我最早的記憶是我母親自殺的那一天。 那是我完美的 3 歲生命中第一次出現裂痕的那一天——許多裂痕中的第一次裂痕會讓我心碎,讓我暫時破碎,但不會被壓垮。

我的故事早在我出生之前就開始了。 我的母親有一個被拒絕和困難的動蕩的童年。 家庭問題自然會重演——直到我決定打破這個循環。 但首先,我必須穿過悲傷的山谷,才能到達視角和毅力的另一邊。 

我的母親讓我處於兩段婚姻之間,還有一個已經有家庭的已婚男人。 他駐紮了很短的時間,我媽媽和三個孩子一起作為調酒師苦苦掙扎。 多年來,我一直以為我是“不受歡迎的”,因為我的親生父親離開了我懷孕的母親回到他的家人身邊。 

我確實想知道我的父親。 我丈夫甚至雇了一個人來找他——他做到了。 當我遇到我的親生父親時,我才 30 歲。 得知他有幾個孩子,其中一個和我一樣大,我驚呆了。 在我們訪問期間,我一句話也說不出來,因為他一直在談論他自己。 當他上來換氣時,我丈夫問他:“你有沒有想過你的女兒?” 他說他從來沒有這樣做過,假設我會得到照顧。 那對我來說是痛苦的,我希望我從未見過他。 

生下我後不久,我母親又結婚了,生了第五個孩子。 我們終於成為了一個幸福的、融合的家庭。 精神疾病早在我母親的生活中就已經根深蒂固,當時她還是十幾歲的時候被從一個家搬到另一個家,然後賣淫自己有一個住的地方。 當我和我的兄弟姐妹分別為 9 歲、7 歲、5 歲、3 歲和 1 歲時,我們的母親再也無法應付生活,讓我們為生存而掙扎。

我記得那一天:下雨,黑暗,孤獨,迷茫。 沒有年齡可以正確理解自殺的悲劇,但我整天被留在嬰兒床裡,被遺忘和害怕,開始了長達數年的害怕被拒絕的循環。 一隻鳥棲息在我窗外的一根樹枝上。 我覺得上帝特意派來陪伴我。 時至今日,我對鳥類有著特殊的親和力。

我們五個孩子被分到了家裡:一些是他們的父親——因為有三個,我是一個孤兒,所以我住在一個寄養家庭。 不幸的是,我的寄養經歷是一種虐待和忽視。 我被打了,只能睡在浴缸裡。 當我四歲被收養時,我已經出現了嚴重的遺棄問題,如果有人走出房間,我會驚恐地尖叫。

收養應該是在治愈開始時,但相反,這將是事情變得更糟的時候。 幾乎沒有人知道,這個自稱“爸爸”的男人對收養一個小女孩有著陰暗的意圖。 不久之後,他的性、情感和身體虐待成為我童年的常見部分,導致嚴重的創傷後應激障礙和焦慮、學習障礙和人際關係困難。 

我的養母是一個難相處的女人。 她也有過可怕的虐待童年,並且未能從中學習和改變。 有一次,當我姐姐和媽媽吵架時,我姐姐大喊:“你為什麼不愛我們?” 媽媽說:“愛你最親近的人很難。” 她第一次說她愛我是在她臨終前,那時我 17 歲。

即使在今天,我仍然在為我的養母知道發生了什麼事,但沒有採取任何措施來拯救我這一事實而苦苦掙扎。 當我告訴我父親的罪過時,沒有人願意幫助我。 我覺得自己從裡到外都在崩潰,沒有逃脫的希望。

我在這種情況下生活了四年,七歲時,我聽說耶穌愛我,他永遠不會離開我,也不會拋棄我——如果我是他的孩子。 所以,我經歷了第二次收養; 我求耶穌做我的救主,祂使我成為祂的孩子。

在長大到可以自己離開之前,我仍然必須與總共 15 年的恐怖作鬥爭。 那時我已經遇到了我未來的丈夫:一個善良的人,全心全意地陪我走過人生最黑暗到最光明的時期。 

我仍然很驚訝我的生活發生瞭如此巨大的變化。 我從未夢想過——因為我不知道——生活會如此美好; 我可以再次完整; 讓我再次感到安全; 我可以愛和被愛到我所做和現在的程度; 我可以學會相信別人; 上帝,我真正的父親,是精心策劃了這一驚人的生命改變的那一位。 

從那時起,醫治就來了。 我嫁給了一個很棒的男人,我決定和他一起“生活”與我的生活方式完全相反,從而打破虐待和破壞的循環。 我仍然與嚴重的創傷後應激障礙、焦慮和臨床抑鬱症作鬥爭。 我的治療師說,這些是對缺乏愛、基本護理和多種虐待的創傷童年的自然反應。 我並不羞於說我必須服用抗抑鬱藥,因為它有助於平衡我大腦和神經通路中的某些化學物質,這些化學物質在孩提時代就永遠改變了。 我把我的生命歸功於上帝,他用他完美的愛和健康、安全、充滿愛心的丈夫和家庭的規定將我緊緊地粘在了一塊。

我證明了一個人可以生存和茁壯成長,儘管童年很糟糕。 

 

看看我們的新書吧!

這本書將黃金標準研究與數百個兒童故事相結合,其中許多故事以前從未被講述過。

Chinese (Traditional)CzechEnglishFrenchGermanKoreanLatvianPolishPortugueseSlovakSpanish
分享這個

My earliest memory is the day my mother committed suicide. That was the day the first crack appeared in my perfect, 3 year-old-life – the first crack of many that would break my heart and leave me broken, but not crushed, for a while.

My story begins long before I was born. My mother had had a tumultuous childhood of rejection and hardship. It was only natural that family issues would repeat themselves – until I determined to break the cycle. But first, I had to walk through valleys of sorrow to get to the other side of perspective and perseverance. 

My mother had me in-between marriages, and with a married man who already had a family. He was stationed for a brief time where my mom was struggling as a bartender with three children. For many years, I assumed I was “unwanted” since my bio father left my pregnant mother to return to his family. 

I did wonder about my father. My husband even hired a guy to find him – which he did. I was 30 when I met my bio father. I was stunned to learn that he had several children, one of whom was my age. I couldn’t get a word in edgewise during our visit because he talked all about himself. When he came up for air, my husband asked him, “Did you ever wonder about your daughter?” He said he never did, assuming that I’d be taken care of. That was agony for me, and I wished that I’d never met him. 

Shortly after she had me, my mother married again, and had her fifth child. We were, at last, a happy, blended family. Mental illness had taken root years earlier in my mother’s life when she was shuffled from home to home as a teen, then prostituting herself to have a place to live. By the time me and my siblings were 9, 7, 5, 3, and 1, our mother just could not handle life anymore, and left us floundering for survival.

I remember that day: rainy, dark, lonely, and confusing. No age can rightly comprehend the tragedy of suicide, but I was left in a crib all day, forgotten and afraid, beginning a years-long cycle of fear of rejection. A bird perched itself on a limb just outside my window. I felt that God had specifically sent it to keep me company. To this day, I have a particular affinity for birds.

We five children were split up into homes: some to their fathers – as there were three, and I to a foster home because I was an orphan. Unfortunately, my foster experience was one of abuse and neglect. I was beaten and allowed to sleep only in a bathtub. By the time I was adopted at four years old, I had developed severe abandonment issues, screaming in terror if anyone so much as walked out of the room.

Adoption should have been when healing began, but instead, this would be when things got worse. Little did anyone know that the man who would call himself “daddy” had dark intentions for the adoption of a little girl. It wouldn’t be long before his sexual, emotional, and physical abuse became a common part of my childhood, causing severe PTSD and anxieties, learning disabilities, and relationship difficulties. 

My adopted mother was a difficult and unloving woman. She had terrible abuse childhood as well, and failed to learn and change from it. At one point when my sister and mom were in a shouting match, my sister yelled, “Why don’t you love us?” Mom said, “It’s hard to love those closest to you.” The first time she said she loved me was on her deathbed, when I was 17 years old.

I struggle even today with the fact that my adopted mother knew what was happening, but did nothing to save me. And when I told of my dad’s sins, no one moved to help me. I felt myself crumbling from the inside-out, with no hope of escape.

I had lived for four years in these conditions when, at the age of seven, I heard that Jesus loves me, and that HE would never leave me, nor forsake me – if I was His child. So, I went through a second adoption; I asked Jesus to be my Savior, and He made me His child.

I still had to contend with a total of 15 years of terror before being old enough to leave on my own. By then I had met my future husband: a kind man, fully committed to walking with me through the darkest to the brightest times of life. 

I am still amazed that my life has changed so radically. I never dreamed – because I didn’t know – that life could be so great; that I could be whole again; that I could feel safe, again; that I could love and be loved to the degree that I do and am; that I could learn to trust people; and that God, my true Father, is the One who has orchestrated this amazing life-change. 

Healing HAS come since then. I married a wonderful man, with whom I decided to “do life” in the exact opposite direction of the way mine had been, thereby, breaking the cycle of abuse and destruction. I still struggle with significant PTSD, anxiety, and clinical depression. These, my therapist says, are natural responses to a traumatic childhood that lacked love, basic care, and had many kinds of abuse. I am not ashamed to say I have to be on an antidepressant, because it helps balance certain chemicals in my brain and neural pathways that were forever altered as a child. I owe my life to God, who has literally glued me back to one piece with his perfect love and provisions of a wholesome, safe, and loving husband and family.

I’m proof one can survive and thrive, in spite of a terrible childhood. 

 

Join Our Newsletter! Get a Free Gift!

Share This