(最初發表於 聯邦黨人)

美國最大的新教收養機構 Bethany Christian Services 本周成為頭條新聞 開始服務 多年來,LGBTQ 成年人拒絕了政府要求將兒童安置在同性伴侶身邊的壓力。 為了了解福音派的風向,Bethany 委託 Barna Group 就 LGBTQ 收養問題對基督徒進行調查。 報告發現 55%的基督徒 表達了對同性收養的某種程度的支持。

不幸的是,伯大尼正在尋找錯誤的人口來確定其安置政策。 養父母的標準不應該基於輿論,甚至基督教輿論。 坦率地說,決定機構安置政策的人口根本不是成年人,而是需要養父母的孩子。

誰是收養對象?

像許多其他“婚姻和家庭”問題一樣,我們的文化對收養的問題完全倒退。 一些州有  引用聯邦反歧視法為同性戀者服務的基督教機構。 專欄文章指責拒絕將兒童安置在同性伴侶身邊的機構“抵制” LGBTQ 權利。 當我們從成年人的角度審視婚姻和家庭問題時,我們經常會得出錯誤的答案,在收養辯論中尤其如此。

現實情況是,收養與成人無關,而是與孩子有關。 因此回答“同性戀者是否有權收養?”這個問題。 是一個硬 “號。” 同樣,對於“基督徒已婚丈夫和妻子是否有權收養”這個問題的答案也是 “號

任何成年人都無權擁有一個沒有生物學關係的孩子。 因此,任何成年人都沒有固有的收養權。 相反,在悲劇中失去父母的孩子有一個 被收養的權利.

當收養被正確理解時——作為一個公正的社會對失去父母的孩子的反應,無論是死亡還是被遺棄——很明顯 孩子 是客戶,不是成年人。 收養是為有需要的兒童提供服務的重要機構。 只要有可能,孩子就需要一個已婚的父母。

男人和女人有著天壤之別,而這些差異在家庭中表現得最為突出。 是的,與你所聽到的相反,性不是一種社會結構。 事實上,男人和女人與孩子互動的方式如此不同,許多專家現在認為 沒有這樣的事 作為“育兒” 本身 ——只有母親和父親,孩子們都需要。

作為我自己的養母,我親眼目睹了這一點。 我們所有的孩子——尤其是我們的養子——都迫切需要我丈夫和我與每個孩子交談、鼓勵、管教和互動的獨特和互補的方式。 我的朋友薩曼莎 介紹 由她的父親和他的男朋友撫養長大:

我的成長歲月幾乎完全沒有女性。 我什至不知道有媽媽這樣的東西,直到我在學校看了《時間之前的土地》。 我 5 歲的大腦無法理解為什麼我沒有我突然迫切想要的媽媽。 我感到了損失。 我感覺到了那個洞。 隨著我的成長,我試圖用阿姨、我爸爸的女同性戀朋友和老師來填補這個空白。 我記得我問過我一年級的老師我能不能給她媽媽打電話。 我問過任何向我表達過多少愛和感情的女人。 這是本能的。 我渴望母親的愛,儘管我深受兩個同性戀父親的愛戴。

孩子渴望並受益於母性  父愛。 任何收養機構如果未能在兒童安置中優先考慮父母,都不是為了滿足兒童的最大利益,而是為了滿​​足社會壓力、成人慾望或意識形態謊言,從而拋棄了他們真正的客戶:孩子。

理想並不總是可能的

向我的同胞文化戰士道歉 馬特 - 沃爾什,我不同意“收養機構將孩子安置在穩定的父母之家之外的任何地方都是非法的。” 我肯定 希望 每個孩子都會被安置在父母身邊。 但除非你說的是等待白人、無毒嬰兒長達數年的等待(如果我們支持親生母親撫養自己的孩子,他們中的許多人會得到更好的服務),否則尋求收養的母親和父親是短缺的.

無論是在海外孤兒院中受苦受難的孩子,還是阿片類藥物孤兒或被遺棄的年齡較大、有特殊需要、經常出現在兄弟姐妹群體中的爆炸式增長,有時根本無法實現已婚母親-父親的理想。

在一家中國收養機構擔任副主任期間,我親身體驗了這一點。 我的朋友——一對女同性戀夫婦——被告知有一個海外孩子的年齡和特殊需求讓幾位準異性戀父母望而卻步。 因此,他們的機構將這個小女孩安置在我的兩個朋友那裡,這兩個朋友是唯一願意承擔她艱難案件的成年人。

他們知道我的收養背景並期待一段艱難的旅程,所以他們要求我陪他們第一次見到他們的女兒。 我很高興與他們一起度過了這兩個充滿挑戰的星期,因為他們正在適應女兒的重大醫療和情感需求。

這個甜美的女孩在一個既能體驗父愛又能體驗母愛的家中會更好嗎? 毫無疑問。 但是,如果我的朋友們沒有把她帶到他們家中並為她提供她急需的醫療護理,她也可能死在那個孤兒院。

不幸的是,這就是採用這種未經修飾和不受歡迎的現實。 尤其是安置困難的情況下,社工不能總是為孩子匹配合適的父母 田園詩 最佳情況:親屬關係、男女父母、穩定而充滿愛意的婚姻、經濟上的準備以及應對孩子特定醫療或行為需求的能力。

對於那些認為不應將孩子與單身或同性養父母或養父母一起安置的保守派或基督徒,您的首要任務是自己成為養父母或養父母。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Originally published at The Federalist)

Bethany Christian Services, the nation’s largest Protestant adoption agency, made headlines this week when they began serving LGBTQ adults after years of rebuffing government pressure to place children with same-sex couples. To see which way the evangelical winds were blowing, Bethany commissioned the Barna Group to survey Christians on the question of LGBTQ adoptions. The report found 55 percent of Christians expressed some level of support for same-sex adoption.

Unfortunately, Bethany is looking to the wrong demographic to determine its placement policy. Criteria for adoptive parents should not be based on public opinion, not even Christian public opinion. Frankly, the demographic that should determine an agency’s placement policy isn’t adults at all, it’s the children in need of adoptive parents.

Who Is Adoption For?

Like so many other “marriage and family” issues, our culture gets questions about adoption exactly backward. Some states have forced Christian agencies to serve gays and lesbians, citing federal anti-discrimination laws. Op-eds have accused agencies that refuse to place children with same-sex couples of “resisting” LGBTQ rights. When we examine marriage and family issues from the adult’s perspective, we often arrive at the wrong answers, and that’s especially true in the adoption debate.

The reality is adoption isn’t about adults — it’s about the children. Thus answer to the question “Do gay people have a right to adopt?” is a hard “No.” Similarly, the answer to the question “Does a Christian married husband and wife have a right to adopt?” is also “No.”

No adult has a right to a child who is not biologically related. Thus, no adult has an inherent right to adopt. Rather, children who have lost their parents through tragedy have a right to be adopted.

When adoption is properly understood — as a just society’s response to children who have lost their parents, either to death or abandonment — it’s clear the child is the client, not the adults. Adoption is a critical institution that serves children in need. Whenever possible, children need a married mother and father.

Men and women are gloriously different, and those differences are most prominently displayed in the home. Yes, contrary to what you’ve heard, sex is not a social construct. In fact, so different are the ways that men and women interact with their children, many experts now believe there’s no such thing as “parenting” per se — there’s only mothering and fathering, and kids need both.

As an adoptive mom myself, I see that firsthand. All of our children — especially our adopted son — desperately need the distinct and complementary ways that my husband and I talk to, encourage, discipline, and interact with each of our children. My friend Samantha describes being raised by her dad and his boyfriend:

My formative years were almost entirely devoid of women. I didn’t even know that there was such a thing as a mother until I watched ‘The Land Before Time’ at school. My 5-year-old brain could not understand why I didn’t have the mom that I suddenly desperately wanted. I felt the loss. I felt the hole. As I grew, I tried to fill that hole with aunts, my dads’ lesbian friends, and teachers. I remember asking my first-grade teacher if I could call her mom. I asked that question of any woman who showed me any amount of love and affection. It was instinctive. I craved a mother’s love even though I was well-loved by my two gay dads.

Kids long for and benefit from both maternal and paternal love. Any adoption agency that fails to prioritize mothers and fathers in child placements is catering not to the best interest of the children, but to social pressure, adult desires, or ideological lies and is thus abandoning their true clients: the children.

The Ideal Isn’t Always Possible

With apologies to my fellow culture warrior Matt Walsh, I disagree that “it should be illegal for adoption agencies to place a child in anything but a stable mother and father home.” I certainly wish every child would be placed with a mother and father. But unless you’re talking about the years-long wait for white, drug-free infants (many of whom would be better served if we supported the birth mother in parenting her own child), there’s a shortage of mothers and fathers seeking to adopt.

Whether it’s children languishing in overseas orphanages or the explosion of opioid-orphaned or abandoned children who are older, have special needs, and often come in sibling groups, sometimes the married mother-father ideal simply isn’t available.

While working as the assistant director at a Chinese adoption agency, I experienced this up close and personal. Friends of mine — a lesbian couple — were made aware of a child overseas whose age and special needs had deterred several prospective heterosexual parents. Thus, their agency placed this little girl with my two friends, the only adults willing to take on her hard case.

Knowing my adoption background and expecting a difficult trip, they asked me to accompany them as they met their daughter for the first time. I gladly joined them for those two challenging weeks as they adjusted to their daughter’s significant medical and emotional needs.

Would this sweet girl have been better off in a home where she could experience paternal love as well as maternal love? Without a doubt. But she also could have died in that orphanage if my friends had not brought her into their home and provided her the medical care she desperately needed.

Unfortunately, that’s the unvarnished and unpopular reality of adoption. Especially with difficult placements, social workers can’t always match the child with parents who fit the idyllic best situation: a kinship connection, male and female parents, a stable and loving marriage, financial readiness, and the ability to cope with the child’s specific medical or behavioral needs.

For those conservatives or Christians who think children should not be placed with single or same-sex foster or adoptive parents, your first order of business is to become a foster parent or adoptive parent yourself.

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This