體外受精(IVF)是最常見的輔助生殖技術(ART)之一。 大生育 吹捧試管嬰兒是那些為生育問題而苦苦掙扎的人的最佳治療方法。 他們為什麼不呢? 畢竟,#BigFertility 是一個 十億美元的產業. 在體外受精的認可中不常提及的是該過程中固有的對兒童權利的侵犯。 雖然接受體外受精的成年人同意 取卵健康風險大量胚胎的實驗 在實現孩子的天賦之前,孩子們絕不會同意:

-侵犯他們的生命權

- 侵犯他們對父母的權利

- 故意暴露於身體和發育健康風險

侵犯生命權

體外受精(IVF)是從委託的男性和女性或配子“供體”中取出卵子和精子的過程,然後在不體面的實驗室程序中將它們混合在一起。 這些嬰兒是用玻璃製成的,或者 體外,而不是在他們母親子宮的神秘秘密避難所。

植入前篩查

體外受精通常涉及 6 天或 7 天大的囊胚的植入前篩查 (早期胚胎),不僅可以確定植入成功的可能性,還可以篩查唐氏綜合症等染色體異常,以及囊性纖維化和脊髓性肌萎縮等遺傳性遺傳異常。 通常根據胚胎在子宮中成功植入的可能性來選擇胚胎進行移植,通過篩選過程選擇“最佳”胚泡進行植入。 在對這些囊胚進行篩選後,只有那些被確定為“基因健康和正常”的胚胎才能被移植,以期植入。 這種優生實踐為進一步消除“缺陷”兒童打開了大門,不僅通過篩查可檢測到的疾病和障礙,而且 篩選那些可能會或可能不會在以後的生活中出現的人

研究人員還發現 具有異常細胞的胚胎具有自我糾正的能力,或者將異常細胞推出並用正常細胞替換它們。 當然,消除這些早期胚胎會破壞無數發育中的人類,這些人類後來可能被認為是“優質”的。

然後將未移植的胚胎冷凍、銷毀、用於科學研究,或者在最好但仍不理想的情況下, 接受胚胎收養。 如果由於任何原因決定植入的胚胎過多,或者嬰兒被認為性別錯誤,或者沒有按照委託父母的意願發育, 可以進行減量——或者更確切地說,墮胎,直到只剩下所需的數量和質量。

出生/丟失/成功率的嬰兒百分比

7% 實驗室創造的兒童 會生下來。 大多數人將在被遺忘的冰箱中死亡,無法在“解凍”​​中存活,無法植入,因無法生存/錯誤性別而被丟棄,被流產“選擇性地減少,”或捐贈給研究。 

結合被處置、無法在解凍過程中存活或捐贈給研究的胚胎人數,體外受精處置了數百萬人。 2012年發現 自 1991 年以來,已經創造了 3.5 萬個胚胎,只有 235,480 個成功植入,1.7 萬個被丟棄,23,480 個在從儲存中取出後被銷毀。

在2017 在美國,根據來自 448 家診所的報告,進行了 284,385 個 IVF 週期,產生了 78,052 名活產嬰兒。 而在 2018 年,456 家診所報告,在進行的 309,197 次體外受精週期中,有 81,478 名活嬰兒因此而出生。 這些結果表明,體外受精作為一種生殖技術的使用有所增加。 體外受精使用的增加也導致更多的人被丟棄、摧毀或無限期冷凍。 

對於那些處於冰凍狀態的微小人類,無法保證他們能在解凍過程中倖存下來。 一項研究發表在2011上,共發現受精卵1991個,受精後2,880天(D3)冷凍胚胎503個,解凍“質量好”的69個囊胚(受精後85天)。 受精卵的解凍存活率為3%,D88胚胎為10%,胚泡為12%。 雖然成功率看似很高,但在解凍過程中死亡的“優質”嬰兒的百分比令人擔憂。 此外,對於那些在解凍過程中倖存下來的嬰兒,受精卵的植入率僅為 14%,第三天的胚胎為 XNUMX%,胚泡為 XNUMX%。 

生育行業的普遍共識是 雞蛋越年輕,成功懷孕的機會就越大,因為年輕女性能夠在一個刺激週期中產生更多的卵子,並產生更高質量的胚胎。 冷凍的胚胎越多,冷凍卵子的成功率就越高。 一個 來自2015的研究 發現在 1,500 名在 35 歲或更年輕時接受過卵子冷凍過程的女性中,“活產的機會從僅冷凍 15 個卵子的女性的 5% 增加到冷凍 61 個卵子的女性的 10%,以及 85冷凍 15 個或更多卵子的女性的百分比。” 在2016,一項使用冷凍卵子對 1,171 個 IVF 週期進行的研究發現,“……對於 30 歲以下的女性,每個取回的卵子有 8.67% 的機會生孩子; 對於 40 歲以上的女性,這個機率下降到每個雞蛋不到 3%。 因此,要實現 50% 的估計活產率,40 歲以上的女性需要冷凍的卵子比 30 歲以下的女性要多得多。” 

對於那些在植入中獲得機會並避免“選擇性減少”的幸運胚胎, 平均活產率 在 35-37 歲的女性(使用自己的卵子)中,這一比例為 42.8%。 38-40 歲女性的活產率為 35.5%。 此外,在第一個試管嬰兒週期後,不到 30% 的女性活產,而後成功率只有 45%。 試管嬰兒的完整週期。 三分之二的患者會成功 六個或更多 循環。 在試錯轉移過程中失去了多少生命? 

轉移時,即使胚胎被認為是健康的,由於子宮息肉、囊腫,或者最常見的原因是由於子宮內膜薄,胚胎的環境不適宜,植入失敗的風險也會發生。 即使子宮內膜足夠,沒有其他健康問題,也不能保證胚胎會成功移植,因為 沒有 100% 可靠的分子數據 以表明子宮內膜在 IVF 週期中是可以接受的。 還發現轉移多個胚胎而不是一個 不會增加懷孕的機會。 

通過體外受精過程產生的胚胎數量已經達到數百萬,至少 一百萬個冷凍胚胎. #BigFertility 已經從人類的創造和商品化中獲得了豐厚的利潤,其 預計增長將增加 從18,475年的2021億美元增加到28,236年的2025億美元。

兒童的身體風險

體外受精過程包括多個步驟,從超排卵和提取卵子到在培養皿中操縱和使胚胎受精。 這些步驟將胚胎暴露在非自然環境中 由於卵子成熟過程的改變以及溫度、pH 值和氧張力的變化而導致激素水平的變化。 這些步驟發生在胚胎最脆弱的時候,因為這些過程永遠不會再次發生,而這些小人類環境的變化可能有助於表觀遺傳修飾。 與體外受精過程最相關的表觀遺傳修飾是“DNA甲基化”,它調節細胞過程,如染色體結構、DNA轉錄和胚胎髮育。 如果甲基化循環不能有效發揮作用,就會導致心髒病、糖尿病、癌症以及自身免疫和神經系統疾病。

胚胎解凍過程中也可能發生表觀遺傳損傷,因為“冷凍保存方法的效率和安全性 通常通過在解凍後立即測量細胞存活率來評估,但這個參數不能測量更微妙的影響對細胞過程的影響,特別是對錶觀遺傳機制的影響。 這種表觀遺傳標記控制基因的表達並反映發育和環境因素的影響。 此外,表觀遺傳標記可以通過細胞分裂傳遞給子細胞。 還有越來越多的證據表明,表觀遺傳標記可以通過配子通過有性生殖傳遞,並可能影響疾病風險,甚至導致下一代疾病。”

這些流行病學研究 已經表明,除了增加疾病風險外,通過 ART 受孕的兒童在多胎和單胎妊娠中更容易受到胎兒生長受限和早產的影響。

兒童心血管風險 

由於這些表觀遺傳改變 可能會影響心血管系統,研究人員發現,通過體外受精而沒有任何其他可檢測到的心血管危險因素的健康兒童未來心血管問題的風險增加,其嚴重程度可能會發展為動脈高血壓。 在 2012 年對 65 名通過體外受精受孕的兒童和 57 名自然受孕的兒童進行的一項研究中發現,“……低介導的肱動脈擴張縮小了 25%……頸動脈-股動脈脈搏波速度明顯更快,頸動脈內膜-中層厚度顯著增加,並且在高海拔地區的收縮期肺動脈壓力……在接受 ART 的兒童中比對照組高 30%。” 2015 年和 2017 年的其他研究表明,IVF 受孕兒童在兒童期可能會發生心臟收縮和舒張功能的變化,從而導致早發性心肌改變。 發現蛋白質表達異常,蛋白質負責血液凝固和鐵和脂質代謝,並且發現顯示血壓升高和血管厚度增加,表明心血管疾病的風險增加。

通過體外受精受孕的孩子也表現出 更高的空腹血糖水平以及受損的胰島素敏感性。 與自然受孕的兒童相比,這些兒童的血糖和心血管代謝狀況不佳,導致患 2 型糖尿病的風險更高。 通過體外受精受孕的女性早產風險高出 55%,而接受卵巢過度刺激的女性早產風險高出 45%。 嬰兒 早產 患肥胖症、心髒病、糖尿病、青春期過早以及心血管和神經系統疾病的風險更高。 研究發現,那些早產且出生體重極低的孩子在 10 到 XNUMX 歲左右比自然受孕的 XNUMX 到 XNUMX 歲左右的孩子高。 這種增加的身高和快速的體重增加是導致血壓水平升高的另一個因素。 

此外,IVF 受孕兒童的出生缺陷風險更高,例如眼睛、心臟和泌尿生殖系統畸形。 2012年中國研究項目 帶領科學家創建了一個研究六種主要出生缺陷類型的數據庫:神經系統; 泌尿生殖系統; 消化系統; 循環系統; 肌肉骨骼系統; 和耳朵、面部,他們發現 IVF/ICSI(胞漿內精子注射)與六種出生缺陷之間存在顯著相關性。 接受抗逆轉錄病毒治療的兒童患未指明的傳染病、哮喘、泌尿生殖系統疾病和癲癇的風險也可能增加,而在 ICSI 後出生的兒童更有可能患有遺傳疾病,因為 通過 ICSI 受孕的人中有 28% 患有遺傳疾病,而自然受孕的孩子只有 12-13%。 

兒童患癌症/腦損傷/腫瘤的風險

密歇根州立大學的芭芭拉·盧克 研究了自然受孕和通過體外受精受孕的兒童的出生缺陷與癌症之間的聯繫。 通過體外受精出生時患有嚴重先天缺陷的兒童患癌症的風險大約是自然受孕的兒童的七倍,而自然受孕的兒童患癌症的風險僅高出三倍。

世界臨床兒科學雜誌 發現“通過體外受精受孕的孩子腦損傷率較高,通常與多胎妊娠有關。 但即使對於作為單個胚胎植入的嬰兒,風險也更高,這對與體外受精相關的技術提出了質疑,包括胚胎培養,以及通常在施用生育藥物和激素療法後獲得的低質量卵細胞。”

一項研究發表在2017上 美國婦產科雜誌在觀察大量兒童長達 18 年後發現,通過體外受精或促排卵治療受孕的兒童患兒科腫瘤或腫瘤的風險更高。 

最後,還有 青春期發育的普遍問題 特別是在試管嬰兒受孕的女孩中。 雖然青春期的男性往往發育正常,但女性的乳房發育較晚,骨齡較晚。 這種高齡的骨齡會導致骨骼中的骨骺板過早停止老化,從而導致各種生長障礙。

兒童的發展風險

除了身體疾病,通過藝術創造的孩子如何與 智力發展

珀斯醫院 Telethon 兒童研究所 觀察了八年的數據,將 2,876 名通過 ART 出生的孩子與自然受孕的孩子進行比較,發現通過 ART 出生的孩子 可能性提高58% 八歲或以上有智力障礙。 研究人員發現,特別是 ICSI,對智力障礙的發展風險最大,因為用這種方法受孕的孩子有最顯著的障礙風險。 使用 ICSI 後,每 1 名兒童中就有 32 名被診斷出患有某種形式的智力障礙,而自然受孕的兒童中只有五分之一。 

歐洲人類生殖和胚胎學會也發表了 系統評價 35 項研究得出的結論是:“現有的高質量證據表明,特定治療可能會對認知發育產生不同的影響,包括 ICSI 在內的某些治療與認知障礙有關。”

這項研究是對 IVF 過程中固有的早產風險的補充,可以 也會導致智力障礙. 根據一項研究來自 婦產科超聲, “通過以下方式懷孕的女性 體外受精或體外受精,與自然受孕的人相比,在妊娠 80 周和 37 週之前發生自發性早產的風險要高 34%。” 聖拉斐爾醫院的 Paolo Cavoretto 博士和他的同事在比較了 61,677 例分娩(其中 8,044 例是體外受精)後發現,10.1% 的體外受精分娩是自發性早產,而自然受孕分娩的這一比例為 5.5%。 他們還發現,“在通過 IVF/ICSI 受孕的人中,妊娠 34 週前的自發性早產事件也顯著增加……其中 3.6% 的 IVF/ICSI 分娩和 2.1% 的自然受孕分娩發生。”

IVF 侵犯兒童的生命權以及該過程中固有的對婦女和兒童的眾多健康風險應該引起人們對這種#bigfertility 做法的繼續關注。 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

In-Vitro Fertilization, or IVF, is one of the most common forms of assisted reproductive technologies, or ART. Big Fertility touts IVF as an optimal treatment for those who are struggling with fertility issues. And why wouldn’t they? After all, #BigFertility is a billion-dollar industry. What is not often mentioned in the endorsement of IVF are the violations of children’s rights inherent within the process. While adults undergoing IVF consent to egg extraction health risks and experimentation with numerous embryos until they achieve their gifts of children, the children never consent to:

-The violation of their right to life

-The violation of their right to their mothers and fathers

-Being intentionally exposed to physical and developmental health risks

VIOLATION OF RIGHT TO LIFE

In-Vitro Fertilization, or IVF, is the process where eggs and sperm are retrieved, either from the commissioning man and woman, or from gamete “donors,” then mixed together in an undignified laboratory procedure. These babies are made in glass, or in vitro, rather than in the mysterious secret sanctuary of their mothers’ wombs.

Preimplantation screening

IVF often involves the preimplantation screening of 6- or 7-day old blastocysts (early embryos), to not only determine the likelihood of implantation success, but also screen for chromosomal abnormalities such as Down Syndrome, and inherited genetic anomalies such as cystic fibrosis and spinal muscular atrophy. Embryos are often chosen for transfer based on their likelihood of successful implantation in the womb by a screening process that picks the “best” blastocysts to implant. After these blastocysts are screened, only the ones determined “genetically healthy and normal” are transferred with the hopes of implantation. This eugenic practice opens the door for even further elimination of “defective” children by screening for not only detectable diseases and disorders, but also screening for those which may or may not appear later in life

Researchers have also found that embryos with abnormal cells have the ability to self-correct, or push the abnormal cells out and replace them with normal cells. Eliminating these early embryos, of course, destroys untold numbers of developing human beings that might have later been designated as “good quality.”

The embryos not transferred are then frozen, destroyed, used for scientific research, or, in the best yet still non-ideal scenario, put up for embryo adoption. If it’s decided for any reason that too many embryos have implanted, or the babies are deemed to be the wrong sex, or not developing as the commissioning parents desire, a reduction may be performed—or rather, abortions, until only the desired number and quality remain.

% Of babies born/lost/success rates

Only 7% of lab-created children will be born alive. Most will perish in forgotten freezers, won’t survive “thawing,” fail to implant, be discarded for being non-viable/the wrong sex, be aborted “selectively reduced,” or be donated to research. 

Combining the numbers of embryonic persons who are disposed of, do not survive the thawing process, or are donated to research, IVF disposes of millions of human beings. In 2012, it was found that since 1991, 3.5 million embryos had been created and that only 235,480 had been successfully implanted, 1.7 million having been discarded, with 23,480 being destroyed after their removal from storage.

In 2017 in the United States, based on reports from 448 clinics, there were 284,385 IVF cycles performed, which resulted in 78,052 live-born infants. Whereas in 2018, reported by 456 clinics, of the 309,197 IVF cycles performed, there were 81,478 live infants born as a result. These results show that there has been an increase in the use of IVF as a reproductive technology. This increase in IVF use also brings about an increased number of humans being discarded, destroyed, or indefinitely frozen. 

For those tiny humans placed in frozen limbo, there is no guarantee that they will survive the thawing process. A study published in 2011, revealed a total of 1991 zygotes, 2,880 embryos frozen three days (D3) after fertilization, and 503 blastocysts (six days after fertilization) that were of “good quality” were thawed. The thawed survival rate was 69% for zygotes, 85% for D3 embryos, and 88% for blastocysts. While having seemingly high success rates, the percentage of “good quality” babies who died during the thawing process causes concern. Further, for those babies who survived the thawing process, the implantation rate was a mere 10% for zygotes, 12% for day three embryos, and 14% for blastocysts. 

It’s the general consensus among those in the fertility industry that the younger the eggs, the better the chances of a successful pregnancy, as younger women are able to produce more eggs in one stimulation cycle, as well as produce embryos of higher quality. The more embryos are frozen, the higher the egg-freezing success rates. A study from 2015 found that out of 1,500 women who had undergone the egg-freezing process at age 35 or younger, “the chance of live birth increased from 15% for women who froze just 5 eggs, to 61% for women who froze 10 eggs, and 85% for women who froze 15 or more eggs.” In 2016, a study conducted on 1,171 IVF cycles using frozen eggs, found that “…for women under 30, each egg retrieved had an 8.67% chance of resulting in a child; for women over 40, that chance dropped to less than 3% per egg. So, to achieve a 50% estimated live birth rate, a woman over 40 will need to freeze significantly more eggs than a woman under 30.” 

For the lucky embryos who do get a shot at implantation and avoid “selective reduction,” the average live birth rate among women aged 35-37 (using their own eggs) is 42.8%. Women aged 38-40 have a live birth rate of 35.5%. Further, after the first IVF cycle, less than 30% of women have a live birth, and there’s a paltry 45% success rate after three full cycles of IVF. Two-thirds of patients will be successful after six or more cycles. How many little lives are being lost through the trial-and-error transfer process? 

Upon transfer, the risk of implantation failure can also occur even if an embryo is deemed healthy, due to uterine polyps, cysts, or, the most common cause, an inhospitable environment for the embryo due to a thin uterine lining. Even if the uterine lining is sufficient and there are no other health issues, there’s still no guarantee that an embryo will transfer successfully, as there’s no 100% reliable molecular data to show that an endometrium will be receptive during an IVF cycle. It’s also been found that transferring multiple embryos instead of one does not increase chances of pregnancy. 

The number of embryos created through the IVF process is already in the millions, with at least a million embryos in frozen storage. #BigFertility already profits heavily from the creation and commodification of human beings, with its growth expected to increase from $18,475 billion in 2021 to $28,236 billion in 2025.

PHYSICAL RISKS TO CHILDREN

The IVF process consists of multiple steps, from hyperovulation and extraction of eggs to manipulating and fertilizing embryos in a petri dish. These steps expose embryos to unnatural environments with changes in hormone levels due to altering the egg maturation process and changes in temperature, pH, and oxygen tension. These steps occur at a time when embryos are most vulnerable, as these processes will never occur again, and changes in the environments of these small humans can contribute to epigenetic modification. The epigenetic modification most associated with the IVF process is “DNA methylation,” which regulates cellular processes like chromosome structure, the transcription of DNA, and embryonic development. If the methylation cycle doesn’t work efficiently, this can lead to heart disease, diabetes, cancer, and autoimmune and neurological disorders.

Epigenetic damage can also occur during the embryo defrosting process, as “The efficiency and safety of cryopreservation methods is usually assessed by measuring cell survival rates immediately after thawing, but this parameter does not measure the impact of more subtle effects on cellular processes, and in particular on epigenetic mechanisms. Such epigenetic marks control the expression of genes and reflect the influence of developmental and environmental factors. Moreover, epigenetic marks can be passed on to daughter cells through cell division. There is also increasing evidence that epigenetic markers can be passed on through sexual reproduction via gametes and can influence disease risk or even cause disease in the next generation.”

These epidemiological studies have shown that besides an increased risk for disease, children conceived through ART are more susceptible to fetal growth restriction and preterm birth in both multiple and singleton pregnancies.

Cardiovascular risks to children 

Since these epigenetic alterations can affect the cardiovascular system, researchers have found that healthy children conceived through IVF without any other detectable cardiovascular risk factors have an elevated risk of future cardiovascular issues, which can progress in severity to arterial hypertension. In a 2012 study of 65 children conceived through IVF and 57 naturally conceived children, it was found that “…low-mediated dilation of the brachial artery was 25% smaller…carotid-femoral pulse-wave velocity was significantly faster, carotid intima-media thickness was significantly greater, and the systolic pulmonary artery pressure at high altitude…was 30% higher in ART-conceived children than in controls.” Other studies from 2015 and 2017 show that cardiac systolic and diastolic function changes can occur during childhood in IVF-conceived children, leading to early-onset myocardial alterations. There was found to be an abnormal expression of proteins, proteins responsible for blood coagulation and iron and lipid metabolism, and findings that show an increase in blood pressure and higher blood vessel thickness, indicating the increased risk for cardiovascular disease.

Children conceived through IVF also show higher fasting blood glucose levels as well as impaired insulin sensitivity. These children have shown suboptimal glucose and cardiovascular metabolic profiles compared to naturally conceived children, leading to a higher risk of type 2 diabetes. Women who conceive via IVF have a 55 percent higher risk of premature birth, and those who undergo ovarian hyperstimulation have a 45 percent higher risk. Infants born prematurely have a higher risk of obesity, heart disease, diabetes, premature puberty, and cardiovascular and neurological diseases. It was found that those children born prematurely and with very low birth weight were, around five to six years of age, taller than naturally conceived children around six to 10 years of age. This increased height and rapid weight gain is another contributing factor to higher blood pressure levels. 

Furthermore, there is a higher risk of birth defects such as malformations of the eye, heart, and genitourinary system in IVF-conceived children. A 2012 Chinese research project led scientists to create a database of studies of six main types of birth defects: nervous system; genitourinary system; digestive system; circulatory system; musculoskeletal system; and ear, face, and they found notable correlations between IVF/ICSI (Intracytoplasmic Sperm Injection), and the six types of birth defects. Children conceived with ART may also be at an increased risk of unspecified infectious diseases, asthma, genitourinary diseases, and epilepsy, and those born after ICSI were found more likely to have a genetic condition, as 28 percent of those conceived via ICSI had a genetic disorder, as opposed to only 12-13 percent of naturally conceived children. 

Child risk of Cancer/Brain Damage/Tumors

Barbara Luke of Michigan State University studied the connection between birth defects and cancer in children conceived naturally and via IVF. Children born with major birth defects through IVF had approximately seven times the cancer risk as opposed to children with birth defects conceived naturally, of which the cancer risk was only three times more likely.

The World Journal of Clinical Pediatrics found that “children conceived through IVF have a higher rate of brain damage, often associated with multiple gestation. But even for babies that were implanted as single embryos, the risk was found to be higher, which calls into question the techniques related to IVF including embryo cultures, and the low quality of egg cells usually obtained after the administration of fertility drugs and hormone therapies.”

A study published in 2017 by the American Journal of Obstetrics and Gynecology found, after observing large numbers of children for up to 18 years, that the children conceived through IVF or ovulation induction treatments had a higher risk of pediatric neoplasms, or tumors. 

Lastly, there are prevalent issues with pubertal development in, specifically, IVF-conceived girls. While pubertal males tend to develop typically, females show less advanced breast development and more advanced bone age. This advanced bone age can cause the epiphyseal plates in the bones to stop aging prematurely, leading to various growth disorders.

DEVELOPMENTAL RISKS TO CHILDREN

Aside from physical ailments, how do children created through ART fare with intellectual development

The Perth Hospital Telethon Kids Institute observed data over a duration of eight years, comparing 2,876 children born through ART with those conceived naturally, and found that those born through ART were 58 percent more likely to have intellectual disabilities by age eight or older. Researchers found that ICSI, specifically, was the riskiest for the development of intellectual disabilities, as children conceived with this method had the most prominent risk of impairment. With the use of ICSI, 1 in 32 children were diagnosed with some form of intellectual disability as opposed to 1 in 59 children conceived naturally. 

The European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology also published a systematic review of 35 studies which concluded that “the available high-quality evidence indicates that specific treatments may give rise to different effects on cognitive development, with certain treatments, including ICSI, associated with cognitive impairment.”

This research is in addition to the higher risk of preterm birth inherent within the IVF process that can also contribute to intellectual disabilities. According to a study from Ultrasound in Obstetrics and Gynecology, “Women who become pregnant through in vitro fertilization, or IVF, have an 80% higher risk for spontaneous preterm birth before both 37 and 34 weeks gestation, compared with those who conceived naturally.” Dr. Paolo Cavoretto and his colleagues of San Raffaele Hospital found after comparing 61,677 births, 8,044 of which were a result of IVF, that 10.1 percent of IVF births were spontaneous preterm births as compared to 5.5 percent of naturally conceived births. They also found that, “spontaneous preterm birth events prior to 34 weeks gestation also significantly increased among those who conceived through IVF/ICSI…with events occurring in 3.6% of IVF/ICSI births and 2.1% of naturally conceived births.”

IVF’s violation of children’s right to life and the numerous health risks to both women and children inherent within the process should be cause for concern about the continuation of this #bigfertility practice. 

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
Share This