親愛的會員:

我的名字是凱蒂浮士德。 我是兒童權利組織的創始人​​和主任 他們在我們面前,致力於捍衛兒童在家庭結構中的權利。 我們代表受影響最大的一方 高頻 1140 - 這些孩子。 儘管 代孕傷害孩子 以多種方式,從造成創傷到常規使用供體配子再到健康風險——我今天寫信給你一個具體的危害——商品化。

代孕將兒童視為可以設計、購買和交付給通常與兒童沒有生物學聯繫的成年人的產品。 這會影響孩子的自我形象和家庭關係。 以下是他們的一些故事:

“我被告知,看看你的父母多麼想要你,他們計劃並存錢來擁有你......是一次性的,被放棄了,再也沒有想過,它會影響你對自己的看法。” –傑西卡·克恩 (代孕的孩子)

 

“我不在乎我的父母或母親為什麼要這樣做。 在我看來,我是被買賣的。 你可以用盡可能多的漂亮詞來裝扮它。 但事實是,有人簽下你生孩子,放棄你的親權,交出你有血有肉的孩子。 當您用某種東西換取金錢時,它被稱為商品。 嬰兒不是商品。 嬰兒是人。” –布萊恩·ç (代孕的孩子)

 

“……被‘通緝’有時會感覺像是一種詛咒,就像我被創造出來讓你開心一樣,我的權利被詛咒了。 如果我說我從未感到商品化,那我就是在撒謊。” – 伯達尼

 

“我每天都必須充分了解自己是優生科學實驗的產物。” – 尼古拉斯·伊塞爾

 

“我從小就知道我是從目錄中購買和挑選的。 我知道我的金發和藍眼睛在某種程度上比其他顏色更有價值——因為我的母親從未愛上我的父親,他對她來說從來都不是一個完整的人,只有少數幾個教養細節。 我一直都知道,我的購買和創造正是為了讓她開心,這就是我存在的理由。 – 阿拉娜紐曼

即使沒有超過 100,000 美元的代孕價格標籤,通過生殖技術創造的孩子也常常感到商品化。 根據研究“我爸爸的名字是捐贈者“一半的捐贈者懷孕的孩子對在他們受孕期間錢易手感到不安。

很簡單,HF 1140 將明尼蘇達州的批准印章印在兒童商品化上,通常是故意失去一個或兩個親生父母。 正如一位捐贈孕育的女性所說,“這不是建立家庭的新方式,而是將家庭拆散的新方式。”

Dear Members,

My name is Katy Faust. I am founder and director of the children’s rights organization Them Before Us, committed to defending children’s rights in family structure. We represent the party most impacted by HF 1140 – the children.  While surrogacy harms children in a variety of ways, from inflicting trauma to the routine use of donor gametes to health risks- I am writing you today about one specific harm- commodification.

Surrogacy treats children as products which can be designed, purchased, and delivered to adults who often have no biological connection to the child. This impacts a child’s self-image and familial relationships. Here are some of their stories:

“I am told, look how much your parents wanted you, they planned and saved to have you… When you know that a huge part of the reason that you came into the world is due solely to a paycheck, and that after being paid you are disposable, given away and never thought of again, it impacts how you view yourself.” –Jessica Kern (Child of Surrogacy)

 

“I don’t care why my parents or my mother did this. It looks to me like I was bought and sold. You can dress it up with as many pretty words as you want. But the fact is that someone contracted you to make a child, give up your parental rights and hand over your flesh and blood child. When you exchange something for money it is called a commodity. Babies are not commodities. Babies are human beings.” –Brian C (Child of Surrogacy)

 

“…being “wanted” can sometimes feel like a curse, like I was created to make you happy, my rights be damned. I’d be lying if I said I never felt commodified.” – Bethany

 

“I have to live everyday with the full knowledge that I’m the product of a eugenic science experiment.” – Nicholas Isel

 

“I knew from an early age that I was purchased and selected from essentially a catalog. I knew that my blonde hair and blue eyes was somehow valued above other colorations—because my mother never fell in love with my father, he was never a full human being to her only a handful of breeding details. I always knew that I was purchased and created precisely to make her happy, that was my raison d’etre. – Alana Newman

Even without the $100,000+ surrogacy price tag, children created via reproductive technologies often feel commodified. According to the study “My Daddy’s Name is Donor“, half of donor-conceived children are disturbed that money changed hands during their conception.

Very simply, HF 1140 puts Minnesota’s stamp of approval on the commodification of children, and often the intentional loss of one or both biological parents. As one donor-conceived woman puts it, “This is not a new way of creating families, it’s a new way of ripping them apart.”

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This