為了減輕孩子離婚後的痛苦和摧殘, 千禧隊列研究 已經透露,如果你在孩子三到七歲之間從他們身下撕下地毯,對他們來說更好。 換句話說,在他們有足夠的精神和情感能力去意識到當爸爸媽媽住在一起,彼此相愛時,生活是多麼美好和安全之前就離開。

對三歲以下兒童的影響仍然是一個經驗謎團,因為他們沒有評估這些參與者,但最好接受沒有孩子能毫髮無損地逃脫父母的離婚,而且年幼的孩子也不會過得更好,因為當你有選擇的時候,這是最好的走不傷害的道路。

這項由教育學院縱向研究中心領導的研究跟踪了 19,000 世紀初出生的近 21 名兒童。 它徹底檢查了貧困、養育子女、教育、健康、宗教等等。 結果顯示,“分裂時年齡在 14 至 16 歲之間的未成年人表現出 8% 的情緒問題,例如焦慮和抑鬱症狀,以及 XNUMX% 的行為障礙增加。”

該研究發現,金錢或缺乏金錢對患有抑鬱症和/或焦慮症的兒童的百分比沒有影響。 供給充足的人和供給不足的人一樣受苦,因為事實是,無論是富家子弟還是窮人都沒有得到 孩子需要什麼才能茁壯成長. 兩人同樣被剝奪了已婚父母的無價投資。

該研究還表明,男孩在離婚時會遭受更嚴重、更具破壞性的痛苦。 倫敦大學學院教育學院的 Emla Fitzsimons 教授和該研究的合著者表示,“14 至 XNUMX 歲的男孩更有可能表現出行為問題,例如行為舉止和不聽話。” 但我認為,通常男孩會以更不方便的混亂和明顯的方式遭受痛苦和表現,而女孩只會更安靜地遭受痛苦。 一位在我們之前關注他們的年輕女性評論道:“嗯,我父親離開後被診斷出患有多動症,我從 7 歲和 8 歲的全 A 學生到通過 & Ds & 2 Es & 輟學兩次。 不太確定它對女孩們來說是否乾淨。” 安妮 會同意:

你的父母從來都不是離婚的好時機,但我認為 15 歲和高中新生是最尷尬的時期之一,因為那個階段的生活正試圖歸屬、被關注和覺得值得。 我當然背負著父母離婚的恥辱。

當然重要的是 區分“有過錯”和“無過錯” 離婚。 在他們面前,我們不主張留在虐待婚姻中。 在這些情況下,施虐的父母“有過錯”,社區和法院都應與無辜的一方保持一致。 但“過錯”離婚 可能佔 20% 或更少 的離婚案件。 那些可能成為另外 80% 的父母應該注意這項研究的明顯發現,並儘其所能改善他們的婚姻。

離婚的時間似乎與孩子在父母分居後遭受的痛苦無關。 除非,正如研究可能表明的那樣,當孩子們還小的時候。 換句話說,在孩子們意識到你對他們來說是無價之寶並且無法替代之前,在你的缺席將在他們心中留下一個終生的洞之前,在他們有機會品嚐和看到觀看兩人所帶來的安全感和快樂之前他們最愛的人……彼此相愛。

In order to mitigate the suffering and devastation of your children after divorce, the Millennium Cohort Study has revealed that it’s better for kids if you rip the rug out from under them when they are between the ages of three and seven. In other words, get out before they have the mental and emotional capacity to realize how awesome and safe life is when mom and dad are living together, loving one another.

The effect on children under three remains an empirical mystery because they didn’t assess those participants but, it’s best to accept that no child escapes the divorce of their parents unscathed and that young children would fare no better because when you have a choice it’s best to travel the do-no-harm road.

This study, led by the Centre for Longitudinal Studies at the Institute of Education, followed nearly 19,000 children born at the start of the 21st century.  It thoroughly examined poverty, parenting, education, health, religion and so on. What it revealed was that “minors aged between seven and 14 at the time of the split exhibit a 16% rise in emotional problems, such as anxiety and depressive symptoms, and an 8% increase in conduct disorders.”

The study found that money, or the lack thereof, had no impact on the percentage of children suffering from depressive and/or anxiety disorders. The well-provided-for suffered as much as the under-provided-for because the truth is, neither the rich kids nor the poor were getting what children need to thrive. Both were equally deprived of the priceless investment of married parents.

The study also suggested that boys suffer in more acute, destructive ways at the hands of divorce. According to Professor Emla Fitzsimons of the Institute of Education at University College London and co-author of the study, “Seven- to 14-year-olds, boys were more likely to display behavioural problems, such as acting up and being disobedient.” But I submit that typically boys suffer and act out in more inconveniently messy and obvious ways whereas girls just suffer more quietly. One young woman who follows Them Before Us commented, “Hmmm I was diagnosed with ADHD amongst other things after my dad left, I went from a straight A student in yrs 7&8 to passes & Ds & 2 Es & dropping out twice. Not so sure it’s so clean for the girls.” Annie would agree:

There is never a good time for your parents to divorce, but 15 years of age and a freshmen in high school I would consider one of the most awkward times, as so much about life at that stage is trying to belong, to be noticed and feel worthy. I definitely carried the shame of my parent’s divorce.

Of course it’s important to distinguish between “at fault” and “no fault” divorce. At Them Before Us, we do not advocate for remaining in an abusive marriage. In those cases, the abusive parent is “at fault” and both the community and the courts should align themselves with the innocent party. But “at fault” divorces likely make up 20% or less of divorce cases. Those parents who could become the other 80% should heed the obvious findings of this study and do whatever they can to improve their marriage stay together.

The timing of divorce seems to be irrelevant to how children suffer in the wake of their parent’s separation. Except, as the study perhaps suggests, when the kids are young. In other words, before the kids realize you are invaluable to them and cannot be replaced, before your absence will create a lifelong hole in their heart, and before they have a chance to taste and see the security and joy that comes from watching the two people they love the most… love each other.

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This