體外受精過程充斥著 倫理道德問題,其中一些包括多餘胚胎的產生和最終丟棄,冷凍胚胎的邊緣,在解凍過程中死亡的可能性,以及少數幸運兒,他們將有機會成功植入以繼續他們的生活。

許多人認為試管嬰兒程序是合乎道德的,即目的證明手段是正當的,因為目標是創造生命。 態度似乎是,如果這些孩子不植入,就好像他們不存在一樣,所以沒有傷害。 然而,對於任何意識到生命始於受孕的人來說,這種思路聽起來很空洞。 由於體外受精不被視為直接殺死胎兒,因此許多人,甚至是那些反對墮胎的人,常常對這種做法視而不見。 

然而,對於那些反對在子宮內殺死嬰兒的人來說,IVF 過程的一個方面應該是明確的。 選擇性還原

選擇性減少是由於性別選擇或多胎妊娠引起的許多醫學並發症而終止成功植入胚胎的生命的做法。 多胎妊娠的風險包括出生缺陷、早產或發育遲緩,以及孕產婦健康風險,例如危險且可能致命的高血壓和先兆子癇。 

選擇性減少(流產)從注射 氯化鉀 進入倒霉胎兒的心臟,使小心臟停止跳動。 但是,這並不是“有選擇地減少”有問題或多餘的孩子的唯一方法。 在嬰兒共用同一個羊膜囊的情況下,更不人道 使用的技術如 雙極臍帶電凝和射頻消融,其中 切斷臍帶供應,從而使嬰兒缺乏氧氣和營養。 死去的孩子會被吸收到母親的身體裡,或者留在子宮裡直到分娩,這需要母親繼續帶著她被屠殺的孩子——她選擇終止這些孩子的生命。

大生育有 通過聲稱是合理的選擇性減少 它的 ”不僅對在母親子宮中成長的其他孩子有益,而且也是確保那些在生活中繼續前進的孩子擁有美好未來的好方法。” 你看,為了其他人的利益犧牲你的一個或多個孩子是正確的做法。 在 21 世紀,為他人的祝福而犧牲的孩子似乎是生機勃勃的。 然後是對您的銀行賬戶的影響要考慮,“......照顧多個孩子所產生的費用並不是每個家庭都能負擔得起的。 由於所有孩子都處於同一年齡,他們可以迅速動搖您的財務穩定性。”

這樣的陳述承認了這些人被殺的明顯事實,雖然在哲學上與他的信仰不同步,但這些情緒在約瑟夫·門格勒的日記中很明顯。 這種做法不僅會讓優生學家高興得跳起來(更不用說 性別選擇 在這些情況下發生),但這是將成人的慾望置於兒童權利之上的一個明顯例子,特別是 基本和自然的生命權.

現實生活中的後果 

2019 年 XNUMX 月,一名女性公開了她的體外受精經歷的細節,包括她決定 選擇性地減少她攜帶的三個孩子中的兩個. 她和她的丈夫收養並移植了兩個胚胎,即與父母雙方都沒有生物學關係的胚胎,結果是三胞胎懷孕。 他們選擇了 殺死其中兩個被收養的孩子,因為攜帶三胞胎的風險,加上這些受託孩子可能出生時健康狀況不佳的風險。 她辯解說,當她知道一個嬰兒有更好的成長機會時,她不能拿三個孩子的生命冒險,而且她 繼續陳述,“……作為母親,這是我唯一的選擇。 這是我認為自己無法做出的犧牲,但正如父母所知,這是為人父母的一部分……也許是最重要的部分。” 

首先,一個重要的區別。 雖然這個女人 對母親來說,她不是她流產的孩子的遺傳母親。 這對夫婦犧牲了其他人的孩子,他們收養並結束了孩子們的生命,這些孩子肯定有其他永遠不會認識他們的兄弟姐妹。 這一行為並沒有說明對這些孩子自我犧牲的母愛。 一對夫婦願意花 100,000 萬美元,因為他們“只專注於生孩子” 當他們又花費 14,000 美元殺死其中兩個孩子時,他們肯定沒有將兒童的權利置於成人的慾望之上。 這是生育產業如何從不育者的脆弱性中獲利的一個粗略例證,並展示了只要人們想要生孩子,孩子是如何獲得的劣質產品,如果產品不能滿足那些慾望,這些人類可以簡單地被淘汰。 

另一個選擇性減少的例子涉及一個軍人妻子和一個部署的丈夫,她發現自己懷了三胞胎。 關於她想要終止三個孩子中的兩個的願望,她解釋說:“我覺得懷孕就像一個怪物,我只是想要它,但因為我們嘗試了這麼久,所以墮胎不是一個選擇。 我的第一要務是成為我能成為的最好的媽媽,但是當我丈夫被槍殺時,我應該如何處理兩個新生兒或兩個尖叫的嬰兒呢?” 找到願意為她的兩個孩子墮胎的醫生很困難,她最終不得不跋涉數千英里去找願意為她的孩子墮胎的醫生。 幾個月後,在講述她的故事時,她說:“我是一個非常苛刻的蹣跚學步的孩子的母親……我無法想像這兩次,也不知道我是否會有另一個人來幫助我。 這是我能應付的。 我很擅長這個。 但僅此而已。” 

這位母親顯然相信“成為最好的媽媽”涉及奪走她孩子的生命。 

雖然關於美國選擇性減產總數的報告很少見,但雙胞胎減為單胞胎的人數正在上升。 西奈山醫院報告 到 1997 年,他們記錄的減少量中有 15% 是單身人士。 2010 年,61 例減產中有 101 例是單胎,其中 38 例是雙胞胎。 這是短短 11 年裡令人震驚的上升趨勢。

還透露,在 英國, “2010 年,數十名未出生的嬰兒被預期多胞胎但想要更少孩子的英國婦女流產。 衛生部統計發現,有超過 100 名嬰兒被懷有雙胞胎、三胞胎或五胞胎的女性終止。

“根據信息自由法發布的統計數據顯示,2010 年,有 85 名婦女在繼續生下另一個嬰兒的同時流產了至少一個胎兒。 相比之下,59 年有 2006 名女性。去年接受選擇性減產的 85 名女性中,有 51 人將懷孕從雙胞胎減為單胎,高於四年前的 30 人。

“數據顯示,有 20 次墮胎可以將三胞胎減少為雙胞胎,還有 XNUMX 次手術可以將懷孕從三胞胎變成一個孩子。 三位母親將四個胎兒減為兩個,兩位母親將五個嬰兒減為兩個。” 

選擇性減少的過程並非沒有風險,因為所有程序都存在風險 早期或完全妊娠丟失。 在 2015研究118 名雙胎妊娠減少的女性、818 名雙胎妊娠女性和 611 名單胎妊娠女性接受了流產和早產風險評估。 研究發現,與正在進行的雙胞胎組相比,選擇減產的人在 24 週內流產以及早產的可能性要大得多。 與正在進行雙胞胎和單胎妊娠的女性相比,減少組中沒有任何存活孩子的女性數量也更高。 接受選擇性減產的母親是故意的,如果可能是無意的,為了追求只生一個孩子的願望,她們所有孩子的生命都處於危險之中。

無數的故事 of 那些迫切想要孩子的人 那些讓自己受制於生殖技術的人,卻發現他們懷孕的數量超過了他們“想要的孩子數量”。 在這些情況下,重點總是放在成年人的願望和偏好上,假裝執行戰略性還原符合他們自己和他們未來孩子的“最大利益”。 然而,有一件事是肯定的。 願意將自己的孩子視為一次性用品的父母,故意終止自己的生命來滿足自己的需求和慾望,並不代表任何人的最大利益。 

一個真正有愛心、自我犧牲的父母永遠不會為了讓另一個孩子有更好的機會過上更“理想”的生活而殺死他們的孩子。 為另一個孩子犧牲一個孩子的想法本身就是荒謬的,這種做法本應在迦南神摩洛那裡結束。

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

The In-Vitro Fertilization process is rife with ethical issues, some of which include the creation and eventual discarding of excess embryos, frozen embryonic limbo, the possibility of perishing during the thawing process, and the lucky few who will be given a shot at successful implantation for the chance to continue their lives.

Many argue that IVF procedures are ethical, that is that the ends justify the means because the goal is to create life. The attitude seems to be that if these children don’t implant, it’s as if they didn’t exist anyway, so no harm done. Yet, to anyone aware that life begins at conception, this line of thinking rings hollow. Since IVF isn’t viewed as the outright killing of preborn humans, many, even those who oppose abortion, often turn a blind eye to the practice. 

However, one aspect of the IVF process that should foster no ambiguity for those who oppose killing children in the womb is the process of selective reduction

Selective reduction is the practice of terminating the lives of successfully implanted embryos for reasons of either sex selection, or the many medical complications that arise from multifetal pregnancies. Whether risks to the child, such as birth defects, premature birth or developmental delays, or the maternal health risks common with these pregnancies, such as dangerous and potentially deadly hypertension and preeclampsia. 

Selective reduction (abortion) commences with the injection of potassium chloride into the heart of the unlucky fetus, which stops the small heart from beating. But, that’s not the only way to “selectively reduce” the problematic or surplus children. In instances where babies share the same amniotic sac, more inhumane techniques are used such as bipolar cord coagulation and radiofrequency ablation, which cut off umbilical cord supply, thus starving the baby of oxygen and nutrients. The dead children will then be absorbed into the mother’s body, or remain in the womb until delivery, which requires the mother to continue carrying around her slaughtered children—children whose lives she chose to terminate.

Big Fertility has justified selective reduction by claiming that it’s “not just beneficial for the other children growing in the mother’s womb, but is also a good way to ensure a great future for the ones that continue ahead in life.” You see, sacrificing one or more of your children for the benefit of the others is the right thing to do. It would appear child sacrifice for another’s blessing is alive and well in the 21st century. Then there’s the impact on your bank account to consider, “…The expenses incurred in taking care of multiple children is not something that is affordable for every family. With all children being at the same age, they can quickly shake your financial stability.”

Such statements acknowledge the obvious fact that these are human beings being killed, and although not lockstep philosophically with his beliefs, these sentiments would be at home in Joseph Mengele’s journal. Not would this practice make eugenicists jump for joy (not to mention the gender selection that occurs in these circumstances), but it’s a glaring example of putting adult desires before the rights of children, specifically, to their basic and natural right to life.

Real Life Consequences 

In October 2019, one woman made public the details of her IVF experience, including her decision to selectively reduce two of the three children she was carrying. She and her husband had adopted and transferred two embryos, that is, embryos with no biological relation to either parent, and a triplet pregnancy was the result. They chose to kill two of these adopted children because of the risks involved in carrying triplets, coupled with the risk that these commissioned children may be born with less-than-perfect health. She justified  that she couldn’t risk the lives of all three children when she knew a singular baby had a better chance to thrive, and she went on to state, “…As a mother, it was the only choice I had. It was a sacrifice beyond what I thought I was capable of making, but, as parents know, that’s part of being a parent…Maybe the most important part.” 

First, an important distinction. While this woman intended to mother, she was not the genetic mother of the children she aborted. This couple sacrificed other people’s children, they adopted and then ended the lives of children who most assuredly have other biological siblings who will never know them. This act doesn’t illustrate  self-sacrificial maternal love for these children. A couple willing to spend $100,000 because they “were only focused on having children” sure didn’t put children’s rights before adult desires when they spent another $14,000 to kill two of them. This is a gross illustration of how the fertility industry profits from the vulnerability of those who are infertile, and demonstrates how children are debased products to be acquired as long as one desires to make a child, and that if the products don’t satisfy those desires, these humans can simply be eliminated. 

Another instance of selective reduction involves a military wife with a deployed husband, who found herself pregnant with triplets. With regard to her desire to terminate two of her three babies, she explained, “I felt like the pregnancy was a monster, and I just wanted it out, but because we tried for so long, abortion wasn’t an option. My No. 1 priority was to be the best mom I could be, but how was I supposed to juggle two newborns or two screaming infants while my husband was away being shot at?” Finding a doctor willing to abort two of her children was difficult, and she eventually had to travel  thousands of miles to a doctor willing to abort her children. In telling her story  many months later, she stated, “I am the mother of a very demanding toddler…I can’t imagine this times two, and not ever knowing if I’d have another person here to help me. This is what I can handle. I’m good with this. But that’s all.” 

This mother apparently believes “being the best mom you can be” involves taking the lives of her children. 

While reports on the overall numbers of selective reductions occurring in the United States are rare, reductions of twins to singletons is on the rise. Mount Sinai Hospital reported that by 1997, 15 percent of their recorded reductions were to a singleton. In 2010, 61 out of 101 reductions were to a singleton, with 38 of those pregnancies being reduced from twins. This is an alarming trend upward in just 11 years.

It was also revealed that in the United Kingdom, “Dozens of unborn babies were aborted in 2010 by British women expecting multiple births but who wanted fewer children. Department of Health statistics found that more than 100 babies were terminated by women expecting twins, triplets or quintuplets.

“The statistics, released under the freedom of information law, revealed that in 2010, 85 women aborted at least one foetus while going on to give birth to another baby. This compares to 59 women in 2006. Of the 85 women undergoing selective reductions last year, 51 were reducing a pregnancy from twins to a single baby, up from 30 four years before.

“The data showed that there were 20 abortions to reduce triplets to twins and nine procedures to take a pregnancy from triplets to a single child. Three mothers reduced four foetuses to two, and two mothers reduced five babies to two.” 

The process of selective reduction is not risk free, as all of the procedures carry a risk of early or total pregnancy loss. In a 2015 study, 118 women with a reduced twin pregnancy, 818 women with an ongoing twin pregnancy, and 611 women with a singleton pregnancy were evaluated for risk of pregnancy loss and premature delivery. The study found that the loss of the entire pregnancy under 24 weeks, as well as the likelihood of premature delivery, occurred considerably more in those who had chosen to reduce compared to the ongoing twin group. The amount of women without any surviving children was also higher in the reduction group compared to those with ongoing twin and singleton pregnancies. Mothers who undergo selective reduction are intentionally, if perhaps unwittingly, putting the lives of all of their children at risk in pursuit of their desire  to have only one child.

There are countless stories of those who desperately want children that subject themselves to reproductive technologies, only to find that they have conceived more than  their “desired number of children.” In these situations, the focus is always on the wishes and preferences of the adults under the guise that it’s in the “best interests” of both themselves and of their future children to perform strategic reduction. However, one thing is certain. Parents willing to treat their own children as disposable who intentionally terminate their lives to serve their own wants and desires does not forward  anyone’s best interests. 

A truly loving, self-sacrificing parent would never kill one of their children in order to give their other child a better chance at a more “desirable” life. The very concept of sacrificing one child for the other is absurd, and it’s a practice that should have ended with the Canaanite god Molech.

 

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

EnglishPolski
Share This