神奇寶貝。 這就是我父母一直說的我。 經過12年的婚姻和許多痛苦,我已經懷孕了。 他們從來沒有這麼開心過。 我從不懷疑我是被通緝的。 但它就在那裡……就在我祖母為我整理的嬰兒書中,有一張我作為胚胎在培養皿中的照片。
為什麼知道我在 8 輪後通過 IVF 受孕的知識讓我覺得自己像一隻實驗室老鼠? 為什麼它玷污了成為奇蹟的感覺? 21 年來,我一直被引導相信,當我受孕時唯一改變的是祈禱和奇蹟。 我的父母讓很多人祈禱,我出生了……當然,他們做到了。 但他們也在體外受精上花費了令人難以置信的金額……而且在我看來,他們一直在超越理性。
然後……我一生都在想要兄弟姐妹。 我爸爸總是告訴我我沒有兄弟姐妹,因為一旦我出生,他就被我迷住了,無法想到有更多……現在更有意義的評論。 就像我媽媽偶爾評論說他們不能再試一次一樣。
現在我知道我有兄弟姐妹。 應該有很多兄弟姐妹吧每輪兩個或三個胚胎,總共9輪是很多嬰兒。 為什麼是我? 當他們都沒有活下來的時候,為什麼我能活下來? 如果他們中只有一兩個人活著,我的生活會是什麼樣子? 我們還有其他人在某個地方的冰箱裡嗎?
我從不懷疑父母的愛。 我經常聽到我第一次超聲的故事。 他們如何在屏幕上看到我,看起來我的腳趾閃閃發光,導致了 Twinkletoes 的終生綽號。 我看過我們出生後的照片,看過我爸爸看我的方式,就像我是他世界的中心一樣。
我知道我的父母彼此相愛……或者至少,我知道他們小時候是這樣的。 在我十幾歲的時候,他們分開了。 但他們只是在情感上分開了。 我從未見過如此相互依賴的已婚夫婦。 分開他們什麼也做不了。
孩子只想知道爸爸和媽媽彼此相愛並且被愛。 在某些時候,我父母的婚姻變成了有毒和不健康的東西。 當我 16 歲的時候,我的生活被我父親打斷了,指責我媽媽不忠,誰知道還有什麼。 她只會坐在那裡抽泣。 他積極地試圖讓我反對她,以至於他讓我相信了一段時間,唯一的解決辦法是讓他和我離開她。 但他無法讓自己真正離開。
直到我成年後終於離開家並發現自己處於健康狀態時,我才意識到我父親對他有很大的問題。 他沒有被診斷出來,但幾個專業人士的理論是他患有分裂情感障礙,雙相情感障礙。 這基本上意味著他同時患有雙相情感障礙和精神分裂症。 然後我的治療師開始使用“虐待”這個詞,我意識到虐待不僅僅意味著身體上的打擊。 虐待一再提醒我,他們是多麼想要我,以至於我覺得我欠他們做任何事情,就像爸爸想要的那樣。 虐待使我與周圍的每個人都緊緊隔離,所以我沒有意識到事情可能會有所不同。 虐待是我爸爸故意給我的印象,如果我不總是同意他的話,我可能會失去他的愛。
這和我的受孕有什麼關係? 我是這樣看的。 不知何故,在某個地方,我的父母產生了他們應該生孩子的想法,不管花多少錢,花了多少次,或者在這個過程中死了多少人。 他們值得一個孩子。 以這樣的態度,當我出生時,他們認為他們應該擁有一個完美的孩子……就像爸爸定義的完美孩子一樣。 既然他們配得上一個孩子,我就是他們要控制的財產,而不是要珍惜的人或禮物。 當我終於成為一個有自己的觀點和想法的成年人,一個可以為自己挺身而出的成年人時,我簡直就是從他們的生活中消失了。 我不再是他們想要的完美孩子,他們不再需要一個獨立、意氣風發的女兒。
我仍然不確定如何處理我是如何受孕的知識。 但我會抓住生命的角,勇敢地過我的生活,作為一個珍視生命中每一天的人……一個現在完全屬於我自己的生活,不管它是如何形成的。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

A miracle baby. That’s what my parents always said I was. After 12 years of marriage and much agony, I had been conceived. They had never been so happy. I had never doubted that I was wanted. But there it was… right in the baby book my grandmother had put together for me was a photo of me as an embryo in a Petri dish.
Why did the knowledge that I was conceived by IVF after 8 rounds make me feel so much like a lab rat? Why did it tarnish the feeling of being a miracle? For 21 years I had been led to believe that the only thing that changed when I was conceived was prayer and a miracle. My parents had gotten a lot of people to pray, and I was born… And sure, they did. But they also spent an unbelievable sum on IVF… and kept going beyond reason, it seems to me.
And then… I spent my entire life wanting siblings. My Dad always told me I didn’t have siblings because once I was born he was too enthralled with me to think of having more… a comment that made much more sense now. As did my Mom’s occasional comment that they couldn’t afford trying again.
And now I knew I had siblings. A lot of siblings, probably. Two or three embryos per round, 9 rounds total is a lot of babies. Why me? Why had I survived when none of them did? What would my life have been like if even just one or two of them had lived? Were there any more of us in a freezer somewhere?
I never doubted my parents’ love. I often heard the story of my first ultrasound. How they had seen me on the screen and it looked like my toes were sparkling, leading to the lifelong nickname of Twinkletoes. I had seen the pictures of us after my birth, seen the way my Dad looked at me like I was the center of his world.
I knew my parents loved each other… or at least, I knew they did as a small child. Somewhere when I was a teenager, they grew apart. But they only grew apart emotionally. I have never seen a married couple so codependent. They couldn’t do anything apart.
All a child wants to know is that Dad and Mom love each other and that they are loved. At some point, my parents’ marriage turned into something toxic and unhealthy. When I was 16, my life was punctuated by my Dad accusing my Mom of infidelity and who knows what else. She would just sit there and sob. He actively tried to turn me against her, to the point that he had me convinced for a while that the only solution was for he and I to leave her. But he couldn’t bring himself to actually leave.
It was only when I finally left home as an adult and found myself in a healthy situation that I realized that my Dad had something deeply wrong with him. He has not been diagnosed, but the theory of several professionals is that he has Schizoaffective disorder, bipolar type. That basically means that he has both Bipolar disorder and schizophrenia. And then my therapist began to use the word “abuse” and I realized that abuse didn’t just mean physical blows. Abuse was repeatedly reminding me how much they had wanted me in such a way that I felt like I owed it to them to do everything just like Dad wanted it. Abuse was keeping me tightly isolated from everyone around me so that I didn’t realize things could be different. Abuse was my Dad purposefully giving me the impression that I could lose his love if I didn’t agree with him always.
What does this have to do with my conception? I look at it this way. Somehow, somewhere, my parents developed the idea that they deserved to have a baby, and it didn’t matter how much it cost, how many times it took, or how many died in the process. They deserved a child. And with an attitude like that, by the time I was born they thought they deserved to have the perfect child… as Dad defined a perfect child. And since they deserved a child, I was their property to be controlled, not a person or a gift to be treasured. And when I at last became an adult with my own opinions and thoughts, an adult who could stand up for herself, I was simply removed from their lives. I was no longer the perfect child they had wanted, and they had no use for an independent, high-spirited daughter.
I still am not sure what to do with the knowledge of how I was conceived. But I will grab life by the horns, as it were, and live my life boldly, as one who values everyday of this life… a life that is now fully my own, no matter how it came to be.

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

EnglishLatviešu valodaPolski
Share This