在 90 年代和 2000 年代初,我在一個基督徒家庭中由一對恩愛的基督徒夫婦撫養長大。 在每個角落都有教堂的中西部,我們從小就去一所基督教學校和支持性教堂長大。 在我十幾歲的時候,離婚開始圍繞著我。 我的四個阿姨和叔叔離婚了,還有幾個親密的家庭朋友。 看到很傷心,但我從沒想過我們會成為下一個。 

我的父母在一所基督教大學認識,做了大多數夫婦大學畢業後都會做的事……結婚了。 我媽媽活潑外向,而我爸爸則比較內向和內向。 我不太了解他們早婚的歲月,但他們似乎很幸福。 我的父母讓我在 20 多歲時和我的兩個兄弟姐妹一起在幾年內跟隨。 我們有一個美好的童年,父母雙方都參與和支持。 我們每年都會去野營旅行,去迪斯尼世界旅行,並作為一家人一起度過了很多時光。 我們感到被愛和被關心。 我們沒有一次看到我們的父母吵架。 回首往事,我們也從未真正見過他們牽手或秀恩愛。 

在我 16 歲之前的那個夏天,我們被叫到客廳。 我記得那麼清楚……我們的生活天翻地覆的那一刻。 他們宣布他們正在“休息”以解決問題。 他們愛我們,但他們會輪流和我們一起住一段時間。 我媽媽哭了,我們孩子哭了,問為什麼。 這對我們來說是一個震驚。 他們從不打架,也不似乎對彼此心煩意亂。 發生了什麼? 

回首往事,作為一個成年人,你會更清楚地看到事情。 爸爸下班後大部分晚上都在樓下玩電腦。 媽媽傾注了一切來撫養我們,教學和她的日托工作。 他們在一起的時間很少,也很少有約會之夜。 除了撫養我們之外,他們似乎很少交流。 他們已經分開了。 

第一年,他們每週輪流與誰和我們住在一起,誰住在我祖父母拖車公園的拖車裡。 有一段時間,我爸爸甚至睡在地下室,這對我們來說非常尷尬,很難纏住頭。 我們只是繼續,就像沒關係一樣,沒有談論它。 

我記得在他們審判分手快結束時聽到他們第一次打架。 我們以前從沒聽過他們打架,我趕緊拉著弟弟妹妹離開了家。 我們上了車,我只是開車四處轉轉,而我母親向我父親乞求和尖叫的聲音在我們耳邊響起。 我不記得我們回來時發生了什麼,我只記得麻木。 這是我們必須做的才能生存下來。 

爸爸決定結束它。 他不再愛我媽媽了。 他說他們不應該結婚,他從來沒有真正愛過她。 他不快樂,沮喪,需要離開。 他說,這對我們來說會更好。 媽媽拼盡全力,但最終,他的心還是硬的。 他搬出去買了房子,離這條路只有 5 分鐘路程。 

他曾與幾個朋友和我的一位離婚的阿姨談過,他們鼓勵他,如果他這樣做,對他來說是最好的。 我希望我能告訴那些人,他們是如何用這些話對我的生活產生如此負面影響的。 他們的鼓勵如何導致我的家庭遭到破壞,並且至今仍然具有影響力。 他們甚至知道他們做了什麼嗎?

我和我的兄弟姐妹並沒有真正談論它。 我的父母肯定沒有多談這個。 我媽媽壞了。 她非常依賴我父親,沒有他的支持她就迷失了。 她大部分時間都在哭。 爸爸看起來很開心,也很有活力。 他試圖用所有新衣服和我們自己的臥室在他的新房子裡買給我們。 和他在一起更容易,因為我們可以繼續麻木並假裝快樂。 但這遠非正常。 每 3 週來回移動的壓力慢慢地耗盡了我們的精力。 當你把一件襯衫或樂器忘在別人家時,它只有 5 分鐘的路程,但住在手提箱或我們的車裡的現實今天仍然對我產生影響。 每次旅行我都必須馬上打開行李。 把我的衣服放在手提箱裡,甚至幾天不穿它的想法讓我馬上回來並引起焦慮。 我花了很長時間才明白。

不久之後,我爸爸開始帶一個女人下班。 我媽媽很傷心也很生氣。 顯然,在他們分手的整個過程中,我父親一直在和她說話,而她是他“情感上”依賴的人,阿卡……我是這麼看待感情的。 幾週後,他們開始約會,幾個月後,他們訂婚了。 一年內結婚。 當被問及我們對她在婚禮前搬進來的感受時,我們都堅定地表示“不”。 她和我們媽媽正好相反。 我們怨恨她,怨恨她在他們的婚姻中造成的更大差距。 但她一直都在身邊,最終我們花了很多時間和她在一起。 她會帶我們去購物,談論男孩,以及我們希望媽媽做的所有事情。 我們參加了他們的婚禮,並被介紹給我們的新繼兄弟,他們都比我們大。 我們微笑著和陌生人合影; 進入一個我們不想要的新家庭。 一直假裝沒事。 

隨著這一切適應新的家庭和新的生活,我們都以不同的方式應對。 我逃到朋友家和男朋友家。 我姐姐全身心投入到任何課後活動、運動等中。我弟弟被困在家裡,玩電子遊戲以逃避現實。 我討厭成為一個破碎的人。 我討厭人們知道我的父母離婚了,我的家庭破裂了。 我花了很多時間和其他人的家人在一起,只是想沉浸在他們的完整性中。 假裝我之後也得回家。 令人驚訝的是,我們都沒有採取行動。 我們都表現得像我們從小長大的好男孩和女孩,相信父母會照顧我們。 但是每一個假期,每一個里程碑都被玷污了。 我的父母不得不解決誰在什麼時候得到了我們。 每當我們離開一個時,我們都會為讓他們一個人呆著而感到內疚,尤其是我媽媽。 她把很多情緒都發洩在了我們身上。 說她應該死了,我們會對我爸爸的新家庭感到高興。 我開始怨恨我媽媽,開始和她說話的次數越來越少。 我不想帶朋友過來,因為我不知道她會是什麼心情。我覺得我必須接任父母,因為她沒有能力。 我記得我的高中和大學畢業以及它帶來的痛苦。 我看到我所有的朋友都帶著他們的微笑,全家人一起拍照,我的爸爸媽媽幾乎無法忍受在同一個房間裡。 在我大學畢業的某個時刻,我的繼母因為緊張而離開了。 每當發生一起事件時,我和我的兄弟姐妹都會輪流進行損害控制。 我覺得我們並沒有真正慶祝,因為我們總是擔心誰會不高興或開始哭泣。 我們中沒有人真正想要他們中的任何一個。 它造成的壓力和焦慮今天仍然影響著我。 為什麼我們要背負這個重擔? 

快進 5 年,進入我父親的第二次婚姻,他們的天堂出現了麻煩。 我父親偶爾出差出差,他去北卡羅來納州的頻率更高。 一個週末,我父親開車送我回大學時,他決定告訴我,他又一次與他在北卡羅來納州工作時認識的人有染。 我很生氣。 我說了很多傷人的話。 沖他大喊:“你為什麼不能把它放在褲子裡!” 當我知道我必須告訴我的兄弟姐妹時,我感到非常沮喪。 他們將不得不再次經歷這種傷害。 我想保護他們。 

我爸爸和繼母試圖解決這個問題。 我記得另一個週末在家,無意中聽到我繼母的談話。 她在復述她是如何發現我父親有外遇的故事。 我記得細節。 我記得我想塞住我的耳朵,忽略傷害。 但我坐在樓梯上,傾聽,聽到她的痛苦,並恨我父親造成的。 我告訴自己,他們一開始就不應該結婚。 我爸還沒痊癒。 他並不健康,我們只是想讓我們的父親成為我們的父親。 經過一兩年的諮詢並且沒有任何進展,我父親再次保釋了。 他說我的繼母無法克服它,他在一段不健康的婚姻中再次變得沮喪。 我們對他大喊大叫,告訴她我們寧願和她在一起。 再一次,我們被分裂了。 我們信任他。 我們與一個陌生人建立了關係,讓她在我們媽媽做不到的時候成為我們的假媽媽,而現在她正在被我們的生活剝奪。 另一種被撕裂的方式。 另一個人來取悅。 

我們試圖盡可能長時間地保持與她的關係,但這太痛苦了。 她想好好談談我們的父親,知道他在做什麼。 看到我們對她來說很難,她想參與我們的生活,但要付出什麼代價? 我們慢慢地飄了,不再說話,她從我們的生活中消失了,好像她只是一個曇花一現,很容易被遺忘。 但她不是,現在仍然不是。 我希望她能參加我的婚禮。 我希望我仍然可以打電話給她並徵求意見,但我不能。

當我結束大學的最後一年時,我覺得是時候與我父親進行一對一的嚴肅對話了。 我邀請他到我家,直接開槍。 我告訴他我愛他,但他的選擇傷害了我。 我懇求他花點時間單身,這樣我們一家人就可以康復。 我需要他做我的爸爸。 他只是坐著聽。 他沒有說太多,我以為我已經打通了他。 但在他們分開幾個月後,它又發生了。 我一直試圖聯繫我父親,告訴他我的新工作面試,但他沒有接聽。 這太不像他了。 我終於聯繫了我的祖母和一位叔叔,看看他們是否知道他在哪裡。 最後,他給我回了電話,我問他在哪裡。 他聽起來很高興,並說他正在北卡羅來納州拜訪一位“朋友”。 就在那時,我確切地知道他在做什麼。 我叫他出去。 我大叫著問:“他怎麼可能?” 我警告他,如果他再次和這個與他有染的女人共度時光,會發生什麼。 這不是開始一段關係的明智方式。 當我說他應該保持單身時,他之前沒有聽到我嗎? 顯然不是。 

一旦我告訴我的兄弟姐妹,我們決定一起面對他。 這已經足夠了。 如果我們一起做,他必須聽到我們的聲音,對吧? 我走進去,他們都坐在沙發上。 我不記得我們每個人都說了什麼,但我知道我是憤怒的那個。 我的姐姐是和平的締造者,而我的兄弟是“無論如何”的回應者。 最突出的談話是當我告訴我父親他所做的事情傷害了我們,我們需要他停止見到她。 我說要么選擇我們,要么選擇她,我認為這是一個簡單的決定。 他的話至今縈繞在我心頭。 他說:“你怎麼能讓我做出這樣的選擇?” 真的嗎? 你的孩子還是和你有染的這個女人? 他是如此鐵石心腸,對他如何影響我們的生活視而不見。 他很困惑他的約會生活對我們有什麼影響。 他錯了,但我們不知道如何向他展示。 我們哭了,我們乞求了,卻一無所獲。 

我最終試圖逃避它並搬到加利福尼亞工作。 我認為這會讓我遠離戲劇和痛苦。 當然沒用。 我仍然收到我兄弟的短信和電話,告訴我發生了什麼事。 我拒絕和我父親說話一年。 我忽略了他的電話、電子郵件和短信。 最終他停止了嘗試。 我告訴自己我正在建立健康的界限。 他做出了他的選擇,我做出了我的選擇。 我不想參與他與她的關係。 他繼續去北卡羅來納州探望她。 最終,我得到了他們訂婚的消息。 我是個殘骸。 他怎麼可能娶這個女人? 他怎麼能指望我們不僅向另一個陌生人敞開心扉,而且向與我們繼母斷絕關係的人敞開心扉? 不,不會發生。 

我清楚地記得有一個夏天,4 月 XNUMX 日,我回到家,和姐姐在海灘度過了一天。 突然間,我們看到我爸爸和她一起走在岸邊。 我們把臉轉向沙子,望向別處,希望他不會看到我們。 他走到我們身邊,用沙子踢我們以引起我們的注意。 裝作傻乎乎的,好像沒什麼大不了的。 我們不理他。 我們沒有看他。 他走開了。 我認為這是他為她離開我們的物理表現。 選擇她而不是我們。 當我看到他和她一起離開我們時,我的心都碎了。 我仍然可以想像它。 

我最終去諮詢幫助我克服所有這些感覺。 它幫助我對自己的行為擁有自主權,並開始放棄試圖控制我父親的想法。 我不能告訴他該怎麼做,也不能給他最後通牒。 我只能嘗試擁有自己的健康界限並控制自己。 我仍在努力。 他們結婚了,但我們都沒有去。 她搬來和他住在一起,而我的兄弟又陷入了困境,因為他是最小的,還在上高中。 我媽媽似乎覺得很好。 這個女人沒有對她做任何事,她可以看出我爸爸有多糟糕。 我們不再是他以前試圖維繫的“幸福家庭”。 

我有好幾年沒有和爸爸單獨相處了。 她不信任他。 我從我的兄弟姐妹那裡聽到了無數關於她對他說過和做過的可怕事情的故事。 在他的車裡追他,對他大喊大叫。 寫被動激進的筆記。 他只是忍了。 他覺得這是他應得的,即使他不開心,他也不能第三次離婚。 這讓我很難過。 正如我所預測的那樣,這一切都成真了,以謊言和秘密開始一段關係會導致內疚和無法信任。 她監視他所有的電子郵件、短信和電話。 他唯一一次可以給我們打電話是在下班回家的路上。 由於他害怕她聽到他的聲音,我們很少得到關於他如何做的答案。 他被困住了。  

他討厭自己的工作,一直處於抑鬱的邊緣。 他們經歷了很多起起落落。 很多離開的威脅。 我已經不知道我要給他什麼了。 我祈禱他在基督里而不是在人際關係中找到自己的身份。 我希望他出現在我的生活中。 我現在承認她了。 我不會努力與她建立關係,但我會努力表現得很好。 為了他。 

我現在快 30 歲了。 我現在和他們離婚的時間比和他們在一起的時間更長。 當我現在回首往事時,我看到了離婚(多重)對我的影響。 我以積極的方式成長,也看到了負面影響。 我變得更堅強,更獨立了。 我學會了依賴他人,並在需要時尋求幫助。 我用痛苦和傷害幫助其他孩子處理離婚問題。 作為營地輔導員和現在的老師,我用我的經驗來分享同理心並給予安慰。 我看到了我父母犯的所有錯誤,並用它來在我自己的關係中做出更好的選擇。 我把溝通放在第一位。 當我拼命嘗試向他們學習時,它幫助我與現在的丈夫建立了牢固的關係。 

我仍在了解有哪些負面影響。 顯然,它影響了我的約會生活。 我很難一直信任別人,並且一生都害怕被遺棄。 我緊緊抓住任何我能做到的人。 我有時仍然會為失去而哭泣。 假期很難。 我的婚禮很艱難。 我未來孩子的出生將是艱難的。 我將永遠為那些事情感到悲傷。 我擔心我的婚姻和我兄弟姐妹的婚姻。 我不希望我們繼續這個循環。 它必須結束。 雖然我們沒有太多的例子,所以我試著找導師,盡可能多地閱讀書籍,以變得更好、更強大、更持久。 

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

I was raised in a Christian family by a loving Christian couple in the 90’s and early 2000’s. In the Midwest where there is a church on every corner, we grew up going to a Christian school and supportive church. It was in my early teenage years when divorce started to surround me. Four of my aunts and uncles got divorced, as well as a few close family friends. It was sad to see, but never did I think we would be next. 

My parents had met at a Christian college and did what most couples did after graduating college…got married. My mom was bubbly and outgoing, while my dad was more reserved and introverted. I don’t know much of their early married years, but they seemed happy. My parents had me in their mid 20’s with my two siblings to follow in a few years. We had a great childhood where both parents were involved and supportive. We went on yearly camping trips, traveled to Disney World, and spent a lot of time together as a family. We felt loved and cared for. Not once did we see our parents fight. Looking back, we never really saw them hold hands or show affection either. 

The summer before I turned 16, we were called together into the living room. I remember it so distinctly…the moment our lives turned upside down. They announced that they were taking a  “break” to figure things out. That they loved us, but they would take turns living with us for a while. My mom cried, us kids cried and asked why. It was a shock to us. They never fought or seemed upset with each other. What happened? 

Looking back you see things more clearly as an adult. Dad spent most nights after work downstairs on the computer. Mom poured everything into raising us, teaching, and her side day care gig. They spent little time together and rarely had date nights. They seemed to have very little communication other than about raising us. They had grown apart. 

That first year they would rotate each week with who lived with us and who lived in a trailer in my grandparents’ trailer park. For a while my dad even slept in the basement which was super awkward and hard for us to wrap our heads around. We just carried on like it was okay and didn’t talk about it. 

I remember near the end of their trial break up hearing them fight for the first time. We had never heard them fight before and I quickly grabbed my younger brother and sister and we left the house. We got in the car and I just drove us around as the sound of my mother begging and screaming at my dad resounded in our ears. I don’t remember what happened when we came back, I just remember the numbness. It was what we had to do to survive it. 

Dad made the decision to end it. He wasn’t in love with my mom anymore. He said they never should have gotten married and he never truly loved her. He wasn’t happy, was depressed, and needed out. It would be better for us, he said. Mom fought it with all that she could, but in the end, his heart was hard. He moved out and bought a house just 5 minutes down the road. 

He had talked to a few friends and one of my aunts who had gotten divorced and they encouraged him that it was best for him if he did. I wish I could tell those people how they so negatively impacted my life with those words. How their encouragement led to the ruin of my family and still has implications today. Do they even know what they did?

My siblings and I didn’t really talk about it. My parents definitely didn’t talk much about it. My mom was broken. She depended on my dad for so much and she was lost without his support. She spent most days crying. Dad seemed so happy and energized. He tried to buy us with all new clothes and our own bedrooms in his new house. It was easier being with him because we could keep being numb and pretend to be happy. But it was far from okay. The stress of moving back and forth every 3 weeks slowly drained us. When you forgot a shirt or instrument at the others’ house it was only 5 minutes away, but the reality of living out of a suitcase or our car still has its effects on me today. Anytime I travel I have to unpack right away. The idea of leaving my clothes in the suitcase and living out of it even for a few days brings me right back and causes anxiety. That has taken me a long time to understand.

Very soon after, my dad started bringing around a woman from work. My mom was devastated and angry. Apparently, my dad had been talking to her throughout their breakup and she was the one he leaned on “emotionally,” Aka…emotional affair is how I viewed it. Within a few weeks they were dating and months later, engaged. Married within a year. When asked how we felt about her moving in before the wedding we all put down a firm “no.” She was the opposite of our mom. We resented her and the even wider gap she caused in their marriage. But she was around all the time and eventually we spent a good amount of time with her. She would take us shopping, talk about boys, all the things we wished our mother would do. We were in their wedding and were introduced to our new step-brothers who were all older than us. We smiled and took pictures with strangers; thrust into a new family that we didn’t want. All the while pretending it was okay. 

With all this adapting to new family and new lives we all coped in different ways. I escaped at friends’ houses and my boyfriend’s family. My sister threw herself into any and every after-school activity, sport, etc. My younger brother was stuck at home, playing video games to escape reality. I hated being the broken one. I hated people knowing that my parents were divorced and my family was broken. I spent so much time with other people’s families just trying to soak in their completeness. Pretending I got to go home to it as well afterwards. Surprisingly none of us acted out. We all acted like the good little boy and girls we were raised to be and trusted our parents to care for us. But every holiday, every milestone was tainted. My parents had to settle on who got us when. Anytime we left one, we left feeling guilty for leaving them alone, especially my mom. She took a lot of her emotions out on us. Saying that she should just die and we would be happy with my dad’s new family. I started to resent my mom and started talking to her less and less. I didn’t want to ever take friends over because I didn’t know what mood she would be in. I felt like I had to take over as a parent because she didn’t have the capacity. I remember my high school and college graduation and the pain it brought. I saw all my friends taking pictures with their smiling, whole families, and my mom and dad could hardly stand being in the same room. At one point at my college graduation my step-mom just left because of the tension. My siblings and I all took turns doing damage control anytime there was an event together. I feel like we didn’t get to really celebrate as we were always worried about who would get upset or start crying. None of us really wanted any of them there. The stress and anxiety that it caused still affects me today. Why did we have to carry that burden? 

Fast forward 5 years into my dad’s 2nd marriage and there was trouble in their paradise. My dad traveled on occasion for work and he had been going to North Carolina more frequently. One weekend my dad was driving me back to college when he decided to tell me that he had had an affair with, again, someone he met through work while in North Carolina. I was furious. I said many hurtful things. Yelling at him, “why can’t you just keep it in your pants!” I was devastated knowing that I had to tell my siblings. That they would have to go through this hurt again. I wanted to protect them. 

My dad and step-mom tried to work it out. I remember being home on another weekend and overhearing a conversation my step-mom had. She was retelling the story of how she found out my dad was having an affair. I remember the details. I remember wanting to plug my ears and ignore the hurt. But I sat on the stairs, listening, hearing her pain and hating my father for causing it. They never should have married in the first place I told myself. My dad hadn’t healed. He wasn’t healthy and we just wanted our dad to be our dad. After a year or two of counseling and making no progress, again my dad bailed. My step-mom couldn’t get past it he said and he was getting depressed again in an unhealthy marriage. We yelled at him and told her we’d rather stay with her. Again, we were being divided. We trusted him. We forged a relationship with a stranger, letting her in to be our pseudo mom when our mom couldn’t and now she was being ripped out of our lives. Another way to be torn. Another person to please. 

We tried to hold onto a relationship with her as long as we could, but it was just too painful. She wanted to talk smack about our dad and know what he was up to. Seeing us was hard for her and she wanted to be involved in our lives, but at what cost? We slowly drifted, stopped talking, and she was cut from our lives as if she was just a blip, easily forgotten. But she wasn’t, and still isn’t. I wish she could have been at my wedding. I wish I could still call her and ask for advice, but I can’t.

As I wrapped up my last year of college, I felt it was time to have a serious conversation 1-1 with my dad. I invited him over to my house and shot it straight. I told him I loved him, but his choices have hurt me. I begged that he would take some time and be single so we could heal as a family. That I needed him to be my dad. He just sat and listened. He didn’t say much and I thought I had gotten through to him. But only a few months after their separation it happened again. I had been trying to get a hold of my dad to tell him about a new job interview I had, but he wasn’t picking up. It was so unlike him. I finally contacted my Grandma and an uncle to see if they knew where he was. Finally, he called me back and I asked where he was. He sounded so happy and said he was in North Carolina visiting a “friend.” It was then that I knew exactly what he was up to. I called him out. I yelled and asked “how could he?” I warned him what would happen if he spent time again with this woman who he had had an affair with. It was not a smart way to start a relationship. Did he not hear me before when I said he should stay single? Apparently not. 

Once I told my siblings we decided to confront him together. This was enough. He had to hear us if we all did it together, right? I walked in and they were all sitting on the couch. I can’t remember exactly what we each said, but I know I was the angry one. My sister was the peace maker and my brother was the “whatever” responder. The conversation that stands out the most is when I told my dad that what he was doing was hurting us and we needed him to stop seeing her. I said either you pick us or her, thinking that was an easy decision. His words still haunt me. He said, “How could you ask me to make such a choice?” Really? Your children or this woman who you had an affair with? He was so hard-hearted and blind to how he was affecting our lives. He was confused how his dating life had any effect on us. He was so wrong, but we didn’t know how to show him. We cried, we begged, and got nowhere. 

I ended up trying to escape it and moved to California for a job. I thought this would distance me from the drama and pain. Of course it didn’t work. I still got texts and phone calls from my sibling about what was going on. I refused to talk to my dad for a year. I ignored his calls, emails, and texts. Eventually he stopped trying. I told myself I was making healthy boundaries. He made his choice and I made mine. I wanted no part in his relationship with her. He continued to go visit her in North Carolina. Eventually, I got the news that they were engaged. I was a wreck. How could he marry this woman? How could he expect us to open up not only to another stranger but the one who broke up his relationship with our step-mom? No. Not going to happen. 

I remember clearly one summer I came home and spent the day at the beach on the 4th of July with my sister. All of a sudden we see my dad walking on the shore with her. We turned our face to the sand and looked away, hoping he wouldn’t see us. He walked over to us and kicked us with sand to get our attention. Acting all silly and goofy like it was no big deal. We ignored him. We didn’t look at him. He walked away. I saw it as the physical representation of him leaving us for her. Picking her over us. It broke my heart as I saw him walk away from us with her. I can still picture it. 

I eventually went to counselling to help me work through all of these feelings. It helped me to take ownership of my actions as well as start to let go of trying to control my dad. I couldn’t tell him what to do or give him ultimatums. I could only try to have my own healthy boundaries and control myself. I’m still working on that. They got married, but none of us went. She moved in with him and my brother got stuck again in the mix as he was the youngest and still in high school. My mom seemed fine with it. This woman didn’t do anything to her and she could see how messed up my dad was. We were no longer this “happy family” that he tried to hold together before. 

I went years not getting to spend any time with my dad alone. She didn’t trust him. I heard countless stories from my siblings of awful things she said and did to him. Chasing him in his car and screaming at him. Writing passive aggressive notes. He just put up with it. He felt he deserved it and even if he was unhappy, he couldn’t get a 3rd divorce. It makes me so sad. It all came true what I had predicted, that starting a relationship on lies and secrets led to guilt and the inability to trust. She monitors all his emails, texts, and phone calls. The only time he can call us is on his way home from work. We rarely get an answer on how he is doing because of his fear of her hearing him. He is trapped.  

He hates his job, and has been on the brink of depression. They go through lots of ups and downs. Lots of threats of leaving. I don’t know what I want for him anymore. I pray that he finds his identity in Christ instead of in relationships. I want him in my life. I acknowledge her now. I don’t put in effort to have a relationship with her, but I try to be nice. For him. 

I am now almost 30 years old. I have lived my life now longer with them divorced than with them together.  As I look back now I see the impact divorce (multiple) has had on me. I have grown in positive ways, and seen the negative effects too. I have grown stronger and more independent. I have learned to rely on others and ask for help when needed. I have used the pain and hurt to help other kids dealing with divorce. As a camp counselor and now teacher, I use my experience to share empathy and give comfort. I see all the mistakes my parents made and have used it to make better choices in my own relationships. I put communication as a number one priority. It helped me to build a strong relationship with my now husband as I tried desperately to learn from them. 

I’m still learning what negative impacts there have been. Obviously, it affected my dating life. I had a hard time always trusting people and have had a lifelong fear of abandonment. I hang on tightly to anyone I can. I still cry sometimes at the loss. The holidays are hard. My wedding was hard. The birth of my future children will be hard. I will forever be grieving those things. I fear for my marriage and that of my siblings. I don’t want us to continue the cycle. It has to end. We didn’t have much of an example though, so I try to get mentors and read as many books as I can to be better, to be stronger, to last. 

 

Check out our new book!

This book pairs gold-standard research with hundreds of stories from children, many of which have never been told before.

EnglishPolski
Share This