在我出生之前,我的收養工作就在進行中。 我的養父母已經結婚大約 9 年了,一直無法懷孕。 我的養母只想做媽媽。 我的親生母親已婚,但與另一個女人的丈夫很親密。 Bio-mom 經歷了 60 年代初常見的社交迴避,包括被自己的母親拒絕。 她的第一次婚姻有一個女兒,比我大四歲,她的丈夫正試圖將自己和他們的女兒與我母親分開。 一個來回偷姐姐的故事上演,讓我的親生母親陷入了自殺狀態。 與此同時,她遇到了我的生父,我懷孕了。

Bio-mom 將自己關在精神病院大約三週,因為她有自殺的感覺。 在那裡她發現她懷了我。 她與丈夫分居並最終與另一個男人生活在一起,顯然這是一種親密的關係,也是因為她在一封信中告訴我她正在考慮嫁給他,但發現他在欺騙她。 在那段時間裡,她完成了她的高中教育。 與她的“普通法”丈夫分手後不久,她再次結婚,我有一個比我小四歲的兄弟,來自那次婚姻。 但是,她還沒有說完。 她的丈夫都很虐待她,雖然她和我弟弟的父親結婚了 16 到 20 年,但最終還是以離婚告終。 離婚三天后,從我哥哥的父親那裡,根據祖先網的婚姻記錄,她再婚並一直和那個男人在一起,直到他在 2003 年去世。 

不知何故,我的生母和養母都在看的醫生掌握了有關我親生父母的信息。 它包含生物媽媽的生日、姓名和出生狀態。 有了這個,我能夠得到她的出生證明的副本。 從那以後,我開始給她出生時同姓的人寫信。 我聯繫了一個有生物媽媽地址的表弟。 我寫信給她。 我永遠不會忘記我們的第一次電話交談。 她說的第一句話是“你是誰,你想對我做什麼?”,語氣明顯是咄咄逼人。 我的心沉了下來,但我堅持了下來,在我們掛斷電話之前她軟化了。 我告訴她的事情只有她的親生女兒才能告訴她,因為她一直對自己的“錯誤”保密。 我知道我生父的姓氏和對他的描述。

從那裡我能夠找到我父親的親生家庭。 他們震驚地發現他們的父親不忠。 一位與我交流的同父異母的兄弟說,考慮到他們父親的“四處走動”的傾向,讓他們沒有錢也沒有吃的東西,他知道他父親有外遇。 我能夠提供足夠的信息,其中大部分是我的生物媽媽給我的,至少可以說服同父異母的兄弟和我一起做 DNA 測試。 父親的家人對此束手無策,非常懷疑,甚至害怕我是某種騙子。 DNA 測試證明我和我同父異母的兄弟是同父異母的兄弟姐妹。 該測試給出了 99.98% 的概率我們共享同一個父親。 從那裡我可以見到另一位兄弟並通過電話與其中一位交談。 姐妹們似乎從來沒有興趣與我聯繫,尤其是因為她只比我大或小幾個月。

我的收養從未保密。 我被養母寵愛,被她的家人完全接納。 我的養父有一些問題——他不是很成熟——我現在相信他可能患有精神疾病,可能是躁狂抑鬱症,也可能是人格障礙。 無論如何,回到收養。 由於我的養母所掌握的信息,在這方面有點混淆但接近準確,我知道我是美洲原住民的一部分。 我的印像是我是 1/16 切諾基,因為我的生物媽媽認為她是 1/8 切諾基。 通過 Ancestry.com 進行的研究沒有發現我母系的任何原生 DNA 來自所謂的切諾基親戚。 但我養母的筆記中沒有提到我父親是 1/16 Chickasaw。 所以,對我來說,身份是這樣的:我是美洲原住民的一部分。 這是我認為給了我身份、獨特性和某種價值的東西。 我堅持這一點,因為我只需要定義我的遺傳歷史。 儘管我沒有任何文件或“證據”,但它對我來說變得異常重要。

因此,在見到我的同父異母兄弟並發現他和他的所有同胞都擁有契卡索民族的公民身份後,我也開始著手獲得我的公民身份。 這是我們的法律制度和社會服務系統需要改變的事情:成人收養的孩子需要更容易獲得他們的出生記錄。 我不確定如何以對所有相關方都公平和安全的方式做到這一點,但在這個時代,對記錄如此嚴格是荒謬的。 我出生和長大的州放寬了他們的限制,但因為我是在某個日期之前出生的,所以我的記錄仍然是密封的。 這已經進行了三年多,這一切都很荒謬,因為我已經與我的生物家庭聯繫了。 但這並不能滿足 BIA 或 Chickasaws 的要求:他們需要“官方”和法庭文件。 而且,儘管通過私人實驗室進行的另一次 DNA 測試未得到認可,並且通過 Ancestry.com 將我同父異母的兄弟和我視為兄弟姐妹,但這並不能滿足 BIA 或奇克索夫婦的要求。

出生記錄是我作為被收養者必須處理的一個問題。 現在我將談談一個經歷過父母離異的孩子的觀點。 正如我所說,我的養父有一些問題。 他很容易一次幾天不回家。 我從小就相信,當爸爸有很多工作要做時,他們繼續工作是很正常的。 這就是我被告知的。 爸爸不像我媽媽希望的那樣可靠。 她終於不能再忍受了,決定離婚是解決她問題的唯一方法。 結婚 19 年後,父親屢次離去,他們在我 9 歲生日前離婚。 大約一年後,媽媽又結婚了。 她向她的一位好朋友承認,除了她所尋求的經濟保障之外,她可能更喜歡我繼父的身體,而不是其他任何事情。 我承認,作為女性,女性對安全非常感興趣,尤其是當她們有孩子的時候。 我的養母在我出生幾個月後懷孕了。 這個男孩出生困難,然後長大後出現學習障礙和行為問題。 我的媽媽,上帝保佑她,盡職盡責,英勇地照顧他。 在我長大的過程中,我的養弟遭遇了一場又一場的危機。 所以,媽媽真的很想找一個有健康保險的丈夫。 她在我繼父身上發現了這一點。 但是繼父也有問題。 因為他還活著,今年將 92 歲,我會限制我對他的評價,但我可以毫不猶豫地說,我更喜歡我那古怪的養父。 我的繼父對我的價值沒有任何感情或肯定,還有相當多的欺凌行為。 無論如何,這持續了大約一年。 媽媽和他離婚了。 把爸爸帶回來幾年了。 那時,我的養兄弟癲癇發作,根本無法上學。 行為問題正在演變成精神分裂症。 媽媽必須做出選擇,這不是為了她自己的利益,而是為了我哥哥的利益。 她把爸爸趕出去,開始和我繼父重新站在一起。 這個故事還有很多,但這是它的亮點。 媽媽最終再婚了我的繼父,他們一直保持著婚姻,直到她在 2011 年去世。但這對她來說並不是一段幸福的婚姻,她後悔第二次把爸爸趕出去,因為那時他已經長大了。 但他無法像繼父那樣提供經濟保障,媽媽決心確保我哥哥在醫療方面得到他需要的東西。

我能因此責怪她嗎? 不,但現實是我和我的養父都受苦了。 在與繼父的婚姻之間,當爸爸和我們一起生活時,我經歷瞭如此多的康復。 當媽媽把他趕出去時,我感到非常沮喪,就像我在 8 歲時向我解釋說爸爸不會再和我們一起生活一樣,因為爸爸媽媽因為這件叫做離婚的事情而永久分居。 爸爸第二次離開時,我 13 歲。 時機不佳。 我處理抑鬱症有什麼意外嗎?

我原諒我的父母。 我愛我的父母。 我對我的親生父母沒有那麼寬容或充滿恩典,但我明白他們是破碎的人,做著破碎的人所做的事情。 他們做對了嗎? 不,它有害嗎? 是的。

那麼我們該怎麼做呢? 我們承認,孩子需要一個已婚的親生母親和父親才能在最佳條件下成長和成熟。這在現實中很難實現,但這是理想的。 我丈夫和我很快就要結婚 31 年了。 這並不總是那麼容易,但我們一直在一起,因為我們相信這是上帝的旨意,首先,因為這不僅對我們的孩子而且對整個社會都是最好的。 我們的兩個女兒在學校表現出色,以全班第一名的成績完成大學學業,並且獨立生活。 他們不吸毒,不睡覺。 他們不是酗酒者。 小女兒和她男朋友住在一起讓我心碎,但他真的是她唯一認真的關係。 我贊成這個年輕人,希望他們有一天能結婚。 我們的孩子沒事。 我們不是完美的父母,但我們的孩子幾乎沒有後悔和艱難的教訓。 為了看到我的孩子們成功,把我的自私慾望放在一邊是值得的。 他們都看到了父母保持婚姻的價值,因為他們看到了父母沒有保持婚姻或擁有多個伴侶的同學是多麼的混亂。

我們的社會不是教育我們的社會在一個婚姻中撫養孩子的好處,而是崇拜成年人的自我放縱。 這是可恥和可怕的,因為它只能帶來遺憾。 我很高興知道正在採取一些措施來引起人們對這個問題的關注。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

My adoption was in the works before I was born. My adoptive parents had been married about 9 years and had been unable to get pregnant. My adoptive mother wanted nothing more than to be a mom. My bio-mother was married, but had been intimate with another woman’s husband. Bio-mom experienced the social shunning that was common in the early 60’s, including being rejected by her own mother. She had a daughter from her first marriage, four years older than myself, and her husband was in the process of trying to separate himself and their daughter from my mother. A story of stealing my older sister back and forth unfolded, sending my bio-mother into a suicidal state. In the meantime she had met my bio-father and I was conceived.

Bio-mom put herself in a mental ward for about three weeks because she was feeling suicidal. That is where she found out that she was pregnant with me. She was separated from her husband and ended up living with another man and apparently that was an intimate relationship also because she told me in a letter that she was thinking about marrying him but found out he was cheating on her. During that time she finished her high school education. Shortly after the breakup with her “common-law” husband she married again and I have a brother, four years younger than myself, from that marriage. But, she wasn’t done yet. Her husbands were all abusive and though she stayed married with my younger brother’s father for somewhere between 16 and 20 years, it ended in divorce. Three days after the divorce, from my brother’s father, according to marriage records on Ancestry.com, she remarried and stayed with that man until he passed away in 2003. 

Somehow, the doctor that both my bio-mom and adoptive mom were seeing got a hold of information about my biological parents. It contained bio-mom’s birthday, name and state of birth. With that I was able to get a copy of her birth certificate. From there I started writing letters to people in her birth state who had the same surname. I connected with a cousin who had bio-mom’s address. I wrote to her. I will never forget our first conversation on the telephone. The first thing she said was “Who are you and what do you want with me?,” in a tone that was clearly aggressive. My heart sunk but I stuck with it and she softened before we hung up the telephone. I told her things only her biological, given-up-for-adoption daughter could tell her, because she had been so secretive about her “mistake.” I knew my bio-father’s last name and a description of him.

From there I was able to find my paternal biological family. They were shocked to find out that their father had been unfaithful. The one bio-half brother which has been communicative with me said that given their father’s propensity to go “walk-about,” leaving them with no money and nothing to eat, he shouldn’t have been surprised to find out his father had had an affair. I was able to provide enough information, most of it given to me by my bio-mom, to at least convince the half brother to do a DNA test with me. The paternal family just couldn’t wrap their minds around this and were very skeptical, even fearful, that I was some kind of scammer. The DNA test proved that my half brother and I were half-sibs. The test gave a 99.98% probability that we shared the same father. From there I was able to meet one other brother and speak with one on the phone. The sisters never seemed to be interested in contact with me, one especially because she’s only a few months older or younger than I am.

My adoption was never kept a secret. I was cherished by my adoptive mother and completely accepted by her family. My adoptive dad had some issues – he wasn’t very mature – and I believe now that he may have had a mental illness, possibly manic depressive, but also possibly a personality disorder. Anyhow, back to the adoption. Because of the information that my adoptive mother had, which was sort of mixed up but close to accurate in this regard, I knew that I was part Native American. I was under the impression that I was 1/16 Cherokee because my bio-mom thought she was 1/8 Cherokee. Researching through Ancestry.com has not found any Native DNA on my maternal side descending from the supposed Cherokee relative. But what was not in my adoptive mom’s notes was that my father was 1/16 Chickasaw. So, the identity thing for me was this: I was part Native American. It was something that I thought gave me identity, uniqueness, and some sort of value. I clung to that because it was all I had to define my genetic history. It became inordinately important to me though I had no documentation or “proof” of it.

So, after meeting my bio-half brother and finding out that he and all of his full sibs have their citizenship with the Chickasaw Nation, I set out to obtain mine as well. This is something that needs to change in our legal system and Social Services systems: Adult adopted children need to have easier access to their birth records. I am not sure how to do this in a way that is fair and safe to all parties concerned, but in this day and age it is ridiculous to be so tight with the records. The state where I was born and raised has eased their restrictions but because I was born before a certain date, my records are still sealed. This has been in process for over three years now and it’s all ridiculous because I already have contact with my bio-family. But that doesn’t satisfy the BIA or the Chickasaws: they want “official,” and court documentation. And, though another DNA test through a private lab not recognized, and through Ancestry.com, has pegged my half-brother and I as siblings, that doesn’t satisfy the BIA or the Chickasaws.

The birth records are one issue that I have had to deal with as an adoptee. Now I will address the perspective of a child who has experienced divorced parents. As I have said, my adoptive dad had some sort of issues. He was prone to not coming home for days at a time. I grew up believing that it was normal for dads to stay at work when they had a lot of work to do. That was what I was told. Dad was not as reliable a provider as my mom would have liked. She finally couldn’t take it any longer and decided divorce was the only answer to her problems. After 19 years of marriage, and Dad taking off repeatedly, they were divorced right before my 9th birthday. About a year later Mom married again. She admitted to a dear friend of hers that besides the financial security she was seeking, she was probably more attracted to my stepdad physically than anything else. I grant this, being female myself, that women are extremely interested in security, especially when they have children. My adoptive mom got pregnant a couple of months after I was born. The boy had a difficult birth and then grew up to have a learning disability and behavioral problems. My mom, God bless her, dutifully and heroically took care of him. My adoptive brother was one crisis after another as I grew up. So, mom was really motivated to find a husband with good health insurance. She found that in my stepdad. But stepdad had issues as well. Because he is still living, going to be 92 this year, I will limit what I have to say about him but I can say without hesitation that I would have preferred my flaky adoptive dad. There was no affection or affirmation of my worth with my stepdad, and a fair bit of bullying as well. Anyhow, that lasted about a year. Mom divorced him. Brought Dad back in for a couple of years. By then my adoptive brother was having seizures and was simply not able to go to school. The behavior problems were morphing into something like schizophrenia. Mom had a choice to make and it wasn’t for her own benefit, it had to do with my brother’s benefit. She kicked Dad out and started back up with my stepdad. There’s a lot more to the story but this is the highlight of it. Mom eventually remarried my stepdad, and they stayed married until she passed in 2011. But it wasn’t a happy marriage for her and she regretted ever kicking Dad out the second time because he had grown up by then. But he couldn’t provide the financial security that stepdad did and Mom was determined to make sure that my brother had what he needed in the way of medical care.

Can I fault her for that? No. But the reality is that both my adoptive dad, and I, suffered. I experienced so much healing while dad was living with us in-between the marriages to my stepdad. I was devastated when mom kicked him out, like I was when it was explained to me as an 8 year old that Daddy wasn’t going to be living with us anymore because Mom and Dad were permanently separating with this thing called a divorce. I was 13 years old when Dad left the second time. Bad timing. Is it any surprise that I deal with depression?

I forgive my parents. I love my parents. I’m not so forgiving or grace- filled towards my bio-parents but I understand that they were broken people doing what broken people do. Did they do what was right? No. Was it harmful? Yes.

So what do we do with this? We acknowledge the truth that children need a married biological mother and father for optimal conditions to grow and mature in. It’s hard to achieve in reality but it is ideal. My husband and I will soon be married 31 years. It hasn’t always been easy but we stayed together because we believe it is God’s will, first, and because it is what is best not just for our children but for society as a whole. Our two daughters have excelled in school, completed college at the top of their classes, and are living independently. They don’t do drugs, they aren’t sleeping around. They aren’t heavy drinkers. The younger daughter broke my heart by living with her boyfriend but he is really the only serious relationship she has had. I approve of the young man and hope they get married someday. Our kids are okay. We aren’t perfect parents but our kids made it through with very little regrets and hard lessons. It has been worth it to put my selfish desires aside in order to see my kids succeed. They both see the value of their parents having stayed married because they see what a mess their classmates are who had parents which didn’t stay married, or have had multiple partners.

Instead of educating our society about the benefits of raising children in one marriage, our society is worshipping adult self-indulgence. It is shameful and frightening because it can only bring regrets. I’m grateful to know that something is being done to bring attention to this problem.

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This