些專家認為沒有“育兒”這回事,只有“母親和父親”。 在沒有母愛的情況下長大的孩子會遭受很大的痛苦,通常會一直到成年。

里安娜 分享了她母親的缺席對她的影響:“我父親現在是兩個女孩的單親父親。 他喜歡當爸爸,也很崇拜我們……我們也很崇拜他。 我們認為他是有史以來最偉大的人!” 她與父親有著健康、充滿愛和積極的關係。 但她的父親不能代替她的母親。 “我從未有過媽媽的愛和感情……直到今天,我仍然因為那種被遺棄的感覺而受苦。 我經常想知道為什麼其他每個孩子都與他們的媽媽關係密切,但我卻沒有。 我想知道我在媽媽的眼中是否不可愛。 為什麼她不想出現在我的生活中……沒有孩子應該沒有母親[原文如此]……母愛至關重要! 直到今天,我仍然在經歷我的情緒和處理痛苦......我長大的唯一願望就是媽媽愛我並在我身邊

3. 失去親生父母

孩子有天生的權利 正好是兩個人——他們的親生母親和他們的親生父親。 失去一個或兩個往往會留下終生的傷口。 科恩的孩子會渴望知道他/她失踪的父母嗎? 如果他/她像 80% 的捐贈者懷孕的孩子, 是的。 “捐贈”她的卵子的女人可能給了科恩一些東西,但結果是,她剝奪了孩子對嬰兒擁有基本權利的東西——她自己。

伊麗莎白 解釋了她對她永遠不會知道的“捐贈者”父母的看法:“他給了我媽媽一些東西,但沒有給我——至少什麼都沒有——給我。 他是或曾經是我的父親,但通過配合我的人工受孕,他永遠剝奪了我認識他的可能性。 我不知道他的名字,他的長相,他的性格,他的聲音是什麼樣的。 我不認識我的祖父母,我的姑姑和叔叔,我的堂兄弟。

傑西卡·克恩,一位代孕婦女,寫下了她在成長過程中掙扎的家譜困惑:

我是捐贈者受孕的幸運孩子之一,因為我只用了 XNUMX 年就找到了我的親生母親,但是我們這些通過代孕受孕的人無權獲得這些信息。 我們經常被騙,甚至從未被告知我們的起源故事。 當我們受孕時,我覺得只有所涉及的成年人的利益才會得到照顧。 預期的父母可能會受到威脅,如果他們知道他們的親生父母是誰,他們的孩子不會將他們視為父母,或者代孕者可能出於經濟原因代孕並且不想被追查。 從我坐的地方來看,這是一件痛苦的事情。

4.商品化 

許多在實驗室裡創造出來的孩子覺得他們被視為一種產品,一種商品。 事實上,他們中的大多數都是字面上的 從目錄中選擇。 “ 有史以來最大規模的研究 關於捐精所生孩子的調查顯示,幾乎一半的孩子“對金錢參與他們的受孕感到不安”。 傑西卡繼續說:

當你知道你來到這個世界的很大一部分原因僅僅是因為薪水,並且在獲得報酬後你是一次性的,被放棄並且再也沒有想過,它會影響你如何看待自己。

只有在代孕中......

如果你在街上問一個人是否應該從她的母親身邊帶走一個嬰兒,你幾乎肯定會回答一個響亮的“不”。 但是,如果你打著代孕的幌子提出同樣的問題,許多人不僅不會對此有任何疑問,而且可能會將其視為一項科學成就。 事實上,一些政府甚至提供指導 以平等的名義尋求代孕的成年人. 但是當“平等”或科學的“突破”意味著孩子必須做出犧牲時,我們沒有進步,我們倒退了。

Cohen and Co 的興高采烈只有在成人慾望的滿足是至善的情況下才能存在。 然而,當我們從孩子的角度來看這次懷孕時,我們會看到一個嬰兒從與他或她在生命的前 9 個月結為紐帶的母親身上帶走,一個與他/她的生母分離的孩子,生命——長期被剝奪母愛,無權知道他/她的病史和遺傳史。

創造一個沒有母親的孩子是複雜的、昂貴的,並且要花費孩子的生命。

這聽起來像是我們應該慶祝的事情嗎?

On Friday, TV host Andy Cohen announced that he was going to be a dad. “Tonight, I want you to be the first to know that after many years of careful deliberation, a fair amount of prayers and the benefit of science — if all goes according to plan in about six weeks time I’m going to become a father.” Congratulations poured in wrought with affirmations that Cohen would be an amazing “Daddy.” And I agree, we have no reason to doubt that he will be a great father.

Unsurprisingly, nowhere in those congratulatory tweets was a mention of a mother. That’s because Cohen wasn’t announcing his wife’s pregnancy. Indeed, as an out and proud gay man, he’s not looking for a wife and mother for his child. Instead he shared that he was having a child as a single man, “thanks to a wonderful [nameless, faceless, non-rich celebrity] surrogate who is carrying my future.” Fans and media alike fawned over his announcement, despite the fact that for this 50-year old single man to become a father, it’s his child who must sacrifice.

Look past Cohen’s staged announcement at how his fatherhood is actually being accomplished: Contracts have been signed, eggs have been purchased, a womb has been rented, money has been exchanged, and, upon birth the child will be separated from his or her mother FOR LIFE and handed over to Cohen.

Here’s four ways his decision to become a single dad via surrogacy will impact his child:

1. Maternal separation

Science, and common sense, reveals that losing a parent is traumatic for the child, even if we think the child is too young to remember it. Research shows that being separated from one’s mother at birth causes “major psychological stress” on the baby and, even if brief, can result in long term alterations of the child’s brain. As Them Before Us founder Katy Faust notes, “We don’t immediately place newborns on the chests of random women so they can forge a bond. We place them on their mother’s chest because they have an existing bond.” Cohen may be the biological father of the baby, but on the day he/she is born, the surrogate is the only parent the baby knows.

2. Intentional Motherlessness

Children crave the love of their mother, even if they are being well-loved by their father. Indeed, mothers and fathers interact so differently with children that some experts posit that there is no such thing as “parenting”, there’s only “mothering and fathering”. Children who grow up without their mother’s love suffer greatly, often into adulthood.

Rhianna shared how her mother’s absence impacted her: “My dad was now a single father of 2 girls. He loved being a dad and adored us…and we adored him. We thought he was the greatest thing ever!” She had a healthy, loving, and positive relationship with her father. But her father couldn’t replace her mother. “I never have had a mom’s love and affection…I still to this day suffer because of that abandonment feeling. I often would wonder why every other kid had a close relationship with their mom, but not me. I wondered if I was unlovable in the sight of my mom’s eyes. Why did she not want to be in my life….No child should be without their mothers [sic]… a mother’s love is crucial! I’m still to this day going through my emotions and dealing with the pain… All I wanted growing up was my mommy to love me and be there for me.”

3. Loss of a Biological Parent

Children have a natural right to exactly two people- their biological mother and their biological father.  Losing one or both often leaves a lifelong wound.  Will Cohen’s child long to know his/her missing parent? If he/she is like 80% of donor-conceived children, yes. The woman who “donated” her eggs may have given something to Cohen, but as a result, she deprived the child of something to which baby has a fundamental right- herself.

Elizabeth explains her view of the “donor” parent she’ll never know: “He gave something to my mother, but nothing – less than nothing – to me. He is, or was, my father, but by cooperating with my artificial conception, he deprived me forever of the possibility of knowing him. I do not know his name, what he looks like, what his personality is, what his voice sounds like. I do not know my paternal grandparents, my aunts and uncles, my cousins.

Jessica Kern, a surrogate-born woman, writes of the genealogical bewilderment that she struggled with growing up:

I am one of the fortunate children of donor conception because it only took me nine years to find my birth mom, however those of us who are conceived through surrogacy do not have the right to have this information. Often we are lied to, and never are even told our stories of origin. When we are conceived it comes across to me that only the adults involved have their interests looked after. The intended parents might be threatened that their child won’t view them as parents if they know who their biological parents are, or the surrogate possibly did the surrogacy for financial reasons and does not want to be tracked down. From where I sit this is a painful thing.

4. Commodification 

Many children created in a lab feel that they were treated as a product, a commodity.  Indeed, most of them were literally chosen out of a catalogue. The largest study ever conducted on children born of sperm donation reveals that almost half of them are “disturbed that money was involved in their conception.” Jessica continues:

When you know that a huge part of the reason that you came into the world is due solely to a paycheck, and that after being paid you are disposable, given away and never thought of again, it impacts how you view yourself.

Only In Surrogacy…

If you asked a person on the street if a baby should be taken from her mother, you’re virtually guaranteed a resounding “NO.” But, if you floated the same question under the guise of surrogacy, not only would many have no problem with it, they might see it as a scientific achievement. Indeed, some governments even offer guidance to adults seeking surrogacy in the name of equality. But when “equality” or a scientific “breakthrough” means that a child must sacrifice, we don’t progress, we regress.

Cohen and Co’s elation can only exist if the fulfillment of adult desires is the Greatest Good. However, when we look at this pregnancy from the perspective of the child, we see a baby taken from the mother with whom he or she bonded for the first 9 months of life, a child separated from his/her birth mother, the life-long deprivation of maternal love, and no right to know his/her medical and genetic history.

Creating a motherless child is complex, expensive, and costs the child for life.

Does that sound like something we should celebrate?

BECOME A MONTHLY DONOR

and we will send you our eBooklet

“Children Or Commodities? Why Children’s Rights is the most pressing issue of our time.”

Share This