(圖片來源: 道爾·丹恩·伯恩巴赫)

2019 年,新西蘭 開設全球首個“HIV陽性”精子庫 試圖減少對 HIV 陽性男性的污名化。 兩年後,少數嬰兒是由 HIV 陽性的精子捐贈者創造的。 精子庫“Sperm Positive”旨在證明通過治療,艾滋病毒不會傳染給後代。 

雖然消除艾滋病毒的努力是崇高的,但用孩子來證明你的觀點不僅不道德,而且侵犯了兒童的權利。 孩子們不僅被視為科學項目,而且在此過程中故意讓他們失去父親,與家譜身份和父愛隔絕。

實驗

雖然聲稱 HIV 陽性男性無法將疾病傳染給後代 由於他們的藥物治療 使病毒水平無法檢測到,精子陽性不能保證這些孩子出生時就是 HIV 陰性。 有過 八個孩子 通過診所出生只是因為捐贈者和工作人員故意選擇以這些孩子的健康為賭注。 唯一被證明對 HIV 陽性精子有效的治療方法是 精子洗滌,Sperm Positive 不承認將其用作治療過程的一部分。

精子清洗 是將精子從精液中分離出來以將健康的精子與不健康的受感染精子分離的過程。 雖然這種治療被證明是有效的,但它仍然 不是無風險的方法,因為如果低於檢測水平,清洗過的樣品中仍可能存在 HIV 病毒。 如果與 IVF 過程結合使用,精子清洗也可能會出現問題,因為它通常是,因為 IVF 是 不是確認兒童權利的做法

但是,如果該程序作為夫妻之間生育治療的一部分進行 宮腔內人工授精,孩子們並沒有被故意剝奪他們的生命權或他們的父母的權利,因為自然的繁殖過程是通過這種方法發生的。 然而,Sperm Positive 不是生育治療中心,而是精子捐贈中心,這意味著孩子將永遠被剝奪與親生父親的權利,並且永遠被視為驗證成年人願望的實驗。

生物學問題

孩子有一項自然的、基本的權利,即被他們的親生父母所愛和認識,這是唯一對他們的存在負責的兩個人,也是他們繼承其獨特家譜身份的唯一父母。 由親生父母撫養不僅是確立孩子身份的一個組成部分,而且 雙性 母親/父親夥伴關係中存在的影響是全面發展兒童的重要組成部分。 父母為孩子提供的獨特好處包括學習 情緒調節 通過母親的互動,學習冒險的價值,這是父親形式所固有的 附件

我們也知道c由已婚人士撫養長大的孩子 生物 母親和父親在統計上更有可能 安全和被愛. 雖然世界上有出色的繼父母,但從統計數據來看,有繼父的孩子與單身母親撫養的孩子差不多。 也就是說,比他們在完好無損的家庭中長大的同齡人還要窮。 更糟糕的是,毫無血緣關係的同居成年人, 特別是男人,在統計上是孩子生命中最危險的人。 

正如精子捐贈者所懷的孩子和異性戀父母撫養的孩子所說,我們知道 生物學很重要:

在我的生活中經歷了許多艱難的事情,但沒有什麼能讓你為被父親拒絕做好準備。 儘管我有一個撫養我長大並愛我的父親,但我絕對需要他們兩個。 我所經歷的悲傷是非常真實的。

...我從沒想過我的父親 不是那個為我的存在做出貢獻的生理男性……我從不假思索地看著自己的外表,變成了看著陌生人……我有時會感到悲傷、孤獨、困惑和迷失,而有時我什麼都感覺不到……我不喜歡我突然為一個我不認識或不想認識的人感到悲傷。 更重要的是,我覺得自己好像在悲傷……知道這個人存在於那裡我很不舒服……知道這個人知道他可能在這個世界上可能有他永遠無法得到的遺傳後代,我同樣感到不舒服遇見。 我覺得被這個人出賣了很奇怪。 承認這一點讓我感到噁心。

父親損失

兒童 渴望,為之而生,渴望 母愛和父愛,以及與親生父母每天持續的聯繫和互動。 父親(和母親) 對兒童的健康、全面發展至關重要. 當孩子被父親拒絕時,他們 錯過了母親根本無法實現的重要的、原始的、發展的影響。 父親參與程度較高的孩子 有更高水平的自信心、社交能力、自我控制能力,在學校裡不太可能表現出來,不太可能經歷貧困,並且在青春期不太可能參與犯罪、吸毒和酗酒等危險行為,沒有父親的孩子是更有可能與焦慮、自殺和抑鬱等精神疾病作鬥爭。 父親的缺席 h從嬰儿期開始,父親缺席的心理傷害一直持續到整個成年期。 

正如在家中沒有父親的孩子所證明的那樣,缺乏父親的愛是令人困惑和痛苦的:

我媽媽的形象總是很好. 每個人都笑一笑,假裝很開心……但每次我從朋友家回來,看到他們家的不同,我並沒有感到開心。 我最好的朋友爸爸是最偉大的人,他很有趣,很友善,總是帶我們去。 他聽我們說……我想要一個像我朋友一樣的爸爸……有一天我朋友的媽媽問我,你是爸爸的女孩嗎? 這意味著你是那種真正愛她爸爸並且和他很親近的女孩。 好吧,我回家哭了,因為我沒有那個,也永遠不會知道那是什麼樣的。

我媽媽想要的只是生個孩子,並且和其他人一樣有一個親生家庭。 所以我一直認為我是一個多麼可怕的婊子(是的婊子),我也破壞了他們的幸福,因為我希望我的生活中只有一個父親,而不是一個捐贈的假叔叔。 你不知道我對此有多麼孤獨和內疚,但也許你知道? 我覺得自己是個壞孩子,尤其是當我在電視上看到同性戀父母的好孩子說他們有完美的家庭,他們不需要媽媽或爸爸,但你們都說‘但我想要一個爸爸……有時?

兒童對其親生母親和父親的權利 應該永遠在成年人的慾望之前。 通過發現 HIV 陽性父母可以避免將 HIV 傳染給他們的孩子提供了一個獨特的機會,Sperm Positive 促進這一發現的方式是對兒童權利的侵犯。 這些做法通過故意否認他們的父親並切斷他們的生物學聯繫,繼續將孩子變成被複製和粘貼到任何家庭結構中的商品。 這是不公平的.

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Image Source: Doyle Dane Bernbach)

In 2019, New Zealand opened the world’s first “HIV Positive” sperm bank in an attempt to reduce the stigma around HIV positive men. Two years later, a handful of babies have been created from HIV positive sperm donors. The sperm bank, “Sperm Positive,” set out to prove that with treatment, HIV is non-transmissible to offspring. 

While efforts to destigmatize HIV are noble, using children to prove your point is not only immoral but a violation of children’s rights. Children are not only being treated as science projects, but intentionally made fatherless in the process, cut off from genealogical identity and often paternal love.

Experimentation

While claiming that HIV positive men can’t spread the illness to their offspring due to their medication treatments making the viral levels undetectable, Sperm Positive can’t guarantee that these children will be born HIV negative. There have been eight children born through the clinic only because the donors and staff have purposely chosen to gamble on the health of these children. The only proven effective treatment for HIV positive sperm is sperm washing, which Sperm Positive does not admit to utilizing as part of their treatment process.

Sperm washing is the process in which sperm are separated from semen in order to isolate healthy sperm from unhealthy, infected sperm. While this treatment is proven effective, it is still not a risk-free method, as the HIV virus can still be present in the washed sample if below the detection level. Sperm washing can also be problematic if used in conjunction with the IVF process, as it often is, since IVF is not a children’s rights affirming practice

However, if the procedure takes place as part of fertility treatment between husbands and wives through Intrauterine Insemination, children are not intentionally being denied their right to life or to their mothers and fathers as the natural process of reproduction occurs through this method. Sperm Positive, however, is not a fertility treatment center, but a sperm donation center, meaning that children will always be denied their right to their biological fathers and always be treated as experiments to validate the desires of adults.

Biology Matters

There exists a natural, fundamental right for children to be loved and known by their biological mothers and fathers, the only two human beings responsible for their existence, the only parents from which they inherit their unique genealogical identities. Not only is being raised by one’s biological mother and father a component for establishing a child’s identity, but the dual-gender influence present in the mother/father partnership is an essential component for the development of well-rounded children. The unique benefits mothers and fathers provide for their children range from learning emotional regulation through motherly interaction, and learning the value of risk taking, which is inherent in the fatherly form of attachment

We also know that children who are raised by their married biological mothers and fathers are statistically more likely to be safe and loved. While there are exceptional step-parents in the world, statistically, children with step-fathers fare about as well as children raised by single mothers. Which is to say, poorer than their counterparts raised in intact homes. Worse still, unrelated cohabiting adults, especially men, are statistically the most dangerous person in a child’s life. 

As stated by children conceived by sperm donors and raised by heterosexual parents, we know biology matters:

I’ve gone through many difficult things in my life, but nothing can prepare you for rejection from your father. Even though I have a dad who raised me and loves me, I absolutely need both of them. The grief that I experience is very real.

I never would have imagined that my father was not the biological male who contributed to my existence…I went from looking at my appearance without second thought, to looking at a stranger…I feel sad, alone, confused, and lost at times, while other times I feel nothing at all…I don’t like that I am suddenly grieving a person that I do not know or care to ever know. More importantly, I feel as though I am grieving myself….I am uncomfortable knowing that this person exists out there…I am equally uncomfortable knowing that this person out there knows that he might have genetic offspring in the world that he will never get to meet. I feel weirdly betrayed by this person. It makes me sick to admit that.

Father Loss

Children crave, are made for, and long for both maternal and paternal love, and daily, ongoing connectivity and interaction with their biological parents. Fathers (and mothers) are essential to the healthy, well-rounded development of children. When children are denied their fathers, they miss out on important, primal, developmental influences that mothers simply can’t fulfill. Children with higher levels of father involvement have higher levels of confidence, sociability, self-control, are less likely to act out in school, less likely to experience poverty, and are less likely to participate in risky behaviors in adolescence such as crime and drug and alcohol abuse, Fatherless children are more likely to struggle with mental health disorders like anxiety, suicide, and depression. The absence of fathers hinders development, beginning at infancy, and the psychological harm of father absence continues throughout adulthood. 

As children raised without a father in their home attest, being starved of a father‘s love is confusing and painful:

My Moms always made a good image. Smile everybody and pertend to be happy…But I didnt feel happy every time I came home from a friends house and saw how diffrent it was in their homes. My best friends dad was the greatest guy he was funny and nice and always taking us places. He listened to us…I wanted a Daddy like my friend had…One day my friends mom asks me are you a Daddys Girl? It means you are the kind of girl who realy loves her Daddy and is real close to him. Well I went home and cried becuz I dont have that and never will know what thats like.

All my moms want is to have a baby, and have a biological family like everyone else. So I always thought what a terrible bitch (yes bitch) I am to destroy their happiness too, because I wished I just had a dad in my life and not a donor fake uncle. You have no idea how lonely and guilty I feel about this, but maybe you do? I feel like a bad child, especially when I look on TV and I see the good kids of gay parents say they have the perfect family and they don’t need a mom or dad, but you’re all like ‘but I want a dad…sometimes?’

Children’s right to their biological mothers and fathers should always come before the desires of adults. While providing a unique opportunity through the discovery that HIV positive parents can avoid passing HIV onto their children, the manner in which Sperm Positive promotes this discovery is a children’s rights violation. These practices continue to turn children into commodities to be copied and pasted into any familial structure by purposely denying them their fathers and severing their biological connections. This is an injustice.

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
Share This