由於我即將到來,我的父母在 18 歲結婚。 我和我的母親——還有 15 個月後來的弟弟——在我生命的最初幾年里和我的外祖父母住在一起。 我爸爸在美國空軍,駐紮在很遠的地方,所以他們認為我媽媽和父母呆在家裡對我們家來說是最好的事情。 那些年安靜祥和,充滿安全感。 當我父親出院後我們搬出去時,這一切都改變了。 此後,我早年的家中充滿了激烈的口角,還有酗酒和吸毒。

我的父母經常在我們家舉行聚會,他們的一群朋友會在我們的客廳周圍通過關節或煙槍,而我和我的兄弟在房間裡,看著和聞著一切。 對我來說,這完全正常,以至於有一天,當我七歲的時候,我正在向鄰居男孩展示我們車上的吸毒用具,冷靜地定義每件物品及其用途。 這次談話被我媽媽叫我進屋打斷了。 我一進去,她就拉住我的胳膊,對我嘶嘶作響,說我再也不能和任何人談論這種事情了。 她接著說,如果我這樣做,她和我父親就會被送進監獄。 這是我第一次意識到我父母的所作所為是非法的,而我媽媽以我對失去家人的恐懼為動力,強行讓我成為她向世界撒謊的伙伴。 它奏效了,因為儘管我們的家庭不完美,但失去它的可能性讓我感到害怕。 我曾幻想被送去寄養,再也見不到我的父母、兄弟、祖父母或堂兄弟姐妹。 回想起來,作為一個成年人,我意識到我的祖父母會介入並帶走我們,但作為一年級學生,我認為我必須撒謊來保護我的家人,讓我們在一起,保護自己不被從我相信我唯一的家中取出。

所以我成了我父母秘密的守門人。 當我的祖母——她帶我去教堂,我媽媽上班時讓我在她家——來到我們家時,當我跑到她面前時,我會大喊:“格拉姆進來了。” 在她告訴我她知道我為什麼這樣做之前,我已經成年了,所以她不應該看到的所有東西都可以收起來。 我沒有告訴任何人我經常聽到的打鬥——尖叫、詛咒和扔東西的撞擊聲,而我躺在床上哭泣,蜷縮在被子下,祈禱它停止。 我父母之間的一次爭吵弄斷了我母親的手指。 第二天早上我和哥哥看到它,腫脹和瘀傷。 她從來沒有說過這件事。 我們從來沒有討論過這些爭吵,只是假裝它們沒有發生,儘管她的臉上滿是淚水,而我父親不在。 她對我的祖父母撒謊了手指骨折的原因,因為她幾乎對其他所有事情都撒了謊。

但最大的謊言在我 14 歲時被揭穿。 開車送我回家的時候,爺爺斷斷續續地告訴我,我家的父親並不是我的父親。 儘管我媽媽反對,他說從一開始就想告訴我一個男人的身份,我隱約記得他是我媽媽高中時的老朋友。 我記得偶爾會見到他。 我知道他這些年來一直給我送生日禮物,但永遠不會給我哥哥送禮物。 我一直覺得這很奇怪,因為我知道我有棕色的眼睛是有問題的,而我家的父母都沒有。 後來,我什至記得問我媽媽我的出身,當我找到我的出生證明,問我出生前一個月發生的婚禮的問題。 我問我媽媽,她是否知道我爸爸是我爸爸。 她驚恐的反應實際上讓我什至連問都感到內疚,好像我冒犯了她,暗示了她的美德或榮譽。 現在我知道,不知何故,我一直都知道。 因為在失去我所認識的唯一父親的過程中,我感受到的主要情緒是寬慰,寬慰,因為我從來沒有像我認為的那樣愛他,因為我在心裡知道他沒有把我當作我珍愛的女兒渴望成為。 我一直想知道為什麼。 現在我知道了。

那天晚上,隨著她冗長而復雜的故事傾瀉而出,我媽媽流著淚證實了這一信息。 那一刻,我為她感到難過,真的把她看作是命運和環境的犧牲品,不知何故。 我愛她,而且我仍然願意相信她的動機是純潔的。 然而,正如我在接下來的幾年中所了解到的那樣,即使在這次坦白中,我媽媽也在欺騙我和她周圍的其他人。 她選擇對我隱瞞我親生父親的身份,強行將他從我的生活中推開,而她嫁給了另一個男人,冒充了我的父親。 雖然她確實告訴她丈夫我不是他的,但她用其他謊言誘騙他——她被強奸了,我父親不想娶她。 現實情況是,我父親因她的背叛、拒絕嫁給他、失去女兒而心碎。 在他最終在基督裡找到醫治之前,他經歷了多年的情緒動盪。 在接下來的十幾年裡,我只能拼湊自己的身份,並不真正知道自己是誰。 從表面上看,我看起來很好,在高中和大學都表現出色。 但是,我感到迷茫、不確定、脆弱和不安全。 在此期間,我是性虐待的受害者。 我在相信我母親的這個常說的謊言對我的日常生活沒有影響和做出有問題的選擇之間搖擺不定,我現在知道這些選擇來自對我是誰以及我是否真的重要或有任何價值的深深的不安全感。

即使我的祖父在我的童年時代就在身邊,疼愛我,提供父愛,但作為一個年輕女性,我總是感到深深的不足。 學習“為什麼”並沒有改變這一點; 我仍然覺得從根本上解脫和破碎。 我很生氣,非常生氣。 在我意識到憤怒的深度之前,我才 25 歲,剛結婚。 當然,它是針對我媽媽的,但也針對我小時候沒有的父親。 我寫信給他,嚴厲指責他似乎拋棄了我,聽從我母親的安排。 他當時已婚,是兩個小男孩的父親。 他寫給我的信本身就是恩典,向我解釋他是多麼想要我,關於他收到的糟糕的建議——告訴他當另一個男人出現在我的出生證明上時,戰鬥是沒有意義的。 他現在當然知道,答應我媽媽的要求是錯誤的。 他描述了他一邊讀我的信,一邊把他的一個年幼的兒子拉到膝蓋上,並告訴他這個小女孩在她小的時候沒有爸爸的膝蓋來安慰她。 那是與他和解的開始,但我花了數年時間才感到足夠舒服,可以以切實的方式伸出援手。 我對這個幫助創造我的人感到尷尬和矜持,我不知道如何補救。

今天,我是三個孩子的媽媽; 我已經結婚將近 22 年了,丈夫幫助教會了我,我可以再次信任。 我可以絕對肯定地說,我的醫治,神恢復我的身份的一個重要組成部分,就是與我的親生父親建立關係。 我與這個沒有撫養我長大的人找到了無限的共同點和共同特徵,上帝對我說得如此清楚,以至於這種聯繫很重要,他設計它是為了一個偉大的目的。 通過與我父親建立的這種聯繫,他在許多層面上治癒了我的心。 看著我丈夫為我們自己的孩子做父親也是這種治癒的一部分。 當我目睹我丈夫和我們唯一的女兒之間的歡樂和歡樂時刻時,我無法充分描述我所感受到的特別喜悅。 我在他們身上看到了我錯過的東西,但我心中的那個洞現在每天都在填滿。

不過,關於我媽媽,這是另一個故事。 她最近失去了與她結婚 46 年的丈夫。 他的去世使她所有的成癮問題都浮出水面,在他去世後的幾天裡,她幾乎死於藥物過量,再加上心髒病發作和中風。 當她現在清醒時,我有時想知道我是否能夠信任她。 她以一種我相信她仍然不理解的根本方式打破了我。 在與她的每一次互動中,我都會提高警惕,保護自己免受進一步傷害。 我經常告訴我 13 歲的女兒,我非常重視我們的親近,因為我從來沒有真正親近自己的媽媽。 儘管上帝讓我在我已故的祖母和一位心愛的阿姨中代孕,但在我生命的大部分時間裡,我都感到父母雙方都被剝奪了。 上帝正在治愈對我父親的傷害,但我不知道我是否會在這個地球上與我的母親感到親近。 她多次告訴我,她認為她當時正在做最好的事情,儘管她的家人中有很多人懇求她告訴我真相。 在克服她為謊言找藉口方面,我幾乎沒有取得任何進展,讓她明白她作為我母親的首要工作是將我的需求置於她自己之前。 而現在,作為一名母親,我無法理解她做出的選擇,將自己和她的願望置於我認識自己父親的權利之上。 她撒謊是為了讓我獨處,並保持她建立的世界完好無損。 然而,最後,她的謊言引爆了那個世界,我在這個她多年來一直瞞著我的男人身上找到了我的家人和歸屬感。

My parents married at 18 years of age because of my impending arrival. My mother and I—along with my brother, who came along 15 months later—lived with my maternal grandparents for the first few years of my life. My dad was in the US Air Force and stationed far away, so they decided that my mom staying at home with her parents was the best thing for our family. Those years were quiet and peaceful and filled with security. All that changed when we moved out after my dad’s discharge. Thereafter, the home of my early years was filled with violent verbal altercation, along with alcohol and drug abuse

My parents regularly had get-togethers at our home where their group of friends would pass joints or a bong around our living room, while my brother and I were there in the room, watching and smelling everything. To me, this was entirely normal, so much so that, one day, when I was seven, I was showing the neigbor boy the drug paraphernalia in our car, calmly defining each item and what it was used for. This conversation was cut short by my mom calling me into the house. The moment I was inside, she yanked me by the arm and hissed at me that I was NEVER to talk to anyone about such things ever again. She went on to say that, if I did, she and my dad would be taken to jail. This was the first moment I realized that what my parents were doing was illegal, and my mom was forcibly enlisting me as a partner in her lies to the world, using my fear of losing my family as a motivator. And it worked, because, as imperfect as our family was, the possibility of losing it terrified me. I had visions of being taken to foster care and never seeing my parents, brother, grandparents, or cousins again. Looking back, as an adult, I realize that my grandparents would have stepped in and taken us, but then, as a first grader, I believed that I had to lie to protect my family, to keep us together, to protect myself from being taken from the only home I believed I had.

So I became a gate keeper for my parents’ secrets. When my grandma—who took me to church, who had me at her home when my mom was at work—would come into our home, I would yell, as I ran in before her, “Gram is coming in.” I was an adult before she told me that she knew why I was doing that, so all the things she wasn’t supposed to see could be put away. And I told no one about the fights I regularly overheard—the screaming and cursing and crashing of thrown items, while I lay in my bed, crying, cowering under the covers, and praying for it to stop. One of those altercations between my parents broke my mother’s finger. My brother and I saw it the next morning, swollen and bruised. She never spoke of it. We never discussed any of those fights, just pretended they had not happened, despite her tear-stained face and my dad’s absence. She lied to my grandparents about the cause of that broken finger, as she lied about almost everything else.

But the revelation of the biggest lie came to me when I was 14 years old. While driving me home, my grandpa told me, in halting verbal bursts, that the father in my house was not really my dad. He spoke of wanting to tell me from the start, despite my mom’s objections, of the identity of a man whom I vaguely recalled as an old friend of my mom’s from high school. I remembered meeting him on occasion. I knew he had sent me birthday gifts over the years, but would never send presents to my brother. I had always felt the odd nature of that, as I knew that something was wrong about my having brown eyes when neither of the parents in my home did. Later, I would even remember asking my mom about my parentage, when I found my birth certificate and asked questions about the wedding that occurred only one month before I was born. I asked my mom then if she knew my dad was MY dad. Her horrified response actually made me feel guilty for even asking, as if I had affronted her and implied things about her virtue or honor. And now I knew that I HAD known, somehow, all along. Because the main emotion I felt in this loss of the only dad I had ever known was relief, relief because I had never loved him as I thought I should, as I knew in my heart that he did not treat me as the treasured daughter I longed to be. I had always wondered why. And now I knew.

This information was confirmed through tears by my mom that evening, as her long, convoluted story poured out. And in that moment, I felt sorry for her, really saw her as the victim of fate and circumstance, somehow. I loved her, and I wanted to believe, still, that her motives were pure. Yet, as I would learn over the coming years, even in this confession, my mom was deceiving me and everyone else around her. She chose to keep my real father’s identity secret from me, to forcibly push him from my life while she married another man and passed him off as my dad. While she did tell her husband that I was not his, she told other lies to ensnare him— that she was raped, that my dad did not want to marry her. The reality was that my dad was broken over her defection, her refusal to marry him, over the loss of his daugher. He spent years in emotional upheaval before he finally found healing in Christ. And in the next dozen years, I was left to piece together my identity, not really knowing who I was. On the surface I looked fine, excelling in high school and college. But, I felt lost, unsure, vulnerable, and insecure. I was a victim of sexual abuse during this period. And I vacillated between believing this oft-told lie of my mother’s had no impact on my daily life to making questionable choices that I now know came from a deep insecurity about who I was and whether I really mattered or had any value.

Even with my grandfather nearby throughout my childhood to love me and provide fatherly affection, I always felt a deep sense of inadequacy as a young woman. And learning the “why” did not alter that; I still felt unmoored and broken in a fundamental way. And I was angry, very angry. I was 25 and newly married before I realized the depth of my anger. It was directed at my mom, of course, but also at the father I did not have as a child. And I wrote to him, scathing letters of accusation at his seeming abandonment of me to my mother’s devices. He was married and the father of two young boys at the time. And the letters he wrote me were grace itself, explaining to me how very much he wanted me, about the poor counsel he had received—telling him that there was no point in fighting when another man was listed on my birth certificate. He knew now, of course, that he had been wrong to accede to my mom’s demands. And he described pulling one of his young sons up onto his lap as he was reading my letter, and telling him about this little girl who did not have a daddy’s lap for comfort when she was small. That was the beginning of a reconcilation with him, but it took years before I felt comfortable enough to reach out in a tangible way. I felt awkward and reserved with this man who had helped to create me, and I did not know how to remedy that.

Today, I am a mom of three teenagers; I have been married for almost 22 years, to a husband who has helped teach me that I can trust again. And I can say with absolute certainty that a vital component of my healing, of God’s restoration of my identity, has been establishing a relationship with my biological father. I have found unlimited common ground and shared traits with this man who did not raise me, and God has spoken to me so clearly that this bond matters, that He designed it for a mighty purpose. He is healing my heart on many levels through this found tie with my father. And watching my husband father our own children has been part of that healing, too. I cannot adequately describe the particular joy I feel when I witness moments of joy and fun between my husband and our only daughter. I see in them what I missed, but that hole in my heart is filling up daily now.

It is another story, though, in regard to my mom. She has recently lost her husband of 46 years. His passing brought all of her addiction issues to a head, and she almost died from a drug overdose, combined with a heart attack and stroke, in the days following his death. While she is sober now, I sometimes wonder if I will ever be able to trust her. She broke me in a fundemental way that I believe she still does not understand. And in every interaction with her, my guard is up, protecting myself from further hurt. I often tell my 13-year-old daughter how much I value our closeness, because I have never been truly close to my own mom. Though God has given me surrogates in my late grandmother and a beloved aunt, I have felt robbed of both parents through much of my life. God is healing that hurt in regard to my dad, but I do not know if I will ever feel close to my mom on this earth. She has told me many times that she thought she was doing what was best at the time, despite so many in her family imploring her to tell me the truth. I have made little headway in getting past her excuses for the lies, getting her to see that her paramount job as my mother was to put my needs ahead of her own. And now, as a mother myself, I cannot comprehend the choice she made to put herself and her desires over my right to know my own father. She lied to keep me to herself and to keep the world she had built intact. In the end, though, her lies exploded that world, and I have found my family and belonging in the man she kept from me for years.

Fuel This Global Children’s Movement!

Share This