29 年 2020 月 XNUMX 日, 充當代孕的女人 為她最好的朋友張貼 在reddit上 她的朋友最近去世了,讓她生下的小女孩沒有母親。 不出所料,孩子的父親現在堅持讓女人站出來做孩子的母親,因為她是孩子出生的負責人。 這個年幼的孩子在她出生的那天就已經失去了她的親生母親,現在她失去了她的遺傳/社會母親。 她的父親現在正試圖用孩子的生母重新塑造社會母親的角色。 這位丈夫無法在精神上將生母與社會母親區分開來,這一事實證明了本能真理——我們作為人類天生就知道的真理——女人攜帶、養育、成長和生下一個孩子確實是那個孩子的媽媽,那個女人也應該和孩子有血緣關係,撫養孩子。

我們在他們面前知道孩子對其親生母親和父親擁有與生俱來的權利。 這意味著一個孩子有權獲得他或她的遺傳、出生和社會母親,所有這些自然存在於同一個女人身上。 然而,代孕的做法將這個母親一分為二,或者當使用卵子“捐贈者”時,三個獨立的女性,以及 時刻 導致孩子的損失。 許多不孕夫婦、同性伴侶或有意成為單親父親的男性追求代孕,認為他們擁有實現對孩子的渴望的固有權利,無論所生孩子的成本如何。 孩子們承擔了這些選擇的代價,這種做法使女性失去人性並助長厭女症,鼓勵社會表現得好像母親是可以互換的,女性可以被用作為他人謀取私利的孵化器。 

正如我們從他們之前知道的那樣 故事銀行,對這個年輕女孩造成的損失——失去母親——是一場痛苦的悲劇:

“我父親現在是兩個女兒的單親父親。 他喜歡當爸爸,也很崇拜我們……我們也很崇拜他。 我們認為他是有史以來最偉大的人! 他為我們做事,帶我們去地方和經歷的事情來表達他的愛和奉獻精神,我們喜歡它的每一刻……我們絕對感受到任何孩子應該感受到的愛。 然而,總覺得少了點什麼。

......沒有孩子應該沒有他們的母親......還有父親,因為這是一種不同類型的愛和生活體驗。 但是母愛很重要! 直到今天,我仍然在經歷我的情緒並處理痛苦。 我知道我正在康復的旅程中,還有很多諮詢要經歷。 長大後我只想讓媽媽愛我,陪在我身邊。” 

引述生母的話說,她 受不了 她朋友的丈夫,只懷了孩子,因為她愛她的朋友。 這進一步說明了代孕不是為了孩子的最大利益,而是為了成年人的願望。 任何真正考慮孩子在這些情況下如何受到影響的人都不會願意為一個她感到不屑的男人創造一個孩子。

即使遺傳母親沒有死,代孕總是迫使孩子經歷失去母親三個方面中的至少一個。 因此,必須禁止一切形式的代孕。 為了禁止代孕,不僅必須讓社會意識到 與親生母親分離的兒童遭受的創傷, 的鬥爭 捐贈者懷孕的孩子健康風險開發 參與卵子捐贈的女性,但更重要的是,那些聲稱支持女性賦權的人必須停止縱容這種將兒童商品化的做法。 

最近,眾議員 Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez 紐約討論 她對體外受精過程的興趣和 可能性 冷凍她自己的卵子。 Ocasio-Cortez 女士推廣生殖技術 同時 說出來 反對性別歧視並宣揚女性不應對非人道的行為或他人的騷擾變得不敏感——這對社會有害。 她對這些技術的推廣不僅有助於配子捐贈的剝削產業,而且 人類胚胎的破壞,但她正在為促進代孕這種剝削性、厭惡女性和非人性化的做法做出貢獻。 女性和母親要么因其與生俱來的尊嚴和價值而受到重視,要么就沒有。 我們不能兩全其美。 

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

On November 29th, 2020, a woman who acted as a gestational surrogate for her best friend posted on reddit that her friend had passed away recently, leaving the young girl to whom she had given birth without a mother. Unsurprisingly, the child’s father is now insistent that the woman should step up and be the child’s mother, as she is the one who is responsible for her birth. This young child has already suffered the loss of her birth mother the day she was born, and now she’s lost her genetic/social mother. Her father is now seeking to recast the role of social mother with the child’s birth mother. The reality that this husband was not able to mentally separate birth mother from social mother is a testimony to the instinctual truth- a truth of which we are innately aware as human beings- the woman who carries, nurtures, grows, and gives birth to a child is indeed that child’s mother, and that woman should also be genetically related to and raise the child.

We at Them Before Us know that children have an inherent right to their biological mothers and fathers. This means that a child has a right to his or her genetic, birth, and social mother, all of which naturally exist in the same woman. The practice of surrogacy, however, splits this one mother into two, or when egg “donors” are used, three separate women, and always results in loss for children. Many infertile couples, same-sex partners, or men intentionally seeking to become single fathers, pursue surrogacy believing that they have an inherent right to fulfill their longings for a child, no matter the cost to the children created. Children shoulder the cost of these choices, and the practice dehumanizes women and feeds misogyny by emboldening society to behave as if mothers are interchangeable and women can be used as incubators for another’s personal gain. 

As we know from the Them Before Us story bank, the loss that has been inflicted on this young girl- the loss of a mother- is a painful tragedy:

“My dad was now a single father of 2 girls. He loved being a dad and adored us…and we adored him. We thought he was the greatest thing ever! He did things for us, took us places and experienced things to show his love and dedication, and we loved every moment of it…We definitely felt love like any child should feel. However, something still felt missing.

…No child should be without their mothers…and fathers too since it’s a different type of love and life experience. But a mother’s love is crucial! I’m still to this day going through my emotions and dealing with the pain. I know I’m on a journey of healing and have lots of counseling to still go through. All I wanted growing up was my mommy to love me and be there for me.” 

The birth mother is quoted as saying she can’t stand her friend’s husband and only carried the child because she loved her friend. This further illustrates the reality that surrogacy is not about the best interests of the children, but about the desires of adults. Anyone truly considering how the children are impacted in these situations would not be party to creating a child for a man whom she feels disdain.

Even when the genetic mother doesn’t die, surrogacy always forces children to experience the loss of at least one of the three facets of the mother to which they are entitled; therefore, surrogacy must be banned in all of its forms. In order for surrogacy to be banned, not only must society be made aware of the trauma inflicted upon children separated from their birth mothers, the struggles of donor-conceived children, and the health risks and exploitation of women involved in egg donation, but more importantly, those who claim to champion women’s empowerment must stop condoning this child-commodifying practice. 

Recently, Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez of New York discussed her interest in the in vitro fertilization process and the possibility of freezing her own eggs. The promotion of reproductive technologies by Ms. Ocasio-Cortez- a woman who simultaneously speaks out against sexism and preaches that women should not become desensitized to dehumanizing behavior or harassment from others- is detrimental to society. Not only does her promotion of these technologies contribute to the exploitative industry of gamete donation and the destruction of human embryos, but she’s contributing to the furthering of the exploitative, misogynistic, and dehumanizing practice that is surrogacy. Women and mothers are either to be valued for their inherent dignity and worth, or they aren’t. We can’t have it both ways. 

 

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This