研究使用 皮膚細胞產生精子和卵子 對於同性伴侶和使用 第三方線粒體 不幸的是,在體外受精過程中預防線粒體疾病並不是什麼新鮮事。 雖然從組織和器官中對細胞進行逆向工程並將它們操縱成精子和卵細胞的過程,迄今為止在從 兩隻雌鼠, 一個孩子有 順利出生 使用線粒體替代療法或三人體外受精。 現在,科學家們從 俄勒岡健康與科學大學 他們的體外配子發生(IVG)在“人造卵子”的開發方面更進了一步。

線粒體替代療法 它從母親的卵子中取出細胞核,將其植入供體卵子中,然後用精子使其受精,IVG 的下一步將清空供體卵子中的所有 DNA,並將來自體細胞的全套染色體插入其中,例如皮膚細胞——稱為“體細胞核移植”的過程。 這與克隆過程類似,只是這些供體體細胞在轉移到空卵後被切成兩半,然後與精子受精,從而產生與體細胞和精子貢獻者遺傳相關的受精卵。 這個過程被認為有可能治療不孕症,預防遺傳性疾病,並允許同性伴侶生下基因相關的孩子。

生命權

IVG 為大量侵犯兒童權利的行為打開了大門,首先是最明顯的侵犯兒童生命權的行為。 這 常規試管嬰兒過程 已經充滿了人類生活的反複試驗,因為 僅由 7% 的實驗室創造的兒童在體外受精過程中存活下來,而 IVG 只在兒童身上繼續這種碰碰運氣的實驗。 OHSU 的不孕症專家 Paula Amato 表示,IVG 是“高風險、高回報的項目之一”。 阿馬托沒有提到誰是進行這種高風險實驗的真正受害者,因為受害者肯定不是可能從這一生殖技術新階段中受益的成年人。 在這項IVG研究“完善”之前,將有多少百萬兒童被犧牲在試管中? 對於這些因被視為一次性試驗對象而失去生命的無辜兒童,沒有“高額獎勵”。 

對母親和父親的權利

由於體細胞核移植為同性伴侶(特別是同性男性伴侶)擁有遺傳相關後代打開了大門,更多的孩子將被剝奪 對父母的權利. 雖然這些孩子可能不會錯過了解他們的生物學歷史這一重要的身份發展方面 捐贈者所面臨的,他們將錯過特定性別的 對兒童的獨特和互補的好處. 當兒童由人類兩半的代表撫養長大時,兒童的發展就會最大化。 孩子們 渴望愛情 和男女父母的感情。 當孩子們被剝奪了獨特的母愛時,無論父親多麼寵愛他們,他們經常會感到飢餓:

我感受到了損失. 我感覺到了那個洞。 隨著我的成長,我試圖用阿姨、我父親的女同性戀朋友和老師來填補這個空缺。 我記得我問過我一年級的老師我能不能給她媽媽打電話。 我問過任何向我表達過多少愛和感情的女人。 這是本能的。 我渴望母親的愛,儘管我深受兩個同性戀父親的愛戴。”

更重要的是,這些孩子將被故意置於經歷 原始傷口,由於被攜帶並與生母分離:

“......這種基礎的深刻體驗 損失具有長期影響:事實上,終身影響是因為損失發生在長期有意識記憶形成以幫助處理經驗之前,在學會管理經驗的技能之前,在智力發展到合理化之前經驗。 它是……那個人在子宮外的基本生活體驗,並將在整個成年生活中成為那個人的一部分,我們證明,出生時離開母親會產生終生的生理、心理和情感影響……”

免於商品化而出生的權利

體外受精過程已經包括 植入前基因篩選, 哪個屏幕 用於唐氏綜合症等染色體異常,以及囊性纖維化和脊髓性肌萎縮等遺傳性遺傳異常。 通常根據胚胎在子宮中成功植入的可能性來選擇胚胎進行移植,通過篩選過程選擇“最佳”胚泡進行植入。 在對這些囊胚進行篩選後,只有那些被確定為“基因健康和正常”的胚胎才能被移植,以期植入。 由於 IVG 希望消除遺傳疾病的轉移,因此使用該過程的人可能會 創造數百個胚胎 並使用基因工具來選擇‘最好的’。” 那些在優生學上不被認為是“最佳”潛在人類的胚胎會發生什麼? 他們將與已經被無限期凍結 數以百萬計的人在冷凍儲藏室,被丟棄,被科學研究摧毀,或者,在最好但仍然不理想的情況下, 接受胚胎收養。 無論這些胚胎的結果如何,人類在它們所處的每一個場景中都被商品化了。 

美國國會目前禁止任何產生、破壞或傷害人類胚胎的研究獲得聯邦資助,並且禁止 FDA 接收涉及使用基因操作胚胎開始懷孕的請求。 作為兒童權利的倡導者,我們必須繼續反對任何將人類視為科學實驗的胚胎實驗合法化,並進一步抑制兒童的生命權和對父母的權利。 

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Research using skin cells to create sperm and eggs for same-sex couples and the use of third-party mitochondria in the IVF process to prevent mitochondrial diseases is unfortunately nothing new. While the process of reverse engineering cells from tissues and organs and manipulating them into becoming sperm and egg cells has only been tried and succeeded so far in the creation of pups from two female mice, a child has successfully been born using mitochondrial replacement therapy, or three-person IVF. Now, scientists from Oregon Health & Science University have taken their In Vitro Gametogenesis, or IVG, studies one step further in the development of “artificial eggs.”

Similar to mitochondrial replacement therapy which takes the nucleus out of the mother’s egg, implants it into a donor egg, and then fertilizes it with sperm, this next step in IVG empties a donor egg of all DNA and inserts into it a full set of chromosomes from somatic cells such as skin cells – a process called “somatic cell nuclear transfer.” This is similar to the cloning process, except these donor somatic cells are cut in half after being transferred to the empty egg, and then fertilized with sperm, resulting in a zygote genetically related to the somatic cell and sperm contributors. This process is believed to potentially treat infertility, prevent heritable diseases, and allow for same-sex couples to have genetically related children.

Right to life

IVG opens the door for a plethora of children’s rights violations, starting with the most obvious violation of children’s right to life. The regular IVF process is already fraught with trial and error of human lives, as only 7% of lab-created children survive the IVF process, and IVG only continues this hit-and-miss experimentation on children. Paula Amato, an infertility specialist at OHSU, states that IVG is “one of those high-risk, high reward type of projects.” Amato fails to mention who the real victims undergoing this high-risk experimentation are, as the victims are certainly not the adults who may benefit from this new phase in reproductive technology. How many millions of children will be sacrificed in test tubes until this IVG research is “perfected”? There is no “high reward” for these innocent children whose lives are lost as a result of being treated as disposable test subjects. 

Right to mother and father

Since somatic cell nuclear transfer opens the door for same-sex couples to have genetically related offspring, specifically same-sex male couples, even more children will be denied their right to their mothers and fathers. While these children may not be missing the important identity-developing aspect of knowing their biological history faced by the donor-conceived, they will be missing out on gender-specific unique and complementary benefits to children. Child development is maximized when children are raised by representatives of both halves of humanity. Children crave the love and affection of a male and female parent. When kids are denied that distinct maternal love, they often experience mother-hunger no matter how doting the father(s) may be:

I felt the loss. I felt the hole. As I grew, I tried to fill that hole with aunts, my dads’ lesbian friends and teachers. I remember asking my first-grade teacher if I could call her mom. I asked that question of any woman who showed me any amount of love and affection. It was instinctive. I craved a mother’s love even though I was well-loved by my two gay dads.”

More so, these children will intentionally be put at risk of experiencing primal wounds, resulting from being carried and severed from their birth mothers:

“…this foundational profound experience of loss has long-term effects: in fact, life-long effects because the loss has occurred before long-term conscious memory has formed to help process the experience, before skills are learnt to manage the experience, before the intellect has developed to rationalise the experience. It is…that person’s foundational experience of life outside the womb and will remain part of that person throughout their adult life and we testify that removal from the mother at birth has lifelong physiological, psychological and emotional impacts…”

Right to be born free from commodification

The IVF process already consists of preimplantation genetic screening, which screens for chromosomal abnormalities such as Down Syndrome, and inherited genetic anomalies such as cystic fibrosis and spinal muscular atrophy. Embryos are often chosen for transfer based on their likelihood of successful implantation in the womb by a screening process that picks the “best” blastocysts to implant. After these blastocysts are screened, only the ones determined “genetically healthy and normal” are transferred with the hopes of implantation. Since IVG hopes to eliminate the transfer of heritable diseases, those using the process for this purpose could potentially create hundreds of embryos and use genetic tools to select the ‘best’ one.” What will happen to those embryos that aren’t eugenically deemed the “best” potential human beings? They’ll be indefinitely frozen along with the already millions of humans in frozen storage, discarded, destroyed through scientific research, or, in the best yet still non-ideal scenario, put up for embryo adoption. No matter the outcome for these embryos, human beings are commodified in every scenario in which they are placed. 

The United States Congress currently prohibits any research that creates, destroys, or harms human embryos from obtaining federal funding, and the FDA is prohibited from receiving requests involving the practice of starting pregnancies with genetically manipulated embryos. As children’s rights advocates, we must continue to push against any legalization of embryo experimentation that treats human beings like science experiments and further inhibits children’s right to life and right to their mothers and fathers. 

 

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
Share This