過去幾年,代孕已經進入大眾意識,但 教宗方濟各譴責這種做法 於 2024 年 XNUMX 月擔任全球麥克風投放。

代孕的支持者和反對者遍布各個政治領域,這往往會造成奇怪的同床異夢。 嚴格保守派 激進女權主義者例如,經常與實踐相一致。中心型 保守的 專家和 網點 常與“古典自由主義者,」 因此,也許是在不知不覺中,加入了激進的 LGBT 階層,以犧牲成年人的利益為代價來推進成年人的慾望。 兒童權利。表面上保守的《電訊報》在這個話題上採取了更大膽的立場,認為「代孕對女性和家庭都有好處。人們希望這樣的說法能得到充分的推理和數據的支持,但經過仔細檢查,卻發現兩者都沒有支持。

作者伊麗莎白·諾蘭·布朗首先分享了一個大家庭成員希望使用代理孕母和另一位家庭成員提供她的子宮的故事。代孕從未實現,但根據布朗的說法,她幾乎沒有的軼事說明代孕「可以是一種同情和愛的行為」。在她的文章中,她提供了代孕有益的三大理由。她聲稱這對家庭、女性和人類都有好處。對於她在評價中忽略了最重要的一方——孩子,《我們面前的人》的支持者並不感到驚訝。所以我們會為她考慮這些。 

代孕對家庭來說是有好處的。

布朗聲稱代孕對家庭有好處,因為它可以提高出生率,但他立即意識到代孕出生只是人口的一小部分,幾乎沒有任何影響。然後她譴責「不孕症」是無子女家庭的根源,然後承認根本不想要孩子是統計上最大的罪魁禍首。儘管她似乎無法表達原因,但代孕在某種程度上是答案,因為它「對家庭有好處」。

更大的問題是布朗以成人為中心的“組建家庭”觀點。在#BigFertility 的參與下,「建立家庭」意味著成人和兒童的任何組合。雖然這種“組建家庭”的方式對成年人來說可能是“好事”,但對於孩子來說,並不是所有的家庭都是平等的。如果一個家庭要對孩子“好”,就必須尊重這些 三個關鍵標準:

性別問題。男性和女性以互補的方式養育子女,為孩子帶來獨特的好處。當一種性別(尤其是父親)缺失時,我們會看到兒童身上出現幾乎可以預見的模式,特別是女孩的早期性行為和男孩的法律問題。

生物學很重要。我們從幾十年來關於離婚和同居影響的研究中得知,親生父母往往是孩子一生中最安全、最投入、最持久的人。相較之下,非生物照顧者往往更短暫,投入的時間/資源更少,並且對生活在他們照顧下的兒童更危險。

心理學界廣泛承認,當孩子失去父母之一或雙親時,他們會遭受創傷,從而產生負面影響。 離婚,放棄(即使 隨後通過), 死亡, 或者 第三方復制。

代孕涉及兒童福祉的所有三個方面並使其面臨風險。這只是“對家庭有好處”,因為成年人得到了他們想要的東西。但代孕從來都不是「對孩子有好處」。

“代孕對女性來說是有好處的。”

布朗聲稱代孕對女性有好處,因為它可以幫助想要孩子的女性得到一個孩子,並且可以讓代孕者賺錢,同時在事後感覺良好。我們已經揭穿了這一點,僅僅因為代孕對想要孩子的成年人來說是“好事”,但這並不意味著代孕對孩子來說是“好事”。她的第二個推理是,對於代孕者來說,作為一種創收活動是“好事”,可以用來為從毒騾到開設 OnlyFans 帳戶的各種卑鄙行為辯護。成年人同意並賺錢,並不意味著某件事就「好」。

隨後,布朗試圖透過三項涉及 133 名女性的研究來證明代孕對代孕媽媽來說是“有好處的”,所有這些研究都僱用了招募的參與者,因此很可能存在偏見。這 第一 據稱表明 「代理人的動機主要是利他主義,而不是金錢利益。”但是當你查看數據時,你會發現只有三名代理人接受了採訪,他們報告了“在嬰兒出生後將其交給預定的夫婦的行為是一種無私的經歷。”

第二 研究中,從代孕機構招募的 110 名女性完成了一項線上調查,結果發現許多“將代孕視為一種積極的經歷,並視為對其他人生活有意義且有影響力的事情。”這項「研究」詳細說明了「有多少」女性有這種感覺。

最後 研究僅採集了一個樣本 二十 代孕媽媽在孩子出生一年後和十年後接受訪問。訪談形式為「半結構化訪談和自我報告問卷」。 

由於方法不佳和樣本量小,這些「研究」的結果並沒有得出針對人群的結論。但是,即使大多數代孕媽媽對這個過程在情感上感到滿意,布朗也沒有提及已知的植入、卵子採集以及代孕媽媽懷孕和出生所帶來的嚴重的、有記錄的風險。這 傳統基金會 詳細說明攜帶另一位女性受精卵的代孕媽媽有“三折 高血壓和子癇前症的風險」和「卵子捐贈者有  擔心經歷生育能力喪失、血栓、腎臟疾病、過早停經和癌症等疾病…”

但即使100%的女性擔任代理孕母, 我們無法知道這個數字,因為這種做法非常不受監管,因此安全、幸福、富有,孩子被設計、被購買、被出售、被孕育、然後與母親分離,對孩子有什麼影響? 

提示:不好。

因為收養的需求早在技術出現之前就已經出現了,所以像這樣的資源 原始傷口, 被稱為“被收養者的聖經”,解釋了孩子出生時失去母親如何影響 體現在廣泛的範圍內 孩子的心理和生理問題。 

研究表明,代孕的一個特徵是母親分離…甚至短暫的產婦剝奪也可以 永久性地改變嬰兒大腦的結構。 母親分離會導致皮質醇等壓力荷爾蒙增加,導致免疫功能下降,並導致海馬體功能障礙,從而導致精神分裂症、創傷後壓力症候群、自閉症、焦慮症、疼痛反應改變等精神健康問題增加,以及注意力缺失症等學習困難、記憶力和注意力集中困難。 母親分離也與自殺傾向增加、吸毒和酗酒問題以及建立親密關係的能力受損有關。

但如果代孕媽媽所生的孩子能夠代表他或她自己,他們會怎麼說呢?看什麼 傳統代孕出身的奧莉維亞不得不說她的經歷:

「我的生活就像被遺棄一樣。我感覺自己好像被我的生母遺棄了……因為我被賣了。對於一個孩子來說,沒有什麼比在我生命中的某個時刻感覺到我真的被為了一張支票而出賣更糟糕的了。” 

沒有足夠的證據顯示代孕對女性有好處,但更大的問題是代孕對孩子是否有好處。答案是不行。永遠不會。

“代孕對人類有益。”

布朗的結論是,代孕對人類有益,因為它是女性幫助其他女性的“女權主義制度”,它符合宗教和保守派優先考慮“家庭”的觀點,而且它是人們“給予偉大禮物的一種方式”。為人父母的權利強加給別人。”她說,選擇上述所有內容的自由比任何反對派對這一過程的「噁心」感覺更重要,這強調了布朗很可能對實際反對派幾乎沒有做任何研究。

我們已經認識到,代孕不符合兒童權利的家庭觀,因為它會激勵孩子與父母斷絕關係,並將他們安置在任何有能力支付費用的成年人的家庭中。我們認為 收養和第三方複製之間的區別,包括代孕,我們明確表示,這兩種做法都不應以成年人的意願為指導。主要考慮因素必須是捍衛兒童對自己父母的權利。當這種理想無法實現時,孩子應該擁有安全、充滿愛心、健康且經過徹底篩檢的父母。有道德的民眾不能提倡侵犯其他人權利的「自由選擇」。 

如果代孕對孩子沒有好處,那麼它就不可能對人類有好處。代孕對孩子不利,因為它是故意的 將兒童與親生父母分開,造成原始創傷,將兒童變成可供買賣的商品,並且常常使兒童缺乏母親的日常陪伴,而母親的陪伴才能最大限度地促進他們的發展。 

下次《電訊報》撰寫有關代孕的文章時,我們希望他們能考慮到第一篇文章中明顯缺席的一方——孩子。

Surrogacy has exploded into the public consciousness in the past few years, but Pope Francis’ condemnation of the practice served as a global mic drop in January 2024.

Supporters of, and opposition to, surrogacy are found throughout the political spectrum which often makes for strange bedfellows. Strict conservatives and radical feminists, for example, frequently align against the practice. Center-ish conservative pundits and outlets often ally with “classical liberals,” thereby, perhaps unwittingly, joining the activist LGBT class to advance the desires of adults at the expense of child rights. The Dispatch, an ostensibly conservative outlet, took a bolder stance on the topic, arguing that “Surrogacy is Good for Women and Good for Families.” One would hope such a claim would be backed with great reasoning and data, but upon closer inspection, it’s backed by neither.

Author Elizabeth Nolan Brown opens by sharing the story of an extended family member’s desire to use a surrogate and another family member offering up her womb. The surrogacy never materialized, but according to Brown, her barely-there-anecdote illustrates that surrogacy “can be an act of compassion and love.” In her article, she provides her trinity of reasons surrogacy is beneficial. She claims it’s good for families, for women, and for humanity. Them Before Us supporters are not surprised that she omitted the most important party – the child – in her evaluation. So we shall consider them for her. 

Surrogacy is good for families.

Brown claims surrogacy is good for families because it would improve the birth rates, but then immediately recognizes that surrogacy births are a drop in the demographic bucket and would have virtually no effect at all.  She then decries “infertility” as the root of childless homes, then admits that not wanting children at all is statistically the biggest culprit. Even though she can’t seem to express why, surrogacy is somehow the answer because it’s “good for families.”

The larger issue is Brown’s adult-centric view of “making families.” With #BigFertility’s involvement, “making families” means any and every combination of adults and children. While this means of “making families” may be “good” for adults, when it comes to children, not all families are created equal. If a family is to be “good” for children, it must respect these three critical criteria:

Gender matters. Men and women parent in complementary ways, bringing distinct benefits to their children. When one gender is missing, particularly fathers, we see almost predictable patterns arising in children, specifically early sexual behavior among girls and problems with the law for boys.

Biology matters. We know from decades of research on the impact of divorce and cohabitation, that biological parents tend to be the safest, most invested, and most permanent in a child’s life. In contrast, non-biological caregivers tend to be more transitory, invest less time/resources, and more dangerous to children living under their care.

It is widely acknowledged within the psychological community that children suffer trauma, and thus negative effects when they lose one or both parents to divorce, abandonment (even if subsequently adopted), death, or third-party reproduction.

Surrogacy implicates and puts at risk all three aspects of child well-being. It’s only “good for families” in the sense that adults get what they want. But surrogacy is never “good for children.”

“Surrogacy is good for women.”

Brown claims that surrogacy is good for women because it helps women who want a baby to get one, and it allows surrogates to earn money while feeling great about it afterward. We already debunked that just because surrogacy is “good” for adults who want kids, that doesn’t make it “good” for children. Her second line of reasoning, that it’s “good” for surrogates as an income-earning endeavor, can be used to justify all manner of vile practices from being a drug mule to starting an OnlyFans account. Just because an adult consents and makes money, doesn’t make something “good.”

Brown then seeks to demonstrate that surrogacy is “good” for the surrogate using three studies capturing a total of 133 women, all of which employ recruited participants, resulting in a high likelihood of bias. The first purportedly shows that “surrogates are primarily motivated by altruistic reasons [rather] than monetary gains.” But when you look at the data, you see that only three surrogates were interviewed who reported “the act of handing over the babies to intended couples after birth as an altruistic experience.”

In the second study, 110 women recruited from surrogacy agencies completed an online survey which found many “viewed surrogacy as a positive experience and as something meaningful and impactful to other people’s lives.” The “study” offers details on exactly “how many” women felt that way.

The final study captured a sample of just twenty surrogates interviewed one year after the birth and then a decade later. The interview format was a “semi-structured interview and a self-reporting questionnaire.” 

Due to poor methodologies and small samples, the results of these “studies” do not have population-wide conclusions. But, even if a majority of surrogates are emotionally satisfied with the process, Brown omits any mention of the serious, documented risks that implantation, egg harvesting, and surrogate gestation and birth are known to carry. The Heritage Foundation details that a surrogate carrying another woman’s fertilized egg has a “three-fold risk of developing hypertension and pre-eclampsia” and “Egg donors have spoken up about experiencing conditions such as loss of fertility, blood clots, kidney disease, premature menopause, and cancer…”

But even if 100% of the women who serve as surrogates, a number we cannot know because the practice is so unregulated, were safe, happy, and rich as a result, what is the impact on the child through being designed, bought, sold, gestated, and then separated from his or her mother? 

Hint: Not good.

Because the need for adoption has long preceded the technology that makes intentional mother loss possible, resources like The Primal Wound, known as the “Adoptees’ Bible,” explain how the loss of a child’s mother at birth can manifest in a wide spectrum of psychological and physiological problems for the child. 

Studies show that maternal separation, a feature of surrogacy…and even brief maternal deprivation can permanently alter the structure of the infant brain. Maternal separation can lead to an increase in stress hormones such as cortisol, causing decreased immune function, and causing malfunctions in the hippocampus that can lead to an increase in mental health problems such as schizophrenia, PTSD, autism, anxiety, and altered responses to pain, and learning difficulties such as ADD and memory and concentration difficulties. Maternal separation is also linked to an increase in suicidal tendencies, drug and alcohol problems, and an impaired capacity to form intimate relationships.

But what would a child born of a surrogate say if they could represent him or herself? See what Olivia, born of traditional surrogacy has to say about her experience:

“I lived it as an abandonment. I feel as if I was abandoned by my birth mother… as I was sold. There’s nothing worse than for a child to feel that at one moment in my life I was literally sold for a check.” 

There is not enough evidence to claim that surrogacy is good for women, but the larger question is whether or not surrogacy is good for children. The answer is, no. Not ever.

“Surrogacy is good for humanity.”

Brown’s concluding point is that surrogacy is good for humanity because it is a “feminist system” of women helping other women, it aligns with the religious and conservatives prioritizing of “family,” and it is a way for people to “bestow the great gift of parenthood upon someone else.” She says the freedom to choose all of the above is more important than any opposition’s “icky” feelings about the process, highlighting the strong likelihood that Brown did little research on the actual opposition.

We’ve already unpacked that surrogacy does not align with a children’s rights view of family because it would incentivize cutting children off from their mother and father and pasting them into the household of any assortment of adults who can pay for them. In our view on the differences between adoption and third-party reproduction, including surrogacy, we make it clear that neither practice should be guided by what adults want. The primary consideration must be defending a child’s right to his or her own parents. When that ideal is not possible, the child should have safe, loving, healthy, and thoroughly screened parents granted to him or her. An ethical populace cannot advocate for “free choices” that violate the rights of other human beings. 

Surrogacy can’t be good for humanity if it’s not good for children. Surrogacy isn’t good for children because it intentionally separates children from their biological parent(s), inflicts a primal wound, turns children into commodities to be bought and sold, and it often starves children of the daily maternal presence which maximizes their development. 

Next time The Dispatch writes about surrogacy, we hope they will consider the party that was notably absent in their first article – the children.