圖片來源:匿名父親節,生物倫理與文化中心

就在我 32 歲生日後的幾個星期,我發現我的父母使用了一個精子供體來懷孕我。

那是幾年前的8。

媽媽一說“你爸可能不是你真正的爸爸”這句話,一下子就發生了幾件事:突然間,我和家裡任何人都不一樣的鼻子變得有道理; 關於為什麼我看起來不像家裡任何人的問題終於得到了解答; 哦,是的,我一頭扎進了一個黑暗的抑鬱深坑,這與我以前經歷過的任何事情都不一樣。 我覺得我對父親——我母親的丈夫——的每一個記憶都被這樣一個事實所玷污,因為他知道一些我不知道的關於我自己的事情。

他*真的*愛我嗎? 我是一個“好”的孩子,但我知道有些時候我給他的生活帶來了挫敗感——他把這歸咎於我是別人的孩子嗎?

我意識到他的家族史不再屬於我。 他的爸爸,牛仔,不是我的。 他的母親最終活到了100歲,並沒有將她的好基因遺傳下來。 另一方面,我也沒有繼承我父親的基因,自從我發現真相後,他患上了一種可怕的疾病,最終奪走了他的生命,我很感謝那一點積極的小事。

我花了大約六個星期的時間為失去與父親的生物聯繫而哀悼。 老實說,我不確定我是如何度過那個賽季的。 除了基本必需品之外,我無法照顧我們年幼的孩子,不得不提醒我照顧這些東西。 我的思想和心靈處於一個黑暗的地方,那裡似乎沒有什麼是真實和穩定的。 我覺得我是誰的基礎已經破裂,我不再知道我是誰。 靠著上帝的恩典,這些感覺過去了,但有些日子感覺好像永遠不會。

在“失去”我父親的震驚之後,我意識到外面有一個看起來像我的男人,他是我的父親。 然後,我開始為失去一個直到幾週前我才知道存在的人而哀悼。

你知道這有多奇怪嗎?

他是誰? 他有沒有想過我? 他“捐贈”了多少次? 他有自己撫養的孩子嗎? 他還活著嗎? 我那裡有其他“捐贈者”受孕的兄弟姐妹嗎?

進入這個新現實僅僅幾個月,我就開始努力解決“捐贈者”概念的倫理問題。 以 40 美元的價格為孩子做父親並簽署所有為人父母的權利是否正確? 創造一個故意與他們的親生家庭隔絕的人是否正確? 準父母對孩子的渴望是否證明孩子生活的劇變是正當的? 生孩子的難以置信的願望是否有可能會影響判斷力,以至於人們無法思考他們的行為如何會對他們想要擁有的人產生負面影響?

經過數月的學習、閱讀、祈禱和思考創建家庭意味著什麼,以及生育行業如何為有能力支付孩子的人創造孩子,我得出的結論是,“生育”一詞工業”表示有產品,人不是產品。 孩子是上帝送給已婚夫婦的禮物,供他們撫養和供養。 生活並不總是這樣,但故意歪曲和扭曲這個概念就是製造混亂。

有很多人告訴我,我應該感謝我的生活,不要再對非常需要我的父母忘恩負義了。 稱我的概念不道德絕不會貶低我很高興活著的事實。 在強姦中受孕的孩子可能會很高興還活著,但仍然厭惡強姦。 至於我父母“非常想要我”的想法,這並不完全準確:我父母實際上想要一個來自他們倆的孩子,因此嘗試了 14 年。 使用別人的配子不是最初計劃的一部分,但這就是有效的。

我愛撫養我長大的人。 他永遠是我的爸爸。 他為我供養,愛我,為我犧牲。 然而,儘管我的童年很甜蜜,但我堅決反對“捐贈者”的概念。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

Photo Credit: Anonymous Father’s Day, Center for Bioethics and Culture

Just a couple of weeks after my 32nd birthday, I found out that my parents used a sperm donor to conceive me.

That was 8 years ago.

As soon as my mother said the words, “your dad may not be your real dad,” several things happened at once: suddenly my nose, which was unlike anyone else’s in the family, made sense; the questions that I had about why I didn’t look like anyone in the family were finally answered; and oh yeah, I fell headlong into a dark pit of depression, unlike anything I’d ever experienced before. I felt as though every memory that I had of my dad – my mother’s husband – was tainted by the fact that he knew something about me that I didn’t know about myself.

Did he *really* love me? I was a “good” kid, but I knew that there were moments that I brought frustration into his life – did he chalk it up to me being someone else’s kid?

I realized that his family history no longer belonged to me. His dad, the cowboy, wasn’t mine. His mother, who eventually lived to be 100 years old, didn’t pass down her good genes. On the other hand, I didn’t inherit my dad’s genes, either, and since the time I found out the truth, he was several years into a terrible disease that eventually took his life, I was thankful for that one small positive thing.

I spent about six weeks mourning the loss of biological connection to my dad. I’m not sure how I survived that season, honestly. I couldn’t take care of our young children beyond the basic necessities, and I had to be reminded to take care of those things. My mind and heart were in a dark place, where nothing seemed to be true and stable. I felt as though the foundation of who I was had cracked and I no longer knew who I was. By the grace of God, those feelings passed, but there were days when it felt like it never would.

After the shock of “losing” my dad, I realized that there was a man out there who I did look like who fathered me. I then began to mourn the loss of a man who I never even knew existed until a few weeks earlier.

Do you know how odd that is?

Who was he? Did he ever think about me? How many times did he “donate”? Did he have children that he raised? Was he even still alive? Did I have other “donor” conceived siblings out there?

Just a couple of months into this new reality, I began to grapple with the ethics of “donor” conception. Was it right to father children and sign away all parental rights for $40? Was it right to create a person who would be intentionally cut off from their biological family? Do the intended parent’s desire for a child justify the upheaval of the child’s life? Is it possible that the incredible desire to have a baby could cloud judgment to the point that one cannot think about how their actions could negatively affect the very person they desire to have?

After months of studying and reading and praying and thinking through every aspect of what it means to create a family and how the fertility industry creates children for those who can pay for them, I came to the conclusion that the mere fact that the term “fertility industry” indicates that there is a product, and people are not products. Children are a gift from God to a married couple to raise and to provide for. Life doesn’t always work out that way, but to skew and warp that concept on purpose is to create chaos.

I’ve had many people tell me that I should just be thankful for my life and stop being ungrateful to my parents who wanted me so much. Calling my conception unethical in no way devalues the fact that I am glad to be alive. Children who are conceived in rape can be glad to be alive and still abhor rape. As for the idea that my parents “wanted me so much,” that isn’t quite accurate: my parents actually wanted a child that came from BOTH of them, hence the 14 years of trying. Using someone else’s gametes wasn’t part of the original plan, but that’s what worked.

I love the man who raised me. He will always be my dad. He provided for me, loved me, and sacrificed for me. Yet despite my sweet childhood, I am adamantly against “donor” conception.

Previous Article

What can you do to right this ship? Get on board.

Even when the captain decides to change course, it can take up to ten miles to ... Read more

Next Article

What's so bad about divorce?

Reams of research testify to marriage being a force for good in the lives of ... Read more

Share This