我在單親家庭長大。 我六七歲時父母離異,弟弟三歲,姐姐十三歲。 當我父母離婚時,我們住在加利福尼亞,我媽媽把我們搬到了密歇根。 我爸跟著我們,一開始他們只是分開了。 他因背部受傷而與阿片類藥物成癮作鬥爭,這導致我們的家庭生活變得不穩定,因為他虐待我母親,毀了她的信用,我們的家被取消抵押品贖回權,而她是一個全職媽媽時間。 但他沒有做出他所說的改變,所以我父母離婚了。

他搬到底特律地區找工作。 有幾次他住的地方不穩,我們就沒去探望,但他有地方住,我爸媽就中途見面,週末就去我爸家住。 週末很短。 我媽媽全職工作,所以我們週六下班,週一回來上學。 我的父母相隔大約四個小時。 最終,我父親搬到了東海岸,離他的姐姐和她的丈夫更近,他和他們一起生活了幾年,並為我叔叔的生意工作。 那時,我們每年夏天都會去拜訪幾週。 我從來不知道我父母為什麼離婚。 如果他們向我解釋過,我不記得了。 我媽媽總是讓我們在假期、生日、父親節等時給爸爸打電話。有時她對他來來去去的溝通方式表示失望,因為有些時候我們沒有收到他的消息,而且溝通是在我們的電話上發起的代表。 但她總是很小心,從不在我們面前說他的壞話。

當我進入青少年時期時,我記得自己非常生氣並且患有抑鬱症。 其中一些可能是正常的青少年行為,但事後看來,我認為這是一個破碎的家庭和一個渴望父親的少女所造成的創傷。 我在很小的時候就開始建立非常認真的人際關係,並尋求男朋友的認可、愛和接受,這導致了非常不健康的人際關係習慣和對人際關係正常情況的看法。 我對我必須為愛和接受所做的事情的看法是扭曲的,我的自尊心很低。 在我初中、初中的時候,我媽媽再婚了。 但那段婚姻只有大約 3 年左右,因為她的丈夫可能患有未確診的精神疾病,而且他善於操縱,我相信在情感上虐待了我的媽媽、我和他自己的孩子。 一旦我準備好高中畢業,我就會威脅說“和我爸爸住在一起,因為他會讓我做我想做的事”,我媽媽開始敞開心扉,分享他們婚姻的破裂,以及他的毒癮以及導致他們離婚的虐待。

有一次我爸爸去密歇根州和我姐姐以及她丈夫住在一起,他酗酒了。 我們陷入了激烈的爭論,導致我們很長一段時間都沒有說話。 我決定註銷他。 但後來我開始為吸毒者和酗酒者的家庭成員尋找 Alanon 團體,我開始意識到我有一個世俗的父親,我可以接受他的現狀或保持怨恨。 我們慢慢地又開始說話了,沒過多久他就死在了醫院裡。 他患有 2 型糖尿病,服用了兩天的胰島素、一種語素並喝了一杯啤酒,他的鄰居發現他幾乎死了。 他靠生命支持維持了大約 12 天,我不得不飛出去看他。 靠著上帝的恩典,我爸爸挺過來了。 對我來說,這是另一個非常痛苦的經歷。 我曾嘗試與他進行面對面的交談,討論如何為他的毒癮尋求專業幫助,他非常確信在經歷了瀕死體驗後,他可以靠自己戰勝毒癮。 過了一段時間,他當然又恢復了原來的習慣。 我親手給他寫了一封長達兩頁的信,講述以這種方式看到他並清理他邋遢的公寓對我來說是多麼痛苦的經歷,我不會再這樣做了。 他的回復是一條短信,上面寫著“謝謝你的來信”。 沒有關於它的其他談話。

幾年過去了,他的身體仍然很差。 他從來沒有對他的行為和他在我生命中的缺席表示歉意,我也不指望他會這樣。 在這一切期間,我也將自己的生命獻給了基督,我一直意識到,即使我沒有一位偉大的塵世父親,我天上的父親也可以一直填補我的空虛。 直到今天,我和我父親的關係還不是特別親密。 我們偶爾會通電話,談話通常很膚淺或片面。 但是,我確實以他自己的方式相信他愛我。 他總是告訴我和我的兄弟姐妹他有多愛我們。 但他的失誤所造成的創傷,在我成年和已婚婦女的身份中肯定仍然存在。 我作為一個未得救的年輕女性試圖填補我心中的一個洞而做出的選擇給我的婚姻帶來了痛苦和心痛。 但是,上帝是好的。 他救贖了我,救贖了我的婚姻,我相信他可以用任何人的故事來幫助別人。

I grew up in a single mother household. My parents divorced when I was six or seven years of age, my brother was three, and my sister was thirteen. When my parents divorced, we were living in California and my mom moved us to Michigan. My dad followed us, and they were only separated at first. He struggled with opioid addiction that stemmed from a back injury, which caused our home life to become volatile as he became abusive to my mother, ruined her credit, our home was in foreclosure, and she was a stay-at-home mom at the time.  But he didn’t make the changes he said he was going to, so my parents divorced.

He moved to the Detroit area to look for work. There were times when his housing situation was unstable so we didn’t go to visit, but once he had places to live, my parents would meet halfway, and we would stay with my dad over the weekend. The weekends were very short. My mom worked full time and so we would go down Saturday and be back for school Monday. My parents lived about four hours apart. Eventually, my dad moved to the east coast to be closer to his sister and her husband and he lived with them for several years and worked for my uncle’s business. At that time, we’d go to visit for a few weeks each summer. I never really knew why my parents divorced. If they explained it to me, I don’t recall. My mom would always have us call our dad for holidays, birthdays, Father’s Day, etc. There were times she expressed frustration at his come and go communication style since there were periods we didn’t hear from him and the communication was initiated on our behalf. But she was always careful never to bad mouth him in front of us.

As I came into my teen years, I recall being very angry and suffering from depression. Some of it could have been normal teen stuff, but in hindsight I believe it was the trauma of a broken family and a teenage girl longing for her father. I started getting into very serious relationships at a young age, and looked for approval, love, and acceptance from boyfriends which resulted in very unhealthy relationship habits and perceptions of what was normal in a relationship. My view of what I had to do for love and acceptance was skewed, and I suffered from very low self-esteem. My mom remarried when I was in late middle school, early high school. But that marriage was only about 3 years long or so, as her husband probably suffered from an undiagnosed mental illness and he was manipulative and I believe emotionally abused my mom, me, and his own children as well. Once I was getting ready to graduate high school, I’d make threats to “live with my dad because he would let me do what I wanted,” my mom started to open up and share about the breakdown of their marriage, and his addiction and abuse that lead to their divorce.

One time my dad was visiting Michigan and staying with my sister and her husband, and he was drinking heavily. We got into an explosive argument that resulted in us not speaking for quite some time. I decided to write him off. But I then started looking into Alanon groups for family members of addicts and alcoholics, and I came to the realization that I had one earthly father, and I could accept him how he is or hold onto resentment. We slowly started speaking again and it wasn’t very long until he ended up in the hospital on death’s door. He has type 2 diabetes and had taken two days’ worth of insulin, a morpheme, and drank a beer, and his neighbor found him almost dead. He was on life support for about 12 days, and I had to fly out to go see him. By the grace of God, my dad pulled through. It was another very traumatic experience for me. I had tried to have a face-to-face conversation with him about going to get professional help for his addiction, and he was very sure that he could beat it on his own after his near-death experience. Sometime later, he was certainly back to his old habits. I hand wrote him a two-page letter about how traumatic the experience was for me to see him that way and to clean up his slob apartment, and that I wasn’t going to do that again. His response was a text message saying, “thank you for your letter.” No other conversation about it.

Several years have passed since all of that, and his health is still very poor. He has never once said sorry about his actions and his lack of presence in my life, and I don’t ever expect it from him. I have also committed my life to Christ during all of this, realizing all along even though I didn’t have a great earthly father, my heavenly father could fill that void all along. To this day, my dad and I do not have a super close relationship. We talk on the phone on occasion, and the conversation is usually pretty shallow or one-sided. I do, however, believe in his own way that he loves me. He has always been one to tell me and my siblings how much he loves us. But the wound caused by missing actions on his part is definitely still there in my adulthood and as a married woman. The choices I made as an unsaved, young woman trying to fill a hole in my heart have brought pain and heartache into my marriage. BUT, God is good. He has redeemed me, redeemed my marriage, and I believe he can use anyone’s story to help others.

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
Share This