多年來,我一直想寫下我的童年,但我一直在努力。 不再。 我將我的童年故事分為兩個部分:1998年到2009年的早年(父母離婚),以及2009年到2015年(當我頓悟並開始放下在我內心沸騰的仇恨時)前六年)。 

我應該從哪裡開始? 我將從基礎開始:我於 1 年 1998 月 XNUMX 日出生在蘭利空軍基地(不,我父母不在空軍。那是最近的醫院,我媽媽在軍隊的另一個分支時間)。 我在一個月大的嬰兒時搬到康涅狄格州,所以我對我出生的房子沒有任何記憶。 我只記得康涅狄格州轉瞬即逝的事情:天氣很冷,我總是生病,我父親在 BJ's 工作。

我真的在弗吉尼亞長大,2002 年我搬到了那裡。可以說我的童年很快樂:我喜歡運動,在學校裡玩得很開心,還有一些朋友,但這裡有更深層次的東西:作為一個孩子,我可以記得上床睡覺時內心空虛,有時會哭,不知道為什麼我很難過。 直到後來當我長大並與人交往時,我才知道我父母對我的待遇與我的課程完全不同。 雖然大多數父母在孩子還是嬰兒的時候都和他們一起玩,但我媽媽說,除非我哭,否則她從來沒有真正碰過我還是嬰兒時的我。 她認為安靜意味著我很滿足。 翻翻我的舊相冊,我找不到父母抱著我的照片。 我能看到的最接近的是他們在拍照時將手臂放在我的肩膀上。 他們也很少給我讀書,我媽媽也從來沒有像她媽媽對她唱過的那樣給我唱搖籃曲。 我猜她太“自由”了,不關心養育她的孩子。 但我相信對我來說最大的震驚是我生病時的治療方式。 每當我生病時,我的父母基本上都會隔離我,把我鎖在房間裡,只開門給我食物。 我直到 18 歲才知道,大多數父母實際上都在努力讓孩子在生病時感覺好些。 我沒有這些。 我小時候經常生病,尤其是在康涅狄格州。

現在我將繼續談論我的兄弟。 他曾經是,現在仍然是個大混蛋。 他經常對我進行身體虐待,無數次甚至出現虐待的身體跡象(疤痕、瘀傷),而我的父母很少干預或懲罰他。 他們每個人都說這是對方的責任,所以我一直受到傷害。 當我哭著問我哥哥為什麼不能阻止時,他們說這是兄弟做的。 但他所做的真正影響我的不僅僅是混蛋。 它發生在 2008 年的複活節週末,就在我十歲之前。 假期我們住在我爸爸的父母家。 當我和他在後臥室的大臥室裡時,他說“山姆,這就是你強姦女孩的方式”,然後把我扔到床上,把他的骨盆推到我的屁股上,穿著衣服。 當時我並沒有多想,因為我知道我的父母不會對他們心愛的孩子做任何事情。 我記得第一次告訴另一個靈魂這件事是在十年級的時候,當時我對一位老師發表了關於發生的事情的即興評論。 當然,我的母親發現並告訴我要把這樣的事情留在家裡。 直到今年,在與治療師的一次會面中,我才了解到,學區沒有對投訴採取進一步行動,忽視了其在兒童福利方面的職責。 我頭十一年的故事到此結束,接下來是六年的地獄。

我清楚地記得日期:12 年 2009 月 XNUMX 日,復活節星期日。 我的父母讓我和哥哥坐下來,說他們會離婚。 這是痛苦的,也是我六年地獄的開始。 我幾乎立即開始採取行動,結果被放置在只會使問題惡化的藥物上。 那年九月,我開始上六年級。 幾乎立刻我就遇到了麻煩。 在我轉到另一所學校之前,我已經累積了十天的停課時間。 新學校對我來說好多了,但問題仍然存在。 然而,在八年級的最後兩個月,我最終回到了原來的中學。 現在我的高中故事開始了:

4 年 2012 月 18 日我開始上九年級。我還有一些問題,包括打架,但一直到 2012 年 28 月 2013 日還算順利。那天我被從第一節課中除名並被拖到校長辦公室. 他們告訴我,由於在 Facebook 上發表評論,我將被無限期停職。 然而,有可取之處。 學校內有一個為問題青年設立的“校中校”。 當我從寒假回來時,我開始在那裡學習。 我在走讀學校的任期比普通高中要好得多,我在那裡交了一個朋友,七年後我仍然是朋友,但發生的兩件事永久地改變了我的生活。 第一次是 15 年 19 月 2014 日。出於某種原因,我試圖通過勒死自己來自殺。 我被送進精神病院四天,在我 XNUMX 歲生日那天出院。 不到一年後的 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,類似的事情發生了。 我現在不記得確切的細節,但一件事導致了另一件事,我最終回到了同一家精神病院。 然而,這一次,事情變得更加可怕。 我媽媽真的相信我需要被“拯救”,於是扭著胳膊去離我家大約一個小時車程的“長期護理機構”。 

我在這家長期機構的時光令人難忘,但並不重要。 2014年1月我被釋放了。更重要的是我回家後發生的事情。 您會看到學校內部的學校有一個等級系統:您表現得越好,您獲得的特權就越多。 在二月份發生爭執時,我是四級。 但是,我被告知,當我回來時,我將再次從最低級別開始,沒有特權。 這激怒了我,我表現得很溫和。 2014 年 29 月 2014 日,我被要求離開該項目,並開始尋找替代學校。 19 年 2015 月 XNUMX 日,我開始在替代路徑培訓學校學習。 前兩個月相當平靜,但我沒有遇到麻煩。 當我在 XNUMX 月服用一種新藥時,一切都發生了變化。 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,我很沮喪,因為我不得不在馬丁路德金紀念日去上學,而公立學校卻放假了。 我與一名工作人員發生爭執,不得不被克制。 當我回到家時,我需要有人和我的表弟交談。 我們發了幾個小時的短信,我覺得有一個釋放閥真是太好了。 但在那之後她因為工作原因沒空,因此我需要另一個出口。 那是我上推特的時候。

然而回到現實世界,生活也好不了多少。 一月結束之前,我又發生了兩次爭吵,導致我媽媽得出結論說我無法得救。 我試圖告訴她離婚確實影響了我,但她告訴我要克服它,她需要為自己離婚。 那一刻,我意識到她永遠無法為自己的行為負責,我向自己發誓,再也不會和她討論離婚的事情。 三月份,我和哥哥發生爭執,導致我用椅子襲擊了他。 另一場爭執涉及我、我的兄弟和我們的父親,轉折點是 17 月 XNUMX 日。 我和我的兄弟又捲入其中,他威脅要報警對付我。 當我父親回到家時,我淚流滿面,非常慚愧。 他的女朋友說,也許我開始服用的藥可能對我有一些影響。 她是對的:自 XNUMX 月以來我遇到的所有問題都是藥瓶上列出的副作用。 我被停藥了。 

23 年 2015 月 25 日是真正改變我生活的一天。 那天,我的表弟、他的朋友和我決定去鎮上找點樂子。 但我覺得無聊,就打電話給姑姑來接我。 當泰勒回到家時,他在慫恿我叫我貓和各種各樣的事情。 我問他是否想打架,他答應了。 我把他打暈了。 而且由於他有心髒病,一拳打在胸口就可以殺死他。 此外,我認為我的所作所為在法律上是可以的,因為從小我的父母(甚至就在前一周)告訴我“爭吵”是暴力的正當理由。 我當然認為,如果我們都同意打架,不會有什麼不好的事情發生。 但這並不是真正重要的。 在我的一生中,我的兄弟一直在毆打我,而我沒有出路來對付別人。 泰勒對這些東西免疫,因為他有心髒病。 我被打了,但我從來沒有打過。 十七年的侵略性在我內心積累,我認為最終能夠以我被毆打的方式擊敗某人會讓我感覺更好。 媽的,我錯了。 我覺得自己像個徹頭徹尾的狗屎,我就是。 然而,這個故事確實以一個快樂的音符結束。 12號回到學校時,我停藥了。 在接下來的兩個半月裡,我的行為幾乎沒有瑕疵。 2015 年 XNUMX 月 XNUMX 日,我取得了迄今為止我人生中最大的勝利:我將回到普通高中讀大四​​。 

這一切都是將近五年前的事了,但我永遠不會忘記從 2015 年 2015 月到 XNUMX 年 XNUMX 月這關鍵的八個月,它改變了我作為一個人,讓我成為了一個成年人。 是時候收起幼稚的東西了。 男孩,我做到了。 我父母的離婚讓我變得堅強,讓我在情感上像孩子一樣呆了六年。 我只是通過深入的靈魂探索克服了它。 我希望我能有一個正常的童年,但現在我知道在我自己的生活中不能犯什麼錯誤。 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

I’ve been meaning to write about my childhood for years but I kept kicking the can down the road. No more. I shall divide the story of my childhood into two parts: the early years from 1998 to 2009 (parents’ divorce), and 2009 to 2015 (when I had an epiphany and began to let go of the hatreds that had boiled inside of me the prior six years). 

Where should I begin? I shall start with the basics: I was born on April 1st, 1998 at Langley Air Force base (no, my parents weren’t in the air force. It was the closest hospital and my mom was in another branch of the armed forces at the time). I moved to Connecticut as a month old infant so I have no memories of the house of my birth. I remember only fleeting things about Connecticut: It was cold, I was always sick, and my dad worked at BJ’s.

I really grew up in Virginia, where I moved to in 2002. One could say my childhood was happy: I played sports, enjoyed myself in school, and had some friends, but there was something deeper at root here: as a child I could remember going to bed feeling empty at heart, sometimes crying and not knowing WHY I was sad. Only later when I grew up and interacted with people did I learn my parents treatment of me was no par for the course. Whereas most parents played with their children when they were babies, my mom said she never really touched me as a baby unless I was crying. She thought that being quiet meant I was content. And looking through my old photo albums I can’t find any pictures of my parents holding me. The closest I can see is when they put their arms on my shoulders when taking pictures. They rarely read to me either and my mother never sang me a lullaby like her mother had done to her. I guess she was too “liberated” to concern herself with nurturing her child. But I believe the biggest shock to me was how I was treated when I was sick. My parents essentially quarantined me whenever I got sick, locking me in my room and only opening the door to give me food. I didn’t know until I was 18 that most parents actually tried to make their children feel better during their ailments. I had none of that. And I was constantly sick as a child, especially in Connecticut.

Now I shall move on to talking about my brother. He was and still is a massive asshole. He would frequently physically abuse me, numerous times to the point of physical signs of abuse (scars, bruises) and my parents rarely  intervened  or punished him. They each said it was the other’s responsibility, so I was constantly being hurt. When I would ask in tears why couldn’t my brother stop it, they said that was what brothers did. But what he did that truly affected me was more than mere assholery. It took place on Easter weekend of 2008, right before I turned ten. We were staying at my dad’s parents’ house for the holiday. While me and him were in the large back bedroom, he stated “Sam, this is how you rape a girl,” and proceeded to throw me on the bed and thrust his pelvis on my ass, fully clothed. At the time I did not think much of it as I knew my parents would not do anything to their favored child. The first time I remember telling another soul about it was in tenth grade when I made an off-the-cuff remark to a teacher about what happened. My mother, of course, found out and told me to keep things like that within the family. And it was only this year that, in a meeting with a therapist, I learned by not acting on the complaint further the school district was neglecting its duties for child welfare. This is where the story of my first eleven years comes to an end, only to be followed by six years of hell.

I remember the date clearly: April 12th, 2009, Easter Sunday. My parents sat my brother and I down and said they would get divorced. This was traumatic and where my six years of hell began. I almost immediately began to act out and as a result was placed on medicines that only worsened the problem. In September of that year I began the sixth grade. Almost immediately I ran into trouble. Before I was moved to another school, I had accumulated ten days of out of school suspensions. The new school went much better for me but problems persisted. However for the last two months of eighth grade, I ended up back at my original middle school. Now my high school story begins:

I began the ninth grade on September 4th, 2012. I still had some problems, including a fight, but it was relatively smooth sailing until December 18th, 2012. On that day I was removed from my first period class and hauled to the principal’s office. They informed me that due to comments made on Facebook, I would be suspended indefinitely. However there was saving grace. Within the school there was a “school within a school” for troubled youth. When I returned from winter break I began my studies there. My tenure at the day school was much better than the regular high school, and I made a friend there that is still a friend seven years later, but two events happened that permanently altered my life. The first was March 28th, 2013. For some reason or another I tried to commit suicide by strangling myself. I was sent for four days to a mental hospital and was released on my 15th birthday. Less than a year later on February 19th, 2014, something similar occurred. I don’t remember the exact details now but one thing led to another and I wound up back at that same mental hospital. This time, however, things were more dire. My mom truly believed that I needed to be “saved” and twisted my arm into going to a “long term care facility” about an hour from my house. 

My time at this long-term facility was memorable, but not important. I was released in June 2014. What was more important was what happened after I returned home. You see the school within the school had a level system: the better you behaved the more privileges you earned. At the time of my altercation in February, I was a level four. However, I was informed that when I returned back I would start from the lowest level again, with no privileges. This angered me and I acted out mildly. On October 1st, 2014, I was asked to leave the program and my search for an alternative school began. On October 29th, 2014 I began at Alternative Paths Training School. The first two months were rather uneventful but I stayed out of trouble. All that changed when in December I was put on a new medicine. On January 19th, 2015, I was upset that I had to go to school on Martin Luther King Day while the public school had off. I got into an altercation with a staff member and had to be restrained. When I got home I needed someone to talk to and talked to my cousin. We texted for hours and I felt so good to have a release valve. But after that she was unavailable due to work, and thus I needed another outlet. That’s when I got on Twitter.

However back in the real world, life was not much better. Before January was over I got into two more altercations leading my mom to conclude I could not be saved. I tried to tell her the divorce had really affected me, but she told me to get over it and that she needed the divorce for herself. At that moment I had realized she could never take responsibility for her actions and pledged to myself to never discuss the divorce with her again. In March, an altercation between my brother and I led to me attacking him with a chair. Another altercation involved me, my brother, and our father, and the tipping point was March 17th. My brother and I got into it again and he threatened to call the cops on me. When my dad got home I was in tears and so ashamed. His girlfriend suggested that perhaps the medicine I had begun to take might have had some effects on me. And she was right: all the problems I had had since December were the listed side effects on the bottle of pills. I was taken off the medicine. 

March 23rd, 2015 was the day that truly changed my life. That day my cousin, his friend, and I decided to walk into the town for some fun. But I grew bored and called my Aunt to pick me up. When Tyler returned home he was egging me on calling me a pussy and all sorts of things. I asked if he wanted to fight and he obliged. I knocked him out. And since he has a heart condition, a punch to the chest can literally kill him. Furthermore, I thought what I did was okay legally because growing up my parents (even as recently as the prior week) had told me “fighting words” were a legitimate reason for violence. I surely assumed if we both consented to the fight nothing bad would come of it. But that was not what really mattered. All my life my brother had beat up on me and I had no outlet to pick on someone else. Tyler was immune from this stuff because he had a heart condition. I was given beatings but I never gave any. I had seventeen years of aggression built up inside of me, and I thought finally being able to beat someone the way I was beaten would make me feel better. Damn, I was wrong. I felt like total and complete shit and I was. However, this story does end on a happy note. When I got back to school on the 25th, I was off the medicine. Over the next two and a half months my behavior was nearly without blemish. On June 12th, 2015, I scored the biggest victory of my life thus far: I would be returning to the regular high school for my senior year. 

All of that was nearly five years ago, but I will never forget those crucial eight months from October of 2015 to June of 2015 that changed me as a person and made me into an adult. It was time to put away childish things. And boy did I. My parents’ divorce hardened me and stuck me emotionally in a childlike state for six years. I only overcame it through deep soul searching. I wish I could have had a regular childhood, but now I know what mistakes not to make in my own life. 

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This