他們在我們面前 倡導孩子對母親和父親的權利。 因此,我們反對無過錯離婚,這是一種不利的童年經歷(ACE),它剝奪了孩子與父母雙方的日常接觸,他們需要、渴望並從中受益。 

這種 ACE 會導致長期 身體傷害 為孩子。 在其他醫療條件中,離婚的孩子發展的風險增加 癌症, 自身免疫性疾病,並遭受 行程. 安妮,她的經歷反映了我們故事庫中的其他幾個人,詳細描述了離婚後她身心健康的退化,

我被憤怒、疑問和想要結束這一切的感覺所吞噬。 自殺是我與大三和大四斗爭的一個不變的想法。 我大四的大部分時間都在輔導。 我的健康狀況一落千丈。 我被診斷出患有哮喘、雷諾氏症和 TMJ。 在我父母分居之前,所有這些疾病都不存在。

這個 ACE 導致嚴重的 心理和情感傷害 給孩子們。 一項長期研究 的父母住在兩個不同的家庭的孩子發現他們 受教育程度較低, 經歷更多 失業, 更有可能 自己離婚從事更危險的行為 比他們在完好無損的家庭中長大的同齡人。 另一項研究 發現近 50% 的離婚後兒童 養成了兩種不同的性格 因為每個家庭都提供了不同版本的真相,並要求保守不同的秘密。 莉安·史密斯 用這種方式描述了她分叉的心和生活, 

為了安撫家人的每一方,我迷失了自己。 獨自在兩個不同的生活之間來回穿梭意味著我處於每個家庭的邊緣,絕不是局內人。 我最愛的人從不在同一個房間裡,他們中的許多人甚至都不知道彼此的存在。 我錯過了活動和慶祝活動,因為我不得不花時間和我的其他家人在一起。 離婚的孩子學會應對這些矛盾和不穩定……

兒童的權利和需求必須優先於成年人的願望,因此我們敦促您 支持HB 3188. 只有在發現配偶一方有嚴重過錯的情況下,離婚對身體、心理和情感造成的傷害才值得考慮。 基於一方父母“無法承受”的模糊主張而准許的離婚會給家庭中最脆弱的成員——孩子帶來終生的傷害、損失和風險。 它不僅應該受到德克薩斯州的反對,而且應該受到所有與不公正作鬥爭的人的反對。

似乎有一種觀點認為,當一對夫婦分開時,他們的孩子會在一段時間後感到難過,但隨後一切都會好起來的。 然而事實是……它遍及一切,改變你生活中的一切,走向未來。 它不僅會改變未來幾個月,還會改變未來 50 年。 – 奧利蘭伯特,電影製片人和離婚的孩子

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Them Before Us advocates for a child’s rights to her mother and father. Thus we oppose no-fault divorce, an Adverse Childhood Experience (ACE), which denies children the daily contact with both parents that they need, crave and benefit from. 

This ACE results in long-term physical harms for children. Among other medical conditions, children of divorce have an increased risk of developing cancer, autoimmune disorders, and suffering a stroke. Annie, whose experience reflects several others in our story bank, details the post-divorce degeneration of her mental and physical health,

I was consumed with anger, questions, and a feeling of wanting it all to end. Suicide was a constant thought that I battled my junior and senior years. I was in counseling most of my senior year. My health tanked. I was diagnosed with asthma, Raynaud’s, and TMJ. All of these ailments didn’t exist before my parents’ separation.

This ACE results in serious psychological and emotional harms to children. One long-term study of children whose parents lived in two different homes found they obtained less education, experienced more unemployment, were more likely to be divorced themselves, and engaged in riskier behavior than their peers raised in intact homes. Another study discovered nearly 50% of post-divorce children developed two different personalities as each home offered different versions of the truth, and required keeping different secrets. Leigh-Ann Smith describes her bifurcated heart and life this way, 

I lost myself in every effort to appease each side of my family. Shuffling alone between two separate lives meant that I was on the fringe of each family, never an insider. The people I loved most were never in the same room together, and many of them barely even knew each other existed. I missed out on events and celebrations because I would have to spend time with my other family. Children of divorce learn to cope with these inconsistencies and instability…

The rights and needs of children must be prioritized over the desires of adults, thus we urge you to support HB 3188. The physical, psychological and emotional harms of divorce are merited only if one spouse is found to be grievously at fault. Divorce granted based on one parent’s vague claim of “insupportability” levies a lifetime of harm, loss, and risk onto the most vulnerable members of the family- children. It should be opposed by not just the State of Texas, but by all who are concerned with fighting injustice.

There seems to be a belief that when a couple separates, their children feel sad for a while afterwards but then things are OK. And yet the truth is… it pervades everything, changes everything in your life, way into the future. It doesn’t just change the next few months, it changes the next 50 years. – Olly Lambert, filmmaker and child of divorce

 

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This