Baby Molly 於 1992 年在培養皿中誕生,並於同年 14 月 27 日冷凍。 26 年後,她被轉移到蒂娜·吉布森 (Tina Gibson) 的子宮中,並於 2020 年 1,000,000 月 XNUMX 日出生。就在兩年前,蒂娜 (Tina) 的身體還是嬰兒莫莉 (Molly) 冰凍的妹妹艾瑪 (Emma) 的溫暖容器。 莫莉和艾瑪都是這個國家近 XNUMX 名冰上嬰兒的前成員。 幸運的是,他們通過胚胎收養獲得了生命的機會。

莫莉和艾瑪是科學奇蹟。 不僅僅是因為他們有 打破了最長冷凍然後成功植入胚胎的記錄,但也僅僅是他們出生的事實——只有 7.5% 的孩子在實驗室中創造 會生下來。 其餘 92.5% 將被視為無法生存,或性別錯誤並被“丟棄”,無法在解凍後存活,將在轉移到母親的子宮後死亡或將被無限期冷凍。

目前被凍結的小生命是體外受精(IVF)的副產品,通常是他們的兄弟姐妹成功植入後的剩餘物,或者在父母為另一輪植入而存錢時仍然處於假死狀態。 其他人在其中 數十萬冷凍胚胎被放棄或遺棄 由他們的親生父母。 解決如何處理這些“剩餘胚胎”是人工生殖最大的道德困境之一,也許對全人類來說也是如此。

生殖技術的複雜性

在我們慶祝這些女孩從冰櫃中逃脫以及為她們提供子宮和家的父母的同時,作為敏銳的兒童權利倡導者,我們還必須認識到生殖技術的“進步”所帶來的複雜性。

許多成年人從與不孕症作鬥爭的成年人的角度來處理精子/卵子捐贈、代孕和現在的胚胎收養問題——這對任何渴望孩子的夫婦來說都是一種心碎。 同情子宮內膜異位症診斷的破壞或為癌症治療後無法生育的男人哀悼是好的和正確的。 我們渴望他們成為他們渴望成為的父母——尤其是在一個越來越少的人認識到婚姻和孩子是我們應該追求的積極利益的世界裡。 然而,當不孕症的“治療”涉及第三方時,孩子們付出了代價。

即使是傳統的收養, 一個為有需要的孩子服務的機構,涉及兒童的損失。 收養可以成為家庭建設的一種救贖方式:一個沒有家的孩子有父母的祝福,一個處於絕望境地的女人可以得到解脫,一對為家庭祈禱的夫婦歡迎一個嬰兒進入他們的懷抱。 然而,我們現在知道,一個孩子在與她的生母分離時會經歷創傷,即使她深受養父母的需要和關愛。 這種創傷可能導致 一生的挑戰. 與遺傳父母分開撫養時,被收養者經常會經歷深刻的拒絕、悲傷、內疚、羞恥和身份問題。 這些被收養的人並不“壞”,他們的父母也沒有做任何“錯事”。 這只是引發每次收養的深刻損失的自然結果——失去孩子的第一個家庭。 收養是公正社會彌補這一損失的最佳解決方案。

一些夫婦認為第三方復制與收養沒有什麼不同。 這可能會更好,因為孩子不會遭受出生時失去母親的創傷。 因此,許多與不孕症作鬥爭的夫婦為了成為父母而尋求精子或卵子捐贈者。 不幸的是,我們關於精子捐贈的少量數據表明 通過第三方懷孕的孩子通常比被收養的孩子更糟糕 當涉及到家庭信任、歸屬感、穩定性、身份鬥爭和藥物濫用時。 事實證明,選擇在受孕時將孩子與親生父母分開遠非救贖。 相反,它以連傳統收養者都無法理解的方式給孩子們帶來了負擔。

今日心理學 解決了捐贈者懷孕的孩子在一個 2013年XNUMX月文章. 除了對無法識別“真正的”父母感到沮喪之外,這些孩子“對自己的出身表示不安。 一些人努力應對的不是來自愛情而是經濟激勵的受孕——對他們來說,捐贈者這個詞尤其令人惱火。 其他人擔心他們可能患有隱藏的健康狀況……有些人對不知不覺地愛上同父異母的兄弟姐妹表示深深的焦慮。”

因此,我們看到收養和捐贈者受孕都涉及兒童的損失。 兩個群體都可以長期掙扎,無論是團費還是撫養孩子 由他們自己的親生父母。 然而 收養支持兒童權利 因為成年人正在尋求補救孩子父母的損失,而 捐贈者受孕侵犯兒童權利 因為它造成了孩子父母的損失。 隨著孩子的成長,這種區別會對孩子產生重大影響。

胚胎收養的“替代品”

在我們研究胚胎採用的利弊之前,我們必須首先解決這些“過剩”胚胎的替代方案。

當談到不受歡迎的冷凍嬰兒的困境時, 美國生殖醫學學會 (ASRM) 提供三個選項:

  • 解凍並丟棄
  • 捐贈給研究
  • 胚胎捐贈/收養

ASRM 沒有列出尊重兒童權利的選項——包括他們的生命權和他們的 對他們的父母的權利 – 國際人權條約承認和維護的一項權利。 這個選項是——創造這些嬰兒的父母將他們轉移到自己母親的子宮中。 在考慮兒童的權利時,成年人必須做一些艱難的事情,這樣才能保護兒童的權利。

對於那些相信兒童權利的人來說,前兩個 ASRM 選項是行不通的; 我們不會解凍和丟棄任何人,無論他們的年齡、階段或生存能力如何,我們也不會為科學實驗提供他人的身體。 但是那些真實的但極其罕見的情況是,親生母親無法懷上孩子,也許是因為她做了子宮切除術或已經去世了?

剩下的就是胚胎收養/捐贈。 我已經詳細寫過胚胎收養的利弊 在我即將出版的書中,但這裡是火花筆記版本。 警告:通過捐贈者受孕產生的一些想法和經歷可能難以處理,但如果我們希望解決 ART 的倫理後果,我們必須承認那些最直接受影響的人——兒童的生活經歷。

胚胎採用的好處和挑戰

我們現在可以回到胚胎收養的問題。 它是像傳統收養一樣的救贖選擇嗎? 還是更像是捐獻精子和卵子? 正如我們將看到的,胚胎收養與收養和精子/卵子捐贈既相似又不同。

胚胎收養的好處

  • 傳統收養的孩子與他們的親生父母和親生母親失去了關係,造成了許多被收養者所說的“原傷。” 相比之下,胚胎收養的孩子與他們的親生母親有著持續的關係,這可能會在依戀和信任方面對他們有利。 與她母親的親密關係使 漢娜·斯特格,第一個通過胚胎收養出生的孩子 21 年前,是時候了解和處理她獨特的出生故事了。 “我認為直到我長大後才開始更多地認同一般的收養世界,因為......我的開始與其他人不同......隨著年齡的增長,我意識到,'哦,我被收養了,我已經一個生物家​​庭”的原因我從未想過,因為我媽媽既是我的親生媽媽又是我的養母,沒有多少人能說出來。 我認為要完全理解它需要一生的時間,我仍在努力理解和處理它,因為我向人們解釋它。”

胚胎採用的挑戰

  • 胚胎收養的孩子將面臨與許多被收養者相同的身份問題和“家譜困惑” 捐贈者懷孕的孩子 臉。 了解一個人的親生父母的需要正是為什麼今天 95% 的收養都是“開放的”,與孩子的出生家庭有一定程度的聯繫。 孩子們渴望知道他們來自誰。
  • 許多人將不得不面對這樣一個事實,即他們擁有由自己的親生父母撫養長大的全基因兄弟姐妹。 當被問及這可能會給孩子們的成長帶來什麼樣的負擔時 Gregory Loy 設想了一位精子捐贈者,他說:“這些孩子在成長過程中與他們的遺傳親屬沒有任何联系,應該坐下來好好相處這是因為“某人”想要他們。 除了這個聲明之外,他們還必須忍受其他人,他們真正的父母,不想要他們的想法。”
  • 艾瑪和莫莉可能很難處理一個奇怪的事實,如果他們是自然出生的,他們可能是他們生母的好朋友,而不是她的女兒。 這些科幻小說般的場景涉及伊麗莎白霍華德,她也是通過精子捐贈者出生的。 “如果他們被冷凍多年,他們的遺傳父母可能已經年邁或在他們大到足以質疑他們的起源時已經去世......他們的冷凍兄弟姐妹呢,可能有幾十個,他們沒有那麼幸運? 他們活著的兄弟姐妹,那些沒有被冷凍的呢? 他們可能比他們大很多歲……”
  • 胚胎收養並不能遏制創造數十個“剩餘胚胎”的做法,儘管很少有夫婦會真正撫養數十個孩子。 一位由捐贈者懷孕的人與我分享,“胚胎捐贈最令人髮指的問題是它鼓勵生育機構在生育治療期間隨意創造更多,否則他們可能不會如此輕率。”

那麼夫妻要做什麼呢?

沒有孩子是一種令人心碎的經歷,如果一對夫婦是重視和鼓勵家庭形成的文化的一部分,那麼不孕症尤其痛苦。 對很多人來說,不能懷孕生子是對信仰的考驗,也有人質疑自己是否值得生孩子——這是上帝的懲罰嗎? 然而,儘管不孕症患者經歷了非常真實的痛苦,以及我們對他們的同情,我們也有責任考慮通過第三方生殖創造的許多孩子所面臨的非常真實的挑戰。 成為父母的道路不應該簡單地將成年人對孩子的渴望轉變為孩子對失去親生父母的渴望。

人工生殖療法的這些意外和負面後果是信仰社區的核心,他們不鼓勵使用第三方生育方法,並警告不要製造未使用和不需要的胚胎。 天主教堂觀點 所有試管嬰兒,包括使用第三方配子,作為不道德和反對 生命的毀滅 這經常通過體外受精發生。 基督告誡要保護“最少的這些”,這使得使用精子和卵子捐贈對於福音派來說是行不通的,他們認識到第三方生殖迫使孩子為他們犧牲,而不是成年人為孩子犧牲。  穆斯林,認為“任何第三方都不應干涉性和生育的婚姻功能。 伊斯蘭教不接受代孕。” 耶穌基督後期聖徒教會提供以下信息 法律顧問:“丈夫和妻子為上帝的靈體孩子提供身體的模式是上帝指定的……教會不鼓勵人工授精或體外受精,使用除丈夫以外的任何人的精子或除妻子以外的任何人的卵子。 然而,這是個人的事情,最終留給合法結婚的男人和女人來判斷和虔誠地考慮。” 不同的信仰團結在一起,相信人類的生育是上帝的起源,因此應該受到最大的關懷和尊重——甚至是敬畏。 同樣,如果建議使用第三方配子作為不孕症的補救措施,那么生命的神聖本質以及孩子與創造他們的父母之間神聖設計的聯繫應該讓任何一對夫婦停下來。

當問題是生或死時,正確的答案總是, 生活! 艾瑪和莫莉的生活值得慶祝,他們的養父母值得我們支持和感激。 胚胎收養是真正沒有其他生命途徑的胚胎的唯一選擇。 然而,我們仍然必須誠實地對待胚胎收養給兒童帶來的道德和家庭成本。

作為兒童權利的倡導者,Emma 和 Molly 的誕生應該導致兩個看似矛盾但同時發生的反應:我們加倍努力阻止剩餘胚胎留在冰箱中的產生,以及慶祝這兩個美麗的女孩誰弄出來的。

(最初發表於 經絡雜誌)

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Baby Molly was created in a petri dish in 1992, and frozen on October 14 that same year. 27 years later, she was transferred into the womb of Tina Gibson and born on October 26, 2020.  Tina’s body had also been the warm receptacle for baby Molly‘s frozen sister Emma, just two years before. Both Molly and Emma were former members of the nearly 1,000,000 babies on ice in this country. They were, thankfully, given a chance at life via embryo adoption.

Molly and Emma are scientific wonders. Not just because they have broken the record for the longest-frozen-then-successfully-implanted embryos, but also the mere fact that they were born at all – only 7.5% of children created in a lab will be born alive. The other 92.5% will be deemed non-viable, or the wrong sex and “discarded,” won’t survive the thaw, will die after being transferred to the mother’s womb or will be frozen indefinitely.

The little lives currently frozen are the by-products of in vitro fertilization (IVF), and often leftovers after the successful implantation of their siblings, or who remain in suspended animation while parents save up for another round of implantation. Others are among the hundreds of thousands of frozen embryos relinquished or abandoned by their biological parents. Addressing what is to be done with these “surplus embryos” is one of the greatest ethical dilemmas of artificial reproduction, and perhaps for all of humanity.

Complexities of reproductive technologies

While we celebrate these girls’ escape from the freezer and the parents who gave them both a womb and a home, as clear-eyed children’s rights advocates we must also recognize the complexities that “advancements” in reproductive technologies present.

Many adults approach the question of sperm/egg donation, surrogacy and now embryo adoption from the perspective of adults struggling with infertility- a heartbreak for any couple who is longing for a child. It’s good and right to empathize with the devastation of an endometriosis diagnosis or mourn for the man who cannot have children post-cancer treatment. We yearn for them to be the parents they long to be – especially in a world where fewer and fewer people recognize marriage and children as a positive good to which we should aspire. However, when the “treatment” for infertility involves a third-party, children pay the price.

Even traditional adoption, an institution that serves kids in need, involves loss for children. Adoption can be a redemptive means of family building: a child without a home is blessed with parents, a woman in desperate circumstances can find relief, a couple praying for a family welcomes a baby into their arms. We now know, however, that a child experiences trauma when separated from her birth mother, even though she is deeply wanted and lovingly raised by adoptive parents. That trauma can result in a lifetime of challenges. Adoptees often experience a profound sense of rejection, grief, guilt, shame, and identity issues when raised apart from their genetic parents. These adoptees aren’t “bad,” and their parents haven’t done anything “wrong.” This is simply the natural result of the profound loss that initiates every adoption- the loss of a child’s first family. Adoption is a just society’s best solution to remedy that loss.

Some couples reason that third-party reproduction is no different than adoption. It might even be better because the child will not suffer the trauma of losing her mother at birth. Thus, many couples who struggle with infertility seek a sperm or egg donor in their effort to become parents. Unfortunately, the little data we have on sperm donation reveals that children conceived via a third party often fare worse than adoptees when it comes to familial trust, belonging, stability, identity struggles, and substance abuse. It turns out that choosing to separate a child from their biological parent(s) at conception is far from redemptive. Rather, it burdens children in ways to which even traditional adoptees can’t relate.

Psychology Today addressed the challenges that donor-conceived children face in a November 2013 article. In addition to frustration over the inability to identify “real” parents, these children “express unease over their own origins. Some grapple with conception arising not from love but financial incentives—and for them, the word donor particularly rankles. Others worry they may harbor a hidden medical condition…Some express deep anxiety about unwittingly falling in love with a half-sibling.”

So, we see that both adoption and donor-conception involve loss for children. Both groups can struggle long-term, and neither group fares as well as children raised by their own biological parents. Yet adoption supports children’s rights because adults are seeking to remedy the loss of a child’s parents while donor-conception violates children’s rights because it inflicts the loss of a child’s parent(s). And that distinction has a significant impact on the child as they grow.

“Alternatives” to Embryo Adoption

Before we examine the pros and cons of embryo adoption, we must begin by addressing what the alternatives are for these “surplus” embryos.

When it comes to the dilemma of unwanted freezer-bound babies, the American Society for Reproductive Medicine (ASRM) offers three options:

  • Thaw and Discard
  • Donate to Research
  • Embryo Donation/Adoption

The ASRM doesn’t list the option that honors the rights of children- both their right to life and their right to their mother and father – a right recognized and upheld in international human rights treaties. That option is – the mother and father who created these babies transfer them into their own mother’s womb. When considering children’s rights, adults must do hard things so the rights of children are protected.

The first two ASRM options are non-starters for those who believe in the rights of children; we don’t thaw and discard any human no matter their age, stage, or viability, and we don’t offer up someone else’s body for scientific experimentation. But what about those real, but extremely rare, cases where the biological mother cannot carry the child, perhaps because she has had a hysterectomy or has passed away?

That leaves embryo adoption/donation. I’ve written about the pros and cons of embryo adoption at length in my upcoming book, but here is the spark notes version. Warning: some of the thoughts and experiences of those created through donor conception may be hard to process, but if we hope to address the ethical consequences of ART, we must acknowledge the lived experience of those most directly affected – the children.

Benefits and Challenges of Embryo Adoption

We can now return to the question of embryo adoption. Is it a redemptive option like traditional adoption? Or is it more like sperm and egg donation? As we shall see, embryo adoption is both like and unlike adoption and sperm/egg donation.

The upside of embryo adoption

  • Children of traditional adoption lose a relationship with their biological parents and their birth mother, inflicting what many adoptees term a “primal wound.” In contrast, embryo adopted children enjoy a continuous relationship with their birth mother which will likely advantage them when it comes to attachment and trust. That close bond with her mother allowed Hannah Sterge, the first child born via Embryo Adoption 21 years ago, the time to understand and process her unique birth story. “I don’t think it was until I got older that I started to identify more with the general adoptive world because… my beginning is just different from everybody else… As I got older I realised, ‘Oh I’m adopted and I have a biological family out there’ cause that never crossed my mind because my mom is both my birth mom and my adoptive mom, which not many people can say. I think it’s gonna take a lifetime to fully understand it and I’m still trying to understand and process it as I explain it to people.”

The challenges of embryo adoption

  • Embryo adopted children will struggle with the same identity questions and “genealogical bewilderment” that many adoptees and donor-conceived children face. The need to know one’s biological parents is the very reason why 95% of adoptions today are “open,” with some level of contact with a child’s birth family. Kids long to know from whom they came.
  • Many will have to wrestle through the fact that they have full genetic siblings being raised by their own biological parents. When asked what kind of burden this might place on the children as they grow Gregory Loy, conceived of a sperm donor notes, “These are children growing up with no tie to their genetic relatives, and are supposed to just sit down and be ok with it because “someone” wanted them.  Along with that statement, they have to stomach the notion that someone else, their real parents, didn’t want them.”
  • Emma and Molly may likely struggle to process the strange fact that had they been born naturally, they could have been their birthmother’s BFF, not her daughter. These science fiction-like scenarios concern Elizabeth Howard, also born via sperm-donor. “If they have been kept frozen for many years, their genetic parents may be elderly or deceased by the time they are old enough to question their origins… What about their frozen brothers and sisters, potentially dozens of them, who weren’t so lucky? What about their living siblings, the ones who weren’t frozen? They might be many years older…”
  • Embryo adoption does nothing to curb the practice of creating dozens of “surplus embryos” even though very few couples would actually raise dozens of children. One donor-conceived man shared with me, “The most heinous issue with embryo-donation is that it encourages fertility establishments to haphazardly create more during fertility treatments where they wouldn’t otherwise potentially have been so flippant.”

So what’s a couple to do?

Childlessness is a heartrending experience, and if a couple is part of a culture that values and encourages family formation, infertility is especially painful. For many, the inability to conceive and bear children becomes a test of faith, and some question their worthiness to have a child – is this some kind of punishment from God? Despite, however, the very real pain experienced by those who suffer from infertility, and the compassion we feel for them, it is incumbent upon us to also consider the very real challenges faced by many children created via third-party reproduction. The path to parenthood should not simply transfer an adult’s desire for a child into a child’s desire for her missing biological parent.

These unintended and negative consequences of artificial reproductive therapies are at the heart of faith communities discouraging the use of third-party fertility methods and caution against the creation of unused and unwanted embryos. The Catholic Church views all IVF, including the use of third-party gametes, as immoral and objects to the destruction of life that frequently occurs through in vitro fertilization. Christ’s admonishment to protect the “least of these” makes the use of sperm and egg donation a non-starter for evangelicals who recognize that third-party reproduction forces a child to sacrifice for them, rather than the adult sacrificing for the child.  Muslims, believe that “no third party should intrude upon the marital functions of sex and procreation. Surrogacy is not accepted in Islam.” The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints gives the following counsel: “The pattern of a husband and wife providing bodies for God’s spirit children is divinely appointed…The Church discourages artificial insemination or in vitro fertilization using sperm from anyone but the husband or an egg from anyone but the wife. However, this is a personal matter that is ultimately left to the judgment and prayerful consideration of a lawfully married man and woman.” Diverse faiths are united in the belief that human procreation is of Godly origin and therefore to be treated with the greatest of care and reverence – even awe. Likewise, the sacred nature of life and the divinely designed link between children and the mother and father that create them should give any couple pause if use of a third-party gamete is suggested as a remedy for infertility.

When the question is life or death, the correct answer is always, life! Emma and Molly’s lives are worthy of celebration, and their adoptive parents deserve our support and gratitude. Embryo adoption is the only child-honoring option for embryos which truly have no other path for life. Yet we must still be honest about the ethical and familial costs that embryo adoption imposes on children.

As advocates for the rights of children, the birth of Emma and Molly should result in two seemingly contradictory but simultaneous responses: the redoubling of our efforts to halt the creation of surplus embryos left to languish in freezers, and the celebration of the two beautiful girls who made it out.

(Originally published at Meridian Magazine)

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

EnglishPolski
Share This