(最初發表於 聯邦黨人)

一對科羅拉多夫婦最近生下了一個與父母雙方都沒有遺傳關係的男嬰,他們興高采烈。 幾個月前,另一對夫婦 生下的雙胞胎與父母中的任何一方都沒有遺傳關係 結果他們遭受了“永久性的情感傷害”。

第一個孩子是通過“胚胎收養”出生的,這對雙胞胎是由於診所弄混了。 小男孩的出生引發了慶祝,雙胞胎引發了一場官司。 雖然這對雙胞胎被送回了他們的親生父母身邊 美國生殖醫學學會 (ASRM) 指南,每個人都接受胚胎收養夫婦為男孩的“真正的父母”。

為什麼斷開連接? 因為在實驗室製造嬰兒時,唯一考慮的是成年人想要什麼,而不是兒童的權利或需求。 因此,無論孩子是否與親生父母一起回家,“成功”都是由成年人是快樂還是悲傷來衡量的。

作為一家創始人 兒童權利非營利組織 致力於維護兒童在家庭中的權利,我經常被問到我對胚胎收養的看法。 在尊重兒童權利的同時考慮胚胎捐贈的替代方案的回應並不整潔。 但是有幾十萬 被遺棄的胚胎 在這個國家,對採用胚胎的利弊保持清醒的認識至關重要。

過剩胚胎的慘淡命運

雖然經常被譽為不育成人的奇蹟解決方案,但體外受精 (IVF) 並不是對兒童友好的過程。 它通常涉及優生學移植具有某些特徵的胚胎、使用“供體”卵子和精子、性別選擇、第三方的子宮,以及創造“剩餘胚胎”,這些胚胎在成功植入其基因後通常會在冷凍儲存中多年兄弟姐妹。

當父母不再願意支付每年 500 至 1,000 美元的倉儲費時,他們將面臨確定剩餘嬰兒命運的痛苦任務。 根據 自動售貨機, 父母與 多餘的胚胎 有三個選項。

  • 解凍並丟棄
  • 捐贈給研究
  • 胚胎捐贈(匿名或直接)

在我們討論胚胎收養問題之前,我們必須清醒地研究替代方案。

解凍並丟棄

在提及任何人群時,很難創造出比“解凍和丟棄”更不人性化的語言。 雖然它們可能很小,但從基因上講,這些“多餘胚胎”和一年級學生之間的唯一區別是時間。

如果預定的父母確實選擇“解凍和丟棄”,他們應該聽從建議 詹妮弗·拉爾概述 並為這些嬰兒提供一個有尊嚴的結局。 把他們帶回家,埋在家族墓地裡,哀悼這些像他們三歲的妹妹一樣可怕而奇妙的孩子,然後當我們允許嬰兒被冷凍在“儲藏室”時,對孩子們的代價發出警告。”

捐贈給研究

兩倍多的情侶 (29%) 願意將多餘的胚胎捐贈給研究而不是“丟棄”它們 (13%)。 如果 Planned Parenthood 利潤豐厚的嬰兒零件業務有任何跡象,那麼未出生的人類就是熱門商品。 而不僅僅是胚胎幹細胞。 我們已經進入了一個對胎兒進行全面實驗的世界。

去年 一個中國人 科學家 編輯了兩個嬰兒的基因 誰是活著出生的。 毫無疑問,數百個“捐贈給研究”的胚胎在這兩個胚胎倖存下來之前就被摧毀了。

如果成年人想捐出自己的身體進行研究,那麼 Godspeed。 成年人捐贈他們的鄰居進行研究? 不,任何人都不應有權同意將他人的屍體用於研究,其中包括“剩餘胚胎”的屍體。

胚胎捐贈或收養

通常被稱為“雪花收養”,支持生命的社區中的許多人將胚胎收養視為一種不失敗的解決方案:不育夫婦(或單身或同性夫婦)+多餘的胚胎=兩隻鳥與一塊石頭。

選擇胚胎捐贈的父母必須在“匿名捐贈”和“直接捐贈”之間做出選擇。 匿名捐贈更像是一種“封閉式”收養,孩子與親生父母沒有聯繫,甚至可能不知道其身份。

在傳統收養中,“封閉收養”現在已成為過去,彌補 不到所有收養的 5%,因為社會工作者觀察到,即使孩子不能由她的親生父母撫養長大,她也會從與原籍家庭的盡可能多的聯繫中受益。 出於類似的原因, 74% 的捐贈者受孕 (DC) 成年人拒絕匿名捐贈配子.

“直接捐贈”更像是一種公開收養,通常是親生父母與受贈父母定期聯繫。 直接胚胎捐贈可能會減輕收養者之間常見的一些身份鬥爭 直流兒童.

在極少數情況下,由於母親年齡高、子宮切除術或生母去世,親生父母確實無法將孩子帶入足月, 直接捐獻胚胎是唯一的尊重兒童的選擇. 但不應該隨便接近。 這些養父母應該準備好承認他們的孩子可能面臨的困惑和損失。

胚胎收養與傳統收養和捐贈者概念既相似又不同。 作為 我在別處解釋過,收養尊重兒童的權利,而捐贈者的受孕侵犯了兒童的權利。 捍衛孩子對父母的權利意味著反對所有第三方復制,因為它 故意地 將孩子與親生父母中的一方或雙方分開。 這也意味著 支持收養 作為減輕孩子失去親生父母時造成的創傷的一種手段。

雖然目前尚不存在關於胚胎收養兒童的研究,但它們將面臨與收養兒童和通過精子和卵子捐贈出生的兒童相似的挑戰。

譜系困惑

傳統收養者和華盛頓特區兒童更有可能經歷 身份鬥爭 稱為家譜迷惑。 雖然傳統家庭中的孩子可以將他們的身份定位在親屬關係和大家庭中,但收養人和華盛頓特區的人必須在沒有它的情況下制定他們的自我意識。

與親生父母分開長大的孩子經常報告疏離感和“異類感”,他們只是“不適應”。 這可能會導致被收養者的風險升高 發展“外化障礙”。

被收養者和華盛頓特區的孩子描述感覺“空虛”,就像他們試圖填補空虛,有時用食物、性或自我藥物治療。 無法確定他們從哪裡獲得了他們的獨特特徵,有些人描述了困難 看著自己的倒影. 胚胎捐贈出生的孩子可能會經歷類似的家譜困惑,尤其是在匿名安排中。

以成人為中心的安置

In 傳統收養理想情況下,每個孩子都會被安置在充滿愛心的父母身邊,但並不是每個想要孩子的成年人都會得到一個。 對於家庭中的虐待和忽視率, 生物學很重要. 這就是為什麼收養專業人士對尋求收養孩子的生物陌生人進行了廣泛的審查。

胚胎收養與傳統收養的不同之處在於,雖然食品和藥物管理局要求接受父母接受心理評估,但他們不需要完成家庭研究、背景調查、推薦信或安置後監督。 儘管 一些胚胎收養機構 需要類似收養的篩查,機構不會增加兒童的風險。

支持的父母

在傳統的收養中,養父母不會選擇讓孩子需要收養。 他們只是在應對悲慘的情況。 胚胎採用是一樣的。

正如 Melissa Moschella 所指出的,“在胚胎收養(以及更普遍的收養)中,已經存在一個被親生父母遺棄的孩子。 這是一件壞事。 但養父母不想或製造這種情況。 相反,他們正在回應現有孩子對愛和關懷的需求,因為親生父母不能或不會履行他們的責任而介入。”

這種區別可能解釋了為什麼 收養的孩子有更好的心理結果 比精子捐獻者懷孕的孩子。 當被收養的孩子向父母表達他們的悲傷或困惑時,他們不是在與創造它的成年人交談,而是與成年人交談 誰正在尋求補救 it. 胚胎收養的父母同樣可以幫助他們的孩子處理他們的損失。

沒有“原始傷口”

與傳統收養者相比,胚胎捐贈的孩子有一個顯著優勢。 他們可以維持與生母的關係,從而繼續從受孕開始的關鍵依戀和結合過程。

同時 代孕 和傳統的收養一樣,孩子們在生日那天失去了與他們唯一認識的父母——他們的生母——的關係。 這種創傷性的分離導致了被收養者長期以來所說的“原傷

保持與親生母親的關係會減少孩子麵臨的許多社會和情感挑戰嗎? 其他收養的孩子? 我們不會知道幾十年。

胚胎捐贈的孩子將如何生活?

無論是匿名的還是直接的,這些胚胎捐贈的孩子中的一些都會茁壯成長,就像一些傳統的收養者和華盛頓的孩子一樣。 他們將與養父母建立聯繫,不受遺傳聯繫的影響,並感謝他們從孤兒院或寄養系統或冷藏櫃中獲救。

但如果我在收養方面的工作,以及 我成長中的故事庫 失去父母的孩子教會了我什麼,就是這個; 破碎的父母關係很少有一個整潔的結局。 特別是如果孩子們被告知他們應該“感恩”,因為他們唯一的選擇是被流產、住在孤兒院、“解凍並丟棄”或“捐贈給研究”。

由於胚胎捐贈的做法如此新穎,大多數胚胎被收養者還不夠大 為自己說話. 因此,我詢問了幾位捐贈者受孕的成年人(僅與一位遺傳父母分開)推測捐贈者胚胎(與兩位遺傳父母分開)可能遇到的挑戰。

“這些孩子在成長過程中與他們的遺傳親屬沒有任何联系,應該坐下來接受,因為‘有人’想要他們。”

“在為了減輕試管嬰兒程序的費用而進行胚胎收養的情況下,如果孩子們在達到可以理解的年齡時感到商品化,我不會感到驚訝。 我也覺得可能很難理解為什麼一些親生孩子被保留,而另一些則被收養,”說 傑西卡·克恩.

“我認為選擇胚胎收養的父母通常為他們的決定感到非常自豪,並認為這是非常合乎道德的,因為他們正在拯救一個人免於迫在眉睫的死亡……這很可能會阻礙圍繞任何困難的對話。 孩子很容易覺得他們不被允許說出他們對受孕的痛苦和悲傷,”說 阿拉娜紐曼.

“這些孩子在成長過程中與他們的遺傳親屬沒有任何联系,應該只是坐下來接受它,因為“有人”想要他們。 除了這個聲明之外,他們還必須接受其他人,他們真正的父母,不想要他們的想法,”Gregory Loy 說。

“作為一個捐贈者懷孕的人,我很難應付我的親生父親把我送走,因為這對我來說就像被遺棄了(儘管我完全理解為什麼這感覺像是給我父母的禮物),而且更難以調和這一點他認為把我送出去是件好事。 想像自己晚上睡不著覺,試圖接受我的親生父母撫養一個完整的親生兄弟姐妹,而我被其他人撫養(即使他們是偉大的父母),這讓我感到不安。對我來說,這種損失將是巨大的。 我確信我可以應付和生存,但這將是一生的負擔,”說 Ellie.

促進胚胎捐贈作為冰上這些靈魂的解決方案還有另一個主要問題:它幾乎沒有阻止多餘胚胎的產生。 一位由捐贈者懷孕的男子評論道:“胚胎捐贈最令人髮指的問題是,它鼓勵生育機構在生育治療期間隨意創造更多胚胎,否則他們不會如此輕率。”

問題的最終解決方案不是“胚胎收養”。 解決方案是從一開始就永遠不會產生多餘的胚胎。 任何人都不應存放在倉庫中。

事件 應該 發生過剩胚胎?

ASRM 網站上沒有列出尊重冷凍兒童權利的唯一選擇。 這些嬰兒不是商品 交換和交易,解凍和丟棄,用於研究, 或捐贈給另一個家庭.

他們是創造他們的父母親的孩子。 在這些醫療技術“進步”之前,他們有權被植入母親的子宮,並像其他所有人一樣自然生長或終止。

是的,這意味著一些父母會生出比他們最初想要的更多的孩子。 是的,這意味著成年人的支出超過了他們的計劃支出。 但這就是負責任的父母所要求的。

即使在非體外受精的世界中,有時您也無法計劃您的家庭。 有時你的家人會為你計劃。 當人們以老式的方式生孩子並拋棄他們時,我們正確地稱他們為死板父母。 只有在捐贈者的概念中,我們才允許和慶祝父母放棄或捐贈他們的父母職責。

一個公正的社會要求我們承擔和撫養我們所生的孩子,無論他們是如何成長的。

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Originally published at The Federalist)

A Colorado couple recently gave birth to a baby boy who was not genetically related to either parent, and they were elated. A few months earlier, another couple gave birth to twins who were not genetically related to either parent and they suffered “permanent emotional injury” as a result.

The first child was born via “embryo adoption,” the twins due to a clinic mix-up. The little boy’s birth lead to celebration, the twins to a lawsuit. And while the twins were returned to their biological parents per the American Society of Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) guidelines, everyone accepts the embryo adoption couple as the boy’s “real parents.”

Why the disconnect? Because when babies are made in laboratories, the sole consideration is what adults want, not children’s rights or needs. So “success” is gauged by whether the adults are happy or sad, regardless of whether the children go home with their biological parents.

As the founder of a children’s rights non-profit devoted to defending children’s rights in the family, I’m often asked my opinion on embryo adoption. A response that takes into consideration the alternatives to embryo donation while honoring the rights of the child isn’t neat and clean. But with a couple hundred thousand abandoned embryos in this country, being clear-eyed about the benefits and drawbacks of embryo adoption is critical.

The Bleak Fate of Surplus Embryos

While often hailed as a miracle solution for infertile adults, in vitro fertilization (IVF) is not a child-friendly process. It routinely involves eugenics transferring embryos with certain traits, use of “donor” egg and sperm, sex-selection, the womb of a third party, and creating “surplus embryos” which often spend years in frozen storage after the successful implantation of their genetic siblings.

Parents then face the painful task of determining the fate of their remaining babies when they no longer want to pay the $500-$1,000 per year storage fee. According to the ASRM, parents with surplus embryos have three options.

  • Thaw and Discard
  • Donate to Research
  • Embryo Donation (Anonymous or Direct)

Before we address embryo adoption, we must soberly examine the alternatives.

Thaw and Discard

It would be difficult to craft more de-humanizing language than “thaw and discard” when referring to any people group. While they may be small, genetically the only difference between those “surplus embryos” and your first grader is time.

If the intended parents do choose to “thaw and discard,” they should heed the advice outlined by Jennifer Lahl and offer these babies a dignified end. Bring them home, bury them in a family cemetery, mourn these children who are as fearfully and wonderfully made as their three-year-old sister, and then sound the alarm about the cost to children when we permit babies to be frozen in “storage.”

Donate to Research

Twice as many couples (29 percent) feel comfortable donating their surplus embryos to research than “discarding” them (13 percent). If Planned Parenthood’s lucrative baby parts business is any indication, unborn humans are a hot commodity. And not just for embryonic stem cells. We have entered a world of full-scale experimentation on preborn children.

Last year a Chinese scientist edited the genes of two babies who were born alive. No doubt hundreds of embryos which were “donated to research” were destroyed before these two survived the process.

If adults want to donate their own bodies to research, then Godspeed. Adults donating their neighbor to research? No. No one should have the power to consent to someone else’s body being used for research, and that includes the bodies of “surplus embryos.”

Embryo Donation or Adoption

Often referred to as “snowflake adoption,” many in the pro-life community view embryo adoption as a no-lose solution: infertile couple (or single person or same-sex couple) + surplus embryo = two birds with one stone.

Parents who choose embryo donation must decide between “anonymous donation” and “direct donation.” Anonymous donation is more like a “closed” adoption where the child has no contact with, and may not even know the identity of, his or her biological parents.

In traditional adoption, “closed adoption” is now a thing of the past, making up less than 5 percent of all adoptions, because social workers have observed that even if the child cannot be raised by her birth parents, she benefits from as many connections with her family of origin as possible. For similar reasons, 74 percent of donor-conceived (DC) adults reject anonymous gamete donation.

“Direct donation” is more like an open adoption, often with regular contact between the biological parents and the recipient parents. Direct embryo donation may mitigate some of the identity struggles common among adoptees and DC children.

In the rare cases where the biological parents are genuinely unable to carry their children to term due to advanced maternal age, a hysterectomy, or because the biological mother has died, direct embryo donation is the only child-honoring option. But it should not be approached casually. These adoptive parents should be prepared to acknowledge the confusion and loss their children will likely face.

Embryo adoption is both like and unlike traditional adoption and donor conception. As I have explained elsewhere, adoption honors children’s rights, while donor conception violates children’s rights. Defending a child’s right to his mother and father means opposing all third-party reproduction because it intentionally separates children from one or both biological parents. It also means supporting adoption as a means of mitigating the wound created when children lose their biological parents.

While the studies on children of embryo adoption don’t yet exist, they will share similar challenges to children of adoption and those born via sperm and egg donation.

Genealogical Bewilderment

Traditional adoptees and DC children are more likely to experience identity struggles known as genealogical bewilderment. While children in traditional homes can anchor their identity in kinship bonds and extended family, adoptees and DC people must formulate their sense of self without it.

Children raised apart from their biological parents often report feelings of alienation and “otherness,” that they just “don’t fit in.” This may contribute to an adoptees’ elevated risk of developing “externalising disorders.”

Adoptees and DC children describe feeling “empty” and like there’s a void that they are trying to fill, sometimes with food or sex or self-medication. Unable to identify from where they received their distinctive features, some have described difficulty looking at their own reflection. Children born of embryo donation will likely experience similar genealogical bewilderment, especially in anonymous arrangements.

Adult-Centric Placement

In traditional adoption, ideally, every child will be placed with loving parents, but not every adult who wants a child will get one. For rates of abuse and neglect in the home, biology matters. That’s why adoption professionals have developed extensive vetting for biological strangers seeking to adopt a child.

Embryo adoption is unlike traditional adoption in that while the Food and Drug Administration requires that recipient parents undergo a psychological evaluation, they are not required to complete home studies, background checks, references, or post-placement supervision. While some embryo adoption agencies require adoption-like screening, agencies that don’t subject children to increased risk.

Parents Who Support

In traditional adoption, the adoptive parents did not choose for the child to need adoption. They are simply responding to a tragic situation. Embryo adoption is the same.

As Melissa Moschella notes, “In embryo adoption (and adoption more generally), a child already exists who has been abandoned by biological parents. This is a bad thing. But the adoptive parents did not want or create this situation. Rather, they are responding to an existing child’s need for love and care, stepping in because the biological parents can’t or won’t fulfill their responsibility.”

This distinction likely explains why adopted children have better psychological outcomes than sperm donor-conceived children. When adopted children express their sadness or confusion with their parents, they are not talking to the adult who created it, but the adults who are seeking to remedy it. Parents of embryo adoption are similarly positioned to help their child process their loss.

No ‘Primal Wound’

Children of embryo donation have one significant advantage over traditional adoptees. They can maintain the relationship with their birth mother, thus continuing the critical attachment and bonding process that begins at conception.

In both surrogacy and traditional adoption, children lose a relationship with the only parent they know—their birth mother—on their birthday. This traumatic separation results in what adoptees have long referred to as a “primal wound.”

Will retaining the relationship with one’s birth mother diminish the many social and emotional challenges faced by other adopted children? We won’t know for decades.

How Will the Embryo-Donated Child Fare?

Whether anonymous or direct, some of these embryo-donated children will thrive, just as some traditional adoptees and DC children do. They will bond with their adoptive parents, unphased by the lack of genetic connection, and be grateful that they were rescued from an orphanage or foster care system or a storage freezer.

But if my work in adoption, and my growing story bank of children who have lost their mother or father has taught me anything, it’s this; broken parental bonds rarely have a neat and tidy ending. Especially if children are told that they should be “grateful” because their only alternative was to be aborted, live in an orphanage, “thawed and discarded,” or “donated to research.”

Because the practice of embryo donation is so new, most embryo adoptees are not yet old enough to speak for themselves. So I’ve asked several donor-conceived adults (only separated from one genetic parent) to speculate on what challenges donor-embryos (separated from both genetic parents) may experience.

‘These are children growing up with no tie to their genetic relatives, and are supposed to just sit down and be ok with it because ‘someone’ wanted them.’

“In the cases where the embryo adoption took place in order to mitigate the expenses of IVF procedures, I would not be surprised if the child(ren) feel commodified as they reach the age to understand. I also feel it may be hard to understand why some of the biological children were kept, while others adopted out,” says Jessica Kern.

“I think the parents who choose embryo adoption are typically very proud of their decision and consider it very ethical because they’re saving a human being from imminent demise… which might very well inhibit conversation surrounding any of the difficulties. The child could easily feel like they’re not allowed to bring up their pains and sorrows regarding their conception,” says Alana Newman.

“These are children growing up with no tie to their genetic relatives, and are supposed to just sit down and be ok with it because “someone” wanted them. Along with that statement, they have to stomach the notion that someone else, their real parents, didn’t want them,” says Gregory Loy.

“As a donor-conceived person, I have trouble coping with my bio dad giving me away, because that feels like abandonment to me (though I completely understand why it felt like a gift to my parents), and have even more trouble reconciling that he thought it was a kind thing to give me away. It’s troubling to me to picture myself lying awake at night trying to come to terms with having a full biological sibling being raised by my biological parents and me being raised by someone else (even if they’re great parents.) For me, that loss would be tremendous. I’m sure I could cope and survive, but it would be a weight to carry for life,” says Ellie.

There is another major concern in promoting embryo donation as a solution for these souls on ice: it does little to discourage the creation of surplus embryos. One donor-conceived man remarked, “The most heinous issue with embryo-donation is that it encourages fertility establishments to haphazardly create more embryos during fertility treatments where they wouldn’t otherwise have been so flippant.”

The ultimate solution to the problem is not “embryo adoption.” The solution is never creating surplus embryos to begin with. No human being should be in storage.

What Should Happen to Surplus Embryos?

The only option that honors the rights of frozen children is not listed on the ASRM website. These babies are not commodities to be swapped and traded, thawed and discarded, used for research, or donated to another family.

They are the very real children of the mother and father who created them. They have the right to be implanted into their mother’s womb and allowed to grow or terminate naturally like every other human prior to these “advances” in medical technology.

Yes, that means some parents will have more children than they originally wanted. Yes, that means adults spending more than they planned to spend. But that’s what responsible parenthood demands.

Even in the non-IVF world, sometimes you don’t get to plan your family. Sometimes your family plans you. When people make babies the old-fashioned way and abandon them, we rightly call them deadbeat parents. Only in donor-conception do we permit and celebrate parents discarding or donating their parental duties.

A just society requires that we bear and raise the children we make, no matter how they came to be.

 

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This