我記得我第一次努力理解涉及生殖技術的案件的倫理問題。 我五歲,和媽媽在臥室裡疊衣服。 她告訴我,我爸爸不是我的親生父親。 我的生父是一位匿名的精子捐獻者,我們對此一無所知。

有人告訴我,我非常被愛和想要,而這正是不孕夫婦必須做的事情才能生孩子。 我們的家庭是不同的,但可以這麼說,我們從來沒有做過任何“錯誤”的事情。

在一次痛苦的離婚之後,我再也沒有見過我的那個“爸爸”。 我媽媽再婚了,我有了一個新的“爸爸”。 但無論是第一個人還是第二個人,都沒有讓我在自己的家中感到安全。 我很清楚,所有人都是邪惡和卑鄙的。 我真的以為他們要么缺乏愛的能力,要么有問題 我; 我不值得被愛。

在藝術學校,XNUMX 歲時,我以知名捐贈者的身份賣掉了自己的卵子。 那是我改進系統的方式:通過消除匿名性,我讓事情變得稍微好一點。 這段經歷讓我對捐贈者的受孕和生育行業有了更深入的了解。 在我的一生中,我曾多次被男性視為對象,但從未像管理我的卵子收穫的女性生育行業人員那樣強烈。

成立後 匿名我們項目 近四年前,我閱讀了數百篇來自捐贈者、配子捐贈者和相關各方的故事。 我已經從幾個角度熟悉了這個問題。 當談到我們帶來新生活的新方式時,這就是我所擔心的……

閱讀更詳細 公共話語

I remember the first time I struggled to understand the ethics of a case involving reproductive technologies. I was five years old, folding clothes in my bedroom with my mom. She told me that my dad was not my biological father. My biological father was an anonymous sperm donor, whom we didn’t know anything about.

I was told I was very loved and wanted, and this is simply what infertile couples must do to have kids. Our family was different, but we never did anything “wrong,” so to speak.

After a wrenching divorce, I never again saw that “dad” of mine. My mother remarried, and I was given a new “dad.” But neither the first nor the second man ever made me feel safe in my own home. It was clear to me that all men were evil and vile. I truly thought that either they lacked the capacity to love, or else there was something wrong with me; I was not worthy of love.

In art school, at the age of twenty, I sold my own eggs as a known donor. That was my way of improving the system: by removing anonymity, I was making things ever so slightly better. This experience gave me even more insight into donor conception and the fertility industry. I’ve been treated as an object many times by men in my life, but never so intensely as by the female fertility industry personnel who managed my egg harvest.

After founding The Anonymous Us Project nearly four years ago, I have read hundreds of stories from donor-conceived people, gamete donors, and involved parties. I’ve become well acquainted with the issue from several angles. And here is what I’m worried about when it comes to the new ways in which we’re bringing forth new life…

Read more at Public Discourse

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This