幾個 研究 已經對捐贈者懷孕的人進行了研究,但這些研究的範圍僅限於通過人工方式懷孕的心理影響。 為了深化這項重要的研究,哈佛醫學院的 生物倫理學中心 通過不僅關注任何持久的心理創傷,還檢查這些成年人是否有興趣識別或會見他們的親生父母,他們在通過以下方式了解方式時的感受,試圖更多地了解捐贈者受孕的人的經歷他們是如何受孕的,以及他們是否認為捐贈者受孕是一種道德實踐。

研究人員調查了 143 名匿名捐贈者懷孕的成年人,其中大多數是 高學歷 女性, 至少31歲。 這項調查的結果打破了“愛”是 所有需要的 讓孩子們茁壯成長。 事實上,這項調查的結果與事實完全相反,捐贈者的受孕嚴重損害了健康、適應良好的人的心理和生理髮育。 只有 22.9% 的參與者發現他們是在 18 歲之前受孕的,而很大比例的調查參與者(86.5%)認為他們應該有權識別有關失踪父母的信息,74.8% 的人渴望了解更多關於失踪父母的信息。他們的種族和文化背景。 大量參與者報告說,在發現自己是捐贈者受孕後,他們的身份感發生了變化。 在與兄弟姐妹一起長大的人中,37.1%的人認為他們的兄弟姐妹關係因知道他們的受孕而改變,48.5%的人在真相大白後尋求心理或精神科的幫助。 70% 的高比例認為社會應該結束配子捐贈的做法,62.2% 的人表示他們認為配子捐贈的商業性質是不道德的。 

研究人員在接受調查的人中沒有發現可預測的思維模式,但他們確實觀察到,更高比例的年輕參與者認為用金錢換取捐贈者配子是不道德的。 他們還指出,那些在受孕後尋求心理健康支持的人也傾向於報告對孩子/親生父母關係的話題有更強烈的感受,並聽到其他人談論他們的遺傳譜系。 值得注意的是,結果的這種差異是有趣的,但這項研究最重要的收穫是,用 研究人員, 是“調查結果表明,許多人發現自己是捐贈者受孕並且圍繞捐贈者受孕的倫理問題是深刻的……”

我們之前的他們對這些結果並不感到驚訝。 我們知道,之所以造成如此巨大的痛苦,是因為“捐贈”他們的遺傳物質的人不僅僅是“捐贈者”,而是這些孩子的遺傳父母。 這些父母在他們“幫助他人”的錯誤觀念下賣掉了他們的孩子,或者他們如此脫離自己行為的後果,以至於對他們來說,捐贈只是一種“賺錢”的方式。 這些後果被證明 的故事 成人 孩子 因捐卵受孕而遭受生理傷害的人:

...我有同性戀媽媽。 他們基本上想假裝(在某種意義上?)他們有一個親生孩子,因為同性戀夫婦不可能有孩子。 所以他們向我叔叔(父親?)要精子,他捐了。 我一直都知道我來自捐贈的精子,但我認為(希望)是某個陌生人之類的,這樣我就可以找到他,見到他,並在我的大學時代尋求……他的指導……我不知道這是一個相對……我媽媽試圖讓它看起來“很酷”,但它似乎是錯誤的和噁心的。 這到底是誰幹的? 只是。 他怎麼能假裝我不是他的? 我們有家庭團聚之類的事情,他只是稱我為“侄女”。 我是他的女兒。 當人們決定不想要他們的孩子時,他們怎麼能假裝他們的孩子不是他們的呢? 現在是這樣運作的嗎? “哦,我還有一些半嬰兒,讓我把它們送給這個人。” 我勒個去!

我是陌生人的孩子,他無私地將我,他的親生女兒,賣給了一個他永遠不會見面的家庭。 他簽署了他成為我父親的權利,我的父母很高興地買了這份能給他們一個孩子的禮物。 當我母親懷孕時,他們欣喜若狂,但沒有人考慮我對所發生的交易的感受,我對無權與親生父親建立關係的感受,無權訪問我的父親家庭,甚至不考慮醫療信息… 

怎麼會有人出賣人? 當然,那時它只是精子,但它是為了成為孩子而出售的精子。 為什麼醫生允許以與親生家庭隔絕的目的創造孩子以使接受者父母高興是合法的? 這個過程商品化了真實的人類…… 我出生於一家以利潤為導向的醫療診所,它出售父母權利,而不考慮最終產品(即孩子生產的產品)的最佳選擇。

我的同父異母兄弟姐妹的所有 4 個(到目前為止) 和我來自同一捐贈者的完全相關的妹妹一直在與我自己的父母不完全理解的某種程度的心理健康問題作鬥爭。 無論是抑鬱症、焦慮症、雙相情感障礙,還是其他,我們都在心中經歷過一種無法控制的悲傷。

哈佛研究的結論是建議不鼓勵匿名捐贈者受孕,並且在年輕時告知孩子他們受孕的方式是減少傷害的最佳途徑。 他們在我們之前得出結論,配子捐贈是不道德的,句號。 故意否認兒童的基本發展需求——他們的親生父母——在道德上是敗壞的。 任何看似明智的同意都只是尋求進一步寬恕將成人慾望置於兒童權利之上的過程,從而導致兒童在整個成年生活中遭受這些慾望的後果。 

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Several studies of donor-conceived persons have been conducted, but the scope of these studies has been limited to the psychological impacts of being conceived via artificial means. In an effort to deepen this vital research, Harvard Medical School’s Center for Bioethics sought to learn more about the experiences of donor-conceived people by focusing on not only any enduring psychological trauma, but also examining whether these adults had any interest in identifying or meeting their biological parent/s, how they felt when they learned the manner by which they were conceived, and whether they thought donor conception was a moral practice.

The researchers surveyed 143 anonymous donor-conceived adults, most of whom were highly educated females, at least 31 years of age. The results of this survey disabuse the myth that “love” is all that is required for children to thrive. In fact, the results of this survey reveal the exact opposite to be true, donor conception is seriously detrimental to the psychological and physiological development of a healthy, well-adjusted human being. Only 22.9 percent of participants found out they were donor-conceived before age 18, and a large percentage of the survey participants, 86.5 percent, felt that they should have the right to identifying information about their missing parent, and 74.8 percent craved more knowledge about their ethnic and cultural backgrounds. A large number of participants reported their sense of identity changed upon discovering that they were donor-conceived. Of those that grew up with siblings, 37.1 percent felt their sibling relationships were changed by the knowledge of their conception, and 48.5 percent sought psychological or psychiatric help when the truth was revealed. A high percentage, 70 percent believed society should end the practice of gamete donation, and 62.2 percent revealed that they found the commercial nature of gamete donations to be unethical. 

The researchers did not find a predictable thought pattern among those surveyed, but they did observe that a higher percentage of younger participants believed that the exchange of money for donor gametes was immoral. They also noted that those who sought mental health support following the revelation of their conception also tended to report more intense feelings on the topics of the child/biological parent relationship and hearing others talk about their genetic lineage. Such differences in outcomes are interesting to note, but the most important takeaway from this study, in the words of the researchers, is that the “findings indicate that there is a significant amount of distress in many individuals who discover that they are donor-conceived and that the ethical issues surrounding donor conception are profound…”

We at Them Before Us are not surprised by these results. We know that this overwhelming amount of distress is inflicted because the persons “donating” their genetic material are not simply “donors,” but the genetic parents of these children. These parents have sold their children under the misguided notion that they are “helping others,” or they are so detached from the ramifications of their actions that for them, donating is simply a way to “make money.” These consequences are evidenced by the stories of adult children who have been inflicted with the physiological harm of being donor-conceived:

I have gay moms. They wanted to basically pretend (in a sense?) they had a biological child together since it’s impossible for gay couples to have kids. So they asked my uncle (father?) for sperm and he donated. I always knew I came from donated sperm, but I thought (hoped) it was some stranger or something, so then I could find him, meet him, and seek…mentorship from him in my college years…I had no idea it was a relative….My mom tried to make it seem “cool” but it just seems wrong and gross. Who the hell does this? Just ew. How could he just pretend I wasn’t his? We have family reunions and stuff, and he just calls me “niece.” I’m his daughter. How can people just pretend their kids aren’t theirs when they decide they don’t want them? Is that how it works now? ‘Oh I got some half-babies left, let me just give them away to this person.’ What the hell!

I’m the child of a stranger, who altruistically sold me, his biological daughter, to a family he would never meet.  He signed away his rights to be a father to me, and my parents gladly bought the gift that would give them a child.  They were ecstatically happy when my mother became pregnant, but no one considered how I would feel about the transaction that took place, how I would feel about having no right to a relationship with my biological father, no access to my paternal family, not even medical information… 

How can anyone sell a person?  Sure, at that point it was just sperm, but it was sperm being sold with the intention of becoming a child.  Why is it legal for a doctor to allow a child to be created with the purpose of being cut off from biological family to make the recipient parents happy?  The process commodifies real human beings…. I was born as the result of a profit-driven medical clinic selling parental rights without regard for what is best for the end product, the child produced.

All 4 (so far) of my half siblings and my fully related sister from the same donor have struggled with some degree of mental health issues that my own parents don’t fully understand. Whether it’s depression, anxiety, bipolar disorder, or others, we all have experienced an uncontrollable sadness in our hearts.

The Harvard Study concludes by suggesting that anonymous donor conception should be discouraged, and that informing children about the manner of their conception at a young age is the best route to reduce harm. Them Before Us concludes gamete donation is unethical, full stop. It is morally corrupt to intentionally deny children an essential developmental need— their biological mothers and fathers. Any seemingly well-informed consent simply seeks to further condone a process that puts adult desires before the rights of children, causing children to suffer the consequences of these desires throughout their entire adult lives. 

 

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

EnglishPolski
Share This