與不孕症作鬥爭是痛苦的。 然而,儘管存在生物障礙,但對孩子的最初渴望已推動輔助生殖技術 (ART) 成為價值十億美元的產業。 一個不斷研究改進其“產品”的方法和程序的行業,一個嬰兒。 然而,隨著生殖技術的“創新”在成年人的慾望的推動下向前發展,最重要的問題沒有被提出; “從長遠來看,這項技術對孩子有什麼影響?”

研究越來越多地揭示了體外受精 (IVF) 和 ART 對兒童的不利影響。 珀斯醫院 Telethon 兒童研究所進行 一個研究 這表明通過這些技術創造的兒童患智力障礙的風險增加。

“……研究人員匯總了 210,000 年至 1994 年間在西澳大利亞出生的 2002 多名兒童的數據,並考慮了超過 XNUMX 年的兒童發展……他們發現通過 ART 受孕的兒童實際上更有可能發展出輕度至重度認知障礙減值。 仔細檢查後,看起來某些程序比其他程序具有更大的風險。 使用 ICSI 受孕的孩子發生損傷的可能性最大,例如, 1在32 與被診斷患有某種程度智力障礙的兒童相比 1在59 孩子們在沒有任何生育治療幫助的情況下懷孕。”

這並不是第一個提出關於這些“治療”實際上如何損害兒童認知發展的危險信號的研究。 歐洲人類生殖與胚胎學會發表了 系統評價 35 項研究得出的結論是:“現有的高質量證據表明,特定治療可能會對認知發育產生不同的影響,包括 ICSI 在內的某些治療與認知障礙有關。” 而孩子的認知發展 is 重要的是,這只是大局中的一小部分。 兒童研究所的研究承認,它忽略了尚未研究的“其他健康問題的風險”。 這些“其他健康問題”包括 早產/低出生體重, 更大的 罕見出生缺陷的風險, 一個可能的 增加兒童疾病的風險高血壓。

在您的平均懷孕期間,母親會竭盡全力限制可能傷害嬰兒的行為——從避免吃壽司到從咖啡轉向茶。 如果“對嬰兒不利”,任何犧牲都不算小。 然而,儘管越來越多的證據表明在實驗室中製造嬰兒會對他們的長期健康產生不利影響, 生育行業正在蓬勃發展. 這個行業不是通過最大限度地提高兒童健康,而是通過生產“活產”來驅動的。 一旦孩子出生並支付了診所費用,生育醫生就會失去興趣。 有身體和智力障礙的孩子必須忍受這種後果。 在這種情況下 捐贈者懷孕的孩子,他們必須在壓抑自己對失踪的親生母親或父親的本能渴望的同時做到這一點。 這會給孩子增加另一層社交和情感動盪。 準父母可能沒有意識到這些風險,或者可能只是認為他們對嬰兒的渴望值得孩子必須做出的任何犧牲。

無論對嬰兒造成何種風險,該行業強制餵養生育的動機都應該引起我們所有人的關注。 整個行業的核心需要重新定位,以將兒童的長期福祉置於學習和“創新”的中心。 無論以幫助不孕夫婦的名義取得怎樣的進步,都不能以犧牲兒童的權利和健康為代價。

孩子不能為自己說話。 所以我們必須為他們說話。 由我們成年人來保護他們。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Struggling with infertility is agonizing. Yet that primal desire for a child despite biological roadblocks has driven Assisted Reproductive Technology (ART) to become a billion dollar industry. An industry which continues to research methods and procedures to improve their “product,” a baby.  Yet as “innovation” in reproductive tech moves forward, driven by the desires of adults, the most important question goes unasked; “how does this technology affect the child in the long run?”

Research increasingly reveals the detrimental effects that In Vitro Fertilization (IVF) and ART has on children. The Perth Hospital Telethon Kids Institute conducted a study which revealed that the children created via these technologies are at increased risk for intellectual disabilities.

“…researchers pooled data on more than 210,000 children born in Western Australia between 1994 and 2002, taking into account more than eight years of childhood development… They found children conceived through ART were in fact a touch more likely to develop a mild to severe cognitive impairment. On closer inspection, it also looked like some procedures posed a greater risk than others. Children conceived using ICSI had the greatest chance of impairment, for example, with 1 in 32 children diagnosed with some level of intellectual disability compared with 1 in 59 children conceived without any help from fertility treatments.”

This isn’t the first study to raise a red flag about how these “treatments” are actually impairing children’s cognitive development. The European Society of Human Reproduction and Embryology published a systematic review of 35 studies which concluded that “the available high-quality evidence indicates that specific treatments may give rise to different effects on cognitive development, with certain treatments, including ICSI, associated with cognitive impairment.”  And while the cognitive development of the child is important, it’s only one piece of the larger picture. The Kids Institute study concedes that it is ignoring “risks for other health problems” that have yet to be studied.  Those “other health problems” include premature birth/low birth weight, a greater risk of rare birth defects, a possible increased risk of childhood illnesseshigh blood pressure.

In your average pregnancy, mothers go to great lengths to limit behaviors that might harm their baby — from avoiding sushi to switching from coffee to tea. No sacrifice is too small if its “bad for the baby.” Yet despite growing evidence that creating babies in labs has a detrimental effect on their long-term health, the fertility industry is booming. An industry which is driven, not by maximizing child health, but by producing “live births.” Once the child is born and the clinic is paid, the fertility doctors lose interest. It’s the children with physical and intellectual impairments who must live with the fall-out. And in the case of donor-conceived children, they must do it while suppressing their instinctive longing for their missing biological mother or father.  This can adds another layer of social and emotional turmoil to the child. Intended parents may be unaware of these risks, or may simply decide that their longing for a baby is worth any sacrifice the child must make.

The industry’s motivation to force feed fertility, regardless of the risks posed to the baby, should concern us all. The entire heart of the industry needs to be redirected to keep the long term well-being of the child at the center of study and “innovation.” Whatever advances are made in the name of helping infertile couples, they cannot come at the expense of children’s rights and health.

Children cannot speak for themselves.  So we must speak for them.  It’s up to us, the adults, to defend them.

Fuel This Global Children’s Movement!

Share This