你所需要的只是愛 可能是披頭士的一首朗朗上口的曲子,但這是一個謊言。 尤其是在婚姻方面。 

他們在我們面前反對同性婚姻,並不是因為我們反對同性戀者——我們很自豪擁有許多熱衷於保護兒童權利的 TBU 男女同性戀領導人。 我們的立場是基於這樣一個事實,即同性婚姻走到哪裡,兒童權利就會被削弱。 問題是可以預見的; 當法律意見 丈夫妻子 作為可選,角色 父親 母親 也成為法律上的可選。 而且這對孩子沒有好處。 如果你讀 孩子們的故事 那些被拒絕與父母建立關係的人,結果往往是毀滅性的,而且是終生的。

如果你仍然堅持認為重新定義婚姻是可以的,因為“愛就是愛”,那麼你就會猛然醒悟。 
同性婚姻合法化的影響遠遠超出了現在任何性別的兩個成年人都可以結婚的事實——它改變了全球涉及兒童的法律。 R定義婚姻令人驚訝地清楚婚姻一直是什麼……為人父母。

從法律上講,同性婚姻要求同性和異性伴侶之間沒有區別。 而且由於婚姻與父母身份結婚,同性戀婚姻的鏡頭必然將基於生物學的父母身份視為歧視性的。 換句話說,因為同性伴侶不能都是親生父母,所以他們在正義眼中被視為“不平等”。 因此,法律必須做生物學不能做的事情。 因此,為了在法律上將兒童與成人聯繫起來,有必要重新定義父母身份的基礎,以減輕兒童與親生父母的分離並重新與親生陌生人聯繫。 這樣大人就可以“平等”了。

生物連接在歷史上,n 一直是每個社會和文化中為人父母的基礎,這是有充分理由的。 生物聯繫將父/子關係與其他關係區分開來。 親權專家 梅麗莎莫斯凱拉解釋說,

親生父母對子女的特殊責任是不可轉讓的,因為只有親生父母才能將父母的愛帶給子女。 孩子和他們的親生父母之間的關係是親密的、永久的和構成身份的。 它定義了孩子身份的生物學方面——因為如果孩子有不同的親生父母,他就不是同一個人; 事實上,他根本不存在。 孩子們不會錯過被那些與他們沒有親密關係的人的愛; 親子關係獨特的、不可替代的親密關係表現在這樣一個事實,即一個孩子可能會錯過一個不在場的親生父母的特殊愛和關懷,即使他受到(例如)養父母的深愛。

生物學  性別 育兒問題。 但 在同性婚姻合法化的國家,親子關係的基礎 從基於生物學的關係轉變為基於“意圖”的關係. 這種轉變導致兒童的合法擦除 基本權利 給他們的父母。 “以意圖為基礎”的養育方式反映了成年人的願望,而不是 孩子們的渴望. 代表著 兒童屬於能夠獲得兒童的任何成年人,並至少在法律上創造一種文化,在這種文化中不再期望兒童 應該 由自己的父母撫養長大。  

從功能上看,這看起來很多 像作家安德魯所羅門的 “後核”家庭:

當我遇到現在是我丈夫的約翰時,他告訴我他有幾個朋友,塔米和勞拉,他曾為他們捐過精,他們有一個兒子叫奧利弗,他是他們的生父. 幾年後,他們再次請他做精子捐獻者,並生了一個女兒露西。 我大學的一個好朋友離婚了,她說她真的很想當媽媽,我說我很想當她孩子的爸爸。 所以我們決定通過體外受精過程生產一個孩子。 約翰和我後來想生一個可以一直和我們一起生活的孩子,我們決定使用卵子捐贈者,帶著奧利弗和露西的女同性戀勞拉提出要成為我們的代理人,以感謝約翰為她提供一個家庭。 所以簡寫是:三個州四個孩子的五個父母。

在三個州的四個孩子中,所有的孩子都是 意圖 他們將與他們的親生父母之一分開。 五個大人的慾望得到滿足,四個孩子的權利 被他們的親生父母認識並撫養長大. 當為人父母的基礎不再是生物學的而是“有意的”時,它支持像所羅門這樣的場景,其中孩子被交換和交易,剪切和粘貼到任何可以想像的成人安排中。  

以生物學為基礎的育兒方式將兒童視為成年人應該圍繞其生活的易受傷害的人。  “意圖”為人父母將孩子視為商品。

婚姻和父母身份在家庭法中相互交織,這一事實證明了這一點 很多國家 包括芬蘭、盧森堡、法國、新西蘭、阿根廷、挪威、荷蘭同時重新定義婚姻  收養法將同性伴侶包括在內。

以下是同性婚姻如何改變世界各地兒童的法律格局的其他一些例子:

芬蘭 - 2017

第一次同性婚姻發生在今年 XNUMX 月,政府已經在考慮立法 《母性法》,親生母親的女性伴侶可以在孩子的出生證明上“聲明自己是父母”。

哥倫比亞 - 2016

該國憲法法院以6票對3票通過了同性婚姻合法化。  法院的聲明 指出婚姻最終是關於為人父母的事實,因為他們重新定義的理由不是基於“愛”,而是基於同性伴侶“建立符合其性取向的家庭”的權利。

美國- 2015

最高法院規定在美國各地實行同性婚姻,並指出 已婚同性伴侶必須“按照與異性伴侶相同的條款和條件”獲得與婚姻相關的全部“福利”。 結果是不再有任何政府或政治機構承認孩子應該由父母撫養。 這種承認構成歧視,正如許多判決所證明的那樣, 同性伴侶被列入名單 作為孩子出生證明上的父母。 

愛爾蘭 - 2015

在公投後的法律環境中,沒有任何政府機構特別認可母/父/子關係。 婚姻的重新定義緊隨其後 家庭法的變化 它在功能上基於“意圖”而不是生物學來識別父母身份。 不 可以優先考慮母親和父親 在收養或人工人類繁殖的情況下。

加拿大- 2005

2005 民事婚姻法 加拿大將婚姻定義為“兩個人的合法結合,排除所有其他人”。  父母身份立即被重新定義加拿大的同性婚姻法 C-38 法案包含一項條款,刪除“親生父母”一詞,並在聯邦法律中用性別中立的“合法父母”代替。 現在所有的孩子都只有國家規定的“合法父母”。

加拿大的重新定義法案包括對其他法規的“相應修改”,包括將各種條款中的“血緣關係或收養關係的要求”替換為“合法的親子關係”。 2016年,加拿大頒布了“所有家庭都是平等的” 該法案將父母身份描述為最多四名成年父母與合法認定為他們的子女之間的合同關係。

西班牙- 2005

同性婚姻合法化後的第二年,西班牙 刪除了“母親”和“父親”這兩個詞 從出生證明。 西班牙司法部長解釋說,政府修改了“民事婚姻的地位,以允許同性伴侶結合,有必要為家庭書(Libro de Familia)採用新格式,並使用諸如“父母 A”和“父母 B”而不是“父親”和“母親”。

荷蘭 - 2000

同性婚姻合法化兩個月後, 綜合包已通過 調整民法典中的語言。 在適當的情況下,它將“母親”和“丈夫”等特定性別的語言替換為“配偶”和“父母”等不分性別的語言。 今年,荷蘭政府將考慮立法 最多可識別 4 位成人和孩子的父母,推理“需要從建立孩子和父母之間聯繫的生物學聯繫轉變為考慮其他社會因素……”

這一切對孩子們意味著什麼?

這些都不是法律上的微小變化。 他們忽略了孩子的內在渴望被親生父母了解和愛戴。 它告訴孩子們,他們不屬於他們的父母,而是屬於任何對他們感興趣的成年人。 用的話 拉比吉爾斯伯恩海姆, 在法律上和概念上忽視兒童與其父母之間的獨特紐帶,將兒童轉變為“權利客體”而不是“權利主體”。

為什麼收養父母在被授予對收養孩子的權力之前要經過詳盡的審查? 因為當生物學不是成人/兒童關係的基礎時,兒童往往會遭受心理、身體和情感方面的影響。 對父母的“意圖”,對孩子來說是充滿風險的。 僅僅基於成人的願望賦予父母權利的政策對兒童沒有任何幫助。

成人的“婚姻平等”是以犧牲兒童的家庭平等為代價的,因為它消除了童年的關鍵組成部分之一——與父母雙方的關係。 當政府重新定義婚姻時,他們所做的不僅僅是驗證成人的“愛”。 他們也在法律上重新定義孩子的意義。

All you need is love might be a catchy Beatles tune, but it’s a lie.   Especially when it comes to marriage. 

Them Before Us opposes gay marriage, not because we oppose gay people – we are proud to have a number of both gay and lesbian TBU leaders who are passionate about preserving children’s rights.  Our position is based on the fact that where gay marriage goes, the weakening of children’s rights follows. The problem is a predictable one; when the law views husbands and wives as optional, the role of father and mother becomes legally optional as well. And that’s no good for children. If you read the stories of kids who were denied a relationship with their mother or father, the results are often devastating and life-long.

If you are still clinging to the fabrication that redefining marriage is okay because “love is love,” you are in for a rude awakening. 
The effects of legalizing gay marriage have gone well beyond the fact that two adults of any gender can now marry- it has changed laws involving children across the globe.   Redefining marriage has made surprisingly clear what marriage has always been about… parenthood.

Legally, gay marriage requires that there be no distinction between same-sex and opposite-sex couples. And because marriage is married to parenthood, the lens of gay marriage necessarily views biology-based parenthood as discriminatory. In other words, because same-sex couples cannot both be biological parents they are seen as “unequal” in the eyes of justice. Therefore, the law must do what biology cannot. So, in order to legally connect children to both adults, it has become necessary to redefine the basis for parenthood easing the detachment of children from biological parents and reattaching them to biological strangers.  So that the adults can be “equal.”

A biological connection has been the basis for parenthood in every society and culture throughout history for good reason. A biological connection distinguishes the parent/child relationship from other relationships. Parental right’s expert Melissa Moschella explains,

The special responsibility that biological parents have for their children is non-transferable because only biological parents can give to their children the benefit of their parental love. The relationship between children and their biological parents is intimate, permanent, and identity-constituting. It defines the biological aspect of the child’s identity—for if the child had different biological parents, he would not be the same person; indeed he would not exist at all. Children do not miss being loved by those with whom they have no intimate relationship; the unique, irreplaceable intimacy of the parent-child relationship manifests itself in the fact that a child can miss the specific love and care of an absent biological parent, even when he is well-loved by (say) adoptive parents.

Biology and gender matter in parenting. But in countries where gay marriage has been legalized, the foundation of the parent/child relationship has shifted from a relationship based on biology, to one based on “intent”. This shift has resulted in the legal erasure of a child’s fundamental rights to their mother and father.  “Intent-based” parenting reflects the desires of adults, not the longings of children.  It means that children belong to whichever adults can acquire them and creates a culture, at least legally, where there is no longer an expectation that children should be raised by their own mother and father.  

Functionally, that looks a lot like author Andrew Solomon’s “post-nuclear” family:

When I met John, who is now my husband, he told me that he had had some friends, Tammy and Laura, for whom he had been a sperm donor, and that they had a son named Oliver, of whom he was the biological father. A few years later, they asked him to be a sperm donor again, and they produced a daughter, Lucy. A good friend of mine from college had gone through a divorce and said that she really longed to be a mother, and I said how much I would love to be the father of her child. And so we decided to produce a child through an IVF process. John and I then wanted to have a child who would live with us all the time, and we decided to use an egg donor, and Laura, the lesbian who had carried Oliver and Lucy, offered to be our surrogate as a way of thanking John for providing her with a family. So the shorthand is: five parents of four children in three states.

Of those four children living in three states, all were conceived with the intent that they would be separated from one of their biological parents.  The desires of the five adults were satisfied at the cost of four children’s right to be known by and raised by their biological parents.  When the basis for parenthood is no longer biological but “intentional,” it endorses scenarios such as Solomon’s where children are swapped and traded, cut and pasted into any and every conceivable adult arrangement.  

Biology-based parenting views children as vulnerable humans around whom adults should orient their lives.  Parenthood by “intent” treats children as a commodity.

Marriage and parenthood are intertwined in family law, evidenced by the fact that many countries including Finland, Luxembourg, France, New Zealand, Argentina, Norway, and The Netherlands simultaneously redefined marriage and adoption laws to include same-sex couples.

Here are some other examples of how gay marriage has changed the legal landscape for children around the world:

Finland- 2017

The first gay marriages took place in March of this year, and already the government is considering legislation on a new “law on motherhood”, where the female partner of a biological mother can “declare herself the parent” on a child’s birth certificate.

Colombia- 2016

The country’s Constitutional Court, by a 6-3 voted to legalize gay marriage.  The court’s statement points to the fact that marriage is ultimately about parenthood, as their justification for the redefinition was not based on “love,” but rather the right for same-sex couples to “start a family in keeping with their sexual orientation.”

United States- 2015

The Supreme Court mandated gay marriage throughout the US noting that married same-sex couples must receive the full ‘constellation of benefits’ associated with marriage ‘on the same terms and conditions as opposite-sex couples.’  The result is that there is no longer any governmental or political institution that recognizes that a child should be raised by their mother and father.  Such a recognition constitutes discrimination, as evidenced in the numerous judgements that same-sex couples be listed as parents on a child’s birth certificate. 

Ireland- 2015

In the post-referendum legal landscape, no government institution gives special recognition to the mother/father/child bond. The redefinition of marriage came on the heels of a change in family law which functionally recognized parenthood based on “intent” rather than biology.  No preference can be given to mothers and fathers in cases of adoption or artificial human reproduction.

Canada- 2005

2005 Civil Marriage Act defined marriage throughout Canada as “the lawful union of two persons to the exclusion of all others.”  Parenthood was immediately redefined: “Canada’s gay marriage law, Bill C-38, included a provision to erase the term “natural parent” and replace it across the board with gender-neutral “legal parent” in federal law. Now all children only have “legal parents,” as defined by the state.”

The redefinition bill in Canada included “consequential amendments” to other statutes including the replacement in various provisions of the “requirement for connection by blood relationship or adoption” with “legal parent-child relationship.” In 2016, Canada enacted the “All Families Are Equal” Act which outlined parenthood as contractual relationship between up to four adult parents, and the children that are legally identified as theirs.

Spain- 2005

The year after gay marriage was legalized, Spain erased the terms “mother” and “father” from birth certificates. The Spanish Minister of Justice explained that the government modified “the status of civil marriages, to allow the union of same-sex couples, it was necessary for a new format for the Family Book (Libro de Familia) and one that used terms such as “Parent A” and “Parent B” instead of “Father” and “Mother.”

The Netherlands- 2000

Two months after same-sex marriage was legalized, an omnibus package was passed to adjust the language in civil code.  It replaced gender-specific language such as “mother” and “husband” with gender-neutral language such as “spouse” and “parent”, wherever appropriate.  This year, the Dutch government will consider legislation that will recognize up to 4 adults a child’s parents, reasoning that “there needs to be a shift from the biological link that establishes the connection between the child and the parent to take into account other social factors…”

What does all this mean for kids?

These are not minor changes in law. They ignore a child’s intrinsic yearnings be known and loved by both biological parents.  It communicates to children that they don’t belong to their mother and father, but to whichever adult has an interest in them. In the words of Rabbi Gilles Bernheim, ignoring the unique bonds between children and their parents legally and conceptually transforms children into the ‘object of rights’ rather than ‘a subject of rights’.

Why is it that adoptive parents undergo exhaustive vetting prior to being given authority over an adopted child? Because when biology is not the basis for an adult/child relationship, children often suffer diminished mental, physical and emotional outcomes. “Intent” to parent, is fraught with risks to children. Policies which confer parental rights simply based on adult desires do no service to children.

“Marriage equality” for adults comes at the expense of familial equality for children by removing one of the critical components of childhood- a relationship with both their mother and father. When government redefines marriage, they are doing much more than validating adult “love.” They are also legally redefining what it means to be a child.

Previous Article

Chile Seeks To Overturn “Old Prejudices” by Redefining Marriage

Chile appears set to become the latest South American country to legalize same-sex marriage, following ... Read more

Next Article

Position Statement On Adoption

Them Before Us supports adoption, when it is properly understood.  Adoption must always be viewed ... Read more

Share This