(圖片來源: 克吉特里)

比爾和梅琳達·蓋茨結婚 27 年後宣布 通過Twitter 他們決定結束他們的關係,理由是他們不能再“像夫妻一樣共同成長”。 據報導,圍繞他們離婚的談話 各個 新聞 網點,圍繞這對夫婦將如何分配他們價值 130 億美元的資產,以及他們將如何繼續在 比爾和梅林達·蓋茨基金會. 這些談話中沒有他們三個孩子的聲音。 當提到蓋茨的孩子時,人們很少擔心他們的應對方式,而是有很多關於孩子們會好起來的評論,因為他們會 永遠不必擔心錢。 但是,如果 幾十年的研究 關於離婚對孩子(甚至成年子女)的影響是可以相信的,金錢是代替不了孩子的父母相親相愛的。 正如一位在 21 歲時經歷過父母離異的女性所分享的,“財富並不能保護孩子免受悲傷、失望,最重要的是恐懼。” ——瑪麗·穆奇

孩子幸福所需要的內在基礎不是金錢,而是母親的愛、父親的愛,以及來自已婚父母的撫養、認識和愛戴的穩定健康的家庭結構. 這是久經考驗的健康秘訣 認知和社會情感發展. 對這個基金會的渴望是所有孩子的共同點,而不僅僅是某些經濟階層的孩子。 

我們社會中的許多人希望成年人在父母離婚時不會受到影響。 畢竟,這些孩子現在已經足夠成熟,可以了解情況,他們有自己的生活和人際關係可以關注。 我們知道,對於孩子來說,離婚是一種 不良童年體驗 這可能會導致終生的身心健康問題,但那又如何呢? 成人 孩子們? 孩子們 建立牢固的情感聯繫 從小和父母在一起,既是患難時的安慰之源,也是生存之道。 不出所料,成年子女可能會在父母離婚後遭受創傷性心理反應,因為父母的婚姻構成了他們認同感和依戀感的基礎,這也是他們未來戀愛關係的基礎。 父母的婚姻解除,即使在成年後,也會引起 內疚、懷疑、憤怒和困惑

正如那些在成年後經歷過父母離婚的人所分享的:

離婚。 我在家裡從來沒有聽說過這個詞。 也就是說,直到我的父母宣布他們要買一個。 我當時 21 歲。 我記得電話裡有解釋原因的電話。 對我來說沒關係。 正如我向父母解釋的那樣,重要的是我們的家人基本上已經不在了。 作為一個年輕的成年人,我充滿了深深的悲傷和恐懼感。 我的父母當時也在我不知道的情況下苦苦掙扎。 他們或我無法傳達正在發生的事情的深度。 我們在駕駛室外面。

當時我最關心的是一個合理的“我的未來會是什麼樣子?” 我知道那是自私的。 讓我害怕的是未知。 我對聖誕節、感恩節、生日等的焦慮是壓倒性的。 我無法想像當時比我還小的孩子如何能夠成功地離婚。 

隨著時間的推移,恐懼消失了。 然而,悲傷從未消失。 這是可能發生的事情的悲傷。 ——瑪麗·穆奇

我成年後經歷了父母離婚,這非常艱難。 結婚 32 年後,我父親剛剛離開並娶了另一位女士。 5年多沒有他的消息了。 他對我說的最後一句話是“你是一個成年人,你會適應得很好,你不再需要我了,因為你有自己的家庭,你是一個堅強的女人。” 他完全錯了。 我和我的兄弟姐妹仍在承受我父親決定的後果。 我的兩個姐妹(27 歲和 31 歲)在離婚後出現了強烈的焦慮。 所以我完全同意孩子或成年人不會擺脫離婚。 -卡特琳娜

當我的父母(當時是 30 多歲)通知我和我的兄弟姐妹他們要離婚時,我 70 多歲。 我的直接情緒反應是憤怒,夾雜著困惑。 為什麼在一起這麼多年後,他們會突然相信分開生活是最理想的? 他們怎麼敢把他們的微小分歧置於婚姻的神聖和我們家庭的團結之上。 但當我進一步考慮情況時,我只感到失望。 他們是基督徒,他們讓我變得誠實、善良和自我犧牲。 但在我看來,他們似乎沒有聽從自己的教訓。 隨著他們的孩子長大並償還了債務,他們決定追求自私的目的比為婚姻努力更可取。 漸漸地,我得知父親不想離婚; 我母親未經他同意就啟動了這個過程。 但我相信他們都有過錯:他沒有認真對待他們的問題,直到為時已晚,而她沒有考慮寬恕與和解的可能性。 歸根結底,我認為整個事件是可恥的,因為他們沒有遵守基督的誡命,也沒有遵守教會的教導。 我相信他們的行為是自私的,因為他們沒有諮詢他們的牧師、他們的孩子或專業人士。 他們在與家人、社區隔離的情況下做出決定,然後期望我們簡單地接受它。 影響這麼多人的決定必然需要受影響者的投入。 -喬 

我仍然相信婚姻是好的。 這種離婚不應該發生。 如果您有問題……修復它! 關係是工作。 人們需要停止放棄。 -菲利普

雖然比爾和梅琳達宣布的大部分焦點都集中在兩個成年人身上,但媒體和推特用戶都忽略了這場離婚的真正受害者——他們的孩子。 具有諷刺意味的是,他們的聲明表達了繼續幫助他人過上健康、富有成效的生活的願望。 他們沒有承認的是,如果沒有牢固的家庭紐帶,孩子們過上健康、富有成效的生活會變得更加困難。 要是蓋茨明白婚姻可以實現金錢永遠做不到的事情就好了。

(Image by Kjetil Ree)

Following 27 years of marriage, Bill and Melinda Gates announced via Twitter that they have decided to end their relationship on the grounds that they can no longer “grow together as a couple.” Conversations surrounding their divorce, as reported by various news outlets, center around how the couple will divide their $130 billion worth of assets, and how they will continue working together at the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation. Absent from these conversations are the voices of their three children. When the Gates children are mentioned, there is little concern for how they are coping, but instead there are a great deal of comments about how the children will be fine since they will never have to worry about money. However, if the decades of research on divorce’s impact on children (even adult children) is to be believed, money is no substitute for a child’s mother and father loving each other. As one woman who experienced the divorce of her parents at age 21 shared, “Wealth does not shield children from sorrow, disappointment, and, most of all, fear.” -Marie Mucci

The inherent foundation required for children to be happy is not money, but rather the love of their mothers, the love of their fathers, and the stability and healthy familial structure that comes from being raised, known, and loved by their married mothers and fathers. That is the tried and tested recipe for healthy cognitive and social emotional development. The longing for this foundation is common to all children, not just those of certain economic classes. 

Many in our society expect adults to be unaffected when their parents divorce. After all, these children are now mature enough to understand the situation, and they have their own lives and relationships on which to focus. We know that for children, divorce is an Adverse Childhood Experience that can result in lifelong mental and physical health issues, but what about adult children? Children develop solid, emotional ties with their parents from a young age, which are both a source of comfort in times of distress and a method of survival. Unsurprisingly, adult children can suffer traumatic psychological responses following the divorces of their parents, as the marriages of their parents formed the bases of their senses of identity and attachment, which serve as the foundation for their own future romantic relationships. The dissolution of the marriage of one’s parents, even in adulthood, can cause feelings of guilt, doubt, anger, and confusion

As shared by those who have experienced the divorcing of their parents as adults:

Divorce. I never heard that word in my family. That is, until my parents announced that they were getting one. I was 21-years-old. I remember phone calls with explanations of the why. It didn’t matter to me. What mattered, as I explained to my parents, was that our family was essentially gone. As a young adult, I was filled with a profound sense of sorrow and fear. My parents were also, unbeknownst to me at the time, struggling. There was no way for them or me to communicate the depth of what was happening. We were outside of our wheelhouse.

My overriding concern at the time was a legitimate ‘what would my future be like?’ I know that was selfish. It was the unknown that frightened me. My anxieties regarding Christmas, Thanksgiving, birthdays, etc. were overwhelming. I can’t imagine how children younger than I was at the time can successfully navigate a divorce. 

In time the fear went away. The sorrow, however, has never gone away. It is the sorrow of what could have been. -Marie Mucci

I experienced my parents divorce as an adult and it was extremely hard. After 32 yrs of marriage my dad just left and married another lady. Haven’t heard from him in over 5 yrs. The last thing he said to me was “You’re an adult, you will adapt just fine, you don’t need me anymore because you have your own family, you’re a strong woman.” He was totally wrong. My siblings and I are still suffering the consequences of my dad’s decision. Two of my sisters ( 27 and 31 yr old’s) developed strong anxiety after the divorce. So I totally agree that kids or adults don’t get over divorce.  -Catalina

I was in my 30s when my parents (then in their 70s) informed me and my siblings that they were divorcing. My immediate emotional response was anger, mixed with confusion. Why, after so many years together, would they suddenly believe that living separate lives would be ideal? How dare they place their petty differences ahead of the sanctity of marriage and the solidarity of our family. But as I further considered the situation, I felt only disappointment. They were Christians who raised me to be honest, kind, and self-sacrificial. But it seemed to me they had not heeded their own lessons. With their children raised and their debts paid, they decided it was more desirable to pursue selfish ends than to work on their marriage. In time, I learned that my father did not want to divorce; my mother initiated the process without his consent. But I believe they were both at fault: he for not taking seriously their problems until it was too late, and she for not considering the possibility of forgiveness and reconciliation. Ultimately, I consider the entire affair as shameful because they did not follow the commandments of Christ, nor the teaching of the Church. And I believe their actions to be selfish because they did not consult with their pastor, their children, or a professional. They made their decision in isolation from their family, their community, and then expected us to simply accept it. A decision that affects so many necessarily requires the input of those affected. -Joe 

I still believe marriage is good. That divorce shouldn’t happen. If you have a problem…FIX IT! Relationships are work. People need to stop giving up. -Philip

While much of the focus of Bill and Melinda’s announcement is centered around the two adults, media and twitter-ers alike are ignoring the true victims of this divorce—their children. Ironically, their announcement expressed a desire to continue helping others lead healthy, productive lives. What they fail to acknowledge is that without a strong familial bond, it becomes exponentially harder for children to lead healthy, productive lives. If only the Gates’ understood that marriage can achieve what money never will.

 

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This