(經授權轉載 聖塞巴斯蒂安協會)
(圖片來源: 維基共享資源)

 

范斯坦醫學研究所的研究人員最近獲得了 2.9 萬美元,用於篩選通過體外受精產生的胚胎,以檢測遺傳疾病和疾病。 植入前基因檢測篩查染色體異常以檢測唐氏綜合症、囊性纖維化和亨廷頓病等疾病,這並不是什麼新鮮事。[i] 人類胚胎不斷因“有缺陷”而被丟棄,因為轉移最健康的胚胎越來越多成功植入的機會並減少流產的可能性,從而為委託父母節省數千美元。

Feinstein 研究所的研究通過篩選在植入前可檢測到的疾病,但針對那些可能在生命後期出現或不會出現的疾病,如精神分裂症、阿爾茨海默氏症、糖尿病和癌症,進一步推進了這種優生實踐。 [ii]由於這項新測試而被丟棄的人類令人擔憂。 通過體外受精過程產生的胚胎數量已經達到數百萬,其中至少有一百萬個胚胎處於冷凍儲存狀態。 如果大多數胚胎因潛在的未來疾病而被淘汰,那麼創造的胚胎數量只會增加。 生育行業已經從人類的創造和商品化中獲得了巨額利潤,其增長預計將從 18,475 年的 2021 億美元增加到 28,236 年的 2025 億美元。[iii]

這種多基​​因胚胎選擇 [PES] 過程不僅會基於對未來可能會影響這些兒童的假設而導致更多的人類生命被拋棄,而且眾所周知,IVF 過程本身也會導致受孕兒童的健康風險通過這。 因此,PES 檢測到的任何未來疾病風險都可能是最初通過 IVF 受孕的胚胎的直接結果。

體外受精過程包括多個步驟,從超排卵和提取卵子到在培養皿中操縱和使胚胎受精。 這些步驟將胚胎暴露在不自然的環境中,由於卵子成熟過程的改變以及溫度、pH 值和氧張力的變化,激素水平會發生變化。[iv] 這些步驟發生在胚胎最脆弱的時候,因為這些過程永遠不會再次發生,這些小人類環境的變化可能有助於表觀遺傳修飾。 與體外受精過程最相關的表觀遺傳修飾是“DNA甲基化”,它調節細胞過程,如染色體結構、DNA轉錄和胚胎髮育。 如果甲基化循環不能有效發揮作用,就會導致心髒病、糖尿病、癌症以及自身免疫和神經系統疾病。 [v]

由於這些表觀遺傳改變會影響心血管系統,研究人員發現,通過 IVF 受孕而沒有任何其他可檢測到的心血管危險因素[vi] 的健康兒童未來心血管問題的風險增加,其嚴重程度可能會發展為動脈高血壓。 [vii]在 2012 年對 65 名通過體外受精受孕的兒童和 57 名自然受孕的兒童進行的一項研究中,發現“……低介導的肱動脈擴張縮小了 25%……頸動脈-股動脈脈搏波速度顯著加快,頸動脈內膜-介質厚度顯著增加,高海拔地區的收縮期肺動脈壓……比對照組高 30%。”[viii] 2015 年和 2017 年的其他研究表明,心臟收縮和舒張功能的變化可能發生在IVF 受孕兒童的童年期,導致早發性心肌改變。 發現蛋白質、負責凝血和鐵和脂質代謝的蛋白質表達異常,並且發現顯示血壓升高和血管厚度增加,表明心血管疾病的風險增加。 [ix]

通過體外受精受孕的兒童也表現出更高的空腹血糖水平以及受損的胰島素敏感性。 與自然受孕的孩子相比,這些孩子的血糖和心血管代謝情況欠佳,導致 2 型糖尿病的風險更高。[x] 通過體外受精受孕的女性和接受卵巢受孕的女性早產風險高出 55%過度刺激的風險高出 45%。 過早出生的嬰兒患肥胖症、心髒病、糖尿病、青春期過早以及心血管和神經系統疾病的風險更高。[xi] 研究發現,那些早產且出生體重極低的兒童大約在 10 到 XNUMX 歲之間,比自然受孕的孩子要高 XNUMX 到 XNUMX 歲左右。 身高增加和體重快速增加是導致血壓水平升高的另一個因素。[xii] 此外,IVF 受孕兒童的出生缺陷風險更高,例如眼睛、心臟和泌尿生殖系統畸形。 [xiii ]

密歇根州立大學的芭芭拉·盧克 (Barbara Luke) 研究了自然受孕和通過體外受精受孕的兒童的出生缺陷與癌症之間的聯繫。 通過體外受精出生時患有嚴重出生缺陷的兒童患癌症的風險大約是自然受孕的出生缺陷兒童的 XNUMX 倍,後者患癌症的風險僅高出三倍。 [xiv]

最後,尤其是體外受精受孕的女孩,青春期發育普遍存在問題。 雖然青春期的男性往往發育正常,但女性的乳房發育較慢,骨齡較早。[xv] 這種高齡骨齡會導致骨骼中的骨骺板過早停止老化,從而導致各種生長障礙。[xvi]

人類是否應該因為他們將來可能患上或可能不會患上的疾病而被淘汰? 沒有人可以 100% 準確地預測任何人會患上哪些疾病,而顯示出疾病潛力的胚胎可能會過上完全健康的生活,反之亦然。 范斯坦研究所將這種不斷增加的人類生命實驗做得太過分了,這些優生多基因胚胎選擇實踐必須結束。 當然,這需要通過 IVF 受孕的想法——一個已經非常危險的過程——再次成為一個被廣泛認為是荒謬的概念。

_____________________

[I]的 https://www.acog.org/clinical/clinical-guidance/committee-opinion/articles/2020/03/preimplantation-genetic-testing

[II] https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20210802005445/en/Feinstein-Institutes-receives-2.9M-NIH-grant-for-IVF-genetic-risk-factors-studies

[III] https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/global-fertility-services-market-research-report-2021-301358103.html

[IV] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6961665/

[V] https://selfhacked.com/blog/what-is-methylation-and-how-does-it-affect-our-health/

[六] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3650450/

[七] https://www.healthline.com/health-news/children-born-via-ivf-face-higher-health-risks#Whats-causing-this?

[八] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3650450/

[九] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3650450/

[X] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6747212/

[XI] https://www.practiceupdate.com/content/increased-risk-of-metabolic-dysfunction-in-children-conceived-by-assisted-reproductive-technology/106728

[XII] https://www.bionews.org.uk/page_155055

[XIII] https://www.uclahealth.org/u-magazine/in-vitro-fertilization-linked-to-increased-risk-of-birth-defects.

[XIV]  https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamanetworkopen/fullarticle/2772342

[Xv的] https://www.researchgate.net/publication/23158608_Pubertal_development_in_children_and_adolescents_born_after_IVF_and_spontaneous_conception

[十六] https://journalmsr.com/a-systematized-approach-to-radiographic-assessment-of-commonly-seen-genetic-bone-diseases-in-children-a-pictorial-review/

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Reposted with permission from the Society of St. Sebastian)
(Image Source: WikiMedia Commons)

 

Researchers at the Feinstein Institutes for medical research were recently granted $2.9 million to screen embryos created through in-vitro fertilization for genetic disorders and diseases. Preimplantation genetic testing, which screens for chromosomal abnormalities to detect disorders such as Down syndrome, cystic fibrosis, and Huntington disease, is nothing new.[i] Human embryonic beings are constantly being discarded for being “defective,” since transferring the healthiest embryos increases the chances of successful implantation and reduces the likelihood of miscarriage, thereby saving the commissioning parents thousands of dollars.

The Feinstein Institutes’ research is taking this eugenic practice further by screening for diseases that are detectable before implantation but for those that may or may not appear later in life, such as schizophrenia, Alzheimer’s, diabetes, and cancer.[ii] The amount of human beings who will be discarded as a result of this new test is concerning. The number of embryos created through the IVF process is already in the millions, with at least a million embryos in frozen storage. The number of embryos created will only increase if the majority are weeded out for potential future diseases. The fertility industry already profits heavily from the creation and commodification of human beings, with its growth expected to increase from $18,475 billion in 2021 to $28,236 billion in 2025.[iii]

Not only will this polygenic embryo selection [PES] process contribute to even more human lives being thrown away based on an assumption of what may afflict these children in the future, but the IVF process itself has been known to contribute to health risks in children conceived through it. Therefore, the likelihood exists that any risk of future diseases detected by PES will be a direct result of an embryo having been conceived through IVF in the first place.

The IVF process consists of multiple steps, from hyperovulation and extraction of eggs to manipulating and fertilizing embryos in a petri dish. These steps expose embryos to unnatural environments with changes in hormone levels due to altering the egg maturation process and changes in temperature, pH, and oxygen tension.[iv] These steps occur at a time when embryos are most vulnerable, as these processes will never occur again, and changes in the environments of these small humans can contribute to epigenetic modification. The epigenetic modification most associated with the IVF process is “DNA methylation,” which regulates cellular processes like chromosome structure, the transcription of DNA, and embryonic development. If the methylation cycle doesn’t work efficiently, this can lead to heart disease, diabetes, cancer, and autoimmune and neurological disorders.[v]

Since these epigenetic alterations can affect the cardiovascular system, researchers have found that healthy children conceived through IVF without any other detectable cardiovascular risk factors[vi] have an elevated risk of future cardiovascular issues, which can progress in severity to arterial hypertension.[vii] In a 2012 study of 65 children conceived through IVF and 57 naturally-conceived children, it was found that “…low-mediated dilation of the brachial artery was 25% smaller…carotid-femoral pulse-wave velocity was significantly faster, carotid intima-media thickness was significantly greater, and the systolic pulmonary artery pressure at high altitude…was 30% higher in ART-conceived children than in controls.”[viii] Other studies from 2015 and 2017 show that cardiac systolic and diastolic function changes can occur during childhood in IVF-conceived children, leading to early-onset myocardial alterations. There was found to be an abnormal expression of proteins, proteins responsible for blood coagulation and iron and lipid metabolism, and findings that show an increase in blood pressure and higher blood vessel thickness, indicating the increased risk for cardiovascular disease.[ix]

Children conceived through IVF also show higher fasting blood glucose levels as well as impaired insulin sensitivity. These children have shown suboptimal glucose and cardiovascular metabolic profiles compared to naturally-conceived children, leading to a higher risk of type 2 diabetes.[x] Women who conceive via IVF have a 55 percent higher risk of premature birth, and those who undergo ovarian hyperstimulation have a 45 percent higher risk. Infants born prematurely have a higher risk of obesity, heart disease, diabetes, premature puberty, and cardiovascular and neurological diseases.[xi] It was found that those children born prematurely and with very low birth weight were, around five to six years of age, taller than naturally conceived children around six to10 years of age. This increased height and rapid weight gain is another contributing factor to higher blood pressure levels.[xii] Furthermore, there is a higher risk of birth defects such as malformations of the eye, heart, and genitourinary system in IVF-conceived children.[xiii]

Barbara Luke of Michigan State University studied the connection between birth defects and cancer in children conceived naturally and via IVF. Children born with major birth defects through IVF had approximately seven times the cancer risk as opposed to children with birth defects conceived naturally, of which the cancer risk was only three times more likely.[xiv]

Lastly, there are prevalent issues with pubertal development in, specifically, IVF-conceived girls. While pubertal males tend to develop typically, females show less advanced breast development and more advanced bone age.[xv] This advanced bone age can cause the epiphyseal plates in the bones to stop aging prematurely, leading to various growth disorders.[xvi]

Should human beings be eliminated for diseases they may or may not be afflicted with in the future? No one can accurately predict with 100 percent certainty which diseases any person will develop, and embryos showing disease potential may live completely healthy lives and vice versa. The Feinstein Institutes are taking this ever-increasing experimentation with human life too far, and these eugenic polygenic embryo selection practices must be put to an end. That requires, of course, that the very idea of conception through IVF—an already profoundly risky process—once again becomes a notion widely seen as preposterous.

_____________________

[i] https://www.acog.org/clinical/clinical-guidance/committee-opinion/articles/2020/03/preimplantation-genetic-testing

[ii] https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20210802005445/en/Feinstein-Institutes-receives-2.9M-NIH-grant-for-IVF-genetic-risk-factors-studies

[iii] https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/global-fertility-services-market-research-report-2021-301358103.html

[iv] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6961665/

[v] https://selfhacked.com/blog/what-is-methylation-and-how-does-it-affect-our-health/

[vi] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3650450/

[vii] https://www.healthline.com/health-news/children-born-via-ivf-face-higher-health-risks#Whats-causing-this?

[viii] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3650450/

[ix] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC3650450/

[x] https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC6747212/

[xi] https://www.practiceupdate.com/content/increased-risk-of-metabolic-dysfunction-in-children-conceived-by-assisted-reproductive-technology/106728

[xii] https://www.bionews.org.uk/page_155055

[xiii] https://www.uclahealth.org/u-magazine/in-vitro-fertilization-linked-to-increased-risk-of-birth-defects.

[xiv]  https://jamanetwork.com/journals/jamanetworkopen/fullarticle/2772342

[xv] https://www.researchgate.net/publication/23158608_Pubertal_development_in_children_and_adolescents_born_after_IVF_and_spontaneous_conception

[xvi] https://journalmsr.com/a-systematized-approach-to-radiographic-assessment-of-commonly-seen-genetic-bone-diseases-in-children-a-pictorial-review/

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

EnglishPolski
Share This