2016 年,我購買了 Ancestry DNA 測試。 它在我的櫃檯上放了一個星期,然後我把它吐進管子裡寄出去——把我的遺傳物質送到宇宙中,希望能找到一些關於我自己和我來自哪裡的信息。

這個想法在很多方面都令人恐懼:我會發現什麼? 由於我母親與男人的歷史,我一直懷疑我們生活在貧困中的原因是因為我父親是個罪犯。 我是否有可能讓我的孩子麵臨危險? 也有人擔心我的隱私。 DNA 可用於確定個人的醫療問題,或將某人與冷案犯罪聯繫起來——我的私人信息將來會被用來拒絕醫療服務嗎? 我是否會成為發現遠親是壞人的手段(我會很感激的一個結果)?

我 41 歲,我母親四年前去世,把我父親的名字帶到墳墓裡。 我的出生證明沒有結果,對家人的採訪也空無一物。 我必須將我與自己一半的 DNA 聯繫起來的唯一信息是,我父親是一位名叫“鮑勃”的金發藝術家。 在我們當前技術豐富的時代,這種缺乏信息幾乎是一種違規行為。 

我是誰?

我們告訴自己種族和文化很重要,但對於了解我們作為人的身份並不重要。 我不相信這一點。 我知道我母親的人民很謙虛——我的外祖母瑞典人和祖父是奧塞奇國家的一部分。 使用自由血統,我也只能追溯到幾代人,但我確實發現了極度貧困。 我的外祖父的家庭更高級一些。 他的母親受過大學教育,然而,她患有嚴重的精神疾病,我的祖父和他的兄弟姐妹都難以與生活中的任何人保持深厚的聯繫。 身體和心理上的虐待、不忠和兒童性侵犯形式的亂倫是多年來對他們的虐待的結果。 這兩個分支的黯淡被一些人認為是模範的品質所緩和——對於我們這些有幸擺脫我們基因的負面影響的人來說,培養了強烈的忠誠度以及接受我們親密圈子之外的人的高度容忍度作為家人。 當你處於放棄你的生物學是生存的必要條件的位置時,你學會了拼湊一個新的家庭。 我們也有一種與生俱來的藝術天賦:我有在大奧普里演奏過的堂兄弟,寫過整本音樂目錄的阿姨,而且我的繪畫和寫作技巧高於平均水平。 

我媽媽可以在一周內掌握她接觸過的任何樂器,到她去世時,她的吉他彈得比我見過的任何專業演奏者都要好。 她對弗拉門戈風格的音樂有著特殊的天賦。 我記得小時候坐在她的腳邊,驚嘆於她的手在琴弦上移動時的流暢度。 我的母親也患有未經治療的精神疾病。 我大半生都和祖父母住在一起,因為她不能獨立生活。 在我們遠離他們的那些年裡,我們的房子很髒。 蛆蟲從我們廚房水槽的排水溝裡爬出來,衣服堆積如山,好幾個星期沒洗了。 我曾經帶著蝨子上學,所以它們在我的衣服上可見。 我不止一次被診斷出患有疥瘡——一種人類形式的疥瘡。 我聞起來是因為她大量吸煙。 我被忽視了——如果她不能照顧好自己,她怎麼能照顧我? 當我看電視時,她會迷失在書中,整天坐在她的房間裡,關上門。 如果有電,我們經常不得不將延長線連接到鄰居家,因為我們被關閉了。 那根電線必須維修冰箱。 如果電視不是一種選擇,我會在無人看管的情況下在我們附近閒逛。 我們的家被多次闖入,隔壁的鄰居會派我跑到街上的另一個鄰居那裡去爭取“紅人”,以換取“現在和以後”,直到我媽媽發現並讓我停下來。 這不是一個安全的社區。 當她決定讓她的男朋友“R”(偶爾是汽車美容師/吸毒者/毒販)和他的小兒子“S”和我們住在一起時,我的脆弱性在我們家中暴露得更加明顯(這個決定會導致她失去她等了五年的第 8 節)。 一大群他的朋友和家人進進出出,他們在沙發上睡了幾個星期,或者只是為了從他那裡購買毒品。 我經歷過我的母親從忽視變成了徹底的辱罵,當我們在麥片中使用過多的牛奶或洗澡而不是洗澡時,我會繼續尖叫長篇大論。 她告訴我,她在管教我們時被迫使用髒話,因為當人們對他說好話時,S 不知道該如何表現。

他六歲。 

除了口頭虐待和忽視之外,性虐待也成為等式的一部分。 陌生人的旋轉門包括一些以前因虐待兒童而被定罪的人。 有一段時間,我媽媽在工作時,我和我被交易了毒品。 我有理由確定有家庭電影,在捲軸上拍攝,S 和我彼此進行性行為。 R 擅長通過恐懼來操縱:他曾經告訴我他殺了一個人,然後把他的屍體扔進了沙漠。 在這麼年輕的時候,我從來沒有想過他很可能在撒謊。 即使在他不在我們家的時候,他的影子也籠罩著一切。 他當時進出監獄,但她仍然忠誠。 有一次,她在一個行李袋的壁櫥後面發現了一塊白色粉末。 她讓我看著她把整個東西沖進馬桶,向我解釋說 R 非常喜歡的是毒品,而且值很多錢。 她想讓我見證她的所作所為,因為她害怕他出獄後會殺了她,她希望我能夠提供謀殺她的動機。 

我八歲。

直到我媽媽在醫院生下我的妹妹,他的女兒,他們才分開。 他拿走了她擁有的一切有價值的東西,搬進了一個擁有自己家的女人。 我們最終回到了我的祖父母家。 我們的物品被蟑螂出沒,我們無法將它們帶入屋子,所以我多年生活中保留的一點點好東西最終被裝在外面的垃圾袋中,最終屈服於這些元素。 學校的獎品、心愛的毛絨玩具、聖誕禮物和衣服都不見了。 我媽媽在她的餘生中大部分時間都保持獨身。 我們在她死後發現,在一次酗酒造成的事故中,她在餘生中都與他保持著聯繫。

這種遺傳學的結果是創造我的一半。 

但另一半是什麼? 

在心理上,我有既得利益,希望盡可能遠離我所經歷的事件。 但我和我母親的家人之間也有非常真實的差異。 我看起來不像我家裡的任何人。 我比我的後代高一個頭。 我的眼睛太小,鼻子比一般人大。 我更喜歡在假期穿正裝,我承認我有一種不同尋常的宗教敏感性。 我可以判斷,當我認為他們對事情有誤時,我會迅速讓人們知道。 這些特徵只是我環境的怪癖還是遺傳?

尋找自己的身份是我一獲得獨立就開始的旅程。 隨著社交媒體的出現,我嘗試了“匿名尋找父母”的帖子。 我不知道,我海報上的所有信息都是不正確的。 直到在血統測試之後,我才知道我母親在我的出生證明上謊報了我生父的名字。

血統測試和它的承諾是回答我所有問題的唯一可能性。 

我照鏡子的時候看到他的臉了嗎? 祖先會找到我的父系血統,這可能會導致遠祖的照片。 

性格怪癖來自他的家人嗎? 也許測試真的會把我們聯繫起來,我最終會知道為什麼我會變成現在這樣。 

考試回來的那天我沒有打開電子郵件。 我知道一旦我這樣做了,未回答的問題就會結束。 我與這個巨大的未知數一起度過了我的一生,我不知道我是否準備好與這些人面對面。 一旦我打開它,我想像中的繼承就會結束。 

當我還是個小女孩的時候,我相信我的父親是任何人,從查爾斯王子到我在街上經過的那個人。 我對東歐文化有著強烈的感情,隨著我的成長,我確信我來自那個背景。 

當我最終打開測試時,這令人震驚。 數據隨著時間的推移發生了變化,最近的數據顯示我主要是法國人和德國人——我認為愛爾蘭人和英國人是我種族遺產的主要部分,但我只是我的一小部分。 我是 100% 的歐洲人,對於曾祖父是美洲原住民部落成員的人來說,這仍然很奇怪(我從來沒有聲稱從這種聯繫中獲得任何好處,要清楚,但它總給我一種歸屬感這個空間和時間。在我的測試之前,我是文明如何碰撞和生存的證據。現在不再如此)。

這也令人震驚,因為我立即與一個不熟悉的表親聯繫​​在一起,她已投入足夠的資金來製作一個簡短的家譜並將她的照片添加到她的個人資料中。 我能在五分鐘內在 Facebook 上找到她。 在 24 小時內,我找到了一個大家庭,特別是一位阿姨,她是我的雙胞胎。 在試圖聯繫他們時,他們起初認為這是一個騙局。 花了幾天時間才和我的親生父親聯繫上。 

他不是查爾斯王子,現實是我們住在同一個縣,多年來一直在同一個地方出沒。 我們的道路在某個時候沒有交叉的可能性很低。 我有很多朋友都是他的朋友。 

當我們輕輕躡手躡腳地相互了解時,我不禁注意到我父親家庭的社會地位。 

我父親和他的兄弟姐妹都接受過私人教育。 我表弟的 Facebook 帖子充滿了快樂的童年回憶、大家庭婚禮和周日女士早午餐。 他們都受過大學教育。 

這並不是說他們的家庭也沒有起起落落,但他們有不同的動力,能夠以更有成效的方式度過風暴。 我看到的一張照片讓我印象特別深刻,一張我父親在帆船上微笑的老照片。 它是在我與媽媽和 R 共享的家中遭受這種虐待的時候拍攝的。 

將父系家庭從我的生活中剔除的決定對我的童年產生了非常真實的影響,而不僅僅是不知道我的祖先是什麼。 當我和我的一位姑姑談論我的童年時,她平靜地說:“我父親絕不會允許這種情況發生。” 自從我媽媽在我的出生證明上寫了一個假名字的那天,我獲得保護的能力就被剝奪了。 接受更好教育的潛力、在傳統核心家庭背景下賦予女性權力的傳統以及我本可以接觸到的對卓越的期望對我來說已經失去了……根據今天的社會,我應該慶祝我的單身媽媽相信她的弱點只是一個無情世界的產物。 我應該可以接受幾十年的代際學習被盜。 因為聲稱我需要一個父親在我的家裡會以某種方式被視為對父權制度中女性權力的某種評論。 

我的親生父親最終成為了一個一生都在與毒癮作鬥爭的人。 他沒有掙扎的一件事是成為他與妻子多年的孩子的支持和現在的父親。 我有兩個兄弟。 在我出生之前,他在十幾歲的時候就生了一個,在他幾個月大的時候死於 SIDS,比我的大孩子大半歲。 儘管他有個人問題,但他還是非常愛他們倆,我沒有理由認為我會受到更少的愛。 

我需要一個父親,就像大多數在單親家庭長大的女孩一樣。 我最終成為了一個統計數據:高中輟學、失控的青少年、無家可歸的青年、繼父母性虐待的受害者、17 歲時懷孕。講故事的一切通常對所涉及的孩子來說都是好的。 孩子們是有韌性的,當你的故事是為商業觀眾寫的時,把鬆散的結局收起來是值得的。 但電影不是現實生活。 它們旨在供不想付費的顧客消費,以提醒“非婚生”兒童的真實故事是多麼悲傷。 不需要提醒他們,我們大多數人都過著世代貧窮和無知的生活。 

我的人生決定是由我之前的每個人的生活決定的——我故意做出與我自己的母親會做出的不同的選擇,有時即使我相信我可能會犯錯,因為我的目標不是過好生活但要打破循環。 我和父親的關係不溫不火。 我和其他幾個家庭成員是 Facebook 朋友。 我哥哥和我一開始很堅強,每天晚上都發短信,但後來失敗了,我們現在是陌生人了。 

最終,血統測試在健康(癌症是我未來的可能)和種族方面給了我想要的答案,但它無法修復已經破裂的紐帶。 不管我媽媽的喜好如何,我的權利在她用假名寫的那一刻就被侵犯了 my 出生證明——一份屬於我的法律文件。 孩子不是財產。 他們不是我們的,可以做我們喜歡的事。 我永遠無法挽回失去的東西,數以百萬計的美國兒童也不會因為我們只需要一個媽媽就能讓一切都好起來的錯覺而受苦。 

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

In 2016 I purchased an Ancestry DNA test. It sat on my counter for a week before I spit into the tube and mailed it out — sending my genetic material off into the universe, hoping to find some information about myself and where I came from.

The idea was terrifying in more ways than one: what would I find? Because of my mother’s history with men, I’d long suspected the reason we lived in poverty was because my father was a criminal. Was I potentially exposing my children to danger? There were also concerns regarding my privacy. DNA can be used to determine an individual’s medical problems, or connect someone with a cold case crime — was my private information going to be used to deny medical care in the future? Would I be the means by which a distant relative was discovered to be a bad guy (one outcome I would appreciate)?

I was 41, and my mother had died four years previous, taking my father’s name to the grave. My birth certificate had yielded no results, and interviews with family came up empty as well. The only information I had to connect me to half of my own DNA was that my father was a blonde artist named “Bob.” In our current technology rich age, this lack of information was almost a violation. 

Who was I?

We tell ourselves ethnicity and culture are important, but not really vital to understanding who we are as people. I don’t believe this. I knew my mother’s people were humble —  my maternal grandmother Swedish and grandfather part of the Osage Nation. Using free ancestry I couldn’t go more than a few generations back on either, but what I did find was crushing poverty. My maternal grandfather’s family was a bit more high-class. His mother was college educated, however, she suffered from serious mental illness and my grandfather and his siblings each had difficulties with maintaining deep connections with anyone in their lives. Physical and psychological abuse, infidelity,  and incest in the form of child sexual assault were the result of years of abuse visited on them. The bleakness of both branches was tempered by qualities some would find exemplary – for those of us who were fortunate enough to escape the negative aspects of our genetics, a fierce loyalty was developed as well as a high tolerance for accepting those outside of our intimate circle as family. When you’ve been in a position where letting go of your biology is a necessity to survival, you learn to cobble together a new family. We also have an inherited aptitude for the arts: I have cousins who’ve played at the Grand Ole Opry, aunts who wrote whole catalogues of music, and I have better than average drawing and writing skills. 

My mother could master any musical instrument she touched within a week, and by the time she died she could play guitar better than any professional performer I’ve ever seen. She had a special aptitude for Flamenco style music. I remember sitting at her feet as a little girl, marveling at how fluid her hands were as they moved on the strings. My mother also suffered from untreated mental illness. We lived with my grandparents for most of my life, because she couldn’t live independently. During the years we did live away from them, our house was filthy. Maggots crawling out of the drain of our kitchen sink, laundry piled up, unwashed for weeks. I once went to school with lice so profuse they were visible on my clothing. I was diagnosed with scabies more than once- a human form of mange. I smelled because of her heavy smoking. I was neglected — how could she take care of me if she couldn’t take care of herself? She would get lost in a book and sit the whole day in her room with the door closed while I watched TV. If the electricity was on we often had to run extension cords to the neighbors house because we were shut off. That cord had to service the fridge. If TV wasn’t an option, I wandered our neighborhood unsupervised. Our home was broken into multiple times, and the neighbors next door would send me to run for “reds” from another neighbor up the street in exchange for Now & Laters until my mom found out and made me stop. It was not a safe neighborhood. My vulnerability was even more exposed in our home when she’d decided to allow her boyfriend “R,” an occasional car detailer/drug addict/drug seller, and his young son “S,” to come live with us (a decision which would cause her to lose the section 8 she’d waited five years for). A parade of his friends and family came in and out in terms of crashing on the couch for a few weeks or visiting just to purchase drugs from him. I experienced my mother evolve from neglectful to outright abusive, going on screaming tirades when we used too much milk in our cereal or took a shower instead of a bath. She told me she was forced to use profanity when disciplining us, because S didn’t understand how to behave when people spoke nicely to him.

He was six. 

In addition to the verbal abuse and neglect, sexual abuse became part of the equation. The revolving door of strangers included some individuals who had previous convictions for child abuse. There was a time period S and I were traded for drugs while my mom was at work. I’m reasonably sure there are home movies, filmed on reels, of S and I performing sexual acts with one another. R was adept at manipulation through fear: he once told me he’d killed a man and dumped his body in the desert. At such a young age it never occurred to me that he was most likely lying. Even during times he wasn’t in our home his shadow hung over everything. He was in and out of jail at the time, but she was still loyal. One time she found a brick of white powder in the back of a closet in a duffel bag. She made me watch her as she flushed the entire thing down the toilet, explaining to me that it was drugs that R liked a lot, and it was worth a ton of money. She wanted me to be a witness to what she was doing because she was afraid of him killing her when he was released from jail and she wanted me to be able to furnish a motive for her murder. 

I was eight.

It wasn’t until my mom was in the hospital giving birth to my younger sister, his daughter, that they separated. He took everything of value she owned and moved in with a woman who owned her own home. We ended up going back to my grandparents house. Our belongings were so infested with cockroaches we couldn’t bring them into the house, so the small bit of good I’d retained from the years of living away ended up being packed in garbage bags outside, eventually succumbing to the elements. School awards, beloved stuffed animals, Christmas gifts and clothes, all gone. My mom remained mostly celibate for the rest of her life. We found out after she died, in an accident caused by alcoholism, that she’d maintained contact with him for the rest of her life.

The result of this stew of genetics was half of what created me. 

But what was the other half? 

Psychologically I had a vested interest in being as removed as I possibly could be from the events I experienced. But there were also very real differences between me and my mother’s side of the family. I do not look like anyone in my family. I am a head taller than the men I’m descended from. I have too small eyes and a larger than average nose. I prefer formal dressing for holidays and I admit to an unusual religious sensibility. I can be judgmental, and I’m quick to let people know when I believe they’re wrong about things. Were these traits just quirks of my environment or inherited?

Searching for my own identity was a journey I started as soon as I gained independence. With the advent of social media, I tried the “anonymous searching for parent” post. Unbeknownst to me, all of the information on my poster was incorrect. I would not know until after the ancestry test that my mother had lied about my bio father’s name on my birth certificate.

The ancestry test and it’s promise held the only possibility for answers to all of the questions I had. 

Was I seeing his face when I looked in the mirror? Ancestry would find my patrilineal line, which may result in photographs of distant ancestors. 

Were personality quirks from his side of the family? Maybe the test would actually connect us and I would finally know why I was the way I was. 

I did not open the email the day the test came back. I knew that once I did, the unanswered questions would be at an end. I’d spent my entire life with this giant unknown and I didn’t know if I was ready to come face to face with who these people were. Once I opened it my imagined inheritance would end. 

When I was a little girl, I believed my dad was anyone from Prince Charles to the man I was passing on the street. I had a strong affection for Eastern European cultures, and as I grew I became convinced I came from that background. 

When I finally did open the test it was shocking. The data has changed over time, and the most recent numbers say I’m mostly French and German – the Irish and English I’d believed were the majority of my ethnic heritage were only a small part of who I was. I am 100% European, which is still strange to someone whose great-grandfather was a member of a Native American tribe (I’ve never claimed any advantages from that connection, to be clear, but it always gave me a sense of belonging to this space and time. Previous to my test I was evidence of how civilizations can collide and survive. That’s no longer the case).

It was also shocking because I was instantaneously connected with an unfamiliar cousin who’d been invested enough to do a short family tree and add her photo to her profile. I was able to find her within five minutes on Facebook. Within 24 hours I’d found an extended family, and one aunt in particular who was my twin. In attempting to reach out to them, they at first believed it was a scam. It took a few days to be connected with my biological father. 

He wasn’t prince Charles, and the reality was that we lived in the same county and haunted the same spaces for years. The chance that our paths didn’t cross at some point was low. I had multiple friends who were friends of his. 

As we tenderly tiptoed around getting to know each other, I couldn’t help but note the social status of my paternal family. 

My father and his siblings were privately educated. My cousin’s Facebook posts were full of happy childhood memories, big family weddings, and Sunday ladies brunches. They’re all college educated. 

This isn’t to say their family didn’t also have its ups and downs, but they had a different dynamic and were able to weather storms in a more productive way. One photo I saw struck me in particular, an older photo of my dad on a sailboat, smiling. It would have been taken during the time I was suffering such abuse in the home I shared with my mom and R. 

The decision to cut my patrilineal family out of my life had a very real impact on my childhood, beyond simply just not knowing what my ancestry was. When I spoke to one of my paternal aunts about my childhood, she quietly said, “my father would have never allowed that to happen.” My ability to access protection was taken away from me the day my mom wrote a false name on my birth certificate. The potential for a better education, traditions of female empowerment within the context of a traditional nuclear family, as well as the expectations of excellence I could have been exposed to were lost to me…and according to today’s society, I’m expected to celebrate my single mom and trust that her foibles were just a product of an unforgiving world. I’m supposed to be okay with the theft of decades of intergenerational learning. Because to claim I needed a father in my home would somehow be seen as some sort of commentary on the power of women within a patriarchal system. 

My biological father did end up being someone who struggled with addiction in his lifetime. One thing he didn’t struggle with was being a supportive and present father to the child he had with his wife of many years. I have two brothers. One born to him as a teen, before I was born, who died of SIDS when he was only a few months old, and one half a year older than my eldest child. He loves them both fiercely despite his own personal issues, and I have no reason to think I would have been any less loved. 

I needed a father, as do most other girls growing up in single parent homes. I ended up being the statistic: high school drop-out, teenage runaway, homeless youth, a victim of sexual abuse by a step-parent, and pregnant at 17. When we view women in films about single parents, even in the most dire storytelling everything usually ends up okay for the children involved. Children are resilient, and when your story is being written for a commercial audience it pays to tie up loose ends. But films aren’t real life. They are meant to be consumed by a customer who doesn’t want to pay to be reminded of how sad the real stories of “illegitimate” children are. They don’t need to be reminded that most of us live lives of generational poverty and ignorance. 

My life decisions have been defined by the lives of everyone before me — I intentionally make different choices than I think my own mother would have made, sometimes even when I believe I may be making a mistake, because my goal isn’t to live life but to break cycles. My father and I have a tepid relationship. I am Facebook friends with a few other family members. My brother and I started out strong, texting every night, but that fizzled out and we are strangers now. 

Ultimately the ancestry test gave me the answers I wanted in terms of health (cancer is a possibility for my future), and ethnicity, but it can’t fix the bond that’s been broken. Regardless of my mother’s preferences, my rights were violated the second she wrote in a false name on my birth certificate — a legal document which belonged to me. Children aren’t property. They aren’t ours to do what we please with. I will never recover what’s been lost, and neither will the millions of American children who suffer under the delusion that we only need a mom to make everything alright. 

 

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This