我在牧師的家里長大,我是四個孩子中最小的。 一年級前的那個夏天,我的家人從加利福尼亞搬到了愛達荷州北部。 我們搬進了一個漂亮的三層五臥室住宅,位於一個很棒的社區。 那將是我的家和避風港,直到我媽媽和我在高中三年級開始時被迫離開。

結婚 31 年後,我的父母離婚了。 我不知道我父親從我很小的時候就一直有外遇,直到他離開他的最後一個情人。 我們從加利福尼亞搬到愛達荷州是為了遠離這樣一個情人,但距離並沒有阻止這件事。 直到我父親被捕並被迫辭職,這件事才結束。 他從事工辭職是在我四年級的時候。 不知道在下一次婚外情開始之前發生了多少時間,但另一件事確實發生了,那次婚外情是我父母婚姻和我們家庭的最終破裂。 在我哥哥 4 歲的時候th 生日,他的高三和我的一年級,我們的父親離開了。 沒有註釋,沒有解釋,什麼都沒有。 那天早上他開車送我們去教堂,然後在主日學和禮拜之間,他開車離開了。

你的父母從來都不是離婚的好時機,但我認為 15 歲和高中新生是最尷尬的時期之一,因為那個階段的生活正試圖歸屬、被關注和覺得值得。 我當然背負著父母離婚的恥辱。 每個人都知道我是牧師的女兒,“一雙好鞋”。 現在大家會怎麼說? 我會受到怎樣的對待? 在教堂裡,我們非常投入並且聯繫緊密,所以我想知道我在那裡的生活會是什麼樣子? 我在青年組的朋友會怎麼說? 他們會怎樣對待我?

我世界上的一切都被震撼到了核心。 我爸,他到底是誰? 他自稱是《聖經》的租戶,但在我一生的大部分時間裡,他一直過著隱秘的生活。 上帝在哪裡? 他為什麼允許我們經歷這些? 我媽媽是個殘骸。 在正常情況下,她很難做出決定,但經歷他們生命中的法律和經濟撕裂,這超出了我媽媽的承受能力。 還在家裡的哥哥把他的生命傾注在籃球上,他的朋友和女朋友,和他們一起睡覺,開派對。 我家裡沒有人可以為我和我所有的問題。 我的生活變成了碎片,我真的不知道如何拾起它們並理解它們,但我需要這樣做才能繼續生存。

離婚敲定的時候,我哥哥已經上大學了。 只有我媽媽和我。 由於我父親獲得了房屋和我們的家族企業,我們被迫離開了我們的家。 我媽媽生孩子的時候都是全職媽媽。 我的大姐比我大 13 歲,我三年級時就結婚了。 我的另一個兄弟住在俄勒岡州,正在工作。 媽媽和我無處可去。 她獲得了拋錨的汽車、土地財產(無法提供我們每月所需的經濟手段)和一些贍養費。 她沒有工作,也沒有什麼資源可以重新開始我們的生活。 一年來,我們基本上無家可歸。 一個朋友讓我們在她的地下室住了幾個月,不知怎的,我媽媽發現了一對在南方過冬的夫婦,他們不在的時候我們可以住在他們家。

我通過投入學習並積極參與領導機會來彌補所有的破壞。 我在樂隊中,我的學生班主席,女孩州代表,在我參加的青少年選美比賽中獲得學術亞軍。我繼續參與青年團體。 我什至在我父親的公司里為他工作,儘管我不想和他或他的新婚妻子有任何關係。 儘管我在生活的各個方面都取得了成就,但內心卻充滿了憤怒、疑問和想要結束這一切的感覺。 自殺是我一直在與我的初中和高中時期作鬥爭的一個想法。 我大四的大部分時間都在輔導。 我的健康狀況一落千丈。 我被診斷出患有哮喘、雷諾氏症和 TMJ。 在我父母分居之前,所有這些疾病都不存在。

在我大三的時候蹦蹦跳跳之後,我們搬到了華盛頓州,住進了一間我們幾乎買不起的小兩居室公寓。 從一年級到大三,我一直在同一所學校和同一群朋友,然後在大四,我不得不在一所新的、更大的高中重新開始。 我媽媽得到了一份兼職工作,為一名輔導員工作,而我為我父親工作所賺的​​錢幫助支付了我們的水電費和房租。 在許多方面,我成為了父母,幫助我們養家糊口並做出必要的決定,因為我的媽媽仍然如此沮喪和癱瘓如何獨自運作。

我上班時見到了我父親,但除此之外,他沒有出現在我的大部分活動中。 我不記得他曾經參加過我的一場辯論賽或學校戲劇。 我和他的關係變成了交易關係。 當我需要汽車或學習用品等東西時,我會聯繫他。 我選擇去一所與他希望我上的不同的大學,所以他拒絕為我的高等教育提供經濟上的幫助。 到了時間,他確實收拾好我,開車送我去大學。 我和父親的關係再也沒有親密過,但充滿了許多未滿足的需求。 我迫切地想要並需要我的父親,但他永遠不可能是我所需要的,我也無法以不同的眼光看待他和那個毀了我家庭的人。

從高中到大學,我媽媽一直在我身邊。 她是一個常數。 我看著我的媽媽從死亡和絕望的深淵中走出來,回到大學更新她的教學證書,搬到俄勒岡州從事教學工作,並徹底重新開始。 儘管我媽媽在我身邊,我尊重她的成長和勇氣,但她是我傾訴憤怒的人。 我知道在我所有的憤怒的重壓下對她來說是痛苦的,我真的很遺憾我對她的反應是這樣的,但我需要以某種方式和出於任何原因選擇向她釋放它。

我花了很多年的時間進出諮詢。 我確實離開了主和我的信仰一段時間,然後又回來了。 我尋求幫助其他被迫離婚的孩子。 通過這一切,我對自己有了很多了解,離婚給孩子和家庭帶來的創傷。 然而,我最終與我的父母建立了類似的關係,並且在結婚僅僅 10 年後,我的丈夫為了他的同性戀情人離開了我和我們的孩子。 我嫁給了一個在很多方面與我父親相似的人。 我被我的丈夫所吸引,因為他似乎與我父親以及他如何對待我媽媽的方式截然相反,但時間會揭示我的吸引力背後隱藏著什麼。 我最終成為了離婚統計的孩子,現在我的孩子正在經歷離婚的創傷,他們自己也成為了我們世界婚姻和家庭解體的統計數據。

我十幾歲時討厭離婚,作為妻子和母親,我更討厭離婚。 離婚是一種巨大的罪惡,它對許多人造成的破壞不僅僅是它造成傷害的直接生命。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

I grew up in a Pastor’s home and I am the youngest of four children. The summer before first grade, my family moved from California to Northern Idaho. We moved into a beautiful tri-level 5-bedroom home in a great neighborhood. That would be my home and haven till my mom and I were forced to leave the beginning of my junior year in high school.

After 31 years of marriage my parents divorced. Unbeknownst to me my father had been having affairs from the time I was very little until he left for his last lover. Our move from California to Idaho was to move away from one such lover, but the distance didn’t stop the affair. Only until my father was caught and made to resign from ministry did that affair end. His resignation from ministry was when I was in the 4th grade. Not sure how much time transpired before the next affair began, but yet another did arise, and that affair was the final breaking of my parent’s marriage and our family. On my brother’s 18th birthday, his senior year of high school and my freshmen year, our father left. No note, no explanation, nothing. He had driven us to church that morning and then in between Sunday School and service, he drove away.

There is never a good time for your parents to divorce, but 15 years of age and a freshmen in high school I would consider one of the most awkward times, as so much about life at that stage is trying to belong, to be noticed and feel worthy. I definitely carried the shame of my parent’s divorce. Everyone knew me as the Pastor’s daughter, the “goody two shoes” one. Now what would everyone say? How would I be treated?  At church, we were very involved and well connected and so I wondered what would life be like for me there? What would my friends in youth group say? How would they treat me?

Everything in my world was shaken to its core. My dad, who was he really? He professed the tenants of the Bible and yet he had been living a secret life for most of my life. Where was God? Why was he allowing us to go through this? My mom was a wreck. She has difficulty making decisions under normal circumstances but going through the legal and financial tearing apart of their lives was more than my mom could bare. My brother who was still at home poured his life into basketball, his friends and girlfriends, sleeping with them and partying. No one in my family was available for me and all my questions. My life had become a rubble of shattered pieces and I truly didn’t know how to pick them up and make sense of them, but I needed to in order to keep surviving.

When the divorce was finalized, my brother was gone at college by then. It was just my mom and me. We were forced to leave our family home as my dad was awarded the home and our family businesses. My mom was a stay-at-home mom all the time she had children. My oldest sister is 13 years older than me and married when I was in third grade. My other brother lived in Oregon and was working. Mom and I had nowhere to go. She was awarded the broken-down car, properties of land (which could not provide the financial means we needed on a monthly basis) and some alimony. She had no job and very little resources to start our lives over with. For a year we were essentially homeless. A friend let us stay in her basement for a few months and somehow my mom found out about a couple that wintered in the south and we were able to live in their home while they were gone.

I compensated for all the devastation by pouring into my studies and getting very involved in leadership opportunities. I was in band, President of my student class, Girl’s State representative, academic runner up in a teen pageant that I competed in. I continued to stay involved in youth group. I even worked for my dad at his business even though I didn’t want to have anything to do with him or his new wife. Even though I was achieving in all areas of my life, inside I was consumed with anger, questions and a feeling of wanting it all to end. Suicide was a constant thought that I battled my Junior and Senior years. I was in counseling most of my senior year. My health tanked. I was diagnosed with asthma, Raynauds, and TMJ. All of these ailments didn’t exist before my parent’s separation.

After bouncing around my Junior year, we moved to Washington state into a tiny little 2-bedroom apartment that we could barely afford. I had been in the same school and with the same group of friends from first grade through my Junior year and then my senior year I had to start all over in a new, much larger high school. My mom got a part-time job working for a counselor and along with the money I made working for my dad helped to pay our utilities and rent. In many ways I became the parent, helping to provide for us and make the necessary decisions as my mom was still so devastated and paralyzed how to function all on her own.

I saw my dad when I went to work, but other than that he didn’t show up to most of my activities. I don’t remember him ever attending one of my debate matches or school plays. My relationship with him became a transactional one. When I needed something for my car or school supplies, etc. I would reach out to him. I chose to go to a different university than he wanted me to attend, so he withheld helping me financially for my upper education. He did pack me up and drive me to the University when it was time. My relationship with my father never was close again, but was full of many unmet needs. I desperately wanted and needed my father, but he could never be what I needed nor was I ever able to see him differently from the man that destroyed my family.

My mom was there for me all those years through high school and college. She was a constant. I watched my mom go from the depths of death and despair, to going back to college to renew her teaching certificate, moving to Oregon to take a teaching job and starting completely over. Even though my mom was there for me and I respected her growth and courage, she is the one that I dumped my anger upon. I know it was painful for her to bare under the weight of all my rage and I truly regret that is how I responded to her, but I needed to let it out somehow and for whatever reason I chose to unleash upon her.

I spent many years in and out of counseling. I did turn away from the Lord and my faith for a period and then returned. I pursued helping other children that were forced to walk through divorce. Through all of it I learned a significant amount about myself, the trauma that divorce inflicts upon children and the family. And yet, I ended up in a similar relationship to my parents and after only 10 years of marriage, my husband left me and our children for his gay lover. I married someone that was similar in so many ways to my own father. I was attracted to my husband because he seemed so opposite to my dad and how he had treated my mom, but time would reveal what lay beneath my attractions. I ended up being a child of divorce statistics and now my children are living through the traumas of divorce and have themselves become statistics in the great unraveling of marriages and families in our world.

I hated going through divorce as a teenager and I have hated it even more going through it as a wife and a mother. Divorce is a great evil that wreaks havoc upon many more than just the immediate lives it inflicts its wounds upon.

Fuel This Global Children’s Movement!

Share This