我父母結婚的時候還小。 他們都是 17 歲。我媽媽還在上高中,還懷孕了。 她畢業了,但我爸爸沒有。 他在俄克拉荷馬州的油田工作,在經濟好的時候賺了很多錢。 我是他們唯一的孩子。 我現在41歲了,但我仍然記得我父母離婚的每一個細節。 我記得我媽媽告訴我他們要離婚了,但我爸爸永遠是我爸爸,什麼都沒有改變。 他們只是不再住在同一個房子裡。 我認為她當時相信這一點,儘管事實並非如此。 我被壓垮了。

我可以 100% 肯定地說,如果我的父母堅持下去,我的生活會容易得多。 他們本來可以的! 他們只是不想。 我爸爸只是想參加太多派對,一半時間工作,我媽媽只是厭倦了。我媽媽結婚4次,爸爸結婚3次。 我會告訴你他們失敗的關係以及他們如何影響我的大部分細節。

我母親的一個丈夫把我們帶到了整個州(四個小時車程),這在當時是一件大事。 我們住在一個偏僻的農村地區,那裡根本沒有家人。 我母親和這個男人生了一對雙胞胎,而且很依賴他,所以她想。 他對我們倆都進行了身體虐待,但主要是我。 我父親一直教導我要有堅強的精神,為自己挺身而出,我做到了。 不過,我總是為此付出了代價。 她丈夫反對我和爸爸住在一起,所以我媽媽也反對,沒有我那樣的精神。 她太害怕了,總是順其自然地相處。 我默默地忍受著身體上的虐待。 耳光,拉扯頭髮,尖叫。 他把我按倒了一次,然後他的手伸到了我的襯衫上。 我只知道我會被強姦。 我只有 13 歲,還是個小女孩。 我害怕感覺到他的勃起靠在我穿著衣服的臀部上,儘管當時我什至不完全知道那是什麼。 他沒有強姦我,他讓我走了。 第二天我沒有放學回家。 我在學校告訴了我的輔導員,最終在寄養中度過了整個夏天,直到我被安置在我父親身邊。

我的繼父從未服過任何真正的牢獄之災,甚至從未被列入性犯罪者名單。 他得到了一次認罪協議,他接受了。 三年後,他用刀子強奸了一名成年婦女,她的孩子坐在後座,幾週後,三個 14 歲的女孩以同樣的方式強奸了她。 他在俄克拉荷馬州監獄服刑 200 多年。 他會死在那裡。 

那時我責怪我媽媽,現在也責怪我。 我們的關係很好,但有時我不得不在她身邊平息我的情緒。 她離開那所房子,回到幾百英里外的姐姐和雙胞胎女孩一起生活。 我獨自一人在那個小鎮和那個寄養家庭。

在我被寄養在陌生人那里之後,遠離任何家庭,我大部分時間都在睡覺。 我陷入了深深的黑暗抑鬱中。 我會在早上 10-11 點左右醒來,吃一頓清淡的午餐,熬夜幾個小時,下午兩三點左右我會小睡 2-3 個小時。 我會起床,吃點晚飯,然後在晚上 9 點或 10 點左右回到床上。 無論我睡了多少覺,我的身心都疲憊不堪。 

爸爸的好些,但也不多。 我覺得很安全,但他的新婚妻子年輕而嫉妒,而且這種關係斷斷續續。 我成了麻煩製造者。 我經常在學校打架,對老師非常不尊重,我晚上偷偷溜出去,經常聚會。 三年後,我爸爸最終把我送到住在一個小鎮的媽媽那裡。 他認為這個小鎮和學校對我來說會更好,而且確實如此。 那個小鎮救了我。 我父親最終與那位女士離婚,並嫁給了另一位雙相、佔有慾和暴力的女士。 她將他與包括我在內的所有家人隔離了將近十年。 這給我帶來了很多焦慮和精神崩潰,最終導致我服用了抗抑鬱藥,這只是有點幫助。 他現在單身,我們關係很好。

你的父母離婚會影響你進入成年期。 它甚至會影響到你自己的孩子。 在哪裡度過假期,度假,買房,工作,生活……所有這些對你的父母來說都很重要和重要。 這總是一場拉鋸戰。 即使他們沒有表達失望,我可以從他們的眼中看到它,並且很痛。 無論我做出什麼決定,無論何時、何地、為什麼以及多少,我總會感到內疚……我是我父親唯一的孩子。 我媽媽的雙胞胎女孩中有一個嚴重智障,另一個有身體健康問題。 當我的父母到了不能照顧自己的年齡時,我是唯一一個在經濟、身體和情感上能夠照顧他們的人。 我該如何做到這一點? 把它們放在不同的房間裡? 我拒絕考慮長期護理設施。 我想當我到達時我會燒掉那座橋。

我的童年絕對讓我更難獨自建立健康的浪漫關係。 這讓我非常感慨。 我非常有愛心和熱情,但我也可能非常非常殘忍。 我曾經選錯了人。 我現在和我四個孩子都深愛的最了不起的男人結婚十年了。 他並不完美,但非常接近。 我真的必須接受治療才能意識到我的行為是這一切的一部分。

我遭受瞭如此多的暴力、情緒壓力和虐待……直到我 30 多歲時,我才真正走出迷霧並完全理解它對我的影響。 我不得不為我的憤怒尋求幫助,而治療對我有很大幫助。 我現在明白了,真的。 我一直是一顆定時炸彈。 我不幸贏得了聲譽。 人們對他們對我和我的孩子說的話很小心。 這些年我變得更好了。 我不像以前那樣容易爆發。 我現在不嚇人了。

我常常想,如果我的父母在一起,我會是什麼樣子。 也許是啦啦隊長? 大概。 最重要的是,它改變了我的靈魂。 你明白嗎? 它改變了我存在的核心。 我失去了真實的自我,沒有得到滋養,被遺忘,到我 14 歲時,她已經死去並被埋葬了。 如果她吻我的嘴,我就不會知道我的真實自我。 離婚是父母所能考慮的最自私的事情。

My parents were young when they married. They were both 17. My mother was still in high school and pregnant. She graduated but my dad didn’t. He worked in the oilfield in Oklahoma and made great money when times were good. I was their only child. I’m 41 years old now but I still remember every detail of my parent’s divorce. I remember my mother telling me that they were getting a divorce, but my dad would always be my dad, nothing was changing. They just wouldn’t live in the same house anymore. I think she believed that at the time even though nothing could have been further from the truth. I was crushed.

I can say with 100% certainty that my life would have been so much easier had my parents just stuck it out. They could have! They just didn’t want to. My dad just wanted to party too much, work half the time, my mom was just sick of it.My mom has been married 4 times and my dad 3 times. I’ll spare you MOST of the details of their failed relationships and how they affected me.

One of my mother’s husbands moved us across the state (four hour drive away), which back then was a big deal. We lived in an isolated rural area, where I had no family around at all. My mother had twins with this man and was dependent on him, so she thought. He was physically abusive to both of us but mostly me. My dad had always taught me to have a strong spirit and stand up for myself, and I did. I paid  for it though, always. Her husband was against me going to live with my dad, so my mother was too, not having the spirit that I did. She was too fearful and always going along to get along. I put up with the physical abuse silently. The slaps in the face, the hair pulling, the screaming. He held me down once and his hand went up my shirt. I just knew I’d be raped. I was only 13 and still very much a little girl. I was terrified to feel his erection against my clothed rear, even though I didn’t even fully know what it was at the time. He didn’t rape me, he let me go. I didn’t come home from school the next day. I told my counselor at school, and ended up in foster care for an entire summer until I was placed with my dad.

My stepdad never served any real jail time and was never even placed on a sex offender list. He was offered one heck of a plea bargain, and he took it. Three years later he raped an adult woman at knife point with her toddler in the back seat, then a few weeks later, three 14 year old girls in the same fashion. He is serving over 200 years in the Oklahoma state penitentiary. He will die there. 

I blamed my mother then and I do now. We have a good relationship but I have to silence my emotions sometimes around her. She left that house and went back to live with her sister a few hundred miles away with the twin girls. I was alone in that town and in that foster home.

After I was placed in foster care with strangers, far away from any family, I slept most of the time. I was in a deep dark depression. I would wake up in the morning around 10-11 am, eat a light lunch, stay up a few hours, and around two or three in the afternoon I would take a nap for 2-3 hours. I would get up, eat some supper, and go back to bed around 9 or 10 pm. I was physically and emotionally exhausted, no matter how much sleep I got. 

Dad’s was better, but not much. I felt safe, but his new wife was young and jealous and the relationship was off and on. I became a troublemaker. I fought at school often, was extremely disrespectful to my teachers, I snuck out at night and partied a lot. Three years later, my dad ended up sending me to live with my mom who was living in a very small town. He thought the tiny town and school would be better for me and it was. That tiny little town saved me. My dad ended up divorcing that lady and marrying another one that was bipolar, possessive, and violent. She isolated him from all his family including me for almost ten years. This caused me a lot of anxiety and a nervous breakdown that ended up with me being prescribed antidepressants which helped only somewhat. He is single now, and we have a great relationship.

Your parents being divorced affects you well into adulthood. It even affects your own children. Where to spend holidays, vacation, buy a house, work, live… All these things are important and matter to your parents. It’s always a tug of war. Even though they don’t express disappointment, I can see it in their eyes and it hurts. There’s always feelings of guilt no matter what I decide, when, where, why, and how much… I’m my dad’s only child. One of my mom’s twin girls is severely intellectually disabled and the other has physical health issues. I am the only person who is financially, physically, and emotionally able to care for my parents when they get to the age they can no longer care for themselves. How do I accomplish that? Put them in separate rooms? I refuse to consider long term care facilities. I guess I’ll burn that bridge when I get to it.

My childhood absolutely made it more difficult for me to form healthy romantic relationships on my own. It made me very emotional. I was very loving and passionate, but I could also be very very cruel. I chose the wrong man once. I’m married now for ten years to the most amazing man that all four of my children love so much. He isn’t perfect, but very close. I really had to go through therapy to realize my behavior was part of all of this.

I was exposed to so much violence, emotional stress, and abuse… I didn’t really come out of the fog and fully understand how much it affected me until my late 30s. I had to get help for my anger and therapy helped so much. I get it now, truly. I was always a ticking time bomb. I have a reputation that I’ve unfortunately earned. People are careful about what they say to me and my children. I’ve gotten better over the years. I’m not explosive like I used to be. I don’t scare people now.

So often I’ve wondered what I would have been like had my parents stayed together. Cheerleader, perhaps? Probably. The bottom line is, it changed my soul. Do you understand that? It changed the core of my being. My authentic self was lost, not nurtured, forgotten about, and by the time I was 14, she was dead and buried. I wouldn’t know my authentic self if she kissed me on the mouth. Divorce is the most selfish thing a parent could ever consider.

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This