當人們想到代孕時,總是站在成年人的角度——無法生育的不孕夫婦,或者需要“代孕天使”來完整家庭的同性戀夫婦。 但是,當我們將孩子與親生母親的分離商業化時,他們就會面臨非常現實的風險。

這裡只是代孕發生嚴重錯誤的幾個例子,並為華盛頓立法者提供了一些關於如何減少破壞的建議。 當然,即使是在“最好的情況”下長大的通過生殖技術創造的孩子,仍然會遭受損失。 這就是為什麼 許多捐贈者懷上的孩子反對 一切形式的代孕和第三方生殖。

華盛頓的立法者們,你們真的很樂意創建一個 您所在州批准的全球兒童市場? 因為這就是 SB 6037 會做的事情。 當在以下場景中創建的孩子問你為什麼同意他們的商品化時,你會告訴他們什麼?

量產嬰兒

2014年,日本百萬富翁 重田光時 通過幾個代孕生了 12-15 個孩子 在泰國。 他想要一個“大家庭”,但既不住在泰國,也不與孩子們建立關係。 像他這樣的案例促使泰國在 2016 年禁止代孕。SB 6037 中沒有任何內容禁止華盛頓有錢的“準父母”大量生產孩子。 提議的修正案:建立一個國營數據庫,跟踪預期的父母並將他們一生中只生育一次。

掠奪性的“有意父母”

在2013 馬克·牛頓和彼得·特朗 一名調查員稱,他們因將代孕生的兒子置於“最糟糕的[戀童癖]戒指……如果不是我聽說過的最糟糕的戒指”而被判有罪。 警方認為,這對夫婦通過代孕“僅出於剝削目的”創造了這個男孩。SB 6037 中的任何內容都不會阻止華盛頓發生這種情況。  提議的修正案——使所有“意向父母”接受與養父母相同的篩查。

不合適的“準父母”

在2016, 三胞胎是為了代孕梅麗莎庫克而生的 根據與 SB 6037 密切相關的加利福尼亞代孕法。“意向父母”是“CM”,一名 50 歲、聾啞的單身郵政工人,“抑鬱、焦慮、偏執型人格障礙、非理性憤怒髮作、拔掉了自己的頭髮,並且有虐待家庭寵物的歷史——甚至殺死它們。” 庫克開始擔心孩子們並為監護權而戰,但被警察禁止見孩子 因為代孕合同. 孩子們仍在 CM 的照顧下,由於疏忽,他們已經在當地醫院就診。 提議的修正案——使所有“意向父母”接受與養父母相同的篩查。

國家批准的販賣兒童 

在2012, 布里奇特威斯默認罪 以 15,000 美元的價格將她的新生兒賣給 John Gavaghan。 安排是在嬰兒出生之前進行的。 如果他們在受孕前簽署了合同,則根據 SB 6037 第 713 節,該合同將被視為有效的代孕協議。   在華盛頓賣嬰兒是非法的. 販賣兒童和代孕的唯一區別是合同的時間嗎? 提議的修正:刪除允許向代理人付款的規定。

母親的遺傳孩子被意外帶走

十月2017, 傑西卡·艾倫,加利福尼亞的一位代孕媽媽為一對中國夫婦生下了雙胞胎(代孕在中國是非法的)。 根據代孕合同,與 SB 6037 的情況一樣,孩子在出生後立即被“預期父母”監護。 艾倫從未見過他們。 幾個月後看到雙胞胎的照片後,很明顯一個嬰兒是中國人,另一個是混血兒。 在一個罕見的事件中,傑西卡在“預期父母”胚胎植入後懷上了自己的孩子。 傑西卡和她的丈夫不得不努力讓他們的遺傳孩子回來。 沒有任何法規或修正案可以阻止這種情況。

製造不想要的孩子 

2015年,前The View聯合主持人 雪莉·謝潑德,她失去了從她通過代孕創造的嬰兒的出生證明中刪除的戰鬥。 雖然她與男孩沒有遺傳關係,不再與他的父親結婚,沒有生孩子,也不想與孩子有任何關係,但根據 SB 6037 式代孕合同,牧羊人必須是他的“母親” 。” 沒有任何法規或修正案可以阻止這種情況。

SB 6037 是如此極端,以至於它為其他危險場景打開了大門:

“意向父母”群體?

該法案僅提及“意向父母”,但並未具體將人數限制為兩個。 第 513 條允許州政府為孩子裁決“超過兩個父母”。 該法案的措辭尚不清楚,例如,四名男子是否可以集中資金並通過代孕生育一個孩子,並且所有人都擁有國家的全部力量來支持他們的父母權利。  提議的修正:要求只有已婚 夫婦 被認定為“意向父母”。

生殖旅遊

SB 6037 不要求任何一方——捐贈者、代理人或“預期父母”是華盛頓居民。 它只需要一次州內“醫學評估或程序或心理健康諮詢”。 一對來自密歇根州(禁止代孕)的夫婦可以將代孕媽媽從印度(禁止代孕)飛往華盛頓進行“諮詢”,他們的合同將有資格成為有效的代孕合同。   提議的修正案:要求所有各方都是華盛頓居民。

掠奪殘疾婦女

參議院否決了一項禁止使用有發育或智力殘疾的婦女作為代理人的修正案。 雖然規定代孕媽媽要接受“心理健康評估”,但並不要求評估在華盛頓甚至美國進行。 “意向父母”可以在墨西哥僱用一名發育障礙婦女,並讓那裡的持牌專業人員對她進行評估。 即使是“代孕友好”的加利福尼亞州也不允許這樣的安排。 建議修改:採用 6037S-AMS Shor S4663.2

When people think about surrogacy, it’s always from the adult’s perspective- the infertile couple with no way to have children, or the gay couple who needs a “surrogate angel” to complete their family. But there are very real risks to children when we commercialize their separation from their birth mother.

Here are just a few examples of surrogacy gone horribly wrong, with some suggestions for Washington lawmakers on how to curtail the devastation.  Of course, even children created through reproductive technologies who grow up in the “best case” scenario still suffer loss.  That’s why many donor-conceived children oppose all forms of surrogacy and third-party reproduction.

Washington lawmakers, are your really comfortable creating a state-sanctioned global marketplace of children in your state? Because that’s what SB 6037 will do. When children created in scenarios like those below ask why you approved of their commodification, what will you tell them?

Mass-Produced Babies

In 2014, Japanese millionaire Mitsutoki Shigeta fathered 12-15 children through several surrogates in Thailand. He wanted a “big family” but neither lives in Thailand nor has a relationship with the children. Cases such as his prompted Thailand to ban surrogacy in 2016.  Nothing in SB 6037 prohibits children from being mass-produced by rich “intended parents” in Washington. Proposed amendment: Establish a state-run database which tracks intended parents and limits them to one birth over their lifetime.

Predatory “Intended Parents”

In 2013 Mark Newton and Peter Truong were convicted of subjecting their surrogate-born son to “the worst [paedophile] rings … if not the worst ring I’ve ever heard of” according one investigator.  Police believe the pair created the boy through surrogacy ‘‘for the sole purpose of exploitation.’’  Nothing in SB 6037 would prevent such a scenario in Washington.  Proposed amendment- make all “intended parents” subject to the same screenings as adoptive parents.

Unfit “Intended Parents”

In 2016, triplets were born to surrogate Melissa Cook under California’s surrogacy laws which closely mirror SB 6037.  The “intended parent” was “CM” a single, 50-year old, deaf-mute postal worker who is “depressed, has anxiety, a paranoid personality disorder, irrational anger fits, has pulled his own hair out, and has a history of being cruel to family pets — even killing them.” Cook became concerned about the children and fought for custody, but was barred by police from even seeing the children because of the surrogacy contract. The children remain in the care of CM, and have already been seen at local hospitals due to neglect. Proposed amendment- make all “intended parents” subject to the same screenings as adoptive parents.

State-Sanctioned Child Trafficking 

In 2012, Bridget Wismer plead guilty to selling her newborn to John Gavaghan for $15,000. The arrangement was made prior to the baby’s birth.  Had they signed a contract prior to conception, it would have qualified as a valid surrogacy agreement under SB 6037, Section 713.   Baby selling is illegal in Washington. Is the only difference between child trafficking and surrogacy the timing of the contract? Proposed amendment: remove the provision that would allow payment to the surrogate.

Mother’s Genetic Child Accidently Taken

In October 2017, Jessica Allen, a surrogate in California gave birth to twins for a Chinese couple (surrogacy is illegal in China).  According to the surrogacy contract, as would be the case with SB 6037, the children were placed in the custody of the “intended parents” immediately after birth. Allen never saw them. After seeing a picture of the twins months later, it was clear that one baby was Chinese and the other biracial.  In a rare event known as superfetation, Jessica had become pregnant with her own child after the “intended parents” embryo had been implanted.  Jessica and her husband had to fight to get their genetic child back. No regulation or amendment could prevent this scenario.

Manufacturing Unwanted Children 

In 2015, former co-host of The View Sherri Shepherd, lost her battle to be removed from the birth certificate of the baby she created through surrogacy. Though she is not genetically related to the boy, is no longer married to his father, didn’t carry the child, and wants nothing to do with the baby, according to the SB 6037-style surrogacy contract Shepherd is required be his “mother.” No regulation or amendment could prevent this scenario.

SB 6037 is so extreme that it opens the door to other risky scenarios:

Groups of “Intended Parents”?

The bill speaks only of “intended parent” but does not specifically limit the number to two.  Section 513 permits the state to adjudicate “more than two parents” for a child.  The language of the bill is unclear as to whether or not, for example, four men could pool their money and create a child through surrogacy and all have the full force of the state behind their parental rights.  Proposed amendment: Require that only married couples be recognized as “intended parents.”

Reproductive Tourism

SB 6037 does not require that any party- the donor, the surrogate, or the “intended parents” be Washington residents. It requires only one in-state “medical evaluation or procedure or mental health consultation.”   A couple from Michigan (where surrogacy is banned) could fly a surrogate from India (where surrogacy is banned) to Washington for a “consultation,” and their contract would qualify as a valid surrogacy contract.   Proposed amendment: Require all parties be Washington residents.

Preying on Disabled Women

The Senate rejected an amendment that would prohibit using a woman with a developmental or intellectual disability as a surrogate.  While there is a stipulation that the surrogate undergo a “mental health evaluation” there is no requirement that the evaluation take place in Washington, or even in the United States. “Intended parents” could hire a developmentally disabled woman in Mexico and have her evaluated by a licensed professional there.  Not even “surrogate friendly” California would permit such an arrangement. Proposed Amendment: Adopt 6037S- AMS Shor S4663.2

Share This