科羅拉多州 眾議院法案22-1153,錯誤命名的家庭確認法, 旨在使使用輔助生殖技術的成年人更容易為人父母。 但在這個過程中,它違反了 公認的兒童權利 被知道和被愛 由遺傳父母雙方。 雖然有時不可能由親生父母共同撫養,但這些情況對孩子來說是悲慘的,不應該通過生殖技術故意複製,也不應該受到州法律的激勵。

商品化

《家庭確認法》將兒童視為可以設計、購買和交付給負擔得起的成年人的產品。 這會影響孩子的自我形象和家庭關係。 最大的兒童研究 通過精子捐贈創造 發現近一半的人同意以下說法:“為了懷孕而換錢讓我很困擾。” 與拼命“通緝”會確保這些孩子安全和被愛的觀念相反,許多人認為他們是被收買和物化的: 

我是陌生人的孩子,誰無私地將我,他的親生女兒賣給了一個他永遠不會遇到的家庭……誰能賣一個人?……這個過程將真實的人商品化……我出生於一個以利潤為導向的醫療診所,在沒有父母權利的情況下出售父母權利考慮什麼對最終產品是最好的,孩子生產的。”

安全指引

據統計,由他們撫養長大的孩子 已婚 生物 母親和父親 最有可能是 安全和被愛. 該法案不僅將親子關係轉移給“假定”養育孩子的無關成年人,而且通過消除以兒童為中心的背景調查、推薦信和家庭研究的要求,違背了收養的最佳實踐。 這對孩子來說是有風險的。

生物身份

該法案允許成年人切斷孩子與其生母的關係,並經常通過使用“供體”卵子和/或精子將孩子獎勵給無關的、未經審查的生物陌生人。 即使他們沒有被忽視或虐待,孩子們也傾向於 感覺聯繫少了 給無關的成年人。 超過80% 捐贈者懷孕的孩子 渴望知道他們的親生母親和/或父親以及捐贈孩子的身份 不成比例地掙扎於關於他們的身份、抑鬱、犯罪和藥物濫用的問題:

當我上學時 通過觀察其他孩子以及他們與父親的愛,我開始意識到我錯過了一些特別的東西。 我在整個學校都被騙了; 有人告訴我我沒有父親……我很難確定一個穩定的身份。 我的行為和情緒穩定性因此受到很大影響……”  

採用與生殖技術 

該法案旨在簡化使用生殖技術的人的“收養”過程,但通過生殖技術創造孩子與收養不同。 雖然收養和捐贈者受孕都涉及失去父母,但前者尊重兒童的權利,而後者則侵犯了這些權利。

收養——試圖修補傷口。 第三方復制 - 造成傷害。

只有在將孩子留在他或她的出生家庭的所有選擇——除了虐待、忽視或遺棄的情況之外的最佳情況——都已用盡時,才應進行收養。 養父母是 不負責任 為孩子的傷口,但正在尋求補救傷口。 收養說:“讓我幫忙。”

另一方面,供體受孕會造成傷口。 成年人故意生下孩子,明確表示要在沒有一個(或兩個)親生父母的情況下撫養他們。 撫養他們的成年人是 負責 為他們的損失。 第三方復制說,“讓我來吧。”

收養——孩子是客戶。 第三方復制——成人是客戶。

如果收養處理得當,不是每個成年人都有一個孩子,但每個孩子都被關愛 父母。 因為將孩子的監護權交給生疏的陌生人是有風險的,所以養父母在安置前正確地接受篩查、背景調查、身體/心理評估和培訓。 他們還接受收養後的監督。 在收養中,成年人為孩子做出犧牲。

通過第三方復制,成年人是客戶。 生育行業錯誤地認為成年人有權生育孩子,即使成年人單身或處於非生育關係、有犯罪記錄或身體/精神上不適合為人父母。 在第三方復制中,孩子為成人犧牲。

收養——成人撫養孩子。 第三方復制-兒童支持成人。

在收養和第三方復制中,兒童需要通過失去來獲得支持。 在收養家庭中,孩子可以更自由地為失去親生父母而悲傷,因為他們知道 他們的養父母不對他們失踪的父母負責.  

相比之下,捐贈者懷孕的孩子與成人生活在一起 對損失負責 父母一方/雙方。 因此,許多人感到有壓力支持父母的感受,即使這意味著壓制自己的感受。 可能由於這種父/子動態, 被收養者有更好的心理結果 比他們的捐助者設想的同齡人。 

有時需要收養。 第三方復制永遠不會。

在一個完美的世界裡,沒有孩子需要被收養。 然而,在這個不完美的世界中,我們知道有時採用不僅是可選的,而且是至關重要的。 生殖技術從來都不是必需的,而且,作為一個關心孤兒的公正社會,它不會創造它們。

任何故意將孩子與母親和/或父親分開的過程都是不公正的。 而這種不公正的烙印讓孩子們終生失落和掙扎。 很簡單, 眾議院法案22-1153 將科羅拉多州的批准印章放在兒童商品化上,將兒童置於危險的家庭中,並支持失去母親和父親。 科羅拉多州應該照顧孤兒,而不是創造他們。 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Colorado House Bill 22-1153, the mis-named Family Affirmation Act, seeks to make parentage easier for adults employing assisted reproductive technologies. But in the process, it violates the universally-acknowledged children’s right to be known and loved by both genetic parents. While it is sometimes impossible to be raised by both biological parents, those situations are tragic for children and shouldn’t be intentionally replicated through reproductive technologies, or incentivized by state law.

Commodification

The Family Affirmation Act treats children as products which can be designed, purchased, and delivered to adults who can afford them. This impacts a child’s self-image and familial relationships. The largest study of children created via sperm donation found that nearly half agreed with the statement: “It bothers me that money was exchanged in order to conceive me.” Contrary to the notion that being desperately “wanted” would ensure these children safe and loved, many feel they were purchased and objectified: 

I’m the child of a stranger, who altruistically sold me, his biological daughter, to a family he would never meet…How can anyone sell a person?…The process commodifies real human beings…I was born as the result of a profit-driven medical clinic selling parental rights without regard for what is best for the end product, the child produced.”

Safety

Statistically, children raised by their married biological mothers and fathers are most likely to be safe and loved. This bill not only transfers parentage to unrelated adults who “presume” to parent a child, but it goes against adoption best-practice by eliminating the child-centric requirements of background checks, references, and home studies. This is risky for kids.

Biological Identity

This bill permits adults to sever a child’s relationship with his or her birth mother and often awards children to unrelated, unvetted biological strangers via the use of “donor” egg and/or sperm. Even if they aren’t neglected or abused, children tend to feel less connected to unrelated adults. Over 80% of donor-conceived children desire to know the identity of their biological mothers and/or fathers, and donor children disproportionately struggle with questions about their identity, depression, delinquency, and substance abuse:

When I hit school I started to realize through observing other children and their loving bonds with their fathers that I was missing out on something special. I was lied to throughout school; I was told I didn’t have a father… it was very difficult for me to affirm a stable identity. And my behavioral and emotional stability suffered greatly because of it…”  

Adoption vs. Reproductive Technologies 

This bill seeks to streamline the “adoption” process for those using reproductive technologies, but creating children through reproductive technologies is not the same as adoption. While adoption and donor-conception both involve parental loss, the former honors children’s rights while the latter violates them.

Adoption- seeks to mend a wound.  Third-party reproduction- inflicts a wound.

Adoption should take place only when every option of keeping the child with his or her birth family- the best case scenario except in circumstances of abuse, neglect, or abandonment- has been exhausted. Adoptive parents are not responsible for the child’s wound, but are seeking to remedy the wound. Adoption says, “Let me help.”

Donor-conception, on the other hand, creates a wound. The adults intentionally produce children with the express intent of raising them without one (or both) biological parent. The adults who are raising them are responsible for their loss. Third-party reproduction says, “Let me have.”

Adoption- the child is the client. Third-party reproduction- the adult is the client.

When adoption is done right, not every adult has a child placed with them, but every child is placed with loving parents. Because granting guardianship of a child to a biological stranger is risky, adoptive parents rightly undergo screenings, background checks, physical/mental evaluations, and training prior to placement. They also receive post-adoption supervision. In adoption, the adults sacrifice for the child.

With third-party reproduction, the adults are the clients. The fertility industry operates under the mistaken notion that adults have a right to a child, even if the adults are single or in a non-procreative relationship, have a criminal record, or are physically/mentally unfit to be parents. In third-party reproduction, the child sacrifices for the adult.

Adoption- adult supports child. Third-party reproduction- child supports adult.

In both adoption and third-party reproduction, children need to be supported through their loss. In an adoptive home, the child is freer to grieve the loss of their biological parents because they know that their adoptive parents are not responsible for their missing parents.  

In contrast, donor-conceived children are living with the adult responsible for the loss of one/both parents. Thus, many feel pressured to support their parents’ feelings, even if it means suppressing their own. Likely due to this parent/child dynamic, adoptees have better psychological outcomes than their donor-conceived peers. 

Adoption is sometimes necessary.  Third-party reproduction never is.

In a perfect world, no child would need to be adopted. However, in this imperfect world, we know that there are times when adoption is not only optional, but critical. Reproductive technologies are never necessary, and, as a just society cares for orphans, it doesn’t create them.

Any process that intentionally separates a child from their mother and/or father is an injustice. And this brand of injustice sets children up for a lifetime of loss and struggle. Very simply, House Bill 22-1153 puts Colorado’s stamp of approval on the commodification of children, placing children in risky homes, and endorses mother- and father-loss. Colorado should be caring for orphans, not creating them. 

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishGermanKoreanLatvianPolishSpanish
Share This