該視頻是為“代孕:重新審視婦女的身體自主權和兒童權利,” 主辦的活動 家庭與人權中心 (C-Fam)家庭公民社會. 下面的成績單包括視頻中引用的故事和研究的鏈接:

人們越來越關注代孕如何使女性商品化,但較少關注這種做法如何傷害兒童。 這就是我今天想和你談談的

我的名字是 Katy Faust,我是 Them Before Us 的創始人和導演。 我們是唯一致力於在家庭結構中捍衛兒童權利的組織,這使我們成為代孕的強烈反對者。 這種做法在世界大部分地區被廣泛認為是侵犯人權的行為,旨在滿足那些想成為父母的人的願望。 然而,它通過侵犯兒童的基本權利來實現這一目標。 當弱者被迫為強者犧牲時,正義永遠不會得到伸張。

代孕以多種方式傷害兒童,從優生學到商品化再到健康風險。 但由於本週聯合國關注的是女性,我將討論代孕對孩子的三種傷害方式,這些方式與失去母親有關,以及支持這些說法的故事和研究。

創傷

失去父母對孩子來說總是很痛苦,即使在出生時也是如此。 研究表明,與生母分離會導致“嬰兒的主要生理壓力.” 此外,即使是短暫的產婦剝奪也可以 永久改變嬰兒大腦的結構. 雖然有時收養是必要的,但被收養者長期以來一直提到“原傷”由母體分離導致,這可能會阻礙長期的依戀、聯繫和心理健康。

代孕的女人 說:

“當我們在這個世界上有孩子已經需要家時,為什麼我們要故意創造孩子來經歷收養創傷? 當我找到我的親生母親時,我是能夠治愈我的一些痛苦的幸運者之一。 但是,我仍然處理其他收養問題,這些問題讓我在親生媽媽眼中與眾不同。 她怎麼會認為她打算生孩子的孩子和她通過代孕生的孩子不相等。”

代孕出生的年輕人 寫道:

“我不在乎我的父母或母親為什麼要這樣做。 在我看來,我是被買賣的。 你可以用盡可能多的漂亮詞來裝扮它。 你可以用一條真絲圍巾把它包起來。 你可以假裝這些不是你的孩子。 您可以說這是一份禮物,或者您將您的卵子捐贈給了[意向母親]。 但事實是,有人與你簽約,讓你生孩子,放棄你的父母權利,交出你的血肉。 我不在乎你是否認為我不是你的孩子,那我怎麼想! 也許我知道我是你的孩子。 當您用某種東西換取金錢時,它被稱為商品。 嬰兒不是商品。 嬰兒是人。”

這是什麼 一個女人,在出生時不知不覺被販賣在黑市收養圈,不得不說代孕:

“在[代孕]交易中*完全*無視孩子的健康和福祉的意願是不合情理的。 我出生的事件現在是 65 年前,但被出售的影響是普遍的,因為它們來自於打破懷孕期間母親、她的胚胎、胎兒以及最終的孩子之間形成的紐帶……我不是在暗示我仍然是這些情況的受害者,但我也花了 25 年的時間進行治療以消除傷害。 這是一輩子的工作。”

無論準父母的家庭結構如何,甚至在準父母也是遺傳父母的“最佳情況”情況下,在出生當天,代孕總是剝奪孩子們唯一認識的父母——他們的生母。

失去親生父母.

代孕安排通常涉及“供體”精子或卵子。 對於孩子來說,這意味著故意失去一位親生父母。 他們擁有自然權利的父母。 一項主要研究 發現近三分之二的從精子捐贈者懷孕的孩子認為“我的精子捐贈者是我的一半”。 儘管被“迫切需要”,這些孩子經常與家譜困惑作鬥爭。  

Ellie 寫下她發現自己是捐贈者受孕後的感受:

“我以為來自我父親的鼻子不是他的。 我以為把我和家人聯繫在一起的圓鼻子突然變得醜陋了。 我手指的形狀,和我爸爸的很相似,現在看起來很陌生和可怕。 在我二十多歲的幾年裡,我無法在鏡子裡看到自己而不流淚,所以我避開了鏡子。”

伊麗莎白 寫道:

捐贈者受孕的特殊之處在於,一方面它優先考慮遺傳學:可生育的伴侶成為真正的親生父母。 另一方面,它說遺傳對另一半配子無關緊要,只要“想要”一個孩子,他就會擁有他需要的一切。 不幸的是,事實並非如此。 我和我的[社交]父親沒有關係,不僅僅是因為我母親的丈夫的犯罪行為; 我沒有父親,因為我的母親在醫療機構(和法律)的幫助下故意剝奪了我的父親。

伯達尼 說:

被“通緝”有時會讓人感覺像是一種詛咒,就像我是為了讓你開心而被創造出來的,我的權利被詛咒了。 如果我說我從未感到商品化,那我就是在撒謊。 我作為 DCP(捐贈者受孕者)的經歷讓我意識到,有時,最合乎道德的做法就是不滿足需求。 當我聽到你有多想要我的時候,我也忍不住想我爸爸是怎麼不想要我的。 他知道他行動的目標是創造一個與他無關的孩子。 你明白這會造成怎樣的傷害嗎? 你的需要被他的缺乏抵消了嗎?

幾十年來,孩子都是通過捐精受孕的,所以我們不必推測第三方生殖對他們生活的影響。 捐贈者懷孕的孩子與 抑鬱症、犯罪和藥物濫用. 百分之八十 通過捐精受孕的孩子 想知道他們的捐贈者的身份。 對於一些, 尋找他們的捐贈者 成為一生的追求。 任何故意切斷孩子與親生父母一方或雙方的關係的過程都是不公正的。 這種不公正的烙印讓孩子們終生失落和掙扎。

故意無母.

代孕常常否認孩子與一個母親的關係,而是兩個母親——他們在出生那天或出生時渴望聲音的母親,以及給他們綠眼睛的母親。 這種損失不是由於悲劇,而是因為預期的父母認為母親是可選的。 隨著這些孩子的成長,他們可能會被告知“在養育孩子時性別並不重要”和“孩子需要的只是愛”。 然而,沒有母親的孩子經常遭受難以置信的情感痛苦:

里安娜 說,“我從未有過媽媽的愛和感情……我仍然因為那種被遺棄的感覺而受苦。 我經常想知道為什麼其他孩子都和他們的媽媽有關係,而我卻沒有。 我在媽媽的眼裡不可愛嗎? 為什麼她不想出現在我的生活中?

一個男孩寫道:“我是一個14歲的男孩. 我和兩個爸爸住在一起。 一個是我的親生父親,一個不是。 我的親生母親(她為我的出生給了我父親的卵子)經常來我家。 她今年 2 歲,是我父親長期以來最好的朋友。 我想稱她為我媽媽,但當我嘗試時,我的爸爸總是生氣。 事實上,當我爸爸不在的時候,我已經給她媽媽打電話了,她很喜歡。 她和我有很多聯繫。”

薩曼莎 說:“我、我的小弟弟、爸爸和 [他的伴侶] 比利 [是] 我認識的唯一一家人。 [我看了] 時間之前的土地。 這是一次痛苦的經歷。 Littlefoot 有一個“母親”,她為挽救他的生命而死。 Littlefoot 整部電影都在哀悼失去他的“母親”。 就在那一刻,作為一個 5 歲的女孩,我意識到有媽媽這樣的東西,而我沒有媽媽。 我花了一整天的時間在一位我再也見不到的老師的懷裡哭泣,因為我從來不知道我從未有過。

同性家庭的研究 驗證了這些故事。 一項這樣的研究, 全國健康訪談研究, 審查了 512 個同性為首的家庭的數據 並發現 同性父母的孩子的情緒問題是異性父母的孩子的兩倍多。  

支持沒有母親的家庭使親子關係的破壞正常化。 故意切斷與母親或父親的聯繫否認孩子 兩個成年人 統計學 最有可能保護、依附和投資於他們. 不僅如此,他們還是唯一能夠為孩子們提供他們渴望的生物身份的成年人。

我想花點時間解釋一下原因 收養支持兒童權利。 雖然代孕侵犯了兒童權利.

  • 收養旨在在孩子悲慘地失去父母后修補傷口,第三方生殖/代孕造成了傷口
  • 如果收養處理得當,每個孩子都會被安置在慈愛的父母身邊,但並不是每個成年人都會得到一個孩子。 收養要求成年人接受嚴格的篩选和審查。 生育和代孕診所尋求將孩子交給任何成年人,無論他們的身心健康狀況如何。
  • 在收養過程中,成年人尋求支持孩子的需要和渴望。 在代孕中,孩子們必須支持成年人的需要和渴望。

由於這些關鍵的差異, 在家庭穩定、藥物濫用、情感問題和身份問題方面,收養的孩子比捐贈者懷孕的孩子要好.

總之,一個公正的社會關心孤兒,而不是創造孤兒。

一些孩子在童年時期遭受父母一方或雙方的悲慘損失並不能證明是合理的 故意地 在受孕時否認孩子與母親或父親的關係。 僅僅因為一些孩子被他們的生母放棄並不能證明是正當的 故意地 一出生就斷絕母子關係。 孩子們有權與他們的母親和父親在一起。 第三方生殖和代孕,尤其是與無母之家相結合時,故意侵犯了這些權利。

正如一位捐贈者懷孕的女性所說的那樣,“這不是建立家庭的新方式,而是將家庭撕裂的新方式。”

我要感謝 C-Fam 和家庭公民社會今天有機會與您交談。

要了解孩子們自己的更多信息,或了解更多資源和研究,請訪問 ThemBeforeUs.com。 我們正在發起一場讓所有成年人捍衛所有兒童權利的運動。 我希望你能加入我們。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

This video was produced for “Surrogacy: A Fresh Look at Women’s Bodily Autonomy and the Rights of Children,” an event sponsored by Center for Family and Human Rights (C-Fam) and Civil Society for the Family. The transcript below includes links to the stories and studies referenced in the video.:

There is growing attention around how surrogacy commodifies women, but less about how this practice harms children.  That’s what I want to talk to you about today

My name is Katy Faust, and I am the founder and direct of Them Before Us.  We are the only organization solely devoted to defending children’s rights in family structure and that makes us ardent opponents of surrogacy.  This practice, widely considered a human rights violation across much of the world, aims to satisfy the desires of those who want to become parents.  Yet it achieves that goal by violating children’s fundamental rights. Justice is never served when the weak are forced to sacrifice for the strong.

Surrogacy harms children in a variety of ways, from eugenics to commodification to health risks. But because this week the UN is focused on women, I’m going to address three ways surrogacy harms children related to the loss of their mother, and the stories and studies which support these claims.

Trauma

Losing a parent is always traumatic for children, even at birth. Studies show that separation from the birth mother causes “major physiological stress for the infant.” In addition, even brief maternal deprivation can permanently alter the structure of the infant brain.  While there are times when adoption is necessary, adoptees have long referred to a “primal wound” resulting from maternal separation which can hinder long-term attachment, bonding, and psychological health.

One surrogate-born woman says:

“When we have children in this world who already need homes, why are we intentionally creating children to go through adoption traumas? I am one of the lucky ones who were able to heal some of my pain when I found my birth mother. However, I still deal with the other adoption issues of what makes me different in my biological mom’s eyes. How can she consider the children that she intended to have her children, and the children she had through surrogacy not equals.”

One young man born of surrogacy writes:

“I don’t care why my parents or my mother did this. It looks to me like I was bought and sold. You can dress it up with as many pretty words as you want. You can wrap it up in a silk freaking scarf. You can pretend these are not your children. You can say it is a gift or you donated your egg to the [intended mother]. But the fact is that someone has contracted you to make a child, give up your parental rights and hand over your flesh and blood. I dont care if you think I am not your child, what about what I think! Maybe I know I am your child. When you exchange something for money it is called a commodity. Babies are not commodities. Babies are human beings.”

Here’s what one woman, unknowingly trafficked in a black market adoption ring at birth, had to say about surrogacy:

“The willingness to *entirely* disregard the health and well-being of the child in [surrogacy] transactions is unconscionable. The events of my birth are now 65 years ago, but the effects of being sold are universal, because they derive from breaking the bonds formed during pregnancy between the mother, and her embryo, fetus, and ultimately, child… I’m not suggesting I remain a victim of these circumstances, but I also spent 25 years in therapy to undo the damage. It’s been a lifetime’s work.”

Regardless of the household structure of the intended parents, and even in the “best case” scenario where the intended parents are also the genetic parents, on the day of birth surrogacy always deprives children of the only parent they know- their birth mother.

Losing a biological parent.

Surrogacy arrangements often involve “donor” sperm or egg.  Which for the child means the intentional loss of one biological parent. A parent to whom they have a natural right. One major study found that nearly two-thirds of children conceived from sperm donors believed that “my sperm donor is half of who I am.” Despite being “desperately wanted,” these children often struggle with genealogical bewilderment.  

Ellie writes of how she felt after discovering that she was donor-conceived:

“The nose I thought had come from my dad wasn’t his.  That round nose that I thought connected me to family was suddenly hideous.  The shape of my fingers, so similar to my dad’s, now looked alien and terrifying.  There were several years in my mid twenties when I couldn’t look at myself in a mirror without bursting into tears, so I avoided mirrors.”

Elizabeth writes:

The peculiar thing about donor conception is that on the one hand it privileges genetics: the fertile partner gets to be a real, biological parent. On the other hand, it says that genetics do not matter for the other half of the gametes, and that as long as a child is “wanted”, he will have everything he needs. Unfortunately, that is not true. I do not have a relationship with my [social] father, and not just because of my mother’s husband’s criminality; I do not have a father because my mother, with the help of the medical establishment (and the law) deliberately deprived me of one.

Bethany says:

Being “wanted” can sometimes feel like a curse, like I was created to make you happy, my rights be damned. I’d be lying if I said I never felt commodified. My experience as a DCP (donor conceived person) has made me realize that, sometimes, the most ethical thing to do is to not satisfy a want. When I hear how much you wanted me, I cannot also help but think about how my dad did not want me. He knew the goal of his actions was to create a child he would have nothing to do with. Do you understand how that can hurt? That your want is cancelled out by his lack of it?

Children have been conceived via sperm donation for several decades, so we don’t have to speculate about the impact that third-party reproduction has had on their lives. Donor conceived children struggle disproportionately with depression, delinquency, and substance abuse. Eighty percent of children conceived via sperm donation would like to know the identity of their donor. For some, finding their donor becomes a lifelong pursuit. Any process that intentionally severs a child’s relationship to one or both biological parents is an injustice. This brand of injustice sets children up for a lifetime of loss and struggle.

Intentional motherlessness.

Often times surrogacy denies children a relationship with not just one mother, but two- both the mother whose voice they long for on the day or birth, and the mother who gave them their green eyes. This loss is not due to tragedy, but because the intended parents believe that mothers are optional.  As these children grows, they will likely be told that “gender doesn’t matter in parenting” and “all kids need is love.” Yet motherless children often suffer incredible emotional anguish:

Rhianna says, “I never have had a mom’s love and affection… I still suffer because of that abandonment feeling. I often would wonder why every other kid had a relationship with their mom, but not me. Was I unlovable in the sight of my mom? Why did she not want to be in my life?

One boy writes, “I’m a boy of 14. I live with 2 dads. One is my biological dad and one of them isn’t. My biological mother (who gave my dads her ovum for my birth) comes my house often. She’s 38 and my dads’ long time best friend. I want to call her my mom but my dads always get mad when I try. I actually already call her mom when my dads are not around and she liked it. She and I have lots of connections.”

Samantha says, “Me, my baby brother, Dad, and [his partner] Billy [were] the only family I had ever known. [I watched] The Land Before Time. It was a traumatic experience. Littlefoot had a “Mother” and she died saving his life. Littlefoot spent the entire movie mourning the loss of his “Mother.” It was in that moment, as a 5 yr old girl, that I realized there was such a thing as a mother and that I did not have one. I spent the rest of the day crying into the arms of a teacher I would never see again for a mother that I never knew I never had.

Studies on same-sex headed homes validates these stories. One such study, the National Health Interview Study, reviewed data on 512 same-sex headed homes and found that emotional problems were over twice as prevalent for children with same-sex parents than for children with opposite-sex parents.  

Endorsing motherless homes normalizes the destruction of the biological parent-child relationship. Intentionally severing the bond with mother or father denies children the two adults who are statistically the most likely to be protective of, attached to, and invested in them. Not only that, they are the only adults who can provide children with biological identity that they crave.

I want to take moment and address why adoption supports children’s rights. While surrogacy violates child rights.

  • Adoption seeks to mend a wound after a child has tragically lost their parents, third-party reproduction/surrogacy creates the wound
  • When adoption is done right, every child will be placed with loving parents, but not every adult will get a child.  Adoption requires adult to submit to intense screening and vetting. Fertility and surrogacy clinics seek to give a child to any adult regardless of their mental/physical fitness.
  • In adoption, the adult seek to support the child’s needs and longings.  In surrogacy, the children must support the adult’s needs and longings.

Because of these critical differences, adopted children fare better when it comes to household stability, substance abuse, emotional problems and identity questions than donor-conceived children.

In summary, a just society cares for orphans, it doesn’t create them.

That some children suffer the tragic loss of one or both parents during childhood doesn’t justify intentionally denying children a relationship with their mother or father at conception. Just because some children are relinquished by their birth mother doesn’t justify intentionally severing the mother-child bond upon birth. Children have a right to their mother and father. Third-party reproduction and surrogacy, especially when combined with motherless homes, deliberately violate those rights.

As stated best by one donor conceived woman, “This is not a new way of creating families, it’s a new way of ripping them apart.”

I want to thank C-Fam and the Civil Society of the Family for the chance to speak with you today.

To hear more from the children themselves, or for additional resources and studies, visit ThemBeforeUs.com. We are building a movement where all adults defend the rights of all children.  I hope you’ll join us.

BECOME A MONTHLY DONOR

and we will send you our eBooklet

“Children Or Commodities? Why Children’s Rights is the most pressing issue of our time.”

Share This