兒童是脆弱的人,需要最大限度的供應、愛、關注、道德教育和美德的灌輸。 如果沒有適當的照顧,孩子將無法在嬰儿期存活下來,也無法成長至成熟。 根據年齡的不同,孩子在不同程度上有不同的需求。 例如,一個嬰兒比一個 XNUMX 歲的男孩需要更多的關注。 儘管如此,他們都需要適當的培養。 但是哪些成年人最適合照顧孩子呢?

數十年的研究得出的答案很明確:一男一女合作共同撫養孩子。

如果性別差異在育兒過程中並不重要,那麼孩子們就不會在沒有父親的家庭中錯過任何獨特的父母福利。 然而,這種情況並非如此。 性別差異是真實存在的,它們對兒童有重大影響。 例如,來自無父家庭的孩子更容易患 儘早進行性活動 在生活中,更有可能 生活貧困,並且有更高的機會 犯罪和藥物濫用.

誠然,有些孩子在寄養家庭、孤兒院、養父母、同性父母或單親家庭中長大,他們的生活很出色。 然而,這些例外並不推翻 公認的事實 “兩個父母——父親和母親——對孩子來說比一個父母更好。” 同樣重要的是要注意,在一個家庭中擁有父親和母親本身是不夠的。 父親和母親必須與他們的孩子一起參與,父親和母親之間的關係必須是低衝突的關係。 這些是最有利於兒童的條件。

為人父母的生物學基礎

男性和女性之間的生物學差異有助於塑造他們的養育方式,而這些養育方式會產生獨特的效果,以多種方式使兒童受益。 儘管父親和母親都有相同的目標:成功撫養孩子,但他們實現這一目標的方式不同。

在題為“基於性別的父母對撫養孩子的影響”的一章中,精神病學家和美國精神病學協會的傑出研究員斯科特·哈爾茨曼(Scott Haltzman)觀察到:

育兒方式與男女之間的生物學差異有關。 與男性相比,女性的催產素(負責情感聯繫的激素)和催產素受體水平更高。 催產素有助於平息焦慮,減少運動活動,並促進接觸的增加。 相比之下,男性體內的睾酮水平是女性的 XNUMX 倍,這與男嬰運動活動的增加有關,並且與女性相比,男性的身體活動水平可能更高。

在他的 , “性別育兒對兒童福祉的影響:應用視角的理論和研究”特拉華大學人類發展和家庭研究教授 Rob Palkovitz 寫道,

就生理性別而言,作為父母,男性往往比女性更堅定、更不直接,而女性往往比男性更敏感、更有條理和更有條理。 父親比母親對孩子解決問題的要求更高,對完成任務提出更多與行動相關的要求。 與母親相比,父親在使用玩具和物品方面往往更加非傳統,並且使用物品與孩子進行身體接觸的程度比母親更大。 與母親相比,父親在玩耍時也會通過戲弄來破壞孩子的穩定性

性別差異 和育兒

一般來說,母親會花更多的時間陪伴孩子。 而且由於母親花更多的時間陪伴孩子,母親有更多的遊戲時間陪伴孩子。 然而,父母與孩子玩耍的方​​式是不同的。 羅格斯大學社會學家大衛波波諾, 筆記 父親“更強調遊戲而不是照顧,他們的遊戲更有可能涉及粗暴的方法。” 父親強調更多的競爭、冒險和獨立,而母親則強調更多自定進度的遊戲,也就是說,母親傾向於鼓勵更多與孩子水平相同的遊戲。 例如,父親更有可能鼓勵他們的孩子和他們一起去遠足,走更具挑戰性的小徑。 父親更有可能與孩子進行摔跤和搏鬥,也更有可能參加對體力要求更高的運動。 通過促進和鼓勵多樣化的活動,父親和母親以不同的方式培養孩子。

John Snarey,埃默里坎德勒神學院人類發展與倫理學教授 寫入, “孩子們與父親打鬧。 . . 通常很快就會知道咬、踢和其他形式的身體暴力是不可接受的。” 因此,一個參與孩子生活的父親對於培養自我控制的特質至關重要。

此外,尊重和愛妻子的父親成為兒子的理想榜樣。 參與其中的父親極大地影響了兒子的男性性格特徵。 根據波佩諾的說法,通過讓父親出現在他們的生活中,兒子們可以了解“男性的責任和成就,如何適當地自信和獨立,以及如何與異性相處。”

賓夕法尼亞州立大學人類發展與家庭研究副教授 David J. Eggebeen 當父親幾乎沒有積極地與孩子相處時 寫入 孩子們更有可能出現“抑鬱症狀”,並且更有可能“犯罪”。 父親與孩子相處得越積極,他們遇到這些問題的可能性就越小。

格倫斯坦頓 解釋說,父親讓他們了解男人的世界,而母親則讓他們的孩子了解女人的世界。

與父親一起長大的女孩和男孩對男人的好奇世界更加熟悉和安全。 有參與的已婚父親的女孩更有可能與青春期的男孩和成年期的男人建立更健康的關係,因為她們從父親那裡學到了正確的男人如何對待女性。 他們還向媽媽學習如何生活在女人的世界裡。 這種知識從掠奪性男性的剝削中建立情感安全和安全。 母親幫助男孩了解女性世界並培養對女性的敏感性。 他們還幫助男孩知道如何與女性建立聯繫和交流。

在“基於性別的父母對撫養孩子的影響”中,斯科特·哈爾茨曼總結道,“父親和母親都很重要,特別是如果每個人都能以反映其性別角色的方式為人父母。 證據表明,應該努力教育整個社會,特別是父母,父母的性別差異是真實存在的,而不是被消滅或忽視,它們應該被接受。”

父母的價值是不可否認的。 丈夫和妻子不僅由於生物學上的不同而相互補充,而且當他們生育時,他們的生物學上的差異也會擴大到使他們的孩子受益。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Children are fragile human beings that require the utmost provision, love, attention, moral education, and the inculcation of virtues. Without the proper care, children would not survive infancy nor grow to maturity.  Depending on their age, children possess different needs in different degrees. For example, an infant is going to require more attention than a twelve-year-old boy. Nonetheless, they both require the proper nurture. But which adults are in the best position to take care of children?

The answer from decades of research is clear: a man and a woman cooperating to raise their children together.

If gender differences did not matter in parenting, then children would not be missing out on any unique parental benefits in a fatherless home. However, this is not the case. Gender differences are real and they have a significant impact on children. For example, children from fatherless homes are more prone to engage in sexual activities early in life, are more likely to live in poverty, and have higher chances of delinquency and drug abuse.

Granted, there are children who grew up in foster homes, orphanages, with adoptive parents, same-sex parents, or in a single-parent household who are excelling in life. However, these exceptions do not overrule the well-established fact that “two parents—a father and a mother—are better for a child than one parent.” It is also important to note that having a father and a mother together in a household, in itself, is not enough. Fathers and mothers must be involved with their children and the relationship between the father and the mother must be a low-conflict relationship. These are the conditions that most benefit children.

The Biological Foundation of Mothering and Fathering

Biological differences between men and women help shape their parenting styles and these parenting styles produce unique effects which benefit children in numerous ways. Although both father and mother share the same goal: successfully raise their children, they achieve that goal differently.

In a chapter titled “The Effect of Gender-Based Parental Influences on Raising Children,” psychiatrist and distinguished fellow of the American Psychiatric Association Scott Haltzman observes:

Parenting styles correlate to biological differences between men and women. Women, compared to men, have higher levels of oxytocin—the hormone responsible for emotional bonding—and oxytocin receptors. Oxytocin serves to calm anxiety, reduce motor activity, and foster an increase in touch. In contrast, testosterone—present in men at levels tenfold higher than women—is correlated to an increase in motor activity in infant boys and may be responsible for higher levels of physical activities in men compared to women.

In his chapter, “Gendered Parenting’s Implications for Children’s Well-Being: Theory and Research in Applied Perspective” Rob Palkovitz, professor of human development and family studies at the University of Delaware writes,

As far as biological sex goes, men tend to be firmer and more nondirective than women as parents, while women tend to be more responsive, structured, and regimented than men. Fathers are more demanding of children in regard to problem solving than mothers and make more action-related demands for accomplishment of tasks. Fathers tend to be more unconventional in their toy and object use than mothers and use objects to engage in physical contact with children to a greater degree than mothers. Fathers also destabilize children during play through the use of teasing to a greater extent than mothers

Gender Differences and Parenting

Generally, mothers spend more time with their children. And because mothers spend more time with their children, mothers have more playtime with their children. Nevertheless, the way fathers and mothers play with their children is different. Rutgers University sociologist David Popenoe, notes that fathers “emphasize play more than caretaking and their play is more likely to involve a rough-and-tumble approach.” Fathers emphasize more competition, risk-taking, and independence while mothers stress more self-paced play, that is, mothers tend to encourage more play that is at their child’s level. For example, fathers are more likely to encourage their kids to go hiking with them and take a more challenging trail. Fathers are more likely to engage in wrestling and grappling with their kids and also to play sports that are more physically demanding. By promoting and encouraging diverse activities, fathers and mothers build their children up in distinct ways.

John Snarey, Professor of Human Development and Ethics at Emory’s Candler School of Theology writes, “Children who roughhouse with their fathers. . . usually quickly learn that biting, kicking, and other forms of physical violence are not acceptable.” An involved father in the lives of his children is thus, critical in the developing of the trait of self-control.

Moreover, involved fathers who respect and love their wife become ideal role models for their sons. Involved fathers greatly impact their son’s masculine character traits. According to Popenoe, by having their father present in their lives, sons learn about “male responsibility and achievement, how to be suitably assertive and independent, and how to relate acceptably with the opposite sex.”

When fathers have little to no positive involvement with their children, David J. Eggebeen, Associate Professor of Human Development and Family Studies at Penn State University writes that children are more likely to experience “depression symptoms,” and are more likely to “engage in delinquency.” The more positively involved a father is with their children, the less likely they are to experience these issues.

Glenn Stanton explains that fathers provide a look at the world of men while mothers offer their children insight into the world of women.

Girls and boys who grow up with a father are more familiar and secure with the curious world of men. Girls with involved, married fathers are more likely to have healthier relationships with boys in adolescence and men in adulthood because they learn from their fathers how proper men act toward women. They also learn from mom how to live in a woman’s world. This knowledge builds emotional security and safety from the exploitation of predatory males. Mothers help boys understand the female world and develop a sensitivity toward women. They also help boys know how to relate and communicate with women.

In “The Effect of Gender-Based Parental Influences on Raising Children,” Scott Haltzman concludes, “Fathers and mothers both matter, particularly if each can parent in a style that reflects their gender role. The evidence suggests that efforts should be made to educate society at large, and parents in particular, that gender differences in parents are real, and, rather than be extinguished or ignored, they should be embraced.”

The value of fathers and mothers is undeniable. A husband and a wife do not only complement each other by virtue of being biologically different but when they procreate, their biological differences extend to benefit their children as well.

Previous Article

Maria

My parents divorced when I was eight.  At the time I had no idea that ... Read more

Next Article

Bill Nye, Ice Cream, and "flavors of sexuality"

Bill Nye the *honorary* Science Guy has ventured into new, unscientific territory and he has ... Read more

Share This