大量研究證明婚姻是孩子生活中的一股美好力量,從統計數據來看,孩子的已婚父母的家是最重要的。 孩子最安全的地方. 但是,如果“成本”涉及犧牲兒童的安全和福祉,“我們面前的他們”並不提倡“不惜一切代價結婚”。 我們承認在極端情況下離婚可能是必要的,但整體離婚應該​​是罕見的,並且應該批判性地看待。

“有錯”有時,“無錯”從不

在無過錯離婚出現之前,人們普遍認為婚姻是一份永久合同,雙方都履行了婚姻和養育子女的承諾。 當一方配偶因遺棄、通姦或虐待而被認定為“有過錯”離婚時,社會期望和壓力隨之而來。 違反婚姻承諾不僅會帶來恥辱,而且過錯也會給責任方帶來更大的經濟負擔,從而激勵夫妻雙方尋找更可行的婚姻問題解決方案。 過錯離婚為“無辜的一方”和/或試圖使婚姻成功的配偶提供保護和獎勵。 然而,無過錯離婚允許婚姻關係在沒有任何解釋的情況下解除。 很難找到關於離婚原因的良好數據,但有人估計 超過 80% 的離婚是因為無過錯案件. 最常見的結果是,在婚姻和離婚訴訟中,最有過錯且最不想結婚的一方擁有最大的權力。

在社會層面,無過錯離婚引發了一種低承諾婚姻的文化,以犧牲孩子的終身風險為代價。 因為當一段婚姻可以隨便結束的時候,也往往是隨便締結的。 無過錯離婚也導致越來越多的夫婦對婚姻持懷疑態度。 結果,下一代經常選擇完全放棄婚姻,轉而採用同樣對孩子不利的選擇: 同居. 拒絕無過錯離婚政策和無過錯心態將使婚姻態度轉變為一種嚴肅的、終生的承諾。 它將使無數孩子免於離異家庭的心痛和負面影響。

雖然在極端情況下,為了保護孩子和無辜的配偶免受“有過錯”的父母的傷害,離婚可能是必要的,但無過錯離婚給我國幾十年的孩子帶來了災難性的後果。

離婚有什麼不好?

研究清楚地表明,離婚對孩子有許多負面影響。 然而,無過錯離婚政策除了涉及的成年人的感受外,無視一切。 結果,孩子們經常遭受無法挽回的後果。

離婚開始,通常會成為家庭破裂的終生循環。 離婚在任何情況下都不是沒有受害者的,但是當涉及到孩子時,他們為婚姻解體付出了最高的代價。 研究表明,雖然成年人有時報告說離婚後更快樂或更穩定,但很少會導致孩子更快樂或更穩定。 在大多數情況下,孩子們的經歷恰恰相反,大多數人報告說他們離婚後情況更糟。 家庭破裂研究的一個共同主題表明,離婚只是孩子一生中將經歷的許多家庭破裂中的第一個。 朱迪思·沃勒斯汀,家庭破裂對兒童的長期心理影響領域的先驅指出,“離婚具有欺騙性。 從法律上講,這是一個單一的事件,但從心理上講,它是一個事件鏈——有時是一個永無止境的鏈——事件、搬遷和隨著時間的推移而發生根本變化的關係,這個過程永遠改變了相關人員的生活。” (見故事 內特 和 瑪麗亞.)

兩間房子不比一間好。  離婚通常會導致兩個家庭,兩套規則和期望,以及對學校教育和行為的關注或關注的差距。 一個孩子經常會經歷一兩對父母的戀人進入現場,同居,然後離開。 (看 詹妮弗的 故事。)這種“新常態”會造成繼父母和繼兄弟姐妹的循環,以及如果父母分手,新關係的關係緊張會突然解體。 此外,性虐待的可能性急劇增加,當 無血緣關係的男性 與孩子同居(沃勒斯坦與劉易斯,2004).

離婚導致父母參與的減少。 沒有父親是一種全國性的流行病,特別是在少數族裔社區中,離婚通常會減少父母一方或雙方對孩子——通常是父親——的生活的參與。 (沃勒斯坦與劉易斯,2004) 女性更有可能成為
主要父母和父親,無論是否自願,通常較少參與決策,花較少的時間陪伴孩子,並且在經濟上較少參與為他們提供服務。 一項研究表明,離婚後 42%的孩子再也見不到父親.

離異父母的孩子更有可能經歷貧困並在貧困中停留的時間更長 (費根,1999)。 美國近一半的離婚家庭後來生活在貧困中,申請聯邦福利的女性中有 75% 是因為“婚姻/關係破裂”。 雖然男性和女性的工作機會都在增加和多樣化,但離婚導致兒童的經濟福利出現倒退。 在無過錯離婚之前,孩子的健康狀況、父母雙方都在家的可能性以及經濟穩定性都在穩步增長。 但是,隨著 60 年代離婚和非婚生子女的文化越來越多,我們國家看到了與已婚父母一起生活得更富裕的孩子之間的經濟鴻溝,與家庭被打亂的孩子的經濟不安全感之間的差距。懷特海,1993).

其他負面影響: 研究表明,離婚的孩子還面臨:青少年自殺增加、青少年犯罪增加並變得更加暴力、學校表現下降、孩子更有可能在青少年時期結婚、更有可能在婚外生孩子、更有可能解除他們的婚姻。自己的婚姻,抑鬱率增加,與父母的關係受損,整體結婚率下降。 千禧一代更有可能完全避免婚姻而贊成同居。

雖然在極端情況下離婚可能是必要的,但為了兒童和整個社會的利益,我們回到更合適的婚姻和離婚觀點。 看到離婚對孩子的終生且經常週期性的負面影響,要求我們重新定位我們對婚姻的個人觀念以及我們的國家政策,並拒絕無過錯離婚。 隨著無過錯離婚的引入,進入我們法律領域的永久婚姻的消亡無異於一場文化危機。 重新關注健康的婚姻,父母雙方都承諾“無論好壞,直到他們分開”,這將徹底改變我們國家孩子的生活。

Reams of research testify to marriage being a force for good in the lives of children and statistically, the home of a child’s married mother and father is the safest place for a child. However, Them Before Us does not advocate for “marriage at all costs” if the “cost” involves sacrificing the safety and well-being of children. We acknowledge that divorce may be necessary in extreme circumstances, but that overall divorce should be rare and viewed critically.

“At Fault” Sometimes, “No Fault” Never

Before the advent of no-fault divorce, marriage was widely considered to be a permanent contract which held both parties to their marriage and parenting commitments. There were societal expectations and pressures brought to bear when one spouse could be found “at-fault” for a divorce due to abandonment, adultery, or abuse. Not only was there a stigma in violating your marital commitment, but being at-fault also resulted in a greater financial burden on the responsible party and thus incentivized both husband and wife to find a more viable solution to marital troubles.  At-fault divorce provided protection and rewards to the “innocent party” and/or the spouse who tried to make the marriage work.  However, no-fault divorce allowed the dissolution of the marriage relationship with no explanation. It’s surprisingly difficult to find good data on what reasons are given for divorce, but some estimate over 80% of divorces are because of no-fault cases.  The all-too-frequent result is that the party who was the most at-fault and who wanted the marriage the least, held the most power during the marriage and divorce proceedings.

On a societal level, no-fault divorce has given rise to a culture of low-commitment marriage at the expense of life-long risks to children. Because when a marriage can be casually ended, it’s often entered into casually as well.  No-fault divorce also has resulted in increasing numbers of couples who view marriage skeptically all-around. As a result, the next generation has often chosen to forgo marriage altogether in favor of the also-bad-for-kids-alternative: cohabitation. Rejecting no-fault divorce policy and the no-fault mentality would shift marital attitudes back to what is intended to be- a serious, life-long commitment. And it would spare countless children the heartache and negative effects of a divorced home.

While in extreme cases divorce may be necessary to protect children and the innocent spouse from the parent who is “at fault”, no-fault divorce has produced disastrous results for decades of our country’s children.

What’s so bad about divorce?

Research demonstrates clearly that divorce has numerous negative impacts on children.  However, no-fault divorce policy disregards everything except the feelings of the adults involved. As a result, children often suffer irreparable consequences.

Divorce begins, what can often become, a lifelong cycle of family disruption. Divorce is not victimless in any scenario, but when there are children involved, they pay the highest price for marital dissolution. Studies show that while adults sometimes reported being more happy or stable after divorce, it rarely resulted in children being happier or more stable. In the majority of cases children experience the opposite with most reporting that they were worse off after a divorce. A common theme in research on family breakdown revealed that divorce was only the first of many family disruptions that child would then experience throughout his or her life.  (See the stories of Nate and Maria.)

Two homes are not better than one.  A divorce often results in two homes, two sets of rules and expectations, and gaps in concern or attention for schooling and behavior. A child often experiences one or two sets of parental romantic partners entering the scene, cohabitating, and then leaving. (See Jennifer’s story.) This “new normal” can create a cycle of stepparents and stepsiblings, and the relational strain of new relationships that are suddenly dissolved if the parents break up. Also, the potential for sexual abuse drastically increases when biologically unrelated males are cohabitating with children (Wallerstein & Lewis, 2004).

Divorce causes a decline in parental involvement. Fatherlessness is a national epidemic, particularly within minority communities, and divorce often lessens the involvement of one or both parents in the lives of their children- usually fathers. (Wallerstein & Lewis, 2004) Women are more likely to become the
primary parent and dads, whether by choice or not, are often less involved in decision making, spend less time with their children, and are less financially involved in providing for them. One study revealed that after a divorce 42% of children never see their father again.

Children of divorced parents are more likely to experience poverty and remain in poverty longer (Fagan, 1999). Nearly half of divorced families in the United States live in poverty afterward, and 75% of women who apply for federal benefits do so because of a “disrupted marriage/relationship”.  While work opportunities, for both men and women, have increased and diversified, divorce has caused a regression in the wellbeing of children economically. Prior to no-fault divorce, childrens’ health, likelihood of having both parents at home, and economic stability was growing steadily. But with growing cultural approval for divorce and out-of-wedlock birth in the 60s, our nation saw an economic divide between kids living more prosperously with their married parents, vs economic insecurity for kids whose families had been disrupted (Whitehead, 1993).

Other negative effects: Research has shown that children of divorce also face: an increase in teen suicide, juvenile crime increasing and becoming more violent, declining school performance, kids more likely to marry as teenagers, more likely to have babies outside of marriage, more likely to dissolve their own marriages, increase in depression rates, damage to their relationship with both mother and father, and a decline in the marriage rate overall.  Millennials are more likely to avoid marriage altogether in favor of cohabitation.

While divorce might be necessary in extreme cases, it is for the benefit of children and society as a whole that we return to a more appropriate view marriage and divorce. Seeing the lifelong and often cyclical negative impacts of divorce on children demands that we reorient our personal concepts about marriage, as well as our national policies, and reject no-fault divorce.  The demise of the permanence of marriage that entered our legal landscape with the introduction of no-fault divorce is nothing short of a cultural crisis. A renewed focus on healthy marriages in which both parents are committed “for better or worse, till death do they part” would revolutionize the lives of the children of our nation.

Previous Article

Stephanie Blessing

[et_pb_section transparent_background="off" allow_player_pause="off" inner_shadow="off" parallax="off" parallax_method="on" make_fullwidth="off" use_custom_width="off" width_unit="off" custom_width_px="1080px" custom_width_percent="80%" make_equal="off" use_custom_gutter="off" fullwidth="off" specialty="off" ... Read more

Next Article

Study: Involved Fathers Make Babies Smarter (and that's unacceptable)

It is endlessly shocking to me that an argument erupts every time a new study comes ... Read more

Share This