他們在我們面前 提交了法庭之友簡報 要求最高法院對一個可能對兒童和父母的權利產生重大影響的重要案件進行權衡。 密蘇里州斯科特縣的一個家庭要求最高法院追究一名兒童福利僱員的責任,該僱員利用其職權展開毫無根據的調查以報復他們。

這名在法庭文件中被稱為 JTH 的父親最近通知該縣,他打算在當時的斯科特縣副警長對他的兒子進行性虐待後提起訴訟。 不久之後,社會服務工作者 Spring Cook 出現在 JTH 的家中,回應了一條指責父母疏忽的匿名舉報,庫克認為這是可以證實的。 庫克的論點是, 父母 疏忽是因為 縣僱員 虐待了他們的兒子。 在她的整個調查過程中,庫克對這個家庭充滿敵意,並在多次家訪後 威脅要“拿到”父親的治安官執照。

如果上訴不成功,庫克的初步“父母疏忽”調查結果將導致父母被列入該州虐待兒童的中央登記冊,這將使父親失去治安官執照,母親失去教師生涯。 這一發現最終被密蘇里州虐待和忽視兒童委員會否決了。

庫克利用其職位的權威來報復那些曾為保護他們的孩子而發表言論和行動的父母,他們的孩子遭到縣僱員的虐待。 在這樣做的過程中,她表現出對所涉及的未成年人完全不關心。 這 兒童福利制度的既定目標 旨在促進兒童的福祉和鞏固家庭。 庫克的行為與此背道而馳。 現在,JTH 要求最高法院追究庫克對她的行為的責任。

在沒有危險證據的情況下,政府機構不應將兒童與其父母分開或威脅將其分開。 我們認識到,不幸的是,為了孩子的安全,家庭分離有時是必要的。 虐待和虐待是任何兒童都不應該經歷的嚴重不公,兒童福利制度的存在是為了在這些情況下保護兒童。

但這不是這裡發生的事情。 庫克的行為沒有促進相關兒童和家庭的福祉,而是在父母沒有虐待的情況下針對兒童與父母之間的關係。 兒童不應因未經證實的主張而面臨被父母帶走的可能性,尤其是當這些主張是出於報復而不是出於善意提出時。

像我們一樣 經常注意到, 據統計,當孩子由自己的已婚父母撫養長大時,他們最安全,也最有可能茁壯成長。 相比之下,與無關的成年人一起生活時,兒童更有可能遭受虐待和虐待。 在我們向最高法院提交的簡報中,我們指出了親子關係的重要性,由自己的父母撫養的孩子如何更安全、更有可能茁壯成長,以及孩子的父母如何比其他任何成年人對他的幸福進行更大的投資生活。 我們還向法院介紹了家庭分離的危害以及兒童與父母分離時所經歷的持久創傷。

家庭分離是 改變孩子的生活. 經歷過家庭分離的孩子,無論是短期還是長期,往往難以在以後的生活中形成健康的依戀關係。 家庭分離 也會受傷 孩子的社交和情感功能、自我調節和決策能力。 當一個孩子麵臨這種創傷時,這是令人心碎的,因為為了他的安全,必須將其移除,但是當一個孩子在沒有虐待或忽視證據的情況下不必要地經歷這種創傷時,這完全是另一回事。 到那時,它就不再是悲劇,而是悲劇了。

在本案中,法院面臨的主要問題之一是有限制的豁免權。 在做出可能對兒童和家庭產生重大影響的決定時,社會工作者擁有廣泛的權力。 當這種權力被濫用時,兒童就是付出代價的人。 目前,社會工作者受到合格豁免權的保護,這導致當他們的決定對兒童和家庭造成直接傷害時,責任很少。 此案是法院改變這一狀況的機會。

法庭之友簡介,我們要求法院考慮兒童的利益以及他們與父母建立關係的權利。 兒童在自己的家中最安全,有自己的親生父母,不受政府乾預或入侵,除非有危險證據。 孩子不僅僅需要 任何 成人。 他們需要自己的父母,當這種需要得不到滿足時就會受到傷害。

Them Before Us filed an amicus brief asking the Supreme Court to weigh in on an important case that could have major implications for the rights of children and parents. A family in Scott County, Missouri, is asking the Supreme Court to hold a child welfare employee accountable for using the authority of her position to open an unfounded investigation in retaliation against them.

The father, referred to in court documents as J.T.H., had recently notified the county that he intended to sue after a then Scott County deputy sheriff had sexually abused his son. It wasn’t long before Spring Cook, a social service worker, showed up at J.T.H.’s home responding to an anonymous tip accusing the parents of neglect, which Cook determined could be substantiated. Cook’s argument was that the parents had been neglectful because a county employee had abused their son. Throughout her investigation, Cook was hostile toward the family and after multiple home visits threatened to “get” the father’s peace officer license.

Without a successful appeal, Cook’s preliminary “neglect by parent” finding would have resulted in the parents being listed on the state’s central register for child abuse which would have cost the father his peace officer license and the mother her career as a teacher. This finding was eventually thrown out by Missouri’s Child Abuse and Neglect Board.

Cook weaponized the authority of her position to retaliate against parents who had spoken and acted in defense of their child, who had been abused by a county employee. In doing this, she demonstrated a complete lack of concern for the minor involved. The stated goal of the child welfare system is to promote the well-being of children and strengthen families. Cook’s actions ran directly counter to that. Now J.T.H. is asking the Supreme Court to hold Cook accountable for her actions.

A government agency should not separate, or threaten to separate, a child from his parents when there is no evidence of danger. We recognize that, tragically, family separation is sometimes necessary for the safety of a child. Abuse and maltreatment are grave injustices that no child should ever experience, and the child welfare system exists to protect children in those situations.

But that’s not what happened here. Instead of promoting the well-being of the child and family involved, Cook’s actions took aim at the relationship between a child and his parents when there had been no maltreatment on the part of the parents. Children should not be faced with the possibility of removal from their parents over unsubstantiated claims, especially when those claims are made in retaliation rather than in good faith.

As we have frequently noted, children are statistically the safest and most likely to thrive when they are raised by their own, married parents. By contrast, children are far more likely to experience abuse and maltreatment when living with an unrelated adult. In our brief for the Supreme Court, we point out the importance of the parent-child relationship, how children who are raised by their own parents are safer and more likely to thrive, and how a child’s parents have a greater investment in his well-being than any other adult in his life. We also walk the Court through the harms of family separation and the lasting trauma that children experience when they are separated from their parents.

Family separation is life-altering for a child. Children who have experienced family separation, whether short or long-term, often struggle to form healthy attachments later in life. Family separation can also hurt a child’s social and emotional functioning, self-regulation, and decision-making skills. It is heartbreaking when a child is faced with this trauma because removal was necessary for his safety, but when a child is put through this trauma unnecessarily when there is no evidence of abuse or neglect, it is something else entirely. At that point, it is no longer a tragedy, but a travesty.

One of the main questions before the Court in this case is that of qualified immunity. Social workers have broad authority when it comes to decisions that can significantly impact children and families. When that authority is abused, children are the ones who pay the price. Currently, social workers are protected by qualified immunity which has resulted in very little accountability when their decisions cause direct harm to children and families. This case is the Court’s opportunity to change that.

In our Amicus brief, we’re asking the Court to consider the interests of children and their right to a relationship with their mother and father. Children are safest in their own homes, with their own biological parents, free from government interference or intrusion unless there is evidence of danger.  Children don’t simply need any adult. They need their own parents and are harmed when that need is not met.

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
Share This