今年早些時候,參議員 Patty Murray (D-WA) 贊助了 2019 年數字平等法案 通過將 wifi 接入擴展到更多社區,努力縮小“數字鴻溝”。 科技公司如 Facebook 和威瑞森, 蘋果(在本文中,捐贈了 9,000 台 iPad),以及較小的本地公司,例如 技術衛士 正在與當地政府合作,提供更多的電腦和屏幕,以提高學生的表現。 資金正在湧入,讓孩子們“平等地獲得”科技。

但在她最近 華盛頓郵報的文章, 美國企業研究所的 Naomi Schaefer Riley 認為,平等獲得技術並不是孩子成功所需要的。 “真正的數字鴻溝不在於訪問互聯網,”她寫道。 “真正的差距實際上是花在屏幕上的時間,而且差距是巨大的。 處於劣勢的孩子是那些 更多 訪問屏幕,而不是更少。”

萊利並不是唯一一個對兒童過度使用屏幕的有害影響發出警報的人。 時代雜誌報導, 發表在《預防醫學報告》雜誌上的一項新研究發現,每天在屏幕上花費 XNUMX 小時或更長時間的年輕人被診斷患有抑鬱症或焦慮症的可能性是每天使用 XNUMX 小時屏幕的人的兩倍多。” 沃克斯大聲問道 關於手機使用與青少年抑鬱和自殺之間的聯繫。

鑑於無處不在的屏幕使用——在家裡、學校和他們手中——有什麼解決方案可以減少青少年盯著屏幕的時間? 萊利給了我們答案:由已婚的父母撫養長大。 她寫道:

根據美國家庭調查提供給我的新數據,來自 Deseret News 和楊百翰大學選舉與民主研究中心, 在由兩個已婚親生父母為戶主的家庭中,49% 的青少年每天花在屏幕上的時間不到一個小時,只有 15.1% 的青少年花在屏幕上的時間超過三個小時。 在由單身、離異或同居父母領導的家庭中,31.9% 的青少年每天花在屏幕上的時間超過三個小時。 這種模式也適用於其他形式的媒體:在已婚親生父母的家庭中長大的青少年不太可能在社交媒體和視頻遊戲上花費大量時間。

世界錯誤地認為,數字鴻溝與缺乏“平等訪問”筆記本電腦或 wifi 有關。 但數據告訴我們 真正的問題是青少年無法平等地接觸他們的父母. 萊利繼續將增加的青少年屏幕時間與各種問題聯繫起來,包括成績差、肥胖率高、多動症和行為問題,以及白人和少數族裔學生之間的學習成績差距。 其他研究證實,已婚母親和父親也是孩子避免這些掙扎的最佳機會。

訪問 孩子對其享有自然權利的兩個人 確定的不僅僅是青少年屏幕的使用。 在沒有父母(例如他們的父親)的情況下長大的孩子會陷入 幾乎可預測的風險模式:

  • 90% 的無家可歸和離家出走的青年——一個常見的販運途徑——沒有父親。
  • 70-85% 的監獄犯人在沒有父親的情況下長大。
  • 63% 的自殺青少年沒有父親。
  • 沒有父親的孩子生活在貧困中的可能性是其四倍。
  • 71% 的懷孕少女來自無父之家。
  • 與父母同居的孩子相比,父母在出生前分居的孩子超重的可能性幾乎是其兩倍。
  • 71% 的高中輟學生來自無父之家。

因此,如果我們真正關心減少青少年上癮且往往有害的屏幕使用(減少無家可歸、監禁、兒童貧困、肥胖、自殺、青少年懷孕和高中輟學率的附帶好處)也許參議院應該提出讓孩子真正平等的立法。 也許他們可以將其稱為 2019 年兒童平等法案,該法案將確保每個孩子一生都能平等地接觸父母。

當然,參議院可以回到幾乎所有發達國家、政黨、主要宗教、心理學家、社會科學家和成年人持有的觀點,直到 2008 年,並促進男女婚姻,這在歷史上已經完成了同樣的事情.

Earlier this year, Senator Patty Murray (D-WA) sponsored the Digital Equality Act of 2019 in an effort to close the “digital divide” by extending wifi access to more communities. Tech companies such as Facebook and Verizon, Apple (in this article, donating 9,000 iPads), and smaller local companies like Tech Defender are cooperating with local governments to providing more computers and screens to improve student performance. Money is pouring in to give kids “equal access” to tech.

But in her recent Washington Post article, Naomi Schaefer Riley of the American Enterprise Institute argues that equal access to technology isn’t what kids need to succeed.  “The real digital divide isn’t about access to the internet,” she writes. “The real divide is actually in time spent on screens, and there, the gap is enormous. The children at the disadvantage are the ones who have more access to screens, not less.”

Riley isn’t the only one sounding the alarm about the detrimental effects of screen over-use in kids. Time Magazine reported, “Young people who spend seven hours or more a day on screens are more than twice as likely to be diagnosed with depression or anxiety than those who use screens for an hour a day, finds a new study published in the journal Preventive Medicine Reports.” Vox wondered aloud about the connection between phone use and teen depression and suicide as well.

Given ubiquitous screen use- at home, at school, and in their hand- what’s the solution to reducing the number of hours that teens are staring at a screen? Riley gives us the answer: being raised by one’s married mother and father. She writes:

According to new data provided to me by the American Family Survey, from Deseret News and the Center for the Study of Elections and Democracy at Brigham Young University, in families headed by two married, biological parents, 49 percent of teens spend less than an hour on screens per day and only 15.1 percent spend more than three hours. In households led by single, divorced or cohabiting parents, 31.9 percent of teenagers spend more than three hours a day on screens. That pattern holds for other forms of media: Teenagers who are growing up in homes with married biological parents are much less likely to spend a great deal of time on social media and video games.

The world is under the false impression that the digital divide has to do with a lack of “equal access” to a laptop or wifi. But the data tells us that the real problem is teens lack of equal access to their mom and dad.   Riley goes on to connect increased teen screen time to a variety of concerns including poor grades, high obesity rates, ADHD and behavioral issues, and gaps in academic performance between white and minority students. Other studies confirm that married mothers and fathers are the best chance for kids to avoid these struggles as well.

Access to the two people to whom children have a natural right determine more than just teen screen use.  Children being raised without one parent, their father for example, fall into almost predictable patterns of risk:

  • 90% of homeless and runaway youth- a common gateway to trafficking- are fatherless.
  • 70-85% of prison inmates grew up without a father.
  • 63% of teenagers who commit suicide have absent fathers.
  • Fatherless children are four times more likely to live in poverty.
  • 71% of pregnant teenagers come from fatherless homes.
  • Kids whose parents lived separately before their birth were almost twice as likely to be overweight compared to those whose parents were living together.
  • 71% of high school dropouts come from fatherless homes.

So if we are truly concerned about reducing addictive and often detrimental screen use in teens (with the side benefit of reducing homelessness, incarceration, child poverty, obesity, suicide, teen pregnancy, and high-school drop-out rates) perhaps the Senate should propose legislation that give kids real equality.  Maybe they could call it the Child Equality Act of 2019 which would ensure that every child would have equal access to both mother and father for life.

Of course, the Senate could return to the viewpoint held by virtually every developed nation, political party, major religion, psychologists, social scientists, and adults with common sense up until 2008 and promote man/woman marriage which historically, has accomplished the same thing.

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This