(最初發表於 聯邦黨人)

馬薩諸塞州薩默維爾鎮已成為全國第一個 使多角戀關係合法化. 這是滑坡社會保守派警告將跟隨同性戀婚姻合法化的證據。

一夫多妻制是重新定義婚姻的明顯演變。 畢竟, 每一個論點 支持同性婚姻——”愛就是愛,“”我們應該受到法律的平等保護,”和“我們是 不傷害任何人”——也支持群婚。

25 月 XNUMX 日,薩默維爾在法律上承認了多妻制,當時市議會正在將其家庭伴侶申請改為不分性別的形式。 當薩默維爾市議會成員蘭斯戴維斯被質疑為什麼該表格僅限於兩名申請人時,他回答說:“我沒有一個好的答案。”

事實上,如果我們要忽略幾千年來基本的雙性婚姻形式,那麼為什麼政府批准的成人關係應該僅限於兩個成年人,沒有很好的答案。 也就是說,除非我們考慮 兒童權利 被僅有的兩個擁有自然權利的成年人——他們的父母——認識和愛戴。

然而,根據 2015 年最高法院關於強制同性婚姻的裁決所認可的普遍婚姻觀,婚姻與孩子無關。 如今,婚姻只是成年人實現自我的工具。

根據這樣的推理,婚姻關係的性別、數量、持續時間或排他性沒有限制原則。 雖然不能說他們的結合所生的孩子也是如此,但很多成年人感到滿足 短期單性別、非排他性或多夥伴關係。 SCOTUS 在 2015 年的決定中對孩子們的需求漠不關心,薩默維爾也在效仿。

共和黨的創始綱領試圖廢除他們所謂的“野蠻的雙重支柱”, 奴隸制和一夫多妻制. 共和黨人成功地在法律上根除這兩者:1865 年的奴隸制和 1890 年的一夫多妻制,但一夫多妻制仍然存在,尤其是在原教旨主義後期聖徒 (FLDS) 教會中。

一位在這樣的 FLDS 家中長大,直到她母親帶著五個孩子離開的婦女——我們稱她為“謝麗爾”——注意到薩默維爾的決定,“我認為政府不應該將一夫多妻制的家庭合法化,因為它們通常是虐待性的對他們體內的兒童和婦女有害。”

雖然她承認有“一夫多妻製家庭運作良好”,但她所接觸的家庭“幾乎總是教育匱乏、資源和食物匱乏、與主流社會隔絕、虐待和長期存在的戀童癖”。 她補充說,雖然家裡的女性分擔工作量,但孩子們的情感需求往往得不到滿足。

謝麗爾並不是唯一一個在與同時擁有多個伴侶的父母一起長大後拒絕一夫多妻生活的孩子。 故事 後 故事 後 故事 在過去的幾年裡,有很多孩子已經放棄了他們年輕時的一夫多妻制世界。 他們經常報告妻子之間的權力不平衡和嫉妒,以及孩子之間的不平等。

左派宣稱:“但一夫多妻制和一夫多妻制是有區別的!” 對。 就像“從未嘗試過純粹的社會主義”一樣。

進步主義者認為一夫多妻制和多妻制是“大不相同。” 他們譴責一夫多妻制,通常一個男人有幾個妻子,這是一種壓迫性和父權制,而無定形的“一夫多妻制”是自願的和解放的,即使對孩子來說也是如此。

艾米·格拉佩爾(Amy Grappell)就是這樣一個多聚關係的孩子,他會不同意。 在艾米年輕時,她的父母開始與鄰居交換配偶。 用今天的話說,艾米受到一夫多妻制,或“道德上的非一夫一妻制”,這不是野餐。

在她的紀錄片中詳細描述了她父母的“四邊形,”艾米透露,她家中更多的成年人並沒有帶來更多的父母之愛。 相反,家庭動態以成人性慾為中心,女性之間的嫉妒和競爭是不變的。

艾米覺得被拋棄了 被她的父母描述為“他們烏托邦的敵人”。 父母的性實驗在情感和心理上的影響一直困擾著艾米進入她的成年生活。

詹姆斯·洛佩茲同樣在“現代”多聚家庭中長大的她拒絕接受多妻制只是意味著孩子更大的家庭的想法。 “問題是,在有大家庭成員的家庭中,孩子們從來沒有看到這些成員親吻他們的媽媽或爸爸,就像在聚居的情況下一樣。 我不喜歡看到我父親對另一個女人表現出愛意,尤其是對一個不是我親生母親的女人。 時至今日,那些畫面還縈繞在我的腦海裡。 他們並沒有給我帶來‘家庭’的感覺。”

詹姆斯認為,“我們的政治機構不應該提倡多船,而應該復興父親很重要的觀念,母親很重要,因為兩者對於孩子的成長都是必不可少的。”

很少有關於在聚居中長大的孩子的結果的可靠研究,但我們並不真正需要它們。 我們已經有大量關於家庭結構的數據表明,無論成年人之間存在何種類型的關係,非生物成年人的存在都不會改善孩子的結局。

相反,數據總是證明 孩子在已婚的親生父母的家裡過得最好. 自始至終 幾乎所有的宗教和文化 在歷史上,異性婚姻一直是社會用來鼓勵以兒童為中心的結合的工具。

薩默維爾的官員錯誤地認為,接受這種“進步”政策表明他們正在取得進步,而事實上,他們的新法規是一種倒退,使社會倒退了 130 年,並以犧牲兒童為代價。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Originally published at The Federalist)

The Massachusetts town of Somerville has become the first in the nation to legalize polyamorous relationships. It’s evidence of the slippery slope social conservatives warned would follow legalizing gay marriage.

Polygamy was the obvious evolution of redefining marriage. After all, every argument supporting gay marriage—“Love is love,” “we deserve equal protection under the law,” and “we’re not harming anybody”—also supports group marriage.

Somerville’s legal recognition of polyamory came about on June 25 while the city council was changing its domestic partnership application to a gender-neutral form. When Somerville council member Lance Davis was challenged over why the form was limited to two applicants, he replied, “I don’t have a good answer.”

Indeed, if we are going to ignore the fundamental, dual-sex form marriage has employed for millennia, there is no good answer to why government-sanctioned adult relationships should be limited to two adults. That is, unless we consider the rights of children to be known and loved by the only two adults to whom they have a natural right—their mother and father.

Yet, according to the prevailing view of marriage, endorsed by the Supreme Court’s ruling mandating gay marriage in 2015, marriage has nothing to do with children. These days, marriage is simply a vehicle for adult fulfillment.

By such reasoning, there is no limiting principle for the sex, number, duration, or exclusivity of a marriage relationship. While the same cannot be said of the children resulting from their unions, plenty of adults feel fulfilled by short termsingle-gendered, non-exclusive, or multi-partnered relationships. SCOTUS was indifferent to the needs of the children in their 2015 decision, and Somerville is following suit.

The Republican Party’s founding platform sought to abolish what they referred to as “the twin pillars of barbarisms,” slavery and polygamy. Republicans were successful in legally eradicating both: slavery in 1865, and polygamy in 1890, but pockets of polygamy persisted, especially within the Fundamentalist Latter Day Saints (FLDS) church.

A woman who was raised in one such FLDS home until her mother left with her five children— we’ll call her “Cheryl”—noted of the Somerville decision, “I do not think that governments should legalize polygamist homes because they are generally abusive and harmful to children and women within them.”

While she concedes there are “polygamist families who function quite well,” the families she was exposed to were “almost always education deprived, low on resources and food, isolated from mainstream society, abusive, and perpetuated pedophilia.” She added that while the women in the home shared the workload, the children’s emotional needs would often go unmet.

Cheryl isn’t the only child to reject a polygamous life after growing up with parents who had several concurrent partners. Story after story after story of children who have abandoned the polygamous world of their youth has surfaced in the last few years. They often report power imbalances and jealousy among the wives, and inequality among the children.

Leftists proclaim, “But there’s a difference between polygamy and polyamory!” Right. Just like “pure socialism has never been tried.”

Progressives posit polygamy and polyamory are “vastly different.” They decry polygamy, in which typically one man has several wives, as oppressive and patriarchal, while the amorphous “polyamory” is consensual and liberating, even for the kids.

Amy Grappell, one such child of a poly relationship, would disagree. In Amy’s youth, her parents began spouse-swapping with the neighbors. In today’s terms, Amy was subjected to polyamory, or “ethical non-monogamy,” and it was no picnic.

In her documentary detailing her parents’ “Quadrangle,” Amy discloses how more adults in her home did not result in more parental love. Rather, the household dynamics centered on adult sexual desire, and the jealousy and competitiveness between the women was a constant.

Amy felt abandoned by her parents, and describes her feelings as “the enemy of their utopia.” The emotional and psychological fall-out from her parents’ sexual experiment has plagued Amy into her adult life.

James Lopez, who was also raised in a “modern” poly home, rejects the idea that polyamory just means a larger family for kids. “The problem is that children in homes with extended family members do not ever see those members kiss either their mom or dad, as is the case in poly homes. I didn’t like seeing my dad show affection to another woman, especially to a woman who wasn’t my biological mother. Those images still lurk in the back of my mind today. And they don’t bring a sense of ‘family’ to me.”

James believes that, “Instead of promoting poly-ships, our political institutions should revive the ideas that fatherhood matters, that motherhood matters because both are essential for the flourishing of children.”

There are very few reliable studies on outcomes for children raised in poly homes, but we don’t really need them. We already have a mountain of data on family structure that shows the presence of non-biological adults does not improve outcomes for kids, no matter what type of relationship exists between the adults.

Conversely, the data invariably proves that children fare best in the home of their married biological mother and father. Throughout nearly every religion and culture in history, heterosexual marriage has been to be the tool society used to encourage that child-centric union.

The officials in Somerville mistakenly believe embracing this “progressive” policy indicates they are making progress when, in fact, their new statute is a regression that sets society back by 130 years and comes at children’s expense.

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This