那些聲稱顯示在同性父母家中長大的孩子與在已婚父母家中長大的孩子之間“沒有區別”的研究的所有喧囂和宣傳,很難找出真相。 同樣令人沮喪的是,在我們受過高等教育、具有科學意識的社會中,許多人在沒有真正理解證據的情況下接受了這一說法。 所以,如果你是數據和研究的粉絲,這裡是對同性育兒主題的每一項研究的逐項回顧: 同性養育與收養研究的回顧與批判. 對於那些沒有時間查看這個 120 頁文檔的人,這裡是摘要:

男同性戀、女同性戀或雙性戀父母的孩子的結果是否與異性戀父母的孩子一樣? 這個有爭議的問題在這里分三個部分對社會科學文獻進行詳細回顧:

  • (1) 同性親子關係的穩定性,
  • (2) 兒童成果,以及
  • (3) 同性收養中的兒童結果。

男女同性戀父母之間的關係不穩定性似乎更高,並且可能是影響兒童結局的關鍵中介因素。 關於第 2 部分,雖然父母的自我報告通常幾乎沒有顯著差異,但社會期望或自我呈現偏見可能是一個混雜因素。 雖然一些研究人員傾向於得出結論,在作為父母性取向的函數的兒童結果方面沒有任何差異,但鑑於最近在一些研究中觀察到一些不同結果的數據,這樣的結論似乎為時過早。 回顧了過去 10 年內進行的比較同性和異性養父母子女的子女結局的研究。 確定了許多方法學上的限制,使得很難準確評估父母性取向對收養家庭的影響……仍然需要對同性家庭進行高質量的研究,特別是有同性戀父親和收入較低的家庭.

簡而言之:顯示“無差異”的研究通常使用糟糕的方法(非隨機樣本、父母(自我)報告與實際兒童結果、持續時間短等)得出結論。

方法讓一切變得不同

這可以解釋 為什麼這些“沒有差異”的結果在早期的同性育兒研究中如此普遍:

首先, 參與者意識到其目的是調查同性育兒,並且可能會偏向他們的反應以產生預期的結果。

 

第二, 參與者是通過朋友網絡或倡導組織招募的,從而產生了社會經濟地位高於一般同性關係父母的同性父母樣本。

 

第三, 平均而言,只有不到 40 名同性關係父母的孩子的樣本幾乎保證了組間沒有統計學顯著差異的結果。

換句話說,研究人員有時會通過一個對 LGBT 友好的網站上的帖子招募受試者,聲明他們正在研究同性戀育兒,然後挑選 20-40 名參與者。 (不完全是你在高中學到的公正的科學方法。)在任何研究領域,這些因素都會產生重大影響。 但是,當您考慮到導致重新定義婚姻的文化/政治格局時,很明顯,除了科學探究之外,還有其他因素在結果中發揮了作用。  一個分析 透露:

…招募同性結合兒童樣本的研究表明,79.3%(範圍:75-83)的比較有利於同性父母的孩子。 相比之下,在使用隨機抽樣的研究中沒有有利的比較(0%,範圍 0-0)。 證據表明,在招募的同性父母樣本中,強烈的偏見導致父母報告的測量結果出現假陽性。

尋找隨機參與者既困難又耗時——這就是為什麼大多數人沒有這樣做

根據2010年的人口普查數據,美國有 594,000 個同性伴侶家庭——約佔所有家庭的 1%。 在這些夫婦中,有 115,000 人報告有孩子。 這只是美國同性伴侶撫養孩子的家庭的 0.02%。 找到這麼少的人口 隨機 不僅繁瑣,而且需要相當長的時間來重新定義婚姻。

簡單地使用隨機方法找到 20 個有同性父母的孩子就意味著從大量參與者開始。 下面是一項完成的研究—— 全國青少年健康縱向研究. 它基於迄今為止最詳盡、最昂貴的政府調查研究工作之一分析數據。 在“第四波”對同一學生的評估中 二十年, 20 名有同性父母的孩子被確定為 在12,000上。 這是他們發現的。

上圖顯示的結果表明,“沒有差異”實際上意味著“巨大的差異”。 這裡是 官方結果 其中包括最令人驚訝的發現之一—— 已婚 同性父母比同性父母更糟糕 未婚 同性父母。

與有異性父母的青少年相比,有同性父母的青少年的自主性顯著降低,焦慮程度更高,但學習成績也更好。 與未婚(自我描述)已婚同性父母相比,高於平均水平的兒童抑鬱症狀從 50% 上升到 88%; 每天的恐懼或哭泣從 5% 上升到 32%; 平均績點從 3.6 下降到 3.4; 父母對兒童的性虐待從零上升到 38%。 孩子與同性父母相處的時間越長,傷害就越大。

迄今為止最大的研究—— 全國健康訪談研究 從 1.6 萬個病例開始,產生了 512 個同性父母家庭——打破了任何幻想,即同性父母的孩子與在已婚父母家中長大的孩子“沒有什麼不同”。 該圖表概述了 NHIS 的一些主要發現。

Sullins 博士分析了上述兩項研究的數據 總結:

同性父母家庭的孩子情緒問題的較高風險與這些家庭的養育、照顧或其他關係特徵的質量幾乎沒有關係。

 

如果兒童福祉的最大利益只賦予父母雙方的親生後代; • 並且由於同性關係至少目前不能懷上一個是伴侶雙方親生後代的孩子,就像異性伴侶懷上的每個孩子一樣; • 那麼同性伴侶,無論多麼充滿愛心和承諾,都無法複製異性伴侶所能獲得的兒童福祉水平。

 

此外,這種缺陷是同性關係的基本和永久特徵。 這是他們定義的一部分,一種不可減少的差異,不能通過改善同性伴侶的環境、穩定性、法律地位或社會接受度來修正或廢除。

 

婚姻對孩子的主要好處可能不是它傾向於為他們提供更好的父母(更穩定,經濟富裕等,儘管它確實這樣做),但它為他們提供了自己的父母. 核心家庭中 98% 的孩子都是這種情況——這些家庭最成功地滿足了婚姻的正式民事前提,即終身和專屬的伴侶承諾——相比之下,在任何其他家庭類別中只有不到一半的孩子,並且沒有孩子同性家庭。 無論同性家庭是否像現在的異性伴侶一樣,獲得了在民事婚姻中宣誓其關係的合法權利,兩種家庭形式仍將繼續對孩子的生物學成分產生根本不同甚至對比的影響。 - 存在,對同性家庭中的孩子相對不利。 從功能上講,異性婚姻是一種社會實踐,盡可能地確保孩子得到親生父母雙方的共同照顧,並帶來隨之而來的好處; 同性婚姻確保了相反的結果。

可以找到對同性育兒進行的其他有力研究的概述 這裡. Cliff 筆記:孩子們確實需要媽媽和爸爸。

“有區別”並沒有讓認真的家庭結構學生感到驚訝

社會學家的共識幾乎是一致的——在已婚父母的低衝突家庭中長大的孩子生活得最好。 專家們知道這一點,因為經過幾十年的婚姻和家庭研究,我們有大量的數據來支持它。 的確,每當社會科學家  研究同性育兒,他們在三件事上達成一致:

  • 性別問題. 男人和女人以互補的方式養育子女,給他們的孩子帶來不同的好處。 當缺少一種性別,尤其是父親時,我們會看到兒童身上出現幾乎可以預測的模式,特別是女孩的早期性行為和男孩的法律問題。
  • 生物學很重要. 我們從數十年關於離婚和同居影響的研究中得知,親生父母往往是孩子一生中最安全、最投入和最持久的人。 相比之下,非生物照顧者往往更短暫,投入更少的時間/資源,並且對生活在他們照顧下的兒童更危險。
  • 心理學界普遍承認,當孩子失去一個或兩個父母時,他們會遭受創傷,從而產生負面影響。 離婚,放棄(即使 隨後通過), 死亡, 或者 第三方復制。

鑑於每個同性父母的家庭(根據定義)都會缺少一種性別的影響,缺少至少一位親生父母,因此失去了伴隨著這種損失的創傷,“沒有區別”的說法值得嚴重懷疑。

我們如何處理數據?

一方面,我們不會貶低 LGBT 社區的成員或他們撫養的孩子。 這不是對同性戀者是否是有能力的父母的評論。 一個人的性吸引力並不能決定他們養育孩子的能力。 女同性戀者可以是一位出色的母親,但她不能成為父親。 一個男同性戀者可以成為一個了不起的父親; 然而,無論多麼養育,他都不能成為母親。 孩子們既需要也渴望。

接下來,我們承認一個顯而易見的事實:在已婚母親家庭之外長大的孩子不會注定要失敗。 相反,由已婚父母撫養的孩子並不能保證生活無憂。 但研究告訴我們,當孩子由已婚的親生母親和父親撫養長大時,就他們的身體、情感和心理健康而言,這對他們有利。 對於那些在已婚母親家庭以外長大的人來說,無論家庭構成如何,孩子在統計上都處於劣勢。

最後,在我們共同製定這個偉大共和國的政策時,對數據保持誠實和清醒是至關重要的。 同時,這種知識應該激勵我們每個人把我們的時間、委員會、愛和財富奉獻給需要我們的孩子。 我們應該投資於單親孩子的生活; 成為你有兩個同性戀爸爸的侄女的愛人; 為因母親拒絕墮胎而父親保釋的男孩提供保護; 做一個朋友,讓離婚的孩子誠實地告訴他們他們受到了多大的傷害,不要害怕告訴他們他們的痛苦是合理的和真實的。

家庭結構是一件嚴肅的事情,孩子們依靠我們為他們辯護。

讓我們把真理當作精密工具,而不是鈍器。

 

相關新聞: 捐贈者懷上的孩子與同性戀父母的故事——為什麼“家庭破裂”並不能解釋他們的掙扎

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

It’s difficult to unearth the truth with all the noise and fanfare surrounding the studies that purport to show “no difference” between children raised in the home of same-sex parents and those raised in the home of their married mother and father. It’s also discouraging that in our highly educated, scientifically minded society many have accepted this claim without really understanding the evidence.  So, if you are a fan of data and research, here is an itemized review of every single study done on the subject of same-sex parenting: A Review and Critique of Research on Same-Sex Parenting and Adoption. For those who don’t have the time to review this 120 page document, here’s the abstract:

Are the outcomes for children of gay, lesbian, or bisexual parents in general the same as those for heterosexual parents? That controversial question is discussed here in a detailed review of the social science literature in three parts:

  • (1) stability of same-sex parental relationships,
  • (2) child outcomes, and
  • (3) child outcomes in same-sex adoption.

Relationship instability appears to be higher among gay and lesbian parent couples and may be a key mediating factor influencing outcomes for children. With respect to part 2, while parental self-reports usually present few significant differences, social desirability or self-presentation bias may be a confounding factor. While some researchers have tended to conclude that there are no differences whatsoever in terms of child outcomes as a function of parental sexual orientation, such conclusions appear premature in the light of more recent data in which some different outcomes have been observed in a few studies. Studies conducted within the past 10 years that compared child outcomes for children of same-sex and heterosexual adoptive parents were reviewed. Numerous methodological limitations were identified that make it very difficult to make an accurate assessment of the effect of parental sexual orientation across adoptive families…There remains a need for high-quality research on same-sex families, especially families with gay fathers and with lower income.

In short: the studies that show “no difference” often used poor methodology (non-random samples, parental (self) reporting vs. actual child outcomes, short duration, etc.) to reach their conclusions.

Methods Make All The Difference

This may explain why those “no difference” outcomes were so prevalent in the early same-sex parenting studies:

First, the participants were aware that the purpose was to investigate same-sex parenting and may have biased their responses in order to produce the desired result.

 

Second, participants were recruited through networks of friends or through advocacy organizations, resulting in a sample of same-sex parents of higher socioeconomic status than is typical of parents in a same-sex relationship generally.

 

Third, on average, samples of fewer than 40 children of parents in a same-sex relationship virtually guaranteed findings of no statistically significant differences between groups.

In other words, researchers would sometimes recruit subjects via posts on an LGBT-friendly site, state that they were doing a study on gay parenting, and then hand select 20-40 participants.  (Not exactly the unbiased scientific method that you learned about in high school.) In any field of study, such factors have a major impact.  But when you take into account the cultural/political landscape leading up to redefining marriage, it’s clear that something other than scientific inquiry played a role in the outcomes.  One analysis revealed that:

…studies which recruited samples of children in same-sex unions showed that 79.3 percent (range: 75–83) of comparisons were favorable to children with same-sex parents. In comparison, there were no favorable comparisons (0%, range 0–0) in studies that used random sampling. The evidence suggested strong bias resulting in false positive outcomes for parent-reported measures in recruited samples of same-sex parents.

Finding Random Participants is Difficult and Time-Consuming- That’s Why Most Didn’t Do it

According to the 2010 census data, there were 594,000 same-sex couple households in the United States- about 1% of all households.  Of those couples, 115,000 reported having children. That’s only 0.02% of households in the US where same-sex couples are raising children. Finding a population that small at random is not only cumbersome but also takes considerable time which was in short supply in the run-up to redefine marriage.

Simply finding 20 children with same-sex parents using random methods would mean beginning with a huge pool of participants.  Here’s a look at one study that did it- the National Longitudinal Study of Adolescent Health.  It analyzed data based on one of the most exhaustive, and expensive, ongoing government survey research efforts to date. In the “fourth wave” of evaluating the same students over a period of two decades, 20 children with same-sex parents were identified- out of over 12,000. Here’s what they found.

The outcomes shown in the graph above reveals that “no difference” actually meant “huge difference”. Here are the official results which include one of the most surprising findings- that children who have married same-sex parents fare worse than those with unmarried same-sex parents.

The adolescents with same-sex parents experience significantly lower autonomy and higher anxiety, but also better school performance, than do adolescents with opposite-sex parents. Comparing unmarried to (self-described) married same-sex parents, above-average child depressive symptoms rises from 50% to 88%; daily fearfulness or crying rises from 5% to 32%; grade point average declines from 3.6 to 3.4; and child sex abuse by parent rises from zero to 38%. The longer a child has been with same-sex parents, the greater the harm.

The largest study to date – the National Health Interview Study which began with 1.6 million cases and yielded 512 same-sex parent families – destroys any fantasy that children with same-sex parents fare “no different” than children raised in the home of their married mother and father. This chart outlines some of the major findings of the NHIS.

Dr. Sullins, who analyzed the data of both studies above concludes:

The higher risk of emotional problems for children in same-sex parent families has little or nothing to do with the quality of parenting, care, or other relational characteristics of those families.

 

If the greatest benefits for child well-being are conferred only on the biological offspring of both parents; •and since same-sex relationships cannot, at least at present, conceive a child that is the biological offspring of both partners, in the way that every child conceived by opposite-sex partners is such; • then same-sex partners, no matter how loving and committed, can never replicate the level of benefit for child well-being that is possible for opposite-sex partners.

 

This defect, moreover, is an essential and permanent feature of same-sex relationships; it is part of their definition, an irreducible difference that cannot be amended or abrogated by improving the circumstances, stability, legal status or social acceptance of same-sex couples.

 

The primary benefit of marriage for children may not be that it tends to present them with improved parents (more stable, financially affluent, etc., although it does do this), but that it presents them with their own parents. This is the case for 98% of children in nuclear families—which most successfully fulfill the formal civil premise of marriage, that is, lifelong and exclusive partner commitment—compared to less than half of children in any other family category, and no children in same-sex families. Whether or not same-sex families attain the legal right, as opposite-sex couples now have, to solemnize their relationship in civil marriage, the two family forms will continue to have fundamentally different, even contrasting, effects on the biological component of child well-being, to the relative detriment of children in same-sex families. Functionally, opposite-sex marriage is a social practice that, as much as possible, ensures to children the joint care of both biological parents, with the attendant benefits that brings; same-sex marriage ensures the opposite.

An overview of the other robust studies conducted on same-sex parenting can be found here.  Cliff notes: kids actually do need moms and dads.

“There is a difference” Doesn’t Surprise Serious Students of Family Structure

The consensus among sociologists is nearly unanimous- children raised in the low-conflict household of their married mother and father fare best.  Experts know this, because after decades of research on marriage and family, we have a mountain of data to support it.  Indeed, whenever social scientist are not studying same-sex parenting, they agree on three things:

  • Gender matters. Men and women parent in complementary ways, bringing distinct benefits to their children. When one gender is missing, particularly fathers, we see almost predictable patterns arising in children, specifically early sexual behavior among girls and problems with the law for boys.
  • Biology matters. We know from decades of research on the impact of divorce and co-habitation, that biological parents to tend to be the safest, most invested and most permanent in a child’s life.  In contrast, non-biological caregivers tend to be more transitory, invest less time/resources, and be more dangerous to children living under their care.
  • It is widely acknowledged within the psychological community that children suffer trauma, and thus negative effects, when they lose one or both parents to divorce, abandonment (even if subsequently adopted), death, or third-party reproduction.

Given that every same-sex parented home will (by definition) be missing one gender’s influence, missing at least one biological parent, and thus the trauma that accompanies that loss, the claim of “no difference” merits serious skepticism.

What Do We Do With The Data?

For one thing, we don’t disparage members of the LGBT community or the kids they are raising. This is not a commentary on whether or not gay and lesbians are capable parents. One’s sexual attractions do not determine their capacity for child-rearing. A lesbian can be an exceptional mother, she just cannot be a father. A gay man can be a fantastic father; however he cannot, no matter how nurturing, be a mother. Children require and desire both.

Next, we acknowledge the obvious: children who grow up outside of a married mother-father home are not doomed. Conversely, a child raised by their married mother and father isn’t guaranteed a trouble-free life. But the research tells us that when children are raised by their married biological mother and father, the deck is stacked in their favor when it comes to their physical, emotional and psychological health. For those raised outside of the married mother-father home, whatever the household make-up may be, the kids are at a disadvantage statistically.

Finally, being honest and clear-minded about the data is critical as we collectively shape policy in this great republic of ours.  At the same time,this knowledge should motivate each of us to give our time, council, love, and treasure to children who need us.  We should invest in the lives of kids with single parents; be the loving woman to your niece who has two gay dads; be the protective man for the boy whose father bailed when his mother refused to abort; be the friend who allows the child of divorce to be honest about how much they hurt and don’t be afraid to tell them their pain is legitimate and real.

Family structure is serious business and children are depending on us to advocate on their behalf.

Let us use the truth as a precision tool, not a blunt force weapon.

 

Related: Stories of Donor-Conceived Kids with Gay Parents- Why “family break-up” doesn’t explain their struggles

 

Previous Article

Divorce Selfies Are a Thing- children not pictured.

The latest selfie trend?  That would be #DivorceSelfie.  "People are taking to Instagram to document ... Read more

Next Article

Kathryn

My brother & I grew up without the presence of our father for most of ... Read more

Share This