(最初發表於 聯邦黨人)

可能的翻盤 羅伊訴韋德案。 涉 讓許多生殖技術倡導者感到恐慌,特別是 美國生殖醫學學會. 當墮胎政策由個別州決定時,路易斯安那州等人格法 人命保護法 和德克薩斯的 心跳法案 可以立即將 Big Fertility 商業模式的許多方面定為犯罪。 這是因為破壞人類生命是體外受精 (IVF) 的重要組成部分。

對實驗室創造的兒童生命權的侵犯始於培養皿。 首先,體外受精通常涉及 6 或 7 天大的囊胚的植入前篩查 (早期胚胎),不僅可以確定植入成功的可能性,還可以篩查唐氏綜合症等染色體異常,以及乳腺癌、囊性纖維化和脊髓性肌萎縮等遺傳性遺傳異常。 只有被確定為“基因健康和正常”的微小人類被轉移用於植入或冷凍以備將來使用。 其餘的被丟棄。

研究人員發現然而,具有異常細胞的胚胎具有自我糾正的能力,或者將異常細胞推出並用正常細胞替換它們。 當然,消除這些早期胚胎會破壞無數發育中的人類,這些人類後來可能被認為是“優質”的。

北肯塔基大學的 Judith Daar 認為,由於人身法,可能會禁止常規對胚胎進行的基因檢測, 據CNN報導. 如果他們確實沒有接受“質量”篩查,今天有多少嬰兒還活著?

但即使體外受精嬰兒沒有被丟棄,他們仍然沒有走出困境。 許多被認為是“剩餘的”或“剩菜”並被低溫冷凍。 根據南衛理公會大學教授 西瑪·莫哈帕特拉,專門從事輔助生殖的人,“總是有多餘的胚胎……你不知道它是否會進行第一個週期。”

我們現在有 超過一百萬個冷凍胚胎 在這個國家,因為這種做法非常普遍。 如果胚胎在法律上被認為是人類,那麼診所如果繼續丟棄或 冷凍 那些“多餘的”和“不需要的”胚胎。

多個胚胎的“選擇性減少”

此外,支持生命的法律可能會阻礙 流產 “選擇性還原”,標準 代孕合同. 人們不僅擔心診所丟棄染色體異常的胚胎可能會違反州法律,而且他們將不再被允許“選擇性地減少”任何可能植入的“額外”兒童。 翻譯:未出生的試管嬰兒是設計師和一次性用品,無論是在實驗室還是在子宮裡。

這意味著推翻 魚子 最終可以結束實驗室創造的生命的常規丟棄、凍結和終止。

為什麼需要創造、儲存和過度植入如此多的胚胎? 哈佛法學教授瑪麗齊格勒 告訴你 許多生育診所不會:“IVF 週期成功的機會並不高,因此醫生通常會植入多個胚胎,以最大限度地提高至少一次懷孕的機率。” 標準的生育診所操作程序——包括丟棄不需要的胚胎和質量和數量控制流產——意味著 只有7% 所有實驗室創造的孩子都是活生生的。

因試錯而失去的生命

對於那些在植入中獲得機會並避免“選擇性減少”的幸運胚胎, 平均活產率 在 35-37 歲的女性(使用自己的卵子)中,這一比例為 42.8%。 使用 IVF 的 38-40 歲女性的活產率為 35.5%。

此外,在第一個體外受精週期後,不到 30% 的女性活產,之後的成功率只有微不足道的 45%  試管嬰兒的完整週期。 三分之二的患者會成功 六個或更多 循環。 在這種廣泛的試錯轉移過程中,有多少小生命正在失去?

沒有幸運地成為 7% 活著出生的胚胎或至少死在母親子宮內的兄弟姐妹會發生什麼? 它們被丟棄,無限期冷凍,“捐贈給研究”並進行實驗直到死亡,或者“捐贈”對其他成年人。 這個行業不尊重人的生命。

墮胎法真的會影響試管嬰兒嗎?

雖然最高法院根據美國憲法宣布胎兒的人性將是朝著保護胚胎生命邁出的一大步,但支持生命的立法者並不認為 IVF 只會受到推翻 魚子.

Clarke Forsythe,American United for Life 的高級顧問,告訴我,“阿利託大法官洩露的意見草案,如果成為最高法院的官方意見,具體限制了法院裁決的範圍 羅伊訴韋德案。 涉 以及法院定義為“終止妊娠”的“墮胎權”。 這意味著宮內妊娠。”

福賽思說,阿利托明確表示,他的意見僅限於墮胎,不影響其他法律領域。 宮外,實驗室胚胎尚未被覆蓋 魚子 也不受墮胎法的保護,體外受精不受 魚子.

“自 1981 年以來,一直保護 IVF 及其發展的因素是公眾輿論、付費客戶以及想要 IVF 的特殊利益,”Forsythe 說。

“對試管受精的監管不足,但幾乎沒有一個州因為試管受精很受歡迎而試圖禁止它。 如果之前沒有太多監管 多布斯, 我看不到很多監管之後 多布斯. 但紅色州可能會出現更嚴格的法規,”他說。

當前的州墮胎禁令將禁止“選擇性減少”

吉納維芙·馬農 (Genevieve Marnon),立法主任 密歇根州的生命權,說,“首先,每個州都會因為不同的州法律和州憲法而有所不同。 二、洩露的草案很明確,推翻 魚子 將簡單地扭轉嚴重錯誤的決定 魚子,它允許墮胎,但對剩餘的胚胎保持沉默。 洩露的草案並沒有將未出生的孩子宣佈為聯邦憲法下的人……因此,我沒有看到推翻 魚子 禁止破壞胚胎生命,沒有這方面的州法律。”

馬農舉了密歇根州法律的例子:“我們有一個 2008 年憲法規定 明確授予對體外受精剩餘胚胎進行實驗的權利。 這項憲法權利不會因取消聯邦憲法中的墮胎權而受到影響。 在密歇根,我們有一個 全面禁止墮胎,但我們的憲法將取代州法規。 在其他州,整個 9 個月的按需墮胎將繼續有增無減。 IVF 不會受到任何影響。”

Marnon 說,IVF 在密歇根州受到影響的唯一方法是選擇性減少。 如果允許密歇根州完全禁止墮胎,那麼選擇性減少將被禁止。 “可悲的是,製造、冷凍和破壞胚胎將繼續有增無減,”馬農補充道。

Big Fertility 擔心反墮胎法律會破壞他們的商業模式是有道理的,即使這些擔憂可能被高估了。 長期以來,該行業一直侵犯兒童的生命權、父母的權利以及出生自由——而不是買賣的權利。

希望他們的恐慌能喚醒支持生命的人最終呼籲這個行業的本質——一個兒童市場。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Originally published in The Federalist)

The likely overturning of Roe v. Wade has panicked many reproductive technology advocates, specifically the American Society for Reproductive Medicine. When abortion policy is decided by individual states, personhood laws such as Louisiana’s Human Life Protection Act and Texas’s Heartbeat Act could immediately criminalize many aspects of Big Fertility’s business model. That’s because destroying human life is part and parcel of in vitro fertilization (IVF).

The violation of lab-created children’s right to life begins in the petri dish. First, IVF often involves the preimplantation screening of 6 or 7 day old blastocysts (early embryos), to not only determine the likelihood of implantation success, but also screen for chromosomal abnormalities such as Down Syndrome, and inherited genetic anomalies such as breast cancer, cystic fibrosis, and spinal muscular atrophy. Only the tiny humans determined to be “genetically healthy and normal” are transferred for implantation or frozen for future use. The rest are discarded.

Researchers have found, however, that embryos with abnormal cells have the ability to self-correct, or push the abnormal cells out and replace them with normal cells. Eliminating these early embryos, of course, therefore destroys untold numbers of developing human beings that might have later been designated as “good quality.”

Judith Daar of Northern Kentucky University believes the genetic testing that is routinely performed on embryos could be banned as a result of personhood laws, according to CNN. How many babies would be alive today if they were indeed not subjected to “quality” screenings?

But even if IVF babies aren’t discarded, they still aren’t out of the woods. Many are considered “surplus” or “leftovers” and cryogenically frozen. According to Southern Methodist University professor Seema Mohapatra, who specializes in assisted reproduction, “There’s always extra embryos … You don’t know if it’s going to take on the first cycle.”

We currently have more than 1 million frozen embryos in this country because the practice is so widespread. If embryos are legally considered human beings, clinics may violate the law if they continue discarding or freezing those “extra” and “unwanted” embryos.

‘Selective Reduction’ of Multiple Embryos

Further, pro-life laws could hinder the widespread practice of abortion “selective reduction,” standard in surrogacy contracts. Not only is there concern that clinics could be in violation of state law if they discard chromosomally abnormal embryos, but they will no longer be allowed to “selectively reduce” any “extra” children who may implant. Translation: pre-born IVF children are designer and disposable commodities, both in the lab and in the womb.

This means overturning Roe could finally end the routine discarding, freezing, and terminating of lab-created life.

Why the need to create, store and over-implant so many embryos? Harvard Law professor Mary Ziegler tells you what many fertility clinics won’t: “The chances of a successful IVF cycle aren’t that high, so doctors will often implant multiple embryos to maximize the odds at least one pregnancy comes to term.” The standard operating fertility clinic procedures — including discarding undesirable embryos and quality and quantity control abortions — means that only 7 percent of all lab-created children are born alive.

Lives Lost through Trial and Error

For the lucky embryos who do get a shot at implantation and avoid “selective reduction,” the average live birth rate among women aged 35-37 (using their own eggs) is 42.8 percent. Women aged 38-40 using IVF have a live birth rate of 35.5 percent.

Further, after the first IVF cycle, less than 30 percent of women have a live birth, and there’s a paltry 45 percent success rate after three full cycles of IVF. Two-thirds of patients will be successful after six or more cycles. How many little lives are being lost through this extensive trial and error transfer process?

What happens to embryos that aren’t fortunate enough to be among the 7 percent born alive or their siblings who at least died in their mother’s womb? They are discarded, indefinitely frozen, “donated to research” and experimented on until death, or “donated” to other adults. This industry is no respecter of human life.

Will Abortion Laws Actually Affect IVF?

While the Supreme Court declaring the humanity of the preborn under the U.S. Constitution would be an enormous step toward preserving embryonic life, pro-life legislators do not anticipate IVF being affected solely by the overturning of Roe.

Clarke Forsythe, a senior counsel at Americans United for Life, told me, “Justice Alito’s leaked draft opinion, if it becomes the official opinion of the Supreme Court, specifically limited the scope of the Court’s decision to Roe v. Wade and the ‘abortion right’ which the Court has defined as the right to ‘terminate pregnancy.’ Which means an inter-uterine pregnancy.”

Alito made clear that his opinion is limited to abortion and does not affect other areas of law, Forsythe said. Ex utero, laboratory embryos have not been covered by Roe nor by abortion law, and IVF has not been protected by Roe.

“What has protected IVF and its growth since 1981 has been public opinion, paying clients, and the special interests that want IVF,” according to Forsythe.

“There has not been sufficient regulation of IVF, but virtually no state has sought to prohibit IVF because of its popularity. If there has not been much regulation before Dobbs, I don’t see a lot of regulation coming after Dobbs. But it’s possible that stronger regulations might arise in red states,” he said.

Current State Abortion Bans Would Ban ‘Selective Reduction’

Genevieve Marnon, legislative director of Right to Life of Michigan, says, “First, each state will be different because of different state laws and state constitutions. Second, the leaked draft was very clear that overruling Roe will simply reverse the egregiously wrong decision in Roe, which allowed abortion but is silent on leftover embryos. The leaked draft did not go so far as to declare the unborn child a person under the federal constitution… Therefore, I do not see the overruling of Roe banning the destruction of embryonic life, absent a state law to that effect.”

Marnon gave the example of Michigan’s state law: “We have a 2008 constitutional provision that expressly grants the right to experiment on leftover embryos from IVF. This constitutional right will not be impacted by removing a federal constitutional right to abortion. And in Michigan, we have a complete ban on abortion, but our constitution would supersede a state statute. In other states, abortion on demand throughout all 9 months will continue unabated. IVF will not be affected in any way whatsoever.”

The only way IVF would be affected in Michigan, Marnon says, is regarding selective reduction. If Michigan’s complete ban on abortion is allowed to go back into place, then selective reduction would be banned. “Sadly, making, freezing, and destroying embryos will continue unabated,” Marnon added.

Big Fertility’s fear that pro-life laws will wreck their business model is justified, even if these fears are likely overestimated. The industry has long violated children’s right to life, right to their mothers and fathers, and right to be born free — not bought and sold.

Hopefully their panic will be a wake-up call for pro-lifers to finally call out this industry for what it is — a marketplace of children.

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
Share This