他們在我們之前的創始人凱蒂浮士德最近作證反對 參議院比爾137 在南達科他州參議院,旨在建立代孕安排和協議。 根據該法案的支持者,代孕在南達科他州已經實行了三十多年 “沒有問題,”因此,該行業尋求制定更具體的措施來保護相關方“和兒童”。 

支持者給出的證詞充滿了情感陳詞濫調,例如代孕如何簡單地“幫助人們生孩子”,通過“攜帶某人的孩子並在他們無法成長時給他們一個安全的成長場所”。 當他們“沒有代理人的幫助無法成為孩子”時,代理人“將孩子交給父母”的口頭禪被重複了,令人作嘔。 代孕捍衛者必須依賴以成人為中心的敘述。

但對於孩子來說,代孕永遠不會對孩子友好。 代孕不只是“取代”另一個不能生孩子的母親。 對於發育中的嬰兒,代孕 是他或她的母親,而生母在孩子出生時對孩子來說是陌生的。 對產前紐帶的重要性以及母性如何從受孕開始的不承認,會造成終身 原傷 對孩子們。 

很多支持者提到的一點,雖然不能懷上自己的親生孩子令人心碎,但這些生命被操縱的胚胎並不是“在幫助下成為孩子”——他們已經 孩子們。 其他人說代孕“創造了生命”,另一位代孕者說她是一個“支持生命的基督徒婦女”,永遠不會終止或丟棄任何可行的胚胎。 代孕所固有的體外受精實踐幾乎不是一種肯定生命的實踐。 代孕者可能會進入該過程,目的是不丟棄任何可行的胚胎,而是放棄體外受精過程 充斥著違規行為 兒童的 生命權

另一位代孕媽媽表示,她是被一位單身父親僱傭的,聲稱她天生就是一個樂於助人的人。 故意剝奪孩子的 被父母認識、撫養和愛戴的基本權利 對孩子有幫助嗎? 答案總是……不。

支持者一遍又一遍地聲稱,該法案旨在“為孩子和作為代孕者或準父母參與該過程的人盡我們所能”。 實際上,他們的兒童保護概念是為成年人服務的語言操縱。 

反對

反對派只關注代孕如何傷害兒童。 諾曼·伍茲 家族遺產聯盟 行動,討論了代孕並不像其倡導者聲稱的那樣簡單,因為代孕將媽媽的想法分成了三個不同的人。 他還表示,卵子捐贈和代孕的風險通常不會向參與者透露。 克里斯·莫茨 南達科他州天主教會議 敦促參議院考慮代孕的倫理問題,例如交換兒童的金錢補償。 他質疑為什麼禁止營利性收養,而商業代孕卻以利潤為基礎。

捐贈者懷孕的孩子的證詞之一是凱蒂弗朗西斯科,一位在我們面前的捐贈者懷孕的倡導者。 她談到了受孕的痛苦,與自己的身份鬥爭,無法與親生父親建立聯繫,以及為孩子代孕的虛偽。 代孕違背了在產婦病房中發現的所有基本本能,從立即將嬰兒放在母親的胸前到鼓勵母乳喂養到讓母親和嬰兒在同一個房間裡。 她敦促立法者考慮在實驗室受孕的感覺,並表示她更願意通過一夜情受孕,因為那樣至少她的父母會見面。 作為一個現在正努力懷孕的人,弗朗西斯科理解不孕症的痛苦,但她不認為捐贈者受孕和代孕是答案:“我們不能將孩子與母親交易,並假裝這符合他們的最大利益。” 

凱蒂浮士德討論了兒童對其父母的權利,以及兒童如何成為該法案需要關注的人。 具有諷刺意味的是,該法案確定“孩子的最大利益”將移交給可能有或可能沒有基因相關的預期父母,他們從未接受過任何篩查或背景調查。 她通過引用“代孕只是幫助人們建立家庭的一種方式”這一俏皮話來回應 匿名我們 創始人 Alana Newman 指出,“這不是一種創建家庭的新方式,而是一種將家庭拆散的新方式。” 當談到孩子的觀點時,生物學很重要,這是收養以兒童的最大利益為中心的眾多原因之一,重點是安全安置,禁止支付生母費用,並促進家庭安置的開放性。 然後,她將代孕作為一個以成年人的願望為中心的市場進行了對比,該市場允許為孩子付款,更喜歡匿名捐贈者,並且不需要對“有意的”父母進行篩選。 代孕與收養最佳實踐背道而馳。 

代孕故意製造出沒有母親的孩子,即使孩子是由他們的遺傳母親和父親撫養長大的,這種做法也可以將孩子剪切和粘貼到任何和所有成人安排中。 雖然支持者的證詞要求我們考慮如果我們“站在他們的立場”並遭受不孕症,我們會有何感受,但我們必須為失去母親和/或父親以謀取利益的孩子走一英里。 正如 Katy Faust 總結的那樣,“……你的同情不應該在於成年人,而應該在於那些對父母的權利受到侵犯的孩子,其中 93% 的生命權受到侵犯。 通過商業代孕過程創造的孩子,他們的自由出生和不被買賣的權利受到侵犯。 無論成年人如何受苦,都不能成為侵犯兒童基本權利的理由。 在這方面你需要與孩子們保持一致,而不是那些渴望某事的成年人。” 

要收聽整個參議院會議,請單擊 立即申請!

Them Before Us founder Katy Faust recently testified against Senate Bill 137 in the South Dakota Senate, which aims to establish gestational surrogacy arrangements and agreements. According to the bill’s proponents, surrogacy has been practiced in South Dakota for over thirty years with “no problems,” thus the industry sought to enact more specific measures to protect the involved parties “and the children.” 

Proponents gave testimonies overflowing with emotional cliches, such as how surrogacy is simply “people helping people have children” by “carrying someone’s child and giving them a safe place to grow when they are not able.” The mantra that surrogates are “giving children to their parents” when they otherwise “cannot become children without the help of surrogates” was repeated ad-nauseum. Surrogacy defenders must rely on adult-centric narratives.

But for children, surrogacy can never be child-friendly. Surrogates are not simply “taking the place” of another mother who can’t grow her child. For the developing baby the surrogate is his or her mother, and the biological mother is a stranger to the child upon birth. The unacknowledgement of the importance of the prenatal bond and how motherhood begins at conception, inflicts a life-long primal wound on children. 

As heartbreaking as it is to not be able to carry one’s own biological child, a point mentioned by many of the proponents, these embryos whose lives are being manipulated are not “becoming children with help” – they already are children. Others stated that surrogacy “creates life,” and another gestational carrier stated that she’s a “pro-life, Christian woman,” and would never terminate or discard any viable embryos. The practice of IVF, inherent within surrogacy, is hardly a life-affirming practice. Surrogates may enter into the process with the intent of not discarding any viable embryos, but the IVF process is rife with violations of children’s right to life

Another gestational carrier stated that she’s been hired by a single father, claiming she is a helpful person by nature. Is intentionally depriving a child of the fundamental right to be known, raised, and loved by his or her mother and father helpful to a child? The answer is always… no.

Over and over, proponents claimed this bill aims to “do our best for the children and the people involved in the process as gestational carriers or intended parents.” In reality, their notion of child protection is a manipulation of language in the service of adults. 

Opposition

The opposition focused exclusively on how surrogacy harms children. Norman Woods of Family Heritage Alliance Action, discussed how surrogacy is not as simple as its advocates claim, as surrogacy splits the idea of mom into three different people. He also stated how the risks of egg donation and surrogacy are often not divulged to its participants. Chris Motz of the South Dakota Catholic Conference urged the Senate to consider the ethical issues of surrogacy, such as the exchange of monetary compensation for children. He questioned why for-profit adoption is prohibited but commercial surrogacy is predicated on profit.

Among the testimonies from donor-conceived children was Katy Francisco, a Them Before Us donor-conceived advocate. She talked about the pain of being donor-conceived, struggling with her identity, not being able to relate to her biological father, and the hypocrisy of surrogacy being for the child. Surrogacy goes against all of the basic instincts that are found in the maternal ward, from immediately placing a baby on his or her mother’s chest to encouraging breastfeeding to keeping mother and baby in the same room. She urged lawmakers to consider how it would feel to be conceived in a lab, and stated she would have preferred to be conceived through a one-night stand, because then at least her parents would have met each other. As someone struggling to conceive right now, Francisco understands the pain of infertility, but she doesn’t think donor conception and surrogacy are the answers: “We can’t be trading kids in and out of mothers and pretending that it’s in their best interests.” 

Katy Faust discussed children’s right to their mothers and fathers, and how the child is the person around which this bill needs to focus. Ironically the bill identifies that the “best interest of the child” is to be handed over to the intended parents who may or may not be genetically related, and who have never undergone any screenings or background checks. She responds to the quip that “surrogacy is just a way to help people build families” by quoting Anonymous Us founder Alana Newman who notes that “this is not a new way of creating families, but a new way of tearing them apart.” When it comes to the child’s perspective, biology matters, and it’s one of the many reasons that adoption centered around the best interests of children by focusing on safe placements, prohibits paying the birth mother, and promotes openness in family placement.  She then contrasts surrogacy as a marketplace centered around the desires of adults which permits payments for children, prefers anonymous donors, and requires no screening for “intended” parents. Surrogacy flies in the face of adoption best practices. 

Surrogacy creates intentionally motherless children, and even if children are raised by their genetic mothers and fathers, the practice makes possible the cutting and pasting of children into any and all adult arrangements. While proponents’ testimonies asked us to consider how we would feel if we were “in their shoes” and suffering infertility, we must instead walk a mile in the shoes of the child who has lost their mother and/or father for profit.  As Katy Faust concluded, “…your sympathy needs to not lie with adults, it needs to lie with the children whose rights to their mother and father are being violated, 93% of whom’s right to life is being violated. Children created through commercial surrogacy processes, their right to be born free and not bought and sold is being violated. No matter how the adults suffer, none of that justifies violating children’s fundamental rights. It is with the kids that you need to align on this, not adults who desire something.” 

To listen to the whole Senate meeting, click HERE!

 

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishGermanKoreanLatvianPolishSpanish
Share This