(最初發表於 糾結的網絡英國)

發現,32 歲,我是捐贈者受孕,說得委婉些,是一個重磅炸彈。 這完全有道理,解釋了我與社會父親缺乏相似之處,更不用說我們之間的緊張關係了。 它解釋了為什麼我常常覺得自己不僅在家里而且在工作、教堂和其他社交場合都很難適應。 在許多方面,這一發現代表了一種突然釋放的自由。 我經常把它描述為感覺就像我的鳥籠的門飛開了,或者一個活板門在我腳下突然打開了。 我可以開始放棄強迫自己變成不同形狀的掙扎(儘管這是一個很難改掉的習慣,我稍後會解釋)。 但它的另一面是籠門打開,完全漆黑。 我的母親不能給我關於捐贈者的任何信息,並(正確地)向我保證,即使它仍然存在,也沒有希望從診所提取信息。 

這是10年前的事了。 那時我可能是一個無能的衝浪者,但我在互聯網和圖書館都找不到任何可以幫助我的東西。 我感到極度孤獨。 至少有 2 年的時間,我很容易受到難以忍受的強烈情緒的影響。 我對我的社會父親欺騙我感到憤怒,對診所製造這種情況的憤怒更加憤怒,對政府不負責任的洗手更憤怒。 對捐贈者/父親的感情更加複雜。 我本能地想愛他,把我的社交父親從未找到過的感情引向他。 像個嬰兒一樣,我想看到他的眼睛,聽到他的聲音。 同時,他拋棄了我,把我送走了。 我對他來說幾乎沒有任何意義。 我與這種情況固有的不合邏輯作鬥爭。 如果我能找到他,那將使一個家庭團聚。 只是它不會。 我還有多少其他同父異母的兄弟姐妹? 我們如何才能重聚? 這麼多分居的母親和流離失所的親生孩子。

我母親對我受孕的解釋只是改變了秘密。 它並沒有結束它。 她現在不再擔心我會發現,而是擔心我與其他人分享這個故事。 的確,在最初的 5 個月裡,我被禁止讓父親知道我知道,儘管謝天謝地,媽媽自己終於告訴了他(他自己也因擺脫了欺騙而鬆了一口氣)。 雖然現在她對我在私人場合談論它或多或少感到舒服(這裡我使用化名),但隨後幾年,我不斷地在我母親害怕羞恥和暴露的情況下處理我的談話需要。

隨後幾年的另一個特點是我和爸爸的關係緊張。 維持一切照常營業面臨著巨大的道德壓力。 我知道他很害怕我們的關係可能​​會破裂。 所以我必須努力工作以確保一切正常。 但事實是我既憤怒又害怕。 我在很多方面都覺得自己好像被強奸了。 一些珍貴的東西(我的信任和毫無防備的感情)以虛假的名義從我身邊奪走了。 我越來越意識到他忽視或貶低我與他不同的方式。 同時,我不想讓他知道我負面情緒的深度和強度。 他在很多方面一直並且繼續對我很好。 我也知道這個秘密是由我的母親強加給他的,違背了他更好的判斷,而母親又按照診所的指示行事。 他也是受害者。

這個時候我做的最好的事情就是抽出時間。 我去了澳大利亞幾年。 能夠在世界的另一端與那些永遠不會見到我父母的人分享我的故事真是太好了。 我遇到了一些出色的輔導員,他們幫助我開始理清我的想法和情緒。 我還與悉尼的捐贈者構想支持小組取得了聯繫,通過他們我認識了喬安娜·羅斯,她又是通往整個非正式支持網絡的大門。

長話短說,在 2005 年的一天,我的一切都發生了轉機,當我發現 UK 捐助者鏈接 幾個同父異母兄弟姐妹的名字,包括我捐贈者的親生兒子,以及我捐贈者的身份。 儘管那時我的心態要強大得多(由於對理智和完整性的不懈追求!),但幾乎不可能描述這對我產生的爆炸性強大影響。 一瞬間,一切都變了。 我感到更加堅定,羞恥感從我身上滑落。 我不再對我的外表或我的思想運作感到抱歉。 具有諷刺意味的是,自從了解了親生父親的身份後,處理與社會父親的關係變得更加容易,因為我可以從我是誰的基礎上進行操作,並且更容易,更容易應對我們之間的差異。

掌握真相對使受孕的捐贈者變得可口有很大幫助。 不知道捐贈者的身份就像迷失在一片毫無特色的巨大海洋中。 現在我知道他是誰(當然,我和我的同父異母兄弟姐妹有關係)我的生活有了形式和里程碑。 我覺得很正常!

當我認為自己是社會父親的女兒時,我仍然在與多年來培養的自我仇恨作鬥爭。 我永遠不可能像他那樣,按照他的方式做事,並得出結論說我因此一無是處。 特別是在我的工作生活中,我幾乎一直在與強迫性的過度表現和強烈的自我批評作鬥爭。 我非常害怕自己的工作方式會出錯,我想解決這種模式是我目前最大的個人挑戰。

在一個如此迅速地解構家庭乃至人類的社會中生活是很困難的。 性別、生育率和家庭都需要重新定義,政治正確會在異議上加印。 我覺得作為一個 DC 成年人,我生活在這個社會和生物實驗的另一邊,我要報告的不僅僅是意見,而是確認古代地標、父親身份、家庭、身份,並非沒有開悟社會建構,但堅實的現實。

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

(Originally published on Tangled Webs UK)

Discovering, aged 32, that I was donor conceived was, to put it mildly, a bombshell. It made complete sense, explaining the lack of similarity to my social father, not to mention the tensions between us. It explained why I often had difficulties feeling that I fit in not only at home but at work, church, other social settings. In many ways the discovery represented a sudden release into freedom; I have often described it as feeling like the door of my birdcage flew open, or a trapdoor sprang open under my feet. I could begin to let go of struggling to force myself into a different shape (though that’s a hard habit to break, as I’ll explain later). But the flip side of it was the cage door opened onto complete blackness. My mother could give me no information about the donor, and assured me (correctly) that there would be no hope of extracting information from the clinic, even if it were still in existence. 

This was 10 years ago. I was probably an inept surfer at that time, but I could find nothing at all to help me on the internet, nor in libraries. I felt excruciatingly alone. For at least 2 years I was susceptible to unbearably intense emotions. I felt fury towards my social father for deceiving me, even greater fury towards the clinic for setting up the situation and towards the Government for washing its hands of responsibility. Feelings towards the donor/father were yet more complicated. I instinctively wanted to love him, to direct towards him the affections which had somehow never found a landing ground with my social father. Like a baby, I wanted to see his eyes and hear his voice. At the same time, he had abandoned me, given me away. I meant less than nothing to him. I wrestled with the inherent ill-logic of the situation; if I could find him it would reunite a family. Only it wouldn’t. How many other half-siblings might I have out there? How could we all be reunited? So many separate mothers and displaced natural children.

My mother’s explanation of my conception merely altered the secrecy; it did not end it. Instead of her fear that I would find out, she was now anxious about me sharing the story with others. Indeed, for the first 5 months I was forbidden to let my father know that I knew, though thankfully Mum herself finally told him (he was himself relieved to be free of the deception). Although now she is more or less comfortable with me speaking about it in a private arena (here I am using a pseudonym), there followed several years where I was constantly juggling my need to speak with my mother’s fear of shame and exposure.

Another feature of the ensuing years was the strain in my relationship with Dad. There was a huge moral pressure to maintain business as usual. I knew he was terrified that our relationship might disintegrate. So I had to work hard to ensure everything looked OK. But the fact was that I was angry and horrified. I felt in many ways as if I had been raped. Something precious (my trust and unguarded affection) had been taken from me under false pretenses. I became much more aware of the ways in which he ignored or belittled ways in which I am different from him. At the same time, I did not want him to know the depth and strength of my negative feelings. He had been and continued to be good towards me in many ways. I also knew that the secrecy had been imposed on him, against his better judgement, by my mother who was in turn acting under the clinic’s instructions. He was a victim too.

The best thing I did at this time was to take time out. I went to Australia for a couple of years. It was extraordinarily good to be on the other side of the world, able to share my story with people who would never meet my parents. I met some superb counselors who helped begin to untangle my thoughts and emotions. And I also made contact with the Donor Conception Support Group in Sydney, through whom I met Joanna Rose who was in turn the doorway to a whole informal support network.

To cut a much longer story short, everything turned around for me one day in 2005, when I found out from UK DonorLink the name of several half-siblings, including the natural son of my donor and, thereby, my donor’s identity. Although I was in a much stronger frame of mind by then (owing to a relentless pursuit of sanity and wholeness!), it is almost impossible to describe the explosively powerful effect that this had on me. In one moment everything changed. I felt more solid, and the shame slid off me. No longer did I feel apologetic about my appearance, or the workings of my mind. Ironically, it has been much easier to handle the relationship with my social father since learning my natural father’s identity, as I can operate from the base of who I am and it is easier, so much easier to cope with our differences.

Getting hold of the truth has done a lot to make being donor conceived palatable. Not knowing donor identity is like being lost in the middle of a great, featureless ocean. Now that I know who he was (and, of course, I have a relationship with my half-siblings) my life has form and landmarks. I feel normal!

I am still struggling with the self-hatred which I nurtured all the years when I thought I was my social father’s daughter. I could never be like he was, do things his way, and concluded that I was therefore useless. Particularly in my working life I have a near constant struggle with compulsive over-performance, and intense self-criticism. I have a near mortal fear of being wrong in the way I work, and I guess addressing this pattern is my biggest personal challenge at the moment.

It is difficult to live in a society which is so rapidly deconstructing family and, indeed, humanity. Gender, fertility and family are all up for redefinition, and political correctness stamps on dissent. I feel that as a DC adult I have lived on the other side of this social and biological experimentation, and that what I have to report is more than mere opinion, but confirmation that the ancient landmarks, fatherhood, family, identity, are not unenlightened social constructs, but solid realities.

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

EnglishPolski
Share This