我是單親媽媽的獨生子,小時候我從來沒有真正質疑過。 在我出生到 3 歲之前,我的父親曾短暫地在我身邊。在那之後一年我見過他幾次,然後從 5 到 11 歲就完全沒有了。  

小時候對我來說似乎很簡單。 我記得我大約 6 歲時有一個朋友過來。她坦率地問我“你爸爸在哪裡? 他為什麼不和你住在一起?” 我只是簡單地回答“我媽咪不喜歡他,所以他不住在這裡”。 我的朋友在餐桌上和我媽媽一起提起了這件事。 我記得我媽媽似乎對不得不討論它感到憤怒和尷尬。 當我的朋友離開時,我媽媽問我為什麼要這麼告訴她,我說‘很簡單,這是事實’。

我對父母在一起的唯一記憶是他們在廚房裡打架,我摀住耳朵讓他們安靜。 當我還是個孩子的時候,我很高興我爸爸不在——因為我知道我的父母互相憎恨,我目睹了我的痛苦。 但隨著年齡的增長,我發現自己錯過了多少。 我很早就進入青春期(單親家庭的常見副作用,很少被提及),我在青春期開始渴望男孩的關注,並開始早早發生性關係。 我害怕去那些有“正常”家庭的朋友家——因為那時我暴露了我錯過了多少。

當我長大後,我終於向父母詢問了我們奇怪的家庭情況。 在我出生之前,他們又開始了一段又一次的關係,並在我到達時分手了。 我母親對我父親撒了謊,說她正在節育,而實際上她並沒有計劃生育並選擇成為單身母親。 我父親承認他不想要我,而且他覺得是被迫的。 我的母親說她“為孩子做好了準備,並且知道她不需要男人在身邊”。

我生命中父親的缺席導致了我生命中許多可怕的事情。 我經常感到不被愛,不值得和被遺棄。 我渴望父親的形象和保護。 這導致我尋找與根本不關心我的男人的不健康和虐待關係。 我的母親試圖在情感上吸引我,讓我成為她的迷你我和最好的朋友。 她想和我一起做一切,做我的一切——母親和父親。 她對我的生活有一個具體的計劃,她希望我遵循——當我沒有遵循時,她感到非常失望。  

我的母親“選擇”成為單親父母並向一個她知道不想要孩子的男人撒謊造成瞭如此大的傷害。 我是一個人而不是一個客體,即使作為一個嬰兒,我也有權擁有一個充滿愛心和關懷的家庭。 我對選擇單身母親的增長趨勢深感不安,我對將在這些家庭中長大的孩子感到同情。 我永遠無法完全治愈父親缺席和由單身母親撫養長大的問題,但我希望我的故事能讓人們對他們的決定三思而後行。

I grew up as an only child of a single mother, and as a young kid I never really questioned it. My father had been around briefly when I was born up until age 3. I saw him a few times a year after that, and then not at all from ages 5-11.  

It seemed so simple to me as a child. I remember having a friend over when I was about 6. She asked me frankly “where’s your daddy? Why doesn’t he live with you?” I simply responded ” my mummy doesn’t like him so he doesn’t live here”. My friend brought it up with my mum at the dinner table. I remember my mother seeming angry and embarrassed about having to discuss it. When my friend left my mother asked me why I had told her that, and I said ‘simple, it’s the truth’.

My only memories of my parents together are them fighting in the kitchen and me covering my ears and asking them to be quiet. As a child I was glad my dad wasn’t around – because I knew my parents hated each other and it was miserable for me to witness. But as I grew older I saw just how much I was missing out. I went into puberty very early (a common side effect of single parent households that is rarely talked about), I started craving the attention of boys as a preteen and started having sex early. I dreaded going over to friends houses who had “normal” families – because then I was exposed to just how much I missed out on.

When I was older I finally asked my parents about our bizarre family situation.  They had an off again on again relationship before I was born and were broken up by the time I arrived. My mother had lied to my father and said she was on birth control when she actually wasn’t and was planning to have a baby and become a single mother by choice. My father admitted he didn’t want me, and that he felt coerced into it. My mother stated she “felt ready for a child and knew she didn’t need a man around”.

The absence of my father in my life has led to so many awful things in my life. I constantly felt unloved, unworthy and abandoned. I craved a father figure and protection. This lead to me seeking out unhealthy and abusive relationships with men who simply didn’t care about me. My mother tried to emotionally enmesh me and make me her mini me and best friend. She wanted to do everything with me and be everything to me- mother and father. She had a specific plan for my life that she wanted me to follow- and was deeply disappointed when I didn’t.  

My mother “choosing” to be a single parent and lying to a man she knew didn’t want children has caused so much harm. I am a human being not an object, even as a baby I had rights to a loving and caring family. I am deeply disturbed about the growing trend of single mothers by choice and I feel for the children who will be brought up in these households. I’ll never fully heal from having an absent father and being raised by a single mother but I hope my story can make people think twice about their decisions.  

BECOME A MONTHLY DONOR

and we will send you our eBooklet

“Children Or Commodities? Why Children’s Rights is the most pressing issue of our time.”

Share This